Galway Football thread

eye opener for all players yesterday. only o'curran came out with any credit. very surprised to hear people on this forum thought varley did well looked to my eye and this is only my opinion that he had a stinker. disappointed with darcys performance at midfield also. maybe we havent done as much training but galway also looked few yards off the pace, quite lethargic

all players lost the ball very cheaply. hope the performance and result from the players will be better next week

cavan.galway (Galway) - Posts: 212 - 20/01/2024 13:48:44    2521114

Replying To cavan.galway:  "eye opener for all players yesterday. only o'curran came out with any credit. very surprised to hear people on this forum thought varley did well looked to my eye and this is only my opinion that he had a stinker. disappointed with darcys performance at midfield also. maybe we havent done as much training but galway also looked few yards off the pace, quite lethargic

all players lost the ball very cheaply. hope the performance and result from the players will be better next week"
I thought Varley got a roasting in the corner but he has the size, speed and athleticism for intercounty. Not sure he's a corner back though. Haven't seen enough of him.

Marooned (Galway) - Posts: 2264 - 20/01/2024 14:03:57    2521119

Replying To anotheralias:  "Ah sure I haven't a clue!"
I see in the after match interview Donal ó Flatharta admitted Galway was wrong to go with such a selection. For next year he suggested each line of the team to have one experienced player to play alongside the young!/new players.

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3458 - 20/01/2024 14:47:15    2521127

Replying To Marooned:  "I thought Varley got a roasting in the corner but he has the size, speed and athleticism for intercounty. Not sure he's a corner back though. Haven't seen enough of him."
I actually wrote it down in the first half but Boyle, Mannion and Varley were OK. Our half back line and midfield were miles off pace wise and out of position.
You could see at the start of the second half that they had changed it in the line, marking space in the middle third and not players. Game was over by then but def lazy analysis to just say the full back line got roasted.

smallfrank (Galway) - Posts: 429 - 20/01/2024 14:56:40    2521131

Replying To anotheralias:  "I think if I havent a clue then I'm not the only one. Such a stupid statement. If you ever played any ball ( which I doubt) you would know that no matter how good a player is, it is very difficult to impress on a team that are being beaten everywhere e.g. if you are an excellent corner back but you are marking an excellent corner forward who is getting loads and loads of quality ball delivered to him with overlapping runners supporting him, then you are going to get roasted , no matter how good you are, similarly if you are an excellent corner forward who is marking a tight corner back and getting very little and poor quality ball , then you are very unlikely to impress."
For anyone who disputes this point, please look at the Longford Dublin game. Basquelle and Scully, one current and 1 former All Star , but if you were to judge either on that game they wouldn't be making the Dublin panel.

anotheralias (Galway) - Posts: 931 - 21/01/2024 11:52:57    2521255

Replying To Kickitout:  "I'd say not 2 many will be brought into a full training squad that are not there already I'd say maybe Liam Boyle only one as there are 5/6 of team already in there ,,"
Other than 1 or 2 players I can't see any of the rest breaking into the squad. The team is in dire need of a midfielder and a few scoring forwards but Jesus where are they.

Brandyh (Galway) - Posts: 25 - 21/01/2024 18:03:56    2521368

Only O curraoin put his hand up for the league and maybe Davoren when he came on!! Was disappointed with the more experienced of the development panel Flaherty Mannion Darcy O Laoi & Monaghans and by experienced I mean they have played league champo before for Galway and underage!! I suppose was only 3rd string and time will tell if this was right tactic by PJ & Co or should he have had a greater mix!! League is tricky be happy enough if we just stay up and try unearth a forward or 2 to join Comer Walsh!! I do think midfield will be our biggest problem however

Eire89 (Galway) - Posts: 281 - 21/01/2024 18:47:48    2521382

Replying To Brandyh:  "Other than 1 or 2 players I can't see any of the rest breaking into the squad. The team is in dire need of a midfielder and a few scoring forwards but Jesus where are they."
It's a pity they can't convince Michael Daly into the squad.

galway19 (Galway) - Posts: 764 - 21/01/2024 19:59:46    2521403

can anyone name 15 for sun day

cavan.galway (Galway) - Posts: 212 - 22/01/2024 12:46:16    2521517

Replying To cavan.galway:  "can anyone name 15 for sun day"
Pádraic can on Friday night

Jellybaby (Dublin) - Posts: 349 - 22/01/2024 13:12:51    2521523

Yes. Padraig Joyce can.

anotheralias (Galway) - Posts: 931 - 22/01/2024 13:19:59    2521526

can anyone name 15 for sun day

cavan.galway (Galway) - Posts: 212 - 22/01/2024 13:32:16    2521530

Replying To Brandyh:  "Other than 1 or 2 players I can't see any of the rest breaking into the squad. The team is in dire need of a midfielder and a few scoring forwards but Jesus where are they."
I'm surprised that Paul Mannion of Kilconly has not been given a chance by PJ as he seems to be the type of pacy, direct, accurate forward that Galway are looking for.

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3470 - 22/01/2024 13:46:29    2521540

Any word on injuries? I presume Sean Kelly, Cillian McDaid and Liam Silke are all doubtful to start the league.

Marooned (Galway) - Posts: 2264 - 22/01/2024 14:04:34    2521548

Why are some people giving out about the team that were beaten by Roscommon in the FBD final last Friday. Lets not be giving out about them, they did their best and some of them are very young and who knows what the future holds for a few of them. Not all good club players make good County players, its a different game but who knows some of them might come good in the next two to three years. Fair play to them for taking the chance to play in the famous maroon jersey.

JakeTheMan (Galway) - Posts: 19 - 22/01/2024 14:05:40    2521549

Replying To Eire89:  "Only O curraoin put his hand up for the league and maybe Davoren when he came on!! Was disappointed with the more experienced of the development panel Flaherty Mannion Darcy O Laoi & Monaghans and by experienced I mean they have played league champo before for Galway and underage!! I suppose was only 3rd string and time will tell if this was right tactic by PJ & Co or should he have had a greater mix!! League is tricky be happy enough if we just stay up and try unearth a forward or 2 to join Comer Walsh!! I do think midfield will be our biggest problem however"
You hear a lot about player welfare, surely Galway could of avoided the overlap between the NUIG Sigerson on the Wednesday and the FBD on Friday. Two matches in 50 hours for Flaherty, O'Curraoin and the two Monaghans is a farcical situation....I'm sure there was some Milltown junior B players could of made up the numbers!!

t.g (Galway) - Posts: 107 - 22/01/2024 14:12:13    2521550

I agree was no need use the sigerson players who played Weds. also O curraoin only came on in 1st game against dublin 7 they lost he kicked 2 points but yet only came on & than was doing sprints with galway selectors after the game very strange. i genuinely have no idea with what team PJ will go with & who is available or not. We are very limited with pour midfield options espec if mcDaid is unavailable. i dont think Paul Kelly is the answer could huis club mate McLoughlin be? Was not impressed with Darcy on Fri night. could we try Davoren there he can certainly field. interested in what others think is likely midfeiled partnership

Eire89 (Galway) - Posts: 281 - 22/01/2024 15:00:40    2521558

Conor Flaherty;
Kieran Molloy, Seán Fitzgerald, Jack Glynn;
Dylan McHugh, John Daly; Tony Gill
Paul Conroy, John Maher
Cathal Sweeney, Matthew Tierney, Johnny Heaney; Rob Finnerty, Damien Comer, Shane Walsh.

This game will probably come too soon for McDaid, Silke, Seán Kelly.

Drax_the_destroyer (UK) - Posts: 202 - 22/01/2024 17:34:03    2521592

Ah lads, not even started the league and the injuries are already causing problems. McLoughlin and Maher maybe in Midfield with Conroy to either start or come in. What's wrong with Mcdaid? Could Joyce not get down on bended knee and bring Michael Daly back or has that ship sailed. What about O Currain I assume he has to come into squad. Where is Finnerty? Its hard to believe we have a lack of scoring forwards maybe PJ will try lads in the league where surely to feck avoiding relegation is the objective. Could someone post our full panel outside of the development squad if such a list is available.

JahTribe (Galway) - Posts: 155 - 22/01/2024 17:35:41    2521593

Replying To Drax_the_destroyer:  "Conor Flaherty;
Kieran Molloy, Seán Fitzgerald, Jack Glynn;
Dylan McHugh, John Daly; Tony Gill
Paul Conroy, John Maher
Cathal Sweeney, Matthew Tierney, Johnny Heaney; Rob Finnerty, Damien Comer, Shane Walsh.

This game will probably come too soon for McDaid, Silke, Seán Kelly."
I'm sure I'd heard Jack Glynn is injured as well

galway19 (Galway) - Posts: 764 - 22/01/2024 18:32:59    2521607