Galway Football thread

Replying To tommy k:  "Thanks - do you know if Daithí Burke is making himself available for the Connacht club championship?"
When did Daithi last play for Corofin? Can't remember seeing him play for them any time in recent years but I might be mistaken.

Marooned (Galway) - Posts: 2236 - 06/11/2023 14:41:21    2511768

Michaels will be very disappointed. A Division 1 league team.

They were very vocal on social media after beating Dunmore in the opening group game and found themsleves appealing structures and then losing all games subsequently bar a 1 point win over An Spideal.

Played 7 games and only 2 wins ! Deservedly relegated.

MapleSyrup (Galway) - Posts: 165 - 06/11/2023 14:49:56    2511769

Intermediate is probably the most competitive championship in the county. 5 or 6 teams will fancy their chances next year. The two relegated sides, Michael's and An Spideal. Kilconly who have lost the last two finals. Oileain Arann and Cortoon who are there or thereabouts most years in the semi-finals. And teams like Michael Breathnach, St Brendan's and Glenamaddy will feel they are in with a shout as well if things go well for them.

Marooned (Galway) - Posts: 2236 - 06/11/2023 14:52:53    2511771

Replying To MapleSyrup:  "Michaels will be very disappointed. A Division 1 league team.

They were very vocal on social media after beating Dunmore in the opening group game and found themsleves appealing structures and then losing all games subsequently bar a 1 point win over An Spideal.

Played 7 games and only 2 wins ! Deservedly relegated."
"Played 7 games and only 2 wins ! Deservedly relegated"

As opposed to Leitir Mor who played 8 games and won 2.. ...

anotheralias (Galway) - Posts: 912 - 06/11/2023 15:58:51    2511789

Replying To anotheralias:  ""Played 7 games and only 2 wins ! Deservedly relegated"

As opposed to Leitir Mor who played 8 games and won 2.. ..."
Or Barna who played 6 and won 1

anotheralias (Galway) - Posts: 912 - 06/11/2023 16:01:17    2511790

Replying To tommy k:  "Thanks - do you know if Daithí Burke is making himself available for the Connacht club championship?"
Be very suprised if he doesnt make an appearance. Whatever night they return to training this week will reveal same. heard he trained with them 5/6 weeks ago for a night or two but that info is 2nd hand so not sure how true

fairplay4ever (Galway) - Posts: 419 - 06/11/2023 16:22:35    2511796

Replying To GDL:  "The next job for Johnson is the Galway senior job, when PJ calls time on it, the only issue we may have is the Mayo one could be available first. He appears to be a very able individual."
He's a Sligo man and will be eying up their county job I can imagine with a lot of good young players coming through having one back to back Connacht U20 title and minor title in 2021 and this will likely be Tony McEtee final year. Galway will likely replace PJ with another Galway man perhaps Donal O'Fathartha who won the 2020 U20 All Ireland?

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3439 - 06/11/2023 16:22:41    2511797

Replying To anotheralias:  ""Played 7 games and only 2 wins ! Deservedly relegated"

Ohh your poor, bitter and resentful Michaels fan.

Leitir Mor won when it mattered. Unlike Michaels.

MapleSyrup (Galway) - Posts: 165 - 06/11/2023 16:29:48    2511800

Time to give it a rest lad. I take no joy in any team going down, but Michael's had 3 relegation games to keep themselves up and played poorly in all of them. They were deservedly relegated when all was said and done. I've no doubt they'll dust themselves off and get ready for next year.
We're at 16 teams in senior now, so no more uneven groups. It should simplify things for everyone.
Intermediate looks like it'll be a real bear pit. A good number of teams will fancy themselves to make a good run at it, but only one will make it out.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2105 - 06/11/2023 16:41:41    2511802

Fair play to corofin yesterday better team by a good bit, really surprised with moycullen with all there so called expert coaches and management they had one game plan and when that didn't work they were clueless, over all a good championship with a few potential players for Galway to have a look at, I do feel bad for Micheals and find it hard to believe that they will be playing intermediate next year but just goes to show can't take your eye off the ball at this level, monivea looked the better team also on Saturday and they look like the will have the squad depth to stay senior next year,

Fox.1n.7he.b0x (Galway) - Posts: 112 - 06/11/2023 17:38:25    2511809

Replying To Gaa_lover:  "He's a Sligo man and will be eying up their county job I can imagine with a lot of good young players coming through having one back to back Connacht U20 title and minor title in 2021 and this will likely be Tony McEtee final year. Galway will likely replace PJ with another Galway man perhaps Donal O'Fathartha who won the 2020 U20 All Ireland?"
He's living in Galway 25 years and teaches in St Endas, penny just dropped, isn't that where Frank Morris taught

smallfrank (Galway) - Posts: 404 - 06/11/2023 17:54:59    2511812

Replying To fairplay4ever:  "Be very suprised if he doesnt make an appearance. Whatever night they return to training this week will reveal same. heard he trained with them 5/6 weeks ago for a night or two but that info is 2nd hand so not sure how true"
I believe he's in the Garda college in Templemore so rocking up to training might take be an option

smallfrank (Galway) - Posts: 404 - 06/11/2023 17:55:48    2511813

Replying To MapleSyrup:  "Ohh your poor, bitter and resentful Michaels fan.

Leitir Mor won when it mattered. Unlike Michaels."
I guarantee you I have ZERO connection with, or love for, st Michael's. Just have to call out a) the incompetence of CB, and b) the dislike I have for people kicking others when they are down like people are doing to St Michael's, quoting stats to support the argument when those stats don't stack up.

anotheralias (Galway) - Posts: 912 - 06/11/2023 20:04:10    2511826

With Moycullen out of championship now that will free up the 8 lads that were in with county earlier this year also the 7 lads from salthill and 7 from Mountbellew ,, ,,

Kickitout (Galway) - Posts: 899 - 06/11/2023 20:11:35    2511828

It's never nice to see a team go down, especially a team that feels they belong at senior level. To a certain point I felt for Michael's in the sense under different rules they could've been in a 1/4 final and they chanced their arm that the appeal might work, however the senior championship doesn't finish after the group stages and it's up to the clubs themselves to battle on the best they can to ensure safety. There's a lot being said that Michael's had a hangover from the appeal that's one thing I don't buy ,for most they were still the favourites out of the 4 teams in relegation to get the most points,I'd imagine the manager still had training 3 times a week and that the panel that would be playing had to show up and put in the work, if they didn't then that's their own fault. I think it's fair to say that Killannin and Lettermore did and I'm sure spiddal did their best also but were dealt a blow that Finnian went abroad again as their team changes completely when he's not in it. A lot of teams can have troubles in camp Annaghdown didn't even field a team for their division 1 relegation league game earlier in the year and they managed to bring Alan Glynn in and stayed out of relegation and will look to push on again next year, Lettermore had trouble all year with their manager and got rid of him when the group stages were almost over they looked as if they had no hope and were a changed team for the relegation battle. A lot of teams have their own problems in some way or another that can turn things upside down just that some are more documented than others depending on the team we are talking about ,things can change very quickly for teams and it's how you react and bounce back from it that shows what kind of metal you have. Personally I would've had Caherlistrane ,Dunmore and even Milltown struggling more than they did this year ahead of Killannin and Michael's but to their credit coaches and players did very well did what they had to do and it will be a big boost especially for Dunmore to have another year senior with the younger lads they have having the experience of those tough games this year even the relegation play off with killannin will have brought them lads on far more than if they didn't have to play it.

Clancesee (Galway) - Posts: 2 - 06/11/2023 21:02:16    2511833

It's never nice to see a team go down, especially a team that feels they belong at senior level. To a certain point I felt for Michael's in the sense under different rules they could've been in a 1/4 final and they chanced their arm that the appeal might work, however the senior championship doesn't finish after the group stages and it's up to the clubs themselves to battle on the best they can to ensure safety. There's a lot being said that Michael's had a hangover from the appeal that's one thing I don't buy ,for most they were still the favourites out of the 4 teams in relegation to get the most points,I'd imagine the manager still had training 3 times a week and that the panel that would be playing had to show up and put in the work, if they didn't then that's their own fault. I think it's fair to say that Killannin and Lettermore did and I'm sure spiddal did their best also but were dealt a blow that Finnian went abroad again as their team changes completely when he's not in it. A lot of teams can have troubles in camp Annaghdown didn't even field a team for their division 1 relegation league game earlier in the year and they managed to bring Alan Glynn in and stayed out of relegation and will look to push on again next year, Lettermore had trouble all year with their manager and got rid of him when the group stages were almost over they looked as if they had no hope and were a changed team for the relegation battle. A lot of teams have their own problems in some way or another that can turn things upside down just that some are more documented than others depending on the team we are talking about ,things can change very quickly for teams and it's how you react and bounce back from it that shows what kind of metal you have. Personally I would've had Caherlistrane and Dunmore and even Milltown struggling more than they did this year ahead of Killannin and Michael's but to their credit coaches and players did very well did what they had to do and it will be a big boost especially for Dunmore to have another year senior with the younger lads they have having the experience of those tough games this year even the relegation play off with killannin will have brought them lads on far more than if they didn't have to play it.

Clancesee (Galway) - Posts: 2 - 07/11/2023 01:32:39    2511840

Going back to the county panel - seems like a few young players have put their hand up to be brought into the senior panel for the league. Patrick Egan of Corofin looks a real player and also Glen Kelly of Monivea looks good, I'd like to see both given a proper chance. Forwards with pace that can beat a defender is what Galway need let's hope PJ and co have scouted a few for the league. If I see Dessie, E Finnerty and co again in January I think I'll give up

Flemenstar200 (Galway) - Posts: 50 - 07/11/2023 09:26:37    2511845

Replying To Flemenstar200:  "Going back to the county panel - seems like a few young players have put their hand up to be brought into the senior panel for the league. Patrick Egan of Corofin looks a real player and also Glen Kelly of Monivea looks good, I'd like to see both given a proper chance. Forwards with pace that can beat a defender is what Galway need let's hope PJ and co have scouted a few for the league. If I see Dessie, E Finnerty and co again in January I think I'll give up"
Would have to agree with you on Patrick Egan and I would also add cogger in there also, i just don't think Glen kelly has what it takes for inter county football looks a good club footballer and an excellent free taker but he failed to make the under 20 team last year and then left the squad when it wasn't going his way but he is young so hopefully he can keep improving, I would like to think pj would use a total inexperienced team for the fbd to blood new lads and see what there made of

Fox.1n.7he.b0x (Galway) - Posts: 112 - 07/11/2023 10:18:35    2511852

Replying To Flemenstar200:  "Going back to the county panel - seems like a few young players have put their hand up to be brought into the senior panel for the league. Patrick Egan of Corofin looks a real player and also Glen Kelly of Monivea looks good, I'd like to see both given a proper chance. Forwards with pace that can beat a defender is what Galway need let's hope PJ and co have scouted a few for the league. If I see Dessie, E Finnerty and co again in January I think I'll give up"
Does Egan have another year at u20? If so, I'd leave him to focus on that, then bring him in when the u20 is over. Good talent but theres no rush.

What age is Glenn Kelly?

Agree re Dessie and Eoin Finnerty etc. But its very hard to not include them in the panel and take a chance on them when they're consistently delivering in the club championship. It must be frustrating for any intercounty manager to see.

I watched a lot of senior club championship matches over the last few years and I dont think there are too many names jumping out. We have a good squad of players but it is always the same tried and tested lads doing the business for their clubs.

GalwaysFinest (Galway) - Posts: 190 - 07/11/2023 10:20:09    2511853

Agreed its time to give youth their chance - James McLaughlin deserves an extended run in the league also. Along with the likes of Patrick Egan, Tony Gill and Glen Kelly they would appear to be the future of Galway football.

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3470 - 07/11/2023 10:24:45    2511854