Galway Football thread

Replying To anotheralias:  "Fully agree. I also think that it would be prudent to field a mixed team in the FBD final i.e. a hybrid of first teamers and A-listers. The reasons for this are:

1. Out of respect for the competition
2. Out of respect for the opposition
3. To avoid an embarrassing defeat
4. To be fair to the guys that are developing ( I dont think it's fair to judge players if they are playing on a team that are getting beaten all over the pitch)"
That's a contradiction, if they were beaten all over the pitch you can judge they're not good enough. Hence a judgement. You haven't a clue anotheralias

caltra04 (Galway) - Posts: 24 - 16/01/2024 12:06:05    2520427

Replying To anotheralias:  "Fully agree. I also think that it would be prudent to field a mixed team in the FBD final i.e. a hybrid of first teamers and A-listers. The reasons for this are:

4. To be fair to the guys that are developing ( I dont think it's fair to judge players if they are playing on a team that are getting beaten all over the pitch)"
You haven't a clue. Padraic's approach to FBD was to give development players a chance and make it a competition for breakthrough point for players if preformed.

INTOTHEWEST1 (Galway) - Posts: 9 - 16/01/2024 12:10:03    2520428

Replying To caltra04:  "That's a contradiction, if they were beaten all over the pitch you can judge they're not good enough. Hence a judgement. You haven't a clue anotheralias"
I think if I havent a clue then I'm not the only one. Such a stupid statement. If you ever played any ball ( which I doubt) you would know that no matter how good a player is, it is very difficult to impress on a team that are being beaten everywhere e.g. if you are an excellent corner back but you are marking an excellent corner forward who is getting loads and loads of quality ball delivered to him with overlapping runners supporting him, then you are going to get roasted , no matter how good you are, similarly if you are an excellent corner forward who is marking a tight corner back and getting very little and poor quality ball , then you are very unlikely to impress.

anotheralias (Galway) - Posts: 931 - 16/01/2024 12:25:49    2520433

Replying To Eire89:  "Yes I think its a good approach and if unearths a few players for league champo all the better. Who is part of mgmt team for the dec squad & the mentors? Looking forward to watching it on tg4 Fri evening"
Diarmuid Blake, Finian Hanley, Deccie Meehan and Joe Bergin anyway.

togoutlads (Galway) - Posts: 960 - 16/01/2024 12:40:10    2520437

Does anyone know if Liam Silke has picked up an injury? I heard he broke a bone in his foot.

Rocky.Road (Galway) - Posts: 376 - 16/01/2024 13:40:25    2520454

Replying To JakeTheMan:  "Does anyone know what the latest news is on the club front regarding managers? Who is managing what club this year?"
From what I hear:

Spiddil - Frank Doherty
Ml. Breathnach - Colm Tummon
Carraroe - Maghnus Breathnach
Lettermore - Phillip Neary
Salthill - Finian Hanley
Arann Islands - Patrick Mark Ó Fátharta
Michaels - Declan Meehan
Claregalway - Ciaran Murphy
Carlistrane - Barry McCabe/Neil McHugh
Oughterard - Murphy

Not 100% but this is what I'm hearing

gaalway (Galway) - Posts: 66 - 16/01/2024 13:50:50    2520457

Replying To togoutlads:  "I suppose it's two different approaches to the FBD with Galway and Roscommon. We're trying this development squad concept, with its own sideline and some great mentors there. I think it's a brilliant development and should help raise the bar over a bit of time in the Galway ranks. Roscommon are using this as a full league warmup with most of the big names available, so I'd strongly expect ye to close this one out but the Galway dev lads won't want to lie down to anyone so hoping we get a competitive game.
Also, I see some earlier moaning comments from other posters here about playing in the Dome - I think it's absolutely superb, the players love it, supporters that went there loved it, a brilliant night out in what is still the largest sports air dome in the world! Why in the hell wouldn't we use it in the depths of winter instead of carving up pitches or playing on Astro anyway but outdoors in the elements where you won't get families and other supporters standing out in the cold and wind and rain. Kudos to the dome. At a relatively low €3M build cost, Galway needs one too!"
Somewhat true in regards to our approach however we can only pick to what's available to us. Once injured players and the Brigids players return we'll have a panel of around 35 but last Saturday we only had 24 fit players and all bar the Colm Lavin got a run out. (he started the week before)

I know some see it as disrespectful towards the competition but Galway and Mayo can do as they please after all Roscommon would likely do simliar if picking from a panel of 50 to 60 players!

As for Dome while a fine area let's be honest the best preparation for the upcoming NFL played outdoors in all types of weather is challenges outdoors and both Joyce, McStay have showed that to be their view also with line outs selected for this years FBD.

A FBD final this weekend in Hyde park or Tuam would easily have attracted 4k with the match outdoors they would be no need for Joyce to arrange a challenge and would play a lot of first teamers. It shouldn't be lost on John Prenty for next years FBD if we wants to generate more cash from these games though he's a very stubborn individual and expect he will play a part in getting these pre-season competition scrapped and then moan about it afterwards.

So Friday for us will be used as another run out to get players up to speed, Div 3, Sligo, Div 4 London thus far and now up against a devolopment Galway panel. Same and main objective for us is avoiding any more injuries on unforgiven surface on already small panel number.

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 3863 - 16/01/2024 14:19:23    2520474

All fair points. Connacht Gaa need to look at this situation themselves though. The Dome novelty has worn off and Joyce has sent a clear message out that the dome is not suitable prep for the serious stuff the NFL in two weeks. In a way it's worked out for him as with two big rivals to play first (Mayo, Roscommon) he wouldn't have wanted to to show much of his hand in FBD games anyway.

Drax_the_destroyer (UK) - Posts: 202 - 16/01/2024 14:27:29    2520479

Replying To caltra04:  "Would be good to see Daryl Finn (formerly of Monivea Abbey- transferred to caltra for personal reasons ) get a run in the dome. I believe he's been training bits and pieces with the dev panel. Daryl is around 30 now, you don't get too many chances at inter county!!"
Is this the St Bernards soccer player?

OhReally (Limerick) - Posts: 24 - 16/01/2024 14:44:51    2520484

Replying To Rocky.Road:  "Does anyone know if Liam Silke has picked up an injury? I heard he broke a bone in his foot."
Yes I believe it happened in a charity soccer game over Christmas

minor77 (Galway) - Posts: 231 - 16/01/2024 14:52:01    2520486

Replying To OhReally:  "Is this the St Bernards soccer player?"
Believe he played a bit of soccer but came back playing gaa at lower levels at the same time. Class act, needs conditioning as a bit light

caltra04 (Galway) - Posts: 24 - 16/01/2024 16:41:34    2520512

Replying To minor77:  "Yes I believe it happened in a charity soccer game over Christmas"
I hope you are joking, I recall this is what happened to Damo a few years back.

GDL (Galway) - Posts: 765 - 16/01/2024 17:56:20    2520528

Replying To gaalway:  "From what I hear:

Spiddil - Frank Doherty
Ml. Breathnach - Colm Tummon
Carraroe - Maghnus Breathnach
Lettermore - Phillip Neary
Salthill - Finian Hanley
Arann Islands - Patrick Mark Ó Fátharta
Michaels - Declan Meehan
Claregalway - Ciaran Murphy
Carlistrane - Barry McCabe/Neil McHugh
Oughterard - Murphy

Not 100% but this is what I'm hearing"
Interesting. Meehan with micheals I believe he is living there now so why not, I seen him in the dome at fbd so taught he was in with Galway but I also seen Hanley there.
Breathnach to carraroe, taught he had a few years left playing but he must have enjoyed managing the women's enough to pack in playing.
Murphy the right man to take claregalway to the next level, he'll bring a strong mindset to his setup.
Not sure about breathnachs he managed micheals to be relegated last year and don't know who aran is.
Oughterard into 5th season with Murphy so time to step up and make knockouts ie quarter semis

Sportsfanatic90 (Westmeath) - Posts: 222 - 16/01/2024 18:26:27    2520538

Replying To minor77:  "Yes I believe it happened in a charity soccer game over Christmas"
Comer injured himself in a soccer game over Christmas as well a few years ago. Took him a while to be right after it as well.

Marooned (Galway) - Posts: 2264 - 16/01/2024 18:51:12    2520542

Replying To caltra04:  "Believe he played a bit of soccer but came back playing gaa at lower levels at the same time. Class act, needs conditioning as a bit light"
Ya sure bring in a few more Bernard's lads as well

Galwaymaster9 (Galway) - Posts: 397 - 16/01/2024 19:16:39    2520545

Replying To GDL:  "I hope you are joking, I recall this is what happened to Damo a few years back."
Unfortunately I'm not

minor77 (Galway) - Posts: 231 - 16/01/2024 19:55:29    2520550

Paddy Finnegan with Claregalway.

Kieran Murphy staying with moycullen.

Declan Meehan not with Micheal's.

Castlebar2019 (Mayo) - Posts: 25 - 16/01/2024 22:27:37    2520585

So Connacht Rugby sold the naming rights to the Sportsground to US multinational, Dexcom, while Galway GAA told Dexcom that Pearse's name had to be retained in some way in Pearse Stadium. While the money would've been nice, on this I think they're dead right. Dexcom should probably offer to sponsor something significant in Galway GAA rather than suggest renaming a stadium named after a national icon and hero, Pádraig Pearse. SuperValu park has not gone down well in the Rebel County!!

togoutlads (Galway) - Posts: 960 - 17/01/2024 09:43:56    2520609

Woeful stuff again this week from UCG. Level 6 points each at half time in knockout game against ATU Sligo. No style of play, McLoughlin and Kelly getting well beaten at midfield. Zero urgency on the ball and would be behind if not for Liam O'Conghaile. Big second half coming up.

galway19 (Galway) - Posts: 764 - 17/01/2024 19:33:36    2520708

Much better second half for the college although they still don't look great despite a forward line of Conroy, O'Donoghue, O'Curraoin and O'Conghaile. Won comfortable enough in the end against a poor ATU Sligo team.

galway19 (Galway) - Posts: 764 - 17/01/2024 20:14:59    2520712