Roscommon GAA thread

Replying To TheFlaker:  "That's said a lot but recent History and stats would suggest otherwise ."
We certainly haven't a good record against Mayo in the championship over the last 30 years. No argument with that. Only three wins 1991, 2001 and 2019 and all by a single point. Roscommon haven't easily beaten Mayo in the championship since the Connacht Final 1980 in Hyde park when we won by 14 points. Mayo are favourites on Sunday and entitled to be. A huge performance is needed from Roscommon on Sunday. We're absolutely the underdogs.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2164 - 03/04/2023 13:16:02    2468520

Replying To endgame:  "We certainly haven't a good record against Mayo in the championship over the last 30 years. No argument with that. Only three wins 1991, 2001 and 2019 and all by a single point. Roscommon haven't easily beaten Mayo in the championship since the Connacht Final 1980 in Hyde park when we won by 14 points. Mayo are favourites on Sunday and entitled to be. A huge performance is needed from Roscommon on Sunday. We're absolutely the underdogs."
Huge performance needed and even more so with our most experienced midfielder gone. Is E Smith wasted at midfield or is it a case of no other option now?

MachaireConnacht (Roscommon) - Posts: 784 - 03/04/2023 13:51:51    2468538

Replying To TheFlaker:  "Saw that. If this Mayo team are serious about anything this year then they should go and win on Sunday. I can't see any other result to be honest."
It won't be unusual for one Div 1 team to beat another in a Championship match. Galway in 2001 was fairly serious yet started off with a defeat at home to a Div 1 Roscommon in the Connacht championship. The loser on Sunday has 6/7 weeks to prepare and get back on the horse again i would expect all three Connacht teams to fare well in the All-Ireland group stages this year.

Yondu (UK) - Posts: 845 - 03/04/2023 14:31:13    2468563

Best of luck to the team on Sunday. We'll need everything to go our way on the day to get a result. The start will be crucial as we can't afford to be sitting back until the opposition get a bit of a lead. If we had started better in our defeats in the league we might have won another game or two.
How come Strokestown as county champions can't get a single player on the county panel?
After all they seemed to have them knack of winning games and I was impressed by a few of that team in the county final.

Rossieforever (Roscommon) - Posts: 85 - 03/04/2023 14:32:04    2468564

Replying To Rossieforever:  "Best of luck to the team on Sunday. We'll need everything to go our way on the day to get a result. The start will be crucial as we can't afford to be sitting back until the opposition get a bit of a lead. If we had started better in our defeats in the league we might have won another game or two.
How come Strokestown as county champions can't get a single player on the county panel?
After all they seemed to have them knack of winning games and I was impressed by a few of that team in the county final."
Strokestown best players are either overseas (Cathal Compton, Sean Mullooly) with the county U20s and are lads in their 30s. McGann on the panel last year was unable to commit.

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 3755 - 03/04/2023 15:40:09    2468585

Big congrats to our senior hurlers Saturday for winning the division 3B league final. Also congrats to 5 members of the team who made it onto team of the week. Maith thú!

Rossie20 (Roscommon) - Posts: 8 - 03/04/2023 21:18:02    2468672

Replying To Rossie20:  "Big congrats to our senior hurlers Saturday for winning the division 3B league final. Also congrats to 5 members of the team who made it onto team of the week. Maith thú!"
It was Division 3À!!
Seeing as winners of B get promoted to A why not just call 2A Division 2, 2B Div 3 and so on?.

Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 1417 - 04/04/2023 11:28:19    2468740

Replying To Seanfanbocht:  "It was Division 3À!!
Seeing as winners of B get promoted to A why not just call 2A Division 2, 2B Div 3 and so on?."
Fair play to the hurlers and new management for turning around a dire situation. I don't get the A and B craic with the hurling leagues.

Any word on injuries ahead of the Mayo game at the weekend? Have Ros played any challenges since the Donegal game?

MachaireConnacht (Roscommon) - Posts: 784 - 04/04/2023 11:53:13    2468746

Replying To Seanfanbocht:  "It was Division 3À!!
Seeing as winners of B get promoted to A why not just call 2A Division 2, 2B Div 3 and so on?."
Sorry about that got it wrong was sure it was 3B but 3A is even better again!

Rossie20 (Roscommon) - Posts: 8 - 04/04/2023 14:56:50    2468811

Replying To The_analyser:  "U20 Championship Quarter final against a strong a Sligo side this day week. 6:30pm throw in Hyde Park.

Much like last year we have been hit by injuries coming into a championship knock out tie v Sligo. Darren Gately ruled out with ACL as is Colm Neary with hamstring injury. Caelim Keogh (knee), Shane McGinley (groin), Conor Hand (wrist), Ethan O'Reilly (groin) are all doubtful. All six would be starters if fit and available for selection.

If all out are it is what it and we'll have to deal with it. Hopefully all those that step in can make an impact.

Goalkeeper wise it seems to be a choice between the 2021,2020 minor starters David Farrell (Castlerea) Sean Kelly (Clann na nGael)

Defenders options includes Michael Sugrue (Brigids) Eoin Ward (Fuerty) Daniel Casey (Boyle) Conor Harley (Pearses) Eden Kerins (Boyle) Senan Lambe (Boyle) ,James Brady (Tulsk),David Flanagan (Boyle) Tom Lennon (Clann) Tommy Morris (Aidans)

Midfielders a choice between Oisin Cregg (Boyle) Conor Ryan (Pearses) Darragh O'Beirne (Shannon Gaels) Oisin O'Flaherty (Clann)

Forward options Cian Kelly (Dominics) ,Bobby Nugent (Brigids),Rory Hester (western Gaels),Jack Tumulty (Pearses),Eoin Colleran (Pearses),Shane Walsh (Roscommon Gaels),Declan Kenny (Pearses),Rory Carty (Roscommon Gaels) ,Mark Dowd (Creggs),Rob Heneghan (Glaveys) and Ryan Conlon (Roscommon Gaels) Ryan Dowling (kilbride)"
Keogh and Neary named to start. Hand named in the subs. Best of luck to Roscommon U20s tomorrow evening against what's likely to be a strong Sligo team.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2164 - 04/04/2023 18:59:41    2468884

Roscommon U20 team named.

1.David Farrell (Castlerea St Kevin's)
2.Daniel Casey (Boyle)
3. Micheal Sugrue (St Brigids)
4. Senan Lambe (Roscommon Gaels)
5. Eoin Ward (Fuerty)
6. Caelim Keogh (Padraig Pearses)
7. Colm Neary (Strokestown)
8. Conor Ryan (Padraig Pearses)
9. Shane Walsh (Oran)
10. Bobby Nugent (St Brigids)
11. Declan Kenny (Padraig Pearses)
12. Cian Kelly (St Dominics)
13. Oisin Cregg (Boyle)
14. Eoin Colleran (Padraig Pearses)
15. Jack Tumulty (Padraig Pearses)

Subs Sean Kelly (Clann na nGael) James Brady (Tulsk) Eden Kerins (Boyle) Conor Harley (Padraig Pearses) Darragh O'Beirne (Shannon Gaels) Rory Hester (Western Gaels) Ryan Dowling (Kilbride) Shane McGinley (Stokestownn) Conor Hand (St Brigids)

Some of the injured lads back some others out. A team good enough to win if unlike last year we bring out shooting boots. Best of luck to all the Roscommon players and management tomorrow evening.

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 3755 - 04/04/2023 19:40:34    2468894

Replying To The_analyser:  "Roscommon U20 team named.

2.Daniel Casey (Boyle)
5. Eoin Ward (Fuerty)
9. Shane Walsh (Oran)
13. Oisin Cregg (Boyle)

Subs Sean Kelly (Clann na nGael) James Brady (Tulsk) Eden Kerins (Boyle) Conor Harley (Padraig Pearses) Darragh O'Beirne (Shannon Gaels) Rory Hester (Western Gaels) Ryan Dowling (Kilbride) Shane McGinley (Stokestownn) Conor Hand (St Brigids)

Some of the injured lads back some others out. A team good enough to win if unlike last year we bring out shooting boots. Best of luck to all the Roscommon players and management tomorrow evening."
Will be a tough one.
Ros and Sligo were the 2 best Minor teams in Connacht in 2020 and 21.
Leitrim gave Galway a good run for 50 minutes (6-7) but must have ran out of steam losing 0-6 to 2-9.
Galway have 15 days to prepare for the Final while if the winners tomorrow reach it, that will be 3 big knock out games in 15 days.
Why couldn't this week's games be on Friday, you'd treble the attendances.

Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 1417 - 04/04/2023 20:44:09    2468913

For Rossies living away from the county (like myself) the under 20's match tonight against Sligo at 6.30pm is being streamed live on the Connacht Gaa website. Cost is 10 euro.

letsgetgoing (Roscommon) - Posts: 506 - 05/04/2023 13:50:27    2469058

Replying To The_analyser:  "Roscommon U20 team named.

2.Daniel Casey (Boyle)
5. Eoin Ward (Fuerty)
9. Shane Walsh (Oran)
13. Oisin Cregg (Boyle)

Some of the injured lads back some others out. A team good enough to win if unlike last year we bring out shooting boots. Best of luck to all the Roscommon players and management tomorrow evening."
Ethan O'Reilly is a massive loss, as is Shane McGinley if he's deemed not fit enough to start.
Best of luck to the team.

reffingmad (Roscommon) - Posts: 371 - 05/04/2023 17:27:18    2469130

Terrible start costs the u20s. Listened to it on the radio. What was the reasoning behind not starting Shane Walsh or O Cregg? Shocking decision not to start your strongest 15 available unless they were carrying injuries.

MachaireConnacht (Roscommon) - Posts: 784 - 05/04/2023 20:03:14    2469157

Have to say that under 20 performance tonight was very disappointing. Sligo fully deserved their victory but that Ros team looked shockingly coached truth be told. Sligo winning every kick out in the first half and persisting on going long each time was criminal and something should've been done to stem the tide before the gap got to 9 points as we were never coming back from that.

Primrose_and_blue (Roscommon) - Posts: 68 - 05/04/2023 20:12:45    2469158

Hard luck to our u20s this evening

Rossie20 (Roscommon) - Posts: 8 - 05/04/2023 20:18:57    2469161

Unlike last year we can't have any complaints about that U20 championship exit to Sligo but I'd question why we didn't play close to our capabilities until we were 9 points behind and why Walsh, Oisín Cregg didn't start. Conor Hand probably should be starting also but given 15 minutes? Then the bizarre tactics throughout the game left me scratching my head all game.

Very disappointing but i wish Sligo all the best in the semi final and who fully deserved their win tonight.

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 3755 - 05/04/2023 20:23:41    2469162

The under 20's never got out of the blocks tonight and went 9 points down (10 to 1) in the first half before they started to play. They showed much more aggression all over the pitch in the second half, pressed the Sligo's kickout and picked up much more breaking ball around midfield. They got it back to one point but probably went for goals too early as there was over 5 minutes of injury time. Had a couple of goal chances in the second half and will be very disappointed to lose by 4 in the end.
I think Luke Marron scored about 9 points for Sligo and they deserved to win the match, based primarily on their first half performance.
The Roscommon team and management will have regrets and they will know in their hearts that they had the beating of Sligo when they went for it. It was a pity that Walsh, Cregg and Hand could not start the match as they all made a difference when they came on. If the match was played again next week I think that it would be 50 / 50 game.
Hopefully the Roscommon senior team will learn from this and get into the match from the very start next Sunday against Mayo. We just can't afford to start slowly against this Mayo team!!!

The best of luck to the Sligo under 20 team. Hopefully you will do well in the rest of the championship.

letsgetgoing (Roscommon) - Posts: 506 - 05/04/2023 20:32:40    2469163

Replying To letsgetgoing:  "The under 20's never got out of the blocks tonight and went 9 points down (10 to 1) in the first half before they started to play. They showed much more aggression all over the pitch in the second half, pressed the Sligo's kickout and picked up much more breaking ball around midfield. They got it back to one point but probably went for goals too early as there was over 5 minutes of injury time. Had a couple of goal chances in the second half and will be very disappointed to lose by 4 in the end.
I think Luke Marron scored about 9 points for Sligo and they deserved to win the match, based primarily on their first half performance.
The Roscommon team and management will have regrets and they will know in their hearts that they had the beating of Sligo when they went for it. It was a pity that Walsh, Cregg and Hand could not start the match as they all made a difference when they came on. If the match was played again next week I think that it would be 50 / 50 game.
Hopefully the Roscommon senior team will learn from this and get into the match from the very start next Sunday against Mayo. We just can't afford to start slowly against this Mayo team!!!

The best of luck to the Sligo under 20 team. Hopefully you will do well in the rest of the championship."
Hilarious post. You say if the game was next week it would be 50/50. My good man the game was yesterday evening,, you were never in the lead not even level at any stage. Ye had injured players, so had we that's football. We scored the last 3 points to close out the game. We actually threw ye a lifeline by coughing up 1.1 in first half injury time.I wish you luck on Sunday against Mayo

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1656 - 06/04/2023 07:58:05    2469181