Galway Football thread

When will we know time date and venue for the Tyrone game is there any chance that they would play it in tuam any time we play Tyrone in the league it was in tuam?? Where we have had good success there against them!

Fox.1n.7he.b0x (Galway) - Posts: 102 - 08/05/2023 17:34:03    2476839

Replying To Fox.1n.7he.b0x:  "When will we know time date and venue for the Tyrone game is there any chance that they would play it in tuam any time we play Tyrone in the league it was in tuam?? Where we have had good success there against them!"
It's fixed for pierce stadium at 5 30 on the Saturday

minor77 (Galway) - Posts: 223 - 08/05/2023 18:04:00    2476843

Replying To Fox.1n.7he.b0x:  "When will we know time date and venue for the Tyrone game is there any chance that they would play it in tuam any time we play Tyrone in the league it was in tuam?? Where we have had good success there against them!"
I would expect that an attendance of more than 6 and half thousand is anticipated, so that would rule out Tuam which is limited to 6,700. Let's hope there are enough football followers in Galway to justify that expectation.

backtooldwall (Galway) - Posts: 68 - 08/05/2023 19:10:37    2476861

Replying To GDL:  "For **** sake, I go to Castlebar see a brilliant performance, we score 22 times, I go to Supermac in Ballinrobe and drop the kids home and head for a few pints and come in to read this *****. Lads and lassies on here complaining about players, it is now going on for the past few years, people complaining about players, Johnny Heaney, Liam Silke, Paul Conroy, Peter Cooke, Matt Tierney, Ian Burke and now we have Shane Walsh, that just leaves ye Damo, Sean Kelly and John Daly to have a dig at. There is no pleasing some. Shane is different gravy and we are lucky to have him."
Don't sweat the small stuff, take a deep breath, and maybe ease up on the booze.
I was just making a point.

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1705 - 08/05/2023 19:21:45    2476864

Replying To cavan.galway:  "thats up there with one of the worst takes i have seen in years, you must be on the wind up"
I'd bet some of his former clubmates had the same opinion not too long ago :(

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1705 - 08/05/2023 19:22:53    2476865

Replying To FatLadySinging:  "The snide comments, innuendo and criticisms of Shane Walsh on this forum by so-called GAA supporters, are disgraceful. Shane owes us nothing. He wasn't required to perform at anything like his best against Sligo. We were in the good position of being able to bring on all our subs in the 2nd half. PJ is not so foolish as to risk one of our top players being injured when much tougher tests lie ahead. The critics would then have a field day lambasting PJ for risking Shane at all in a match against Division 4 opponents. Shane is such a talented player that he will produce the goods when required. He has nothing to prove to us. Please don't insult the man by suggesting he has any agenda to play for Dublin or any team except Galway. The current Galway team are as good if not better than any other team in the country including Dublin."
Shane Walsh owes every Galway person a solid effort if he's wearing the jersey and representing Galway. It's wrong to say he owes us nothing.

jam83 (Galway) - Posts: 133 - 08/05/2023 19:36:38    2476869

No chance in hell..
Sat week in Pearse at 5 15

Belclare (Galway) - Posts: 904 - 08/05/2023 20:07:37    2476874

Already confirmed. Saturday May 20th Pearse Stadium, 5.15pm

Yondu (UK) - Posts: 845 - 08/05/2023 20:21:01    2476878

Game is set for Salthill.

Marooned (Galway) - Posts: 2214 - 08/05/2023 21:04:02    2476888

Replying To foreveryoung:  "Congratulations Galway. Fine win, doing the county proud."
Lads I've been watching football for 40 years and I honestly think that Shane Walsh is the most talented footballer I've ever seen and I include DC in that. I love watching him play and by God he has given some displays for ye over the years. One incident a couple of years back when he ran the length of the field up the sideline and kicked a wonder point when the fat was in the fire. Think it was against mayo, maybe Rossies. Anyway treasure him while ye have him cos his likes won't be around again.

Overthebar53 (Carlow) - Posts: 203 - 09/05/2023 00:08:03    2476914

Replying To Overthebar53:  "Lads I've been watching football for 40 years and I honestly think that Shane Walsh is the most talented footballer I've ever seen and I include DC in that. I love watching him play and by God he has given some displays for ye over the years. One incident a couple of years back when he ran the length of the field up the sideline and kicked a wonder point when the fat was in the fire. Think it was against mayo, maybe Rossies. Anyway treasure him while ye have him cos his likes won't be around again."
I think you're talking about the point against Mayo in 2020 Connacht Final. He had Keegan on him, turned him inside out, carried the ball 50 or 60 yards at pace and then finished it with a brilliant kick over the bar. All on a soft November pitch.
As we've said, he can do things nobody else can.
Hope to see him get into form as the championship hots up now.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2039 - 09/05/2023 09:50:21    2476926

Massive achievement on winning #49 in Connacht, I enjoyed my trip up there despite the smallish crowd. Pity there were not more "neutrals" from local residents at game. Big tests lie ahead for sure. Best of luck to Sligo and all Connacht teams in round-robin.

suckvalleypaddy (Galway) - Posts: 1669 - 09/05/2023 10:14:45    2476935

Replying To GDL:  "For **** sake, I go to Castlebar see a brilliant performance, we score 22 times, I go to Supermac in Ballinrobe and drop the kids home and head for a few pints and come in to read this *****. Lads and lassies on here complaining about players, it is now going on for the past few years, people complaining about players, Johnny Heaney, Liam Silke, Paul Conroy, Peter Cooke, Matt Tierney, Ian Burke and now we have Shane Walsh, that just leaves ye Damo, Sean Kelly and John Daly to have a dig at. There is no pleasing some. Shane is different gravy and we are lucky to have him."
Your fairly fond of giving out about connor gleeson yourself

Dunmore10 (Galway) - Posts: 120 - 09/05/2023 10:27:52    2476941

Replying To Yondu:  "Well done to Galway yesterday on expected routine victory. Sligo in fairness started brightly but once the goals were conceded they knew contest was as good as over. Kept fighting 2nd half which was improvement on the 2018 match v Galway when they threw in the towel and lost by 21 points.

Ciaran Whelan had piece during the week about Galway relying on Comer and Walsh too much for scores well Matthew Tierney certainly stepped up yesterday with 2-7.

Connacht GAA got the venue and ticket prices wrong will they learn from it however? I'd expect more to travel to Pearse Stadium for the Tyrone match on May 20th and more reasonable priced tickets.

Important now to top the group and avoid that play off match a week before the All-Ireland quarter final."
KK hurlers a decade ago and Limerick hurlers in the last 5 years always had / have 1 or 2 players who were deemed "quiet" during a game but others stepped up to get the job done. In the Sligo game it was Matt, in the Roscommon game it was Damian, in the AI Final last year (albeit ultimately losing in the last few minutes) it was Shane and in other games it was Rob. This year you could add Peter and Ian to that list of forwards. As long as we can keep these guys injury free, I would think at least one of them will step up to the plate when required. Of course it would be nice to have them all firing equally on the same day but that could happen too - don't rule it out!

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3322 - 09/05/2023 12:36:07    2477002

I think Kerry have sharpened up a lot and are trying to move the ball very fast and direct towards goal. They have very good interplay between the forwards.
Not seeing the same from Galway. It's good when lads can step up if others are quiet. But to win the all Ireland we'd need to be a bit more direct at times. An example being Daly's beautiful pass for the first goal.
Hopefully it'll come.

jam83 (Galway) - Posts: 133 - 09/05/2023 14:31:53    2477036

Replying To Dunmore10:  "Your fairly fond of giving out about connor gleeson yourself"
I pointed out Bernie Power is a better keeper,I stand by this, I watched the analysis that was posted up here by Brisbane and this analysis confirms my opinion. Bernie Power is the best keeper in Galway, when you present facts and figures (from a renowned analysis) to dispute this we can debate it again.

GDL (Galway) - Posts: 721 - 09/05/2023 16:15:24    2477073

I see a lot of complaining about Players, venues and availability on TY
1) players are not robots and dont play the same everyday if there not playing up to expectations they are taken off and often we dont agree with Managers decision
2)Venues should not matter most pitches are the same dimensions
3) Access to games on TV I say thank God for GAAGO (I live in the States) have a one year pass For$139.00 and i get an average of 5 games every weekend some are live some are catchup I also get the SUNDAY GAME and it breaks down toe about $1 a game II also get the club games I dont get the galway cub games because Galway Gaa Want to sell their own Pay per view

fishpond (Galway) - Posts: 89 - 09/05/2023 17:43:32    2477102

Away from the Intercounty setup.
Has anyone been following the club leagues? Any watch out teams/players for the coming season?

LetsPlayBall (Galway) - Posts: 51 - 11/05/2023 07:37:32    2477469

Replying To jam83:  "I think Kerry have sharpened up a lot and are trying to move the ball very fast and direct towards goal. They have very good interplay between the forwards.
Not seeing the same from Galway. It's good when lads can step up if others are quiet. But to win the all Ireland we'd need to be a bit more direct at times. An example being Daly's beautiful pass for the first goal.
Hopefully it'll come."
I thought Kerry looked very good too.
In reality, our forwards didn't clock against them last year. The Walsh thing was just an individual performance and fair play to him. Finnerty, Comer, Tierney had very little impact.

We defended well as a team last year, I believe we have attached better as a team this year, I think Burke and Cooke have helped in that regard. Sean Kelly, John Daly and McHugh are bigger attacking threats than they were, it will be interesting to see how this develops.

smallfrank (Galway) - Posts: 364 - 11/05/2023 10:14:58    2477503

Replying To jam83:  "I think Kerry have sharpened up a lot and are trying to move the ball very fast and direct towards goal. They have very good interplay between the forwards.
Hopefully it'll come."
Clare were diabolical in fairness. So many kick passes into Kerry hands therefore were caught so many teams un-set defensively so of course Kerry had free reign to run at them and go for the jugular each time. No chance they will have it as easy in the groups. We will get a good look of where Kerry are at before our game on Saturday Week.

tribesman125 (Galway) - Posts: 173 - 11/05/2023 11:01:43    2477532