Roscommon GAA thread

Great to have two wins against strong opposition. Another win or draw should do the trick and keep us in division one.
Scoring difference could also come into play. We have a +19 point advantage over Monaghan and a +13 point advantage over Donegal after two rounds. Hopefully our better defensive set- up will prevent that being reduced. Every point on the board and point/goal scored could yet be important. At least we have played until the final whistle in both games (fit & motivated) and hopefully this continues.

letsgetgoing (Roscommon) - Posts: 503 - 07/02/2023 12:58:04    2457011

Replying To kiloughter:  "Better team on the day won given number of chances but tbh disingenuous comments that ref was one way. Thought he erred a lot for both sides. We are in a relegation fight with the amount of top players we are missing. 1 more win should make ye guys safe."
True on the ref..poor for both sides at times with ridiculous yellow cards ,soft frees them no free ..Galway Tyrone a massive match now ..winner probably safe with Monaghan to play but loser in bother

spion7 (Roscommon) - Posts: 55 - 07/02/2023 13:38:55    2457033

Replying To kiloughter:  "As noted by my earlier comment ye were better overall on the day. I think you will find football in general at intercounty is ultra defensive. On many occasions yesterday ye also had masses behind the ball. Our panel depth or lack of is being shown up with now 4 of the 6 who started the all ireland in July out. Galway Ros in recent yrs has been tit for tat so nobody should be surprised that ye won yesterday."
Totally understand the defensive nature of modern day football and i never bought into the nonsense that the likes of Mayo, Kerry, Dublin went man to man than having a focus on their defence with midfielders and forwards dropping back.

Galway on Sunday however was the most defensive I've seen against us and we've played each other a lot over the years. Something has brought about that reaction I'm thinking because of the high scores we got in the 4 games last year v Galway? Cian O'Neill on the sideline was regularly barking get back, hold your position, don't foul etc and barely a word from him when Galway was on the attack.

Would it not be on your management and selectors if panel depth is lacking. We have more of last years starters out with those injured or away and if we can get lads to step in or be it most of them very young i think Galway with a bigger pick than us should also have options.

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 3753 - 07/02/2023 16:23:16    2457107

Back in Dublin after a very enjoyable weekend in West. Hard to believe we have 4pts and another win will definitely keep us safe. Probably a tad fortunate as I still feel Tyrone let us off the hook but that said we took our chance. Galway who went 8-4 up with 20 mins left didn't have the players or the know how to finish us off. Galway are very average without Walsh and daresay Comer now and wish him all the best.

It was a very strange match on Sunday and maybe the early injury and game delay had a big bearing on it. Midfield was poor again and McDaid ran the show for 45 mins until he ran out of gas. The fact we are getting numbers back early negates it to a degree when we don't have the ball but come championship the pace of the game will be quicker. Its clear to see how good Harney was last year now that he isn't around.

Thought BOC was excellent when introduced and fair play to management for not starting him given his workload with Sigerson during last week. Dara Cregg got sent off early so he had a break so to speak. Armagh will be a different test as they are more direct. I'd imagine the monaghan and donegal matches are the ones we'd target to get the 2pts more. Not sure making league semis is a good idea if there are semis as we saw what happened back in 2016 amd season ended in carnage. If its top 4 for semi 6pts could be enough to make it.

I note the match v Armagh has a 1.45pm throw in as does the Galway match. Both games are on Tg4 with our game live and Galway v Tyrone deferred.

SmokieRoss (Roscommon) - Posts: 273 - 07/02/2023 19:48:20    2457144

Unbelievably defensive Galway set up made it a poor spectacle.
Imagine sitting back and trying to hold onto a 8 to 4 lead.
2 points is all that matters and best team brought them home.

OhtobeARossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 1764 - 07/02/2023 20:01:30    2457150

See no player from Strokestown on the panel at the moment though they are current county champions, think Mullooly and Compton would add to current setup if they were available

roscommon1944 (Roscommon) - Posts: 275 - 07/02/2023 20:38:27    2457156

And maybe that is the point. Ye have made greater inroads in bringing players through in recent times. I mean last Sunday ye coped well with the absence of Harney and Eddie Nolan given Cillian McDaid has really stepped up for us. If you look at our all ireland u20 2020 winning team only one of the five/six showing is making inroads. Jack Glynn (only him, McDaid and John Daly were at it on Sunday in my view) is doing very well. Matthew Tierney has lost his mojo. Tomo Culhane is injured. Cathal Sweeney not having impact yet, future potential full back Sean Fitzgerald got injured early last year and has not made the progress anticipated and our league goalkeeper from last season Conor Flaherty (got injured against ye in the league final) wants to commit to hurling. That is 1/3 of that outstanding underage team. Small point on Cian O'Neill but i believe he was brought in as a defence coach or at least that was my understanding from last season. Taking bias out of it i would have us at no.3 in Connacht not because of the results so far but more to do with what i think may be ahead of us. Ultimately you cannot be starting without 3 all stars and hoping to be beating teams in Division 1 just because we were very close to achieving the ultimate the year before.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1946 - 08/02/2023 08:29:17    2457166

Replying To OhtobeARossie:  "Unbelievably defensive Galway set up made it a poor spectacle.
Imagine sitting back and trying to hold onto a 8 to 4 lead.
2 points is all that matters and best team brought them home."
You do realise ye were at yourselves, 1 point in 30 odd minutes, eventually someone decided bring on a few good subs and go for it , which ye did..
Both teams were brutal..

Belclare (Galway) - Posts: 904 - 08/02/2023 09:55:26    2457179

SmokieRos no League Semi Finals these days.
Should be no Finals either in my opinion.
We played Galway at their own game and came out with noses in front at the finishing line.
We had very little possession for the last 20 minutes of the 1st half but still were only 2 points behind at ht.
We are still very much a work in progress but now have a great chance of maintaining Div 1 status while the work continues.

Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 1414 - 08/02/2023 10:29:29    2457190

Replying To Seanfanbocht:  "SmokieRos no League Semi Finals these days.
Should be no Finals either in my opinion.
We played Galway at their own game and came out with noses in front at the finishing line.
We had very little possession for the last 20 minutes of the 1st half but still were only 2 points behind at ht.
We are still very much a work in progress but now have a great chance of maintaining Div 1 status while the work continues."
I never understood why a final needs to be played, the whole point of a league is who comes out on top with the highest points. That Div 2 final last year, as nice as it is to win a game in Croke Park, was of no benefit to us in the championship. It possibly was to Galway, who realised they needed a better defensive system. We ended up getting beaten by Galway subsequently and the experience of playing in Croke Park didn't seem to stand to the team when they imploded against Clare.

MachaireConnacht (Roscommon) - Posts: 780 - 08/02/2023 11:22:44    2457214

Replying To roscommon1944:  "See no player from Strokestown on the panel at the moment though they are current county champions, think Mullooly and Compton would add to current setup if they were available"
Is this unheard of apart from the Down footballers a couple of years ago? I'm not saying it is because of a rift but it seems very unusual to have no player from the county champions involved in the panel. Mullooly would be great to call upon but I think he stepped away due to injury last year?

MachaireConnacht (Roscommon) - Posts: 780 - 08/02/2023 11:26:02    2457218

Replying To MachaireConnacht:  "I never understood why a final needs to be played, the whole point of a league is who comes out on top with the highest points. That Div 2 final last year, as nice as it is to win a game in Croke Park, was of no benefit to us in the championship. It possibly was to Galway, who realised they needed a better defensive system. We ended up getting beaten by Galway subsequently and the experience of playing in Croke Park didn't seem to stand to the team when they imploded against Clare."
That is a very good point. Staying in Division 1 (which Ros have a great chance of doing) will be box 1 ticked. The 2nd box will be to do what Mayo have been doing for years and what we are starting to do well is win big games at HQ. The Div 2 final with respect was of less importance than the Clare qualifier ye had last year. In fairness though your new manger bounce appears to be moving in the right direction.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1946 - 08/02/2023 11:46:51    2457229

Replying To MachaireConnacht:  "Is this unheard of apart from the Down footballers a couple of years ago? I'm not saying it is because of a rift but it seems very unusual to have no player from the county champions involved in the panel. Mullooly would be great to call upon but I think he stepped away due to injury last year?"
Seán did and had been playing through the pain when playing for Strokestown. Cathal Compton recently left for Australia. His brother Colin was asked in but couldn't commit. McGann who was in last year opted out.

The other county standard Strokestown players are involved with the U20s whom have their first match this Saturday in Hyde Park v Galway in the league (John Kerins Cup)

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 3753 - 08/02/2023 13:21:01    2457251

Replying To SmokieRoss:  "Back in Dublin after a very enjoyable weekend in West. Hard to believe we have 4pts and another win will definitely keep us safe. Probably a tad fortunate as I still feel Tyrone let us off the hook but that said we took our chance. Galway who went 8-4 up with 20 mins left didn't have the players or the know how to finish us off. Galway are very average without Walsh and daresay Comer now and wish him all the best.

It was a very strange match on Sunday and maybe the early injury and game delay had a big bearing on it. Midfield was poor again and McDaid ran the show for 45 mins until he ran out of gas. The fact we are getting numbers back early negates it to a degree when we don't have the ball but come championship the pace of the game will be quicker. Its clear to see how good Harney was last year now that he isn't around.

Thought BOC was excellent when introduced and fair play to management for not starting him given his workload with Sigerson during last week. Dara Cregg got sent off early so he had a break so to speak. Armagh will be a different test as they are more direct. I'd imagine the monaghan and donegal matches are the ones we'd target to get the 2pts more. Not sure making league semis is a good idea if there are semis as we saw what happened back in 2016 amd season ended in carnage. If its top 4 for semi 6pts could be enough to make it.

I note the match v Armagh has a 1.45pm throw in as does the Galway match. Both games are on Tg4 with our game live and Galway v Tyrone deferred."
Conroy and Cooke was Galways midfield pairing on Sunday neither had their best of games. McDaid played wing half forward and dropped back into defence when needed.

Was no midfield battle worth talking about as both teams opted to go short on the majority of their kick outs. Team have got relegated on 6 points before the aim should be 7 points.

Yondu (UK) - Posts: 845 - 08/02/2023 14:29:56    2457273

Replying To kiloughter:  "That is a very good point. Staying in Division 1 (which Ros have a great chance of doing) will be box 1 ticked. The 2nd box will be to do what Mayo have been doing for years and what we are starting to do well is win big games at HQ. The Div 2 final with respect was of less importance than the Clare qualifier ye had last year. In fairness though your new manger bounce appears to be moving in the right direction."
Staying in Div 1 is essential for progress. The league isn't championship intensity but Div 1 league is far closer to championship than Div 2 league and Ros need to get used to playing at that level to get over the line in winable big games like the Clare game last year. There is a big championship monkey to get off the back in Croker yet. You're right, Galway started to turn that ship last year and the win against Armagh especially was massive psychologically for the team. It really seemed to drive ye on.

MachaireConnacht (Roscommon) - Posts: 780 - 08/02/2023 14:33:24    2457275

Replying To Yondu:  "Conroy and Cooke was Galways midfield pairing on Sunday neither had their best of games. McDaid played wing half forward and dropped back into defence when needed.

Was no midfield battle worth talking about as both teams opted to go short on the majority of their kick outs. Team have got relegated on 6 points before the aim should be 7 points."
Conroy is past his best. He was on the Galway All Ireland minor winning team of 2007. Galway are missing players and it shows. They lost an excellent corner back from their team last year who's gone working in New Zealand. Silke I think. No Shane Walsh in the League and Comer injured but thankfully it's not the cruciate. Galway may struggle to stay up in Division 1.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2162 - 08/02/2023 15:51:18    2457300

Replying To endgame:  "Conroy is past his best. He was on the Galway All Ireland minor winning team of 2007. Galway are missing players and it shows. They lost an excellent corner back from their team last year who's gone working in New Zealand. Silke I think. No Shane Walsh in the League and Comer injured but thankfully it's not the cruciate. Galway may struggle to stay up in Division 1."
Conroy is still important player and leader. Replacements that has come into defence has all done well and helps that they were on last year's NUIG Sigerson cup and Moycullen Connacht winning teams.

No Comer, Walsh will make it struggle so the likes of Dessie Conneely, Matthew Tierney, Ian Burke, Paul Kelly will need to step up.

Yondu (UK) - Posts: 845 - 08/02/2023 16:43:17    2457321

Replying To Yondu:  "Conroy and Cooke was Galways midfield pairing on Sunday neither had their best of games. McDaid played wing half forward and dropped back into defence when needed.

Was no midfield battle worth talking about as both teams opted to go short on the majority of their kick outs. Team have got relegated on 6 points before the aim should be 7 points."
What gane were you watching mcDaid was outl and out midfield and was for league opener as well. Cooke only came in as a sub v Mayo also.

In reply to the other poster about league semis there are league semis and Davy Burke was asked about them in his interview after the match. Also to note the league final is a week before the Mayo match so two more pts on board and start playing fringe players and getting minutes into returning injured players.

SmokieRoss (Roscommon) - Posts: 273 - 08/02/2023 19:56:32    2457358

Replying To SmokieRoss:  "What gane were you watching mcDaid was outl and out midfield and was for league opener as well. Cooke only came in as a sub v Mayo also.

In reply to the other poster about league semis there are league semis and Davy Burke was asked about them in his interview after the match. Also to note the league final is a week before the Mayo match so two more pts on board and start playing fringe players and getting minutes into returning injured players."
League semis are just mental. How is that possible unless there are A and B leagues. So it means the top half of Div 1 go into semis?

In other news good to see Roscommon CBS in a Connacht Senior B final this weekend.

MachaireConnacht (Roscommon) - Posts: 780 - 09/02/2023 10:04:53    2457391

Replying To SmokieRoss:  "What gane were you watching mcDaid was outl and out midfield and was for league opener as well. Cooke only came in as a sub v Mayo also.

In reply to the other poster about league semis there are league semis and Davy Burke was asked about them in his interview after the match. Also to note the league final is a week before the Mayo match so two more pts on board and start playing fringe players and getting minutes into returning injured players."
What are you smoking Smokie?
No League Semi Finals since 2017!!

Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 1414 - 09/02/2023 10:09:23    2457392