Roscommon GAA thread

Replying To SmokieRoss:  "Good win and never looked in doubt. Would have taken it at start of league given the amount if regulars missing. Promotion will come down to the matches v Clare, Galway and Derry. Down away would normally be a tough assignment but unlikely they'll have the Kilcoo lads back for that either.

Eddie Nolan doing very well in both matches to date but Div 2 this year looks very poor standard compared to previous years but that's not Roscommons fault just hope it doesn't come back to haunt us in championship where the real acid test will be after two very demoralising championship defeats in past two years.

A clean sweep for connacht teams in league this weekend including London. Sligo scored a huge total today v Carlow so they have a bit of momentum behind them also with 4pts from two games also."
Div 2 the usual standard containing 5 or 6 teams that aren't Div 1 standard.

Kilcoo playing next weekend in the AI final and those players should be available for selection on the Feb 26th game against Roscommon.

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3361 - 06/02/2022 21:30:33    2398746

Replying To Rossie2020:  "Delighted with that win, would have thought 2 points from first two giving the players we were missing was realistic but 4 is very satisfying! Again this week a goal at a crucial point seemed to give us a great a lift and demoralised the opposition, crucially we kicked on after both goals and had the games out of sight at half time. Stack very good so far a credit to him, fabulous footballer, not many can perform so well at full back and a half forward! Hussey being back has been a real bonus and was crucial given the lads we were missing in defence. Nolan and Harney have been solid and must be commended, Kilroy justifying selection playing that role so well and doing so much unseen stuff. Enda as always very good, he is so crucial, if he plays well the team play well. McKeon and Heneghan real real options now as starters even when we get everyone back both are very direct and can draw fouls etc. 2/3 Dalys, Murray, 2 Murtaghs, Darcy, Carey all more then likely be on the 26 against Clare so we will have very good options."
I would agree with all bar darcy not willing to get through enough work for intercounty level

Tarismelting22 (Roscommon) - Posts: 760 - 07/02/2022 09:06:13    2398784

Replying To Gaa_lover:  "Div 2 the usual standard containing 5 or 6 teams that aren't Div 1 standard.

Kilcoo playing next weekend in the AI final and those players should be available for selection on the Feb 26th game against Roscommon."
Isn't that the idea of a league, if you are in Div 2 it means you are not good enough for Div 1 or too good for Div 3

reffingmad (Roscommon) - Posts: 371 - 07/02/2022 09:53:10    2398799

Replying To Tarismelting22:  "I would agree with all bar darcy not willing to get through enough work for intercounty level"
Has done a decent job for us in the past but didn't look fit enough for inter county when I watched him for Pearses and probably may struggle to get into the 26, saying that though a big man and a different option. We will have great options in the forward line now, Kilroy, 2 Smiths, 2 Murtaghs, McKeon, Cox, Heneghan, Carey. I'd imagine a few lads might drop off panel in coming weeks with everyone returning. Was great to give Ben O'Carroll some exposure at senior level so far this year.

Rossie2020 (Roscommon) - Posts: 169 - 07/02/2022 13:43:49    2398916

Replying To Rossie2020:  "Has done a decent job for us in the past but didn't look fit enough for inter county when I watched him for Pearses and probably may struggle to get into the 26, saying that though a big man and a different option. We will have great options in the forward line now, Kilroy, 2 Smiths, 2 Murtaghs, McKeon, Cox, Heneghan, Carey. I'd imagine a few lads might drop off panel in coming weeks with everyone returning. Was great to give Ben O'Carroll some exposure at senior level so far this year."
It great with all these players coming back, hope Management get the balance right through out the team, C Murtagh does the same job as Kilroy so both should be competing for 1 spot come championship. Also Cox, D Smith, & D Murtagh cannot play on same line together, all 3 too similar, To be most effective this line needs to work as a unit, so role of two of these talented individuals may be that of impact subs, Darcy & C Lennon offer something different so shame Lennon is not available.

roscommon1944 (Roscommon) - Posts: 275 - 07/02/2022 14:27:03    2398947

Replying To dave1988:  "Solid performance today. Stack is just a class act. One of our best players. So dependable. I really hope Harney stays injury free because he's another brilliant player and the more good performances he puts in the more confidence he will get. 4 points out of 4 is brilliant"
I'd like to see a heat map on Brian Stack, he was all over the pitch and only for a good save from the Meath keeper he would have a goal to his name. Seemed to be given a licence to roam yesterday more so than against Cork

Harneys talent was never in question staying fit has been the main issue and if one player deserve a injury free run its him.

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 3772 - 07/02/2022 16:03:37    2399008

Replying To The_analyser:  "I'd like to see a heat map on Brian Stack, he was all over the pitch and only for a good save from the Meath keeper he would have a goal to his name. Seemed to be given a licence to roam yesterday more so than against Cork

Harneys talent was never in question staying fit has been the main issue and if one player deserve a injury free run its him."
You are 100% right about Harney. A full season of a fit Harney would be some addition to Roscommon. He's one of a kind in this county with his strength, speed and athleticism. All star material if he was 100%

reffingmad (Roscommon) - Posts: 371 - 07/02/2022 17:51:22    2399087

Replying To reffingmad:  "Isn't that the idea of a league, if you are in Div 2 it means you are not good enough for Div 1 or too good for Div 3"
Donegal, Tyrone, Mayo all had recent spells in Div 2. They were all good enough for Div 1 but two had to get relegated in such a competitive divsion.

I also recall on Roscommons last appearance in a 7 game Div 1 they were basically relegated because of gamesmanship from Niall Morgan.

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3361 - 07/02/2022 19:24:41    2399127

Replying To reffingmad:  "You are 100% right about Harney. A full season of a fit Harney would be some addition to Roscommon. He's one of a kind in this county with his strength, speed and athleticism. All star material if he was 100%"
Don't think he's had one injury free season since under 21s has he? Talent and everything to go with it never in question 100% right, please god can stay injury free. Is good for a point or two every game, invaluable from midfield. Going forward who will start full back? Conor Daly will be back for Clare so will be interested to see who plays there, would expect Niall to start instead of Ruane and maybe Murray for Lennon but hard to shift any of them really. Fully agree that D Smith, Murtagh and Cox can't play inside together, we seen last year against Galway that having two or three real forwards who don't do that tracking back doesn't cut it anymore with attacking corner backs.

Rossie2020 (Roscommon) - Posts: 169 - 07/02/2022 19:31:48    2399130

Replying To Gaa_lover:  "Donegal, Tyrone, Mayo all had recent spells in Div 2. They were all good enough for Div 1 but two had to get relegated in such a competitive divsion.

I also recall on Roscommons last appearance in a 7 game Div 1 they were basically relegated because of gamesmanship from Niall Morgan."
Yip, blame Morgan because yous weren't good enough to stay up.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2023 - 07/02/2022 20:59:11    2399167

Replying To Gaa_lover:  "Donegal, Tyrone, Mayo all had recent spells in Div 2. They were all good enough for Div 1 but two had to get relegated in such a competitive divsion.

I also recall on Roscommons last appearance in a 7 game Div 1 they were basically relegated because of gamesmanship from Niall Morgan."
Id be more inclined to say it was stupidity on Ultan Harneys behalf rather than Niall Morgan gamesmanship, had the same feel as donal vaughans red card in 2017 A/L final,

Rossie14 (Roscommon) - Posts: 33 - 08/02/2022 10:30:27    2399235

Replying To Rossie14:  "Id be more inclined to say it was stupidity on Ultan Harneys behalf rather than Niall Morgan gamesmanship, had the same feel as donal vaughans red card in 2017 A/L final,"
Morgan was kneeling on Pattersons neck and Ultan pushed him off. He went down like a sniper took him out holding his face. Maybe stupid but was pathetic by Morgan. Free should have been brought forward by the ref not hopped. Either way its long over now and no point looking back on it.

sourmilk93 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1149 - 08/02/2022 10:46:34    2399243

Anyone got any information on who will be joining panel. Conal kennelly looks a good footballer and is being brought up. I presume the two Murtaghs will be playing this year? And the three Daly's? Paul Carey is surely going to get his chance. Seen Carey play few times but what's his work like off the ball. As someone said earlier we can't have the two Smith's the two Murtaghs ,Cox playing together because tracking back and tackling is weak from all. Unfortunately Lennon isn't around because his workrate is massive. Cathal henaghen seems to work hard and tracks runners from what I have seen this year. It will be great to have Nial Daly back. I think he's in his prime now and hopefully brings his club form with him.

dave1988 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1063 - 08/02/2022 11:00:22    2399251

I would say Kennelly yeah and will more then likely compete with the likes of Doyle and Cunnane for 3rd / 4th midfielder spot. He seems to have the physical attributes of a county footballer and can score too but haven't seen too much of him. Anyone hear which one of the Dalys is rumoured to be heading away? Niall had a fine club campaign, he's played a lot of football so this break will do him good as we will need him more for championship with us looking like we won't go down anyway. Carey will be more of an option off bench then what is there at the minute anyway, agree on Ciaran Lennon, felt this year was his year to start and see if he could be our full forward for foreseeable so it's a pity he can't commit. Will either Mulooly or O'Rourke will available for championship?

Rossie2020 (Roscommon) - Posts: 169 - 08/02/2022 11:51:13    2399275

I would say Kennelly yeah and will more then likely compete with the likes of Doyle and Cunnane for 3rd / 4th midfielder spot. He seems to have the physical attributes of a county footballer and can score too but haven't seen too much of him. Anyone hear which one of the Dalys is rumoured to be heading away? Niall had a fine club campaign, he's played a lot of football so this break will do him good as we will need him more for championship with us looking like we won't go down anyway. Carey will be more of an option off bench then what is there at the minute anyway, agree on Ciaran Lennon, felt this year was his year to start and see if he could be our full forward for foreseeable so it's a pity he can't commit. Will either Mulooly or O'Rourke will available for championship?

Rossie2020 (Roscommon) - Posts: 169 - 08/02/2022 12:00:52    2399278

Replying To dave1988:  "Anyone got any information on who will be joining panel. Conal kennelly looks a good footballer and is being brought up. I presume the two Murtaghs will be playing this year? And the three Daly's? Paul Carey is surely going to get his chance. Seen Carey play few times but what's his work like off the ball. As someone said earlier we can't have the two Smith's the two Murtaghs ,Cox playing together because tracking back and tackling is weak from all. Unfortunately Lennon isn't around because his workrate is massive. Cathal henaghen seems to work hard and tracks runners from what I have seen this year. It will be great to have Nial Daly back. I think he's in his prime now and hopefully brings his club form with him."
Conal Kennelly has earned his place on the panel and hopefully he will get a run in the league campaign. He was probably St. Faithleachs most consistent player in their run to the All Ireland semi-final, and has power, pace, can take a score and has a good engine. I am not sure if he has the height for a 8/9 mid-field slot at the top level, (maybe a 3rd mid-fielder) but might make a good half forward in a similar role to Niall Kilroy/Ultan Harney as he would be very strong under the breaking ball and is good at tracking back. Our goal keepers and mid-field have come under some criticism over several weeks, but I thought that Colm Lavin, Eddie Nolan and Ultan Harney (and many others) all had very good games against Meath at the weekend.

I would not like to be the management team informing 6 of the following potential players (12) that they are not on the forward line for the next match; C. Cox, E & D. Smith, D & C Murtagh, N. Kilroy, C. Mckeon, C. Heneghan, U. Harney, C. Kennelly, P. Carey, C. Sugrue, I have left out the under 20's as I think that they should be left to play in the under 20 competition, as that will also be very competitive in Connacht this year. However it is a great problem to have!

letsgetgoing (Roscommon) - Posts: 531 - 08/02/2022 14:55:58    2399340

Replying To letsgetgoing:  "Conal Kennelly has earned his place on the panel and hopefully he will get a run in the league campaign. He was probably St. Faithleachs most consistent player in their run to the All Ireland semi-final, and has power, pace, can take a score and has a good engine. I am not sure if he has the height for a 8/9 mid-field slot at the top level, (maybe a 3rd mid-fielder) but might make a good half forward in a similar role to Niall Kilroy/Ultan Harney as he would be very strong under the breaking ball and is good at tracking back. Our goal keepers and mid-field have come under some criticism over several weeks, but I thought that Colm Lavin, Eddie Nolan and Ultan Harney (and many others) all had very good games against Meath at the weekend.

I would not like to be the management team informing 6 of the following potential players (12) that they are not on the forward line for the next match; C. Cox, E & D. Smith, D & C Murtagh, N. Kilroy, C. Mckeon, C. Heneghan, U. Harney, C. Kennelly, P. Carey, C. Sugrue, I have left out the under 20's as I think that they should be left to play in the under 20 competition, as that will also be very competitive in Connacht this year. However it is a great problem to have!"
Ya alot of people talking about conal kennelly. People are saying he would make a brilliant wing back or wing forward.. we have plenty of options at the moment. Everyone is fighting for a place on the team. Need to push on now and try get promoted this year.

dave1988 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1063 - 08/02/2022 15:34:12    2399353

Replying To Saynothing:  "Yip, blame Morgan because yous weren't good enough to stay up."
No yous, I'm a neutral. It was a tap over free to secure the win, Morgan knew what he was doing. That one extra point would have kept Roscommon up and relegated Monaghan.

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3361 - 08/02/2022 17:27:32    2399383

Replying To dave1988:  "Ya alot of people talking about conal kennelly. People are saying he would make a brilliant wing back or wing forward.. we have plenty of options at the moment. Everyone is fighting for a place on the team. Need to push on now and try get promoted this year."
Kennelly and E Smith on half forward line would be exciting to see..think this current squad has the potential to go a step further than previous Ros teams, A Cunningham & selectors just need to bring it all together. Strong squad and impact from bench is vital if ambition is to go far in the championship. Not sure if Mullooly will be back soon, if so it may allow C Daly to switch to half back or half forward.

roscommon1944 (Roscommon) - Posts: 275 - 08/02/2022 18:27:55    2399393

Anyone want to have a stab at what could be our starting Championship team from what we have seen so far and what we have to come back into it?

sourmilk93 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1149 - 09/02/2022 12:21:10    2399492