Galway Football thread

Replying To Really:  "I often wonder why some people use the plural when talking about the goalkeeper's slot. Surely, he/she can only occupy one goal at a time.

Anyway, this match will boil down to the influence the Canavans can bring to bear. You get the impression they are both due to explode onto the scene - some talents fair play.."
One goal at a time, but he will be occupying both goals over the course of the match. So he will be in 'goals' for the game.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2033 - 20/05/2023 10:51:58    2479750

We dont need to win but winning is a habit. I certainly dont think losing to Tyrone and Armagh would be good prep fora tilt at an AI but in the crazy world of the GAA we could do just that and if beating Westmeath get a preQF but I think that route is fraught with injury and recovery risks as pointed out by Jack O Connor last week. Beat Tyrone and Armagh, rest lads for Westmeath and ready for a QF is my preferred option.

PancakeWard (Galway) - Posts: 86 - 20/05/2023 11:02:51    2479752

Replying To Galway9801:  "We don't need to win it.
We can lose against tyrone, and lose against armagh, and still more than likely reach the quarter finals."
That would not be a good strategy in fairness as there would be an extra game to play to reach the quarterfinals as far as I am aware. There will be enough tough games to play without adding another one unnecessarily.

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3314 - 20/05/2023 11:10:13    2479756

Lads let's go out and win what's in front of us, none of this "we can afford" to lose craic. That attitude won't win us the big one in July

ahsure. (Galway) - Posts: 1568 - 20/05/2023 13:17:44    2479763

Job done never looked like losing, sending off helped but Tyrone became even more defensive once Frank Burns went off. All the spotlight on neighbours Mayo now after their result today while Galway go about their business under the radar

Yondu (UK) - Posts: 845 - 20/05/2023 19:20:43    2479805

Tough battle in dire conditions for football. I hope Jack is ok that wasa very nasty tackle indeed. Tyrone shut down completely and did very well but we slogged it out in a gritty fashion. Next step is to beat Westmeath and take the sting out of a match against Armagh who are desperate to avenge last years penalty loss. We can afford to rest lads if we beat Westmeath and results go our way. A dour match but a big win.

PancakeWard (Galway) - Posts: 86 - 20/05/2023 19:21:36    2479806

Nice to win by 3 relatively comfortably against a good side when we didn't really play great. Shows how far we've come.

Conditions were horrific today.

Thought Sweeney was excellent. Really injected some line breaking directness to our play. Gleeson was also very good. Credit where it's due.

On a lighter note........ the DJ/announcer had a day to forget! Played the green and red of mayo, then couldn't find the anthem and lastly nearly had Conor Meyler coming off by mistake!

Mayonman (Galway) - Posts: 1826 - 20/05/2023 21:22:19    2479845

Replying To tommy k:  "That would not be a good strategy in fairness as there would be an extra game to play to reach the quarterfinals as far as I am aware. There will be enough tough games to play without adding another one unnecessarily."
Absolutely, I agree, it's good to top the group but we definitely didn't need to win it as the other poster I replied to suggested.

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1697 - 20/05/2023 21:22:46    2479847

Scrappy game and great to win it. Thought Gleeson was superb, dealt well with highballs after first minute and made a good save in first minute. He really nailed 2 pressure kickouts at the end when Tyrone were pressing. Well done to him, hopefully that debate is done for the season.
Should be beating Westmeath with a bit to spare and hopefully have good momentum for Armagh because topping the group will give a week off and that will be needed.

jobseekersbent (Galway) - Posts: 373 - 21/05/2023 06:51:37    2479872

Replying To Yondu:  "Job done never looked like losing, sending off helped but Tyrone became even more defensive once Frank Burns went off. All the spotlight on neighbours Mayo now after their result today while Galway go about their business under the radar"
The obsession with Mayo never ends for ye lads

tirawleybaron (Mayo) - Posts: 1103 - 21/05/2023 09:32:46    2479882

Replying To Yondu:  "Job done never looked like losing, sending off helped but Tyrone became even more defensive once Frank Burns went off. All the spotlight on neighbours Mayo now after their result today while Galway go about their business under the radar"
How are Galway under the radar? People have been tipping them as All Ireland winners the whole year.

MayoDan (Mayo) - Posts: 414 - 21/05/2023 09:41:45    2479886

Replying To Mayonman:  "Nice to win by 3 relatively comfortably against a good side when we didn't really play great. Shows how far we've come.

Conditions were horrific today.

Thought Sweeney was excellent. Really injected some line breaking directness to our play. Gleeson was also very good. Credit where it's due.

On a lighter note........ the DJ/announcer had a day to forget! Played the green and red of mayo, then couldn't find the anthem and lastly nearly had Conor Meyler coming off by mistake!"
Hardly surprising that Sweeney would look so standout at breaking lines, when we're fielding the 8 to 12 that we're fielding now. Maher Conroy Cooke Tierney Heaney are a fairly one paced quintet really, and don't bring serious transition speed to the party. Cooke and Tierney are ideally central players imo, who could play midfield, no11, no14. And despite this surplus of 'central talent' that we're fielding, we're bizarrely still being cleaned of virtually all long kickout ball, and the breaking ball from long kickouts.

That said, Tyrone are still a hardy outfit, and were champs in 2021, so it was a very satisfactory result.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3410 - 21/05/2023 10:38:22    2479907

Good win, Cathal Sweeney was excellent when he came on, paul conroy and connor gleeson also had good games

Dunmore10 (Galway) - Posts: 120 - 21/05/2023 11:09:29    2479915

Embarrassing yesterday at Galway v Tyrone that Amhran na Bhfiann wasn't played yesterday. I go to other grounds and they have someone lined up. Pearse Staduim should do better.

DifferentBreed (Galway) - Posts: 34 - 21/05/2023 12:03:20    2479931

Good job Galway, best to young Glynn. That was a reckless challenge by Burns.

suckvalleypaddy (Galway) - Posts: 1667 - 21/05/2023 12:14:22    2479935

Replying To DifferentBreed:  "Embarrassing yesterday at Galway v Tyrone that Amhran na Bhfiann wasn't played yesterday. I go to other grounds and they have someone lined up. Pearse Staduim should do better."
Not only that, but when the crowd took it upon themselves to start singing it, the PA then interrupted and said we don't have the music, let's move on.
Should have let the crowd carry on and finish it. Would have been even better to be honest.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2033 - 21/05/2023 12:26:43    2479939

Replying To tirawleybaron:  "The obsession with Mayo never ends for ye lads"
Pots and kettles spring to mind.

anotheralias (Galway) - Posts: 839 - 21/05/2023 12:48:32    2479942

Replying To MayoDan:  "How are Galway under the radar? People have been tipping them as All Ireland winners the whole year."
Don't Mayo people and most of the media tip Mayo every year plus Joe "one more thing - Mayo for Sam" Biden? lol

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3314 - 21/05/2023 13:02:21    2479947

Replying To tirawleybaron:  "The obsession with Mayo never ends for ye lads"
Says the fella on the Galway forum....

Belclare (Galway) - Posts: 904 - 21/05/2023 13:18:45    2479953

Replying To Belclare:  "Says the fella on the Galway forum...."
It's not a forum - the key is in the title

tirawleybaron (Mayo) - Posts: 1103 - 21/05/2023 13:28:48    2479954