Roscommon GAA thread

Replying To ComainRos:  "Yes that's exactly what I mean. They can still make money from allowing other stations show games. The problem is it's not enough money for them."
TG4 fair play to them show lots of Gaelic games.
Virgin is too busy being "ITV Eire" to know or care.

Anyway as for Saturday we of course are rank outsiders and deservedly so. 2 wins, a draw and 8 defeats so far gives little ground for optimistim.
Tyrone haven't set the world on fire either but will be fit and well organised. We won't be greatly organised whatever about fitness.
We have a porous non tackling defence and not hectic in midfield.

We'll have to perform at a level not seen since Dublin in May 2023.
Can we do so?
I'd love to believe we can and will.
Sin é.

Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 1795 - 18/06/2024 14:17:41    2552737

Replying To kiloughter:  "I actually think ye will win in Omagh. As mentioned by one of your posters ye are due a big performance that translates into a victory. Tyrone will be Tyrone but are beatable. As for us our biggest issue is ourselves. Although still unbeaten in the championship if I am being honest feels we are gone after blowing that 5 point lead. Mad how the season can turn in an instant."
Hopefully we get the win in Omagh. . I think Galway are still in a strong position, disappointing for ye to lose the lead against Armagh but beating Monaghan will give ye good momentum going in an All Ireland QF where Croke Park will suit ye.

Rossfan93 (Roscommon) - Posts: 50 - 19/06/2024 09:25:54    2552905

Replying To Rossfan93:  "Hopefully we get the win in Omagh. . I think Galway are still in a strong position, disappointing for ye to lose the lead against Armagh but beating Monaghan will give ye good momentum going in an All Ireland QF where Croke Park will suit ye."
Galway fecked up, While they will beat Monaghan they will now have a 1/4 final against either Dublin, Kerry or Donegal.
Had they beat Armagh they would have had a much easier route to the Semi's.

sourmilk93 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1177 - 19/06/2024 10:14:19    2552922

Replying To sourmilk93:  "Galway fecked up, While they will beat Monaghan they will now have a 1/4 final against either Dublin, Kerry or Donegal.
Had they beat Armagh they would have had a much easier route to the Semi's."
Agreed but Galway are in the mindset of winning an All Ireland, they will have to face those teams either way. I don't think Galway fans would have been contente with the morale victory of beating a prelim team in a quarter and getting beaten in a semi by Dublin or Kerry. They will give any of those 3 teams a right good rattle

Rossfan93 (Roscommon) - Posts: 50 - 19/06/2024 11:37:40    2552949

Replying To Rossfan93:  "Agreed but Galway are in the mindset of winning an All Ireland, they will have to face those teams either way. I don't think Galway fans would have been contente with the morale victory of beating a prelim team in a quarter and getting beaten in a semi by Dublin or Kerry. They will give any of those 3 teams a right good rattle"
A big psychological blow to draw that match the way they did but, while not completely writing off Monaghan, it was the best draw Galway could have got, instead of playing Kevin Walsh's Cork or Connacht local rival in us. The one plus for Galway is they were in this situation last year so they at least now know how to approach it. If Comer is back for a QF they have every chance but it won't be easy.

MachaireConnacht (Roscommon) - Posts: 999 - 19/06/2024 11:51:12    2552952

Replying To Rossfan93:  "Agreed but Galway are in the mindset of winning an All Ireland, they will have to face those teams either way. I don't think Galway fans would have been contente with the morale victory of beating a prelim team in a quarter and getting beaten in a semi by Dublin or Kerry. They will give any of those 3 teams a right good rattle"
Its the 2nd year in a row that Galway messed up against Armagh in round 3 how is the mindset after that? Last year they would have played Monaghan in the Quarter final and IMO would have won that. Galway's objective I bet is All Ireland semi final spot at the very least before the year starts and while they should win on Saturday it's hard to see them beating any of Dublin,Donegal or Kerry who will be rested while it will be Galway's 3rd match in 14 days.

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3456 - 19/06/2024 17:41:03    2553068

Meanwhile back to our own....
We're total outsiders, never bet Tyrone in any grade of Championship football, loose defence, poor midfield, game in Omagh, very poor form all year, disorganised, no obvious game plan.....
Sadly a 5 or 6 point win for Tyrone I fear.
Please prove me wrong lads.

Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 1795 - 20/06/2024 09:54:58    2553127

Replying To Seanfanbocht:  "Meanwhile back to our own....
We're total outsiders, never bet Tyrone in any grade of Championship football, loose defence, poor midfield, game in Omagh, very poor form all year, disorganised, no obvious game plan.....
Sadly a 5 or 6 point win for Tyrone I fear.
Please prove me wrong lads."
What ever about the some of the other points, which are very valid unfortunately, we need to get out of the thinking of never beating a team or winning at a ground as a factor. I know it can be dragged into it, but it needs to change. How the two teams have matched up before should not have a bearing on this game. If Tyrone, Donegal, Armagh, Derry thought like that none of them would have ever finally won an All Ireland. Clare footballers had never won a game in Croker until they played us, didn't stop them playing to the death and they got their reward. We have only played Tyrone a handful of times and most of them in the Micky Harte era because traditionally they rarely came out of Ulster plus the advent of the backdoor.

While still a distance Omagh still a good bit closer than Cork for most of the county compared to last year and from a logistics point of view, it should be easier to organise hotels etc. Cork city last year in the middle of summer and music festivals must have been a nightmare. The traffic alone was!

Tyrone have plenty of quality but are in a bit of a transition with a good few new young lads. We need to be at our best and have a much improved structure about us along with intensity. Time for Roscommon to step up and win a knock out game. As someone said before we'll know after this weekend where exactly we are.

MachaireConnacht (Roscommon) - Posts: 999 - 20/06/2024 14:46:58    2553215

First ever senior championship meeting against Tyrone was in 2011.

2011 in Croke Park lost by 11 points (margin which was somewhat flattering)
2012 in Hyde Park lost by 11 points (wasn't flattering for that match)
2013 in Hyde Park lost by 2 points (the relief and reaction of Tyrone players at full time said it all)
2018 Croke Park lost by 18 points (taking them on in a shootout wasn't smart)
2019 in Hyde Park. Lost by 4 (goals chances created and none taken proved the difference)

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 3861 - 20/06/2024 16:03:54    2553230

Replying To The_analyser:  "First ever senior championship meeting against Tyrone was in 2011.

2011 in Croke Park lost by 11 points (margin which was somewhat flattering)
2012 in Hyde Park lost by 11 points (wasn't flattering for that match)
2013 in Hyde Park lost by 2 points (the relief and reaction of Tyrone players at full time said it all)
2018 Croke Park lost by 18 points (taking them on in a shootout wasn't smart)
2019 in Hyde Park. Lost by 4 (goals chances created and none taken proved the difference)"
We certainly owe them one, big time! (Senior, under 20/21 & minor)
I personally think we have a reasonable chance.
Two or three of our players are coming towards the end of their careers. They certainly will not want to it all to end with a championship defeat in Omagh. I think we might see a fired up Roscommon team on Saturday.
Best of luck to all on Saturday and hopefully team will get another run out in Croke Park this year.
I will be there to support you.

letsgetgoing (Roscommon) - Posts: 612 - 20/06/2024 16:27:48    2553231

Replying To letsgetgoing:  "We certainly owe them one, big time! (Senior, under 20/21 & minor)
I personally think we have a reasonable chance.
Two or three of our players are coming towards the end of their careers. They certainly will not want to it all to end with a championship defeat in Omagh. I think we might see a fired up Roscommon team on Saturday.
Best of luck to all on Saturday and hopefully team will get another run out in Croke Park this year.
I will be there to support you."
We certainly owe them one and no better time and place to do it than this Saturday.

There is seven players on our panel of 38 who are in their 30s. Niall Daly the oldest he turned 33 a few weeks ago and is younger than Michael Fitzsimons (36) James McCarthy (34) starters for Dublin.

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 3861 - 20/06/2024 17:49:11    2553245

Unchanged team published, good to see Cathal Heneghan back and named among the subs. Best of luck to all the Roscommon played and management in Healy Park on Saturday.

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 3861 - 20/06/2024 20:59:31    2553266

Tyrone usually bully the Rossies. Davy Burke stepping down after Saturday.

LimerickForLiam24 (Limerick) - Posts: 122 - 20/06/2024 22:47:44    2553283

Replying To LimerickForLiam24:  "Tyrone usually bully the Rossies. Davy Burke stepping down after Saturday."
Have you ever thought about publishing some of your prose. The world has been missing out.

MachaireConnacht (Roscommon) - Posts: 999 - 20/06/2024 23:47:22    2553289

Replying To LimerickForLiam24:  "Tyrone usually bully the Rossies. Davy Burke stepping down after Saturday."
Obviously nothing better to be doing. Sad really.

moros (Roscommon) - Posts: 1105 - 21/06/2024 09:39:28    2553318

Maybe, at least they do they bullying on the pitch,

sourmilk93 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1177 - 21/06/2024 10:23:05    2553333

I work with plenty of Limerick hurling heads, not one of them have any interest in football or know who is even playing.

Tyrone don't have many players on their current team to bully anyone. What they do is use the dark arts, prey on any weak refs. Brian Dooher will likely be stepping down after Tyrone's campaign which will be this or next Saturday.

Drax_the_destroyer (UK) - Posts: 198 - 21/06/2024 15:28:20    2553446

Tough draw and not many expecting a win for us.
Hopefully we can shake of the shackles and go at Tyrone. My only fear is the amount we concede.
Brian Stack and Darragh Canavan will be a good match up and will go a long way to deciding the game.

All the best to the lads tomorrow in Omagh

BrigidsToom (Roscommon) - Posts: 19 - 21/06/2024 17:04:52    2553471

Conn Kilpatrick has been cleared to play against Roscommon tomorrow red card down graded to a yellow on a Tyrone appeal tonight. According to the rules " To strike or to attempt to strike an opponent with arm, elbow, hand or knee is a red card"

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3456 - 21/06/2024 22:59:42    2553523

Replying To Gaa_lover:  "Conn Kilpatrick has been cleared to play against Roscommon tomorrow red card down graded to a yellow on a Tyrone appeal tonight. According to the rules " To strike or to attempt to strike an opponent with arm, elbow, hand or knee is a red card""
We need a performance akin to those v Dublin and Mayo in 2023 if we're to win in this one.
Can we deliver one?

Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 1795 - 22/06/2024 10:00:27    2553565