Galway Football thread

Replying To smallfrank:  "I agree. I forgot him. I'm a big fan. There is serious competition among the defenders to start.
I don't think Glynn will start which sounds mad given he was last years young footballer of the year. L Silie, Kelly, McGrath, Hernon and Daly have to start on recent form county and club"
I think Glynn will start and Sean Kelly will be out the field. Hernon possibly an option at 3.

crankyincorofin (Galway) - Posts: 94 - 24/11/2023 11:48:42    2514435

Replying To smallfrank:  "I agree. I forgot him. I'm a big fan. There is serious competition among the defenders to start.
I don't think Glynn will start which sounds mad given he was last years young footballer of the year. L Silie, Kelly, McGrath, Hernon and Daly have to start on recent form county and club"
Fair enough! Agree on Glynn, I'd rate McGrath ahead of him. Molloy is returning from a very serious injury so will wait and see if he can return to his 2022 form and do think Hernon will be putting him under serious pressure. I just wish we were producing the quality of forwards that we seem to be producing in the backs in recent years.

TheBishop (Galway) - Posts: 273 - 24/11/2023 12:55:11    2514455

Replying To galwayman2:  "Strong team. I think McGrath may get in ahead of Glynn. But great to have that headache - we were so weak in the full back line for a long time.
Cathal Sweeney has been in brilliant form for the past 12 months though and - he may well get in somewhere.
We have depth now."
I think Sweeney will be putting pressure on Heaney, similar players who can play anywhere.

Just hope Cooke commits for 2024

TheBishop (Galway) - Posts: 273 - 24/11/2023 12:57:12    2514456

Replying To Gaa_lover:  "Gleeson
Glynn S Kelly L Silke
K Molloly Daly McHugh
McDaid Maher/Conroy
Cooke Tierney Heaney
Finnerty D Comer S Walsh

That will be Joyce preferred starting 15 when all are available for selection and I have Conroy/Maher because Conroy was first choice and will turn 35 next year, Maher looks to be his replacement."
McGrath was arguably or player of the year in 23

smallfrank (Galway) - Posts: 404 - 24/11/2023 13:01:19    2514457

No one seems to be mentioning James McLaughlin or Tomo Culhane? 2 excellent prospects from what I've seen of them. McLaughlin I know is very injury prone but he is the prototype dominant modern midfielder in my opinion while Culhane was a very good ball winner and leader for the u20 All Ireland winning team as a first year u20. Will we see them with Galway in 24?

Kerry15 (Kerry) - Posts: 968 - 24/11/2023 14:44:20    2514480

Replying To Kerry15:  "No one seems to be mentioning James McLaughlin or Tomo Culhane? 2 excellent prospects from what I've seen of them. McLaughlin I know is very injury prone but he is the prototype dominant modern midfielder in my opinion while Culhane was a very good ball winner and leader for the u20 All Ireland winning team as a first year u20. Will we see them with Galway in 24?"
McLaughlin does seem to have a lot of the raw materials to be a top midfielder. He has been very unfortunate with injury and missed a lot of football. He definitely showed bits in this year's senior club championship, but he needs plenty more games.
Tomo was on the panel in 2023 and got some championship game time. He didn't make a big impression though and seemed to struggle in his time on the pitch against Tyrone. He'll be hoping to push on next year.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2105 - 24/11/2023 15:20:37    2514488

Replying To togoutlads:  "Yes, planning to head over to Ruislip for 6th April. It should be great craic. It'd be great to get a big Galway following heading over there and show the lads some real support. I think Galway are going to have a serious crack at the AI this year. The time is now and despite what some detractors will say, I've little doubt we've the squad to go after it like dogs. London is where it starts, let's get them out of the Championship blocks with a wave of support over there. It's easy to get to!"
With all due respect to London, we need to learn from last year - the serious stuff starts at q. final stage, with incremental progress in between. We need to leave the Connaught dog fight to Mayo and Ros. next year, and try to maintain a clean bill of health.

The two most important positions in the modern game are: goalie and midfield. So, do we have a Cluxton or Fenton in the county? No and No!! ..ball burst!

Really (Galway) - Posts: 610 - 24/11/2023 16:09:39    2514498

Replying To TheBishop:  "I think Sweeney will be putting pressure on Heaney, similar players who can play anywhere.

Just hope Cooke commits for 2024"
No committing for 24..
Back working in US

Galwaymaster9 (Galway) - Posts: 397 - 24/11/2023 16:18:54    2514499

Replying To Galwaymaster9:  "No committing for 24..
Back working in US"
Would be a significant loss if true. Was Moycullen's best player this year with Kelly injured a good bit. Had a slow start with Galway this year but was really coming into form towards the end.

Marooned (Galway) - Posts: 2236 - 25/11/2023 15:17:18    2514570

Congrats to Killannin on winning the U19 A. Beating Corofin. After beating Salthill in the west board final. They must have a good crop there.

Marooned (Galway) - Posts: 2236 - 25/11/2023 15:20:35    2514571

Brilliant performance and win for Killannin, they've the foundation for a good senior team with this crop of players.

GDL (Galway) - Posts: 751 - 25/11/2023 16:23:44    2514577

Replying To GDL:  "Brilliant performance and win for Killannin, they've the foundation for a good senior team with this crop of players."
Great win for Killannin, congrats to all involved, best team on the day by a mile

1951andwaiting (Galway) - Posts: 85 - 25/11/2023 17:39:13    2514580

Replying To Marooned:  "Would be a significant loss if true. Was Moycullen's best player this year with Kelly injured a good bit. Had a slow start with Galway this year but was really coming into form towards the end."
I thought Cooke upset the chemistry of the side a bit this year. Got his hands on loads of possession, but rarely tends to deliver the momentum that'll trouble intercounty defences. Not very creative either. More likely to land 0-4 from range for himself, than to create 0-4 for other players to score. That lack of creativity is a problem, if you're a prospective intercounty midfielder or half forward.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3725 - 26/11/2023 10:40:05    2514617

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "I thought Cooke upset the chemistry of the side a bit this year. Got his hands on loads of possession, but rarely tends to deliver the momentum that'll trouble intercounty defences. Not very creative either. More likely to land 0-4 from range for himself, than to create 0-4 for other players to score. That lack of creativity is a problem, if you're a prospective intercounty midfielder or half forward."
His decision making always slow - resulting in either having to recycle or, as frequently happened, giving up possession after a sloppy pass. Maher has some useful midfield attributes, but he too needs to up the tempo of his distribution - remains to be seen if he has that skill in his locker. I haven't seen young Cogger playing, but cranky seems v. impressed with his potential. So, should be worth looking at.

Perhaps Pj might start looking at sons of former Galway IC players based in Dublin. Young Gavin a few years ago was involved in the Dublin panel and seemed a good prospect..

AnCrúiscínLán (Galway) - Posts: 102 - 26/11/2023 17:19:53    2514634

No mention on here about yesterday Intermediate Connacht final. Monivea Abbey had a big home support in attendance but I'm guessing few it none of the Galway posters on here went to the match or watched the live stream?

Was at it myself and while it was a low scoring contest with defences on top I thought it was a enjoyable contest with a great atmosphere in the old stand and the last game of that old Tuam stadium stand. Great memories and contests I've viewed from there over the years. Fine margin victory for Castlerea in the end and over the course the 60 plus minutes it was a deserved win for them.

Moving on to next Sunday's Connacht senior final in Hyde Park, Corofin will be favourites and some might foolishly write Brigids off. Both sides has been solid defensively all year so another low scoring fine margin contest shouldn't be ruled out. Hopefully the weather stays decent for it.

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 3839 - 26/11/2023 20:09:43    2514641

Replying To The_analyser:  "No mention on here about yesterday Intermediate Connacht final. Monivea Abbey had a big home support in attendance but I'm guessing few it none of the Galway posters on here went to the match or watched the live stream?

Was at it myself and while it was a low scoring contest with defences on top I thought it was a enjoyable contest with a great atmosphere in the old stand and the last game of that old Tuam stadium stand. Great memories and contests I've viewed from there over the years. Fine margin victory for Castlerea in the end and over the course the 60 plus minutes it was a deserved win for them.

Moving on to next Sunday's Connacht senior final in Hyde Park, Corofin will be favourites and some might foolishly write Brigids off. Both sides has been solid defensively all year so another low scoring fine margin contest shouldn't be ruled out. Hopefully the weather stays decent for it."
Didn't see any of the intermediate final but not that surprising that Monivea Abbey lost. They've been in a lot of tight games recently and scraped through them but the loss of McDaid was going to be felt eventually. He's a difference maker for them at this level. Hopefully Castlerea can go all the way now.

Marooned (Galway) - Posts: 2236 - 26/11/2023 21:15:02    2514649

Kinvara has retained the North Board u19 B title... no small feat for a club from a hurling dominant area. Some talented players on show but you would fear that many will inevitably lost to the small ball. Would be great to see them build on that Junior B team who were competive this year.

WonTon5 (Galway) - Posts: 9 - 26/11/2023 21:45:28    2514651

@The_Analyser Congratulations that a random intermediate club from your county won a Connacht title at the weekend. Might be the straw to break the one sided nature we've seen between the counties in championship in recent years

PressureKick (UK) - Posts: 233 - 27/11/2023 08:27:53    2514670

Replying To The_analyser:  "No mention on here about yesterday Intermediate Connacht final. Monivea Abbey had a big home support in attendance but I'm guessing few it none of the Galway posters on here went to the match or watched the live stream?

Moving on to next Sunday's Connacht senior final in Hyde Park, Corofin will be favourites and some might foolishly write Brigids off. Both sides has been solid defensively all year so another low scoring fine margin contest shouldn't be ruled out. Hopefully the weather stays decent for it."
No , we were waiting for the Roscommon supporters to invade and start the gloating. And you didn't let us down.

anotheralias (Galway) - Posts: 912 - 27/11/2023 08:46:51    2514673

Who is the Clarinbridge manager for 2024 lads?

Monaghansclown (Monaghan) - Posts: 177 - 27/11/2023 10:47:06    2514691