Roscommon GAA thread

We knew there would be no easy draw but I would prefer Armagh over Kerry. The teams recovery now will be the big thing and how will the legs be come next weekend. Aside from the advantage of being fresher than us, I don't think there is a whole lot between us and Armagh. We shouldn't fear them after going up and beating Tyrone in their home patch. Armagh will bring a serious intensity and aggression to this game we need to match but also be controlled and not get involved in stupid stuff that results in black or red cards. They have fallen at this stage the past few years so they will have the experience and motivation to get to that next level. We have a spine of a team that was last here in 2017 and this could be last chance for some players to get past the QF stage so big motivation for the senior players and also for the young lads who'll want to push on to the next level.

MachaireConnacht (Roscommon) - Posts: 999 - 24/06/2024 10:18:04    2554289

Replying To letsgetgoing:  "Given Armagh's recent history we need to practice penalties this week.

The two best supporters teams will be Dublin & Armagh. As a lot of Gaa supporters work on Saturdays my GUESS would be that the Dublin match will be the second match on the Saturday
for travelling purposes, with the Armagh v Roacommon match on the Sunday. (Hopefully) The Louth v Donegal match nearly has to be on the Sunday as it would be totally unfair to only give Louth only 6 days to recover and some other quarter finalists 8 / 14 days."
Hopefully we can jam the roads!

I was thinking maybe they'd put Donegal, Kerry and Derry on the Sunday for travel purposes. And two Connacht teams on the Saturday but I'd prefer if we were the Sunday.

MachaireConnacht (Roscommon) - Posts: 999 - 24/06/2024 10:23:11    2554295

I was thinking they would put Roscommon v Armagh on Saturday, followed by Dublin v Galway.

Louth have the Sunday game as a turnaround and Kerry v Derry at 4pm, giving them better travel time on the Sunday evening.

Rossfan93 (Roscommon) - Posts: 50 - 24/06/2024 10:58:23    2554316

Replying To Rossfan93:  "I was thinking they would put Roscommon v Armagh on Saturday, followed by Dublin v Galway.

Louth have the Sunday game as a turnaround and Kerry v Derry at 4pm, giving them better travel time on the Sunday evening."
That makes a lot of sense.
That would make a great day out. We might even have a few Dublin and Galway supporters cheering for us as neither of them would have lost if our game was on first.

letsgetgoing (Roscommon) - Posts: 612 - 24/06/2024 11:17:43    2554336

Happy enough with the draw.
Just great to be in it at all.
Saturday ir Subdsy I don't care but I'm sure Sunday would suit more people.
We have every chance of winning it but so do Armagh.
Should be a great occasion and hopefully the right result.

Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 1795 - 24/06/2024 11:34:07    2554349

As good a draw as we could have hoped for, Armagh a strong side but if we recover well from the Tyrone game & Match Armaghs intensity we will be there or there about. . Most lightly the GAA will give Derry the extra days recovery after playing extra time Saturday & Louth will have to get 7 days turn around . So Roscommon & Galway will most likely be heading for Croke-park Saturday. Best of luck to all the Connaught teams it's a pity Mayo didn't make it 3 Connaught teams.. up the Rossies

Itoldyouso (Roscommon) - Posts: 41 - 24/06/2024 11:34:41    2554350

Replying To letsgetgoing:  "That makes a lot of sense.
That would make a great day out. We might even have a few Dublin and Galway supporters cheering for us as neither of them would have lost if our game was on first."
Genuine question but why do you think Dublin fans would cheer for you?

sean og (Armagh) - Posts: 1071 - 24/06/2024 11:44:13    2554354

Replying To sean og:  "Genuine question but why do you think Dublin fans would cheer for you?"
I doubt they would, it would suit them better if Armagh won as Dublin cant draw Roscommon in the semi having already played each other in the group stage.

Romell01 (Roscommon) - Posts: 23 - 24/06/2024 12:53:02    2554386

Replying To sean og:  "Genuine question but why do you think Dublin fans would cheer for you?"
Most neutrals tend to favour the underdogs and want to see a competitive match. We are long shot underdogs this weekend. (10/3 with Boyle Sport) Roscommon have not played in an All Ireland semi final since 1991 when we were beaten by a point by Meath. 33 years for a proud football county is a long time waiting.

Nothing against Armagh, just as most neutrals will cheer on Louth against Donegal this weekend.
I remember well the great matches we played against Armagh in the last 70's and early 80's.
May the best team win on the day and hopefully there won't be any contentious issues.

letsgetgoing (Roscommon) - Posts: 612 - 24/06/2024 12:55:46    2554387

Grand thanks folks, just thought youse maybe had a thing with Dublin, anyway hope it's a good game and BTW this Armagh fan was cheering for yez on Saturday past :)

sean og (Armagh) - Posts: 1071 - 24/06/2024 13:21:32    2554396

Wishing Roscommon all the best at the weekend, Armagh will be tough to beat and they'll be coming in fairly fresh too but hopefully the Rossies can get the win.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2934 - 24/06/2024 13:38:23    2554403

Replying To sean og:  "Grand thanks folks, just thought youse maybe had a thing with Dublin, anyway hope it's a good game and BTW this Armagh fan was cheering for yez on Saturday past :)"
Have great time for Armagh, played out a mighty game with ye in Port Laois some years back. Was at yer game against Galway in 22, ye brought unreal support. Great people for the craic, mighty for the music at the fleadh in Mullingar a few years ago and the sing song in Roscommon town after the league game last year. No doubt ye will bring the colour to Croker again this weekend.

MachaireConnacht (Roscommon) - Posts: 999 - 24/06/2024 13:45:46    2554406

Replying To MachaireConnacht:  "Have great time for Armagh, played out a mighty game with ye in Port Laois some years back. Was at yer game against Galway in 22, ye brought unreal support. Great people for the craic, mighty for the music at the fleadh in Mullingar a few years ago and the sing song in Roscommon town after the league game last year. No doubt ye will bring the colour to Croker again this weekend."
Brilliant!

4pm Saturday it is, Dubs Galway 6.15.

sean og (Armagh) - Posts: 1071 - 24/06/2024 14:39:48    2554427

With the players in mind Sunday and extra day rest would have been better but Is what it is now. A while since we played in a stand alone Quarter final when did ticket prices increase to 45€?

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 3861 - 24/06/2024 15:18:45    2554453

Replying To letsgetgoing:  "Most neutrals tend to favour the underdogs and want to see a competitive match. We are long shot underdogs this weekend. (10/3 with Boyle Sport) Roscommon have not played in an All Ireland semi final since 1991 when we were beaten by a point by Meath. 33 years for a proud football county is a long time waiting.

Nothing against Armagh, just as most neutrals will cheer on Louth against Donegal this weekend.
I remember well the great matches we played against Armagh in the last 70's and early 80's.
May the best team win on the day and hopefully there won't be any contentious issues."
Maybe I'm biased but 10/3 seems mad odds? Agreed however that we will be underdogs, but not by much.

Not that the players will be too worried about that, but I don't think its far off a 50/50 game.

TobeaRossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 157 - 24/06/2024 15:21:07    2554455

I remember the crushing disappointment as a child of listening to the 1953 semi as Armagh beat us by a point.
We had to play in white jersies to avoid conflict with rhe Armagh orange.
The present orange jersies are closer to red than it was then.
Armagh could have beaten Kerry in the final but they missed a penalty.

worple (Roscommon) - Posts: 351 - 24/06/2024 16:23:06    2554480

Replying To The_analyser:  "With the players in mind Sunday and extra day rest would have been better but Is what it is now. A while since we played in a stand alone Quarter final when did ticket prices increase to 45€?"
Last year I think?

Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 1795 - 24/06/2024 17:34:38    2554502

Replying To worple:  "I remember the crushing disappointment as a child of listening to the 1953 semi as Armagh beat us by a point.
We had to play in white jersies to avoid conflict with rhe Armagh orange.
The present orange jersies are closer to red than it was then.
Armagh could have beaten Kerry in the final but they missed a penalty."
I remember the disappointment as a child of Roscommon losing by a point the replayed All Ireland semi final v Armagh in 1977. We had given up a big lead in the drawn game. I also remember the excitement of Roscommon beating Armagh in the All Ireland semi final in 1980 to reach the All Ireland final. Roscommon came from 5 points down at half time that day to win by 6. We haven't won a championship game in Croke park since that August day in 1980. A lot of memories then of Ros v Armagh. We're underdogs on Saturday but we have a chance. It'd be just great to win it.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2282 - 24/06/2024 18:10:49    2554511

Well guys armagh fan here looking forward to the match sunday we have played a lot of classic matches in past 5 years in league and championship. I was wondering where is your wee lad ben o'caroll. I was watching tyrone game at the weekend (cheering yous on btw) and didnt see him.

cds (Armagh) - Posts: 6 - 24/06/2024 19:43:26    2554537

Replying To cds:  "Well guys armagh fan here looking forward to the match sunday we have played a lot of classic matches in past 5 years in league and championship. I was wondering where is your wee lad ben o'caroll. I was watching tyrone game at the weekend (cheering yous on btw) and didnt see him."
He was with the squad Saturday but has been injured for a while now.
Should because great occasion Saturday and a game either team can win.

Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 1795 - 24/06/2024 21:11:31    2554547