Galway Football thread

Very poor attendance 2 day think € 20 was plenty to go today in reality it should have being played Hyde park might have bit of atmosphere,,

Kickitout (Galway) - Posts: 840 - 07/05/2023 19:51:33    2476512

Replying To eoinog:  "Well done today. The loss of form for Shane Walsh must be a concern for ye. Appears to have the weight of the world on his shoulders and not enjoying his football at all"
It is a worry. He kicked two good scores from play in the league final but apart from that his form has been poor this season so far.
Not sure I'm buying the line that he was in bed sick this week. Maybe he was but I'm more inclined to believe that Pj was sending a message taking him off.
Could be wrong just my own opinion.
His demeanour/body language at the moment doesn't look great.

galwayman2 (Galway) - Posts: 1241 - 07/05/2023 19:58:47    2476515

Replying To galwayman2:  "It is a worry. He kicked two good scores from play in the league final but apart from that his form has been poor this season so far.
Not sure I'm buying the line that he was in bed sick this week. Maybe he was but I'm more inclined to believe that Pj was sending a message taking him off.
His demeanour/body language at the moment doesn't look great."
Would agree. The optics weren't good between Walsh and the management today imo. Taking him off 5mins after HT in a borderline turkeyshoot didn't have a positive vibe about it.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3419 - 07/05/2023 20:29:04    2476527

Replying To galwayman2:  "It is a worry. He kicked two good scores from play in the league final but apart from that his form has been poor this season so far.
His demeanour/body language at the moment doesn't look great."
Sorry but I wouldn't be at all surprised if he lines out for Dublin within a year or two.
And I've a funny feeling that all those galway people supporting his transfer to crokes because "he can do what he likes, good luck to him, it's his choice" etc will have a very different outlook if that were to happen lol.

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1705 - 07/05/2023 21:03:11    2476536

Replying To Gaa_lover:  "My prediction for this Sunday.

Galway 1-22 Sligo 0-13

Scorers

Galway - S Walsh 0-8 5fs, D Comer 0-5 1M, J Heaney 1-0, M Tierney 0-3 1 45, I Burke 0-1, C McDaid 0-1,P Cooke 0-1,R Finnerty 0-1, J Maher 0-1, P Conroy 0-1

Sligo - N Murphy 0-5 4fs, P O'Connor 0-3 1f, P Spillane 0-2,Sean Carrabine 0-2,L Towey 0-1"
Good prediction, fair play

Trucker1 (Galway) - Posts: 373 - 07/05/2023 21:10:00    2476539

Replying To Galway9801:  "Sorry but I wouldn't be at all surprised if he lines out for Dublin within a year or two.
And I've a funny feeling that all those galway people supporting his transfer to crokes because "he can do what he likes, good luck to him, it's his choice" etc will have a very different outlook if that were to happen lol."
For **** sake, I go to Castlebar see a brilliant performance, we score 22 times, I go to Supermac in Ballinrobe and drop the kids home and head for a few pints and come in to read this *****. Lads and lassies on here complaining about players, it is now going on for the past few years, people complaining about players, Johnny Heaney, Liam Silke, Paul Conroy, Peter Cooke, Matt Tierney, Ian Burke and now we have Shane Walsh, that just leaves ye Damo, Sean Kelly and John Daly to have a dig at. There is no pleasing some. Shane is different gravy and we are lucky to have him.

GDL (Galway) - Posts: 721 - 07/05/2023 23:28:47    2476575

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "Would agree. The optics weren't good between Walsh and the management today imo. Taking him off 5mins after HT in a borderline turkeyshoot didn't have a positive vibe about it."
Rubbish, he'll be fine. He's a marked man nowadays so is smart enough to know whenever he gets the ball. most of the time he just has to pass it on and continue the move. He only has to get lucky once or twice during the 70 minutes to make a difference. People read way too much into these things most of the time. Next day out v Tyrone he'll probably light up the place, with Comer and Tierney being subdued.

Triffic (Galway) - Posts: 124 - 07/05/2023 23:35:15    2476577

Replying To Galway9801:  "Sorry but I wouldn't be at all surprised if he lines out for Dublin within a year or two.
And I've a funny feeling that all those galway people supporting his transfer to crokes because "he can do what he likes, good luck to him, it's his choice" etc will have a very different outlook if that were to happen lol."
Haha - absolutely delusional stuff. There's no chance of that at all.

TheHuckleBuck (Galway) - Posts: 24 - 08/05/2023 07:11:16    2476592

thats up there with one of the worst takes i have seen in years, you must be on the wind up

cavan.galway (Galway) - Posts: 185 - 08/05/2023 08:21:30    2476601

Shane Walsh had the flu or something very like a flu. No more to it than that. He's an outrageous talent, he loves Galway football to the core and, don't worry, he'll tear it up yet. Connacht is won but there's a long road to go yet and a very busy season. It appears he needs to do some more stamina and speed work to get to his best but he'll be back.

togoutlads (Galway) - Posts: 902 - 08/05/2023 09:37:41    2476610

Some achievement for Athenry to win the county feile in both Division 1 football and Division 1 hurling. Cant be too many clubs to have done that. Beat Corofin in the football final at the weekend and Oranmore in the hurling final last week.

galway19 (Galway) - Posts: 674 - 08/05/2023 09:58:28    2476617

Two points on your post:
I'd be very surprised if that happened.
Of course Galway people who aren't bothered about his club move, would be annoyed if he went playing for Dublin. Sure that's blatantly obvious. It's like saying I have a funny feeling I'd be in pain if I broke my arm.
On his form, I wouldn't be very worried. He's that type of player where he can be outrageously good and then appear to be fairly quiet.
It's great to have different threats and not to be relying on the same players all the time.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2039 - 08/05/2023 10:11:40    2476624

Replying To Belclare:  "I believe he spent two days in bed this week sick, and Joyce I'm sure probably didn't need to start him..
Ian Burke was again excellent along with many more.. Tierney 2 7 was unreal..
Forwards playing in Castlebar scoring for fun; not something that stadium is used to"
As I said here before Galway footballers much prefer to play in Castlebar or Hyde Park than in Salthill for Tuam for some strange reason. That is why I would be nervous about Tryone playing Galway at home in the next match. As for yesterday's match it was a no win situation for Galway - win well and you're expected to do so or don't win well there is something wrong with the team. Wouldn't worry too much about Shane just yet - he has had a long season and appears to be tired especially since the trip to Australia with his girlfriend after the club final with Kilmacud so I expect him to be firing when it really matters. You could say Damian Comer didn't score yesterday either but he set up the 2 goals and Peter Cooke appears to be getting back to his best along with Ian Burke . All these players are considered "danger-men" by opposition so they are going to be marked much tighter than "non danger-men". For instance Cathal Sweeney scored an easy enough point in the second half yesterday as he wasn't perceived to be much of a threat. That happens all the time in matches. I think Galway have to tighten up a lot in defence for Tyrone as Sligo scored some easy points yesterday with little or no pressure on the men running through or some being left unmarked completely to take easy points.

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3322 - 08/05/2023 10:21:04    2476634

A professional job was done yesterday. As said by a fellow poster, it was a no win situation as we were expected to win so comfortably and did. A lot of people talking about Galway this morning and Shane in particular but this is part and parcel of being at the top table and one of the favorites for Sam, people will always look for flaws and inconsistencies in the top teams performances.

Id imagine PJ is very content with yesterday overall. No goal conceded, a lot of minutes into lads and some excellent individual displays no more so than from Tierney of course but also very pleased with Daly, Kelly, McGrath and Cooke.

Really looking forward to the group opener v Tyrone which should draw a very healthy crowd in Salthill. Gaillimh Abu.

tribesman125 (Galway) - Posts: 173 - 08/05/2023 11:12:41    2476664

The snide comments, innuendo and criticisms of Shane Walsh on this forum by so-called GAA supporters, are disgraceful. Shane owes us nothing. He wasn't required to perform at anything like his best against Sligo. We were in the good position of being able to bring on all our subs in the 2nd half. PJ is not so foolish as to risk one of our top players being injured when much tougher tests lie ahead. The critics would then have a field day lambasting PJ for risking Shane at all in a match against Division 4 opponents. Shane is such a talented player that he will produce the goods when required. He has nothing to prove to us. Please don't insult the man by suggesting he has any agenda to play for Dublin or any team except Galway. The current Galway team are as good if not better than any other team in the country including Dublin.

FatLadySinging (Galway) - Posts: 88 - 08/05/2023 15:20:05    2476775

Well done to Galway yesterday on expected routine victory. Sligo in fairness started brightly but once the goals were conceded they knew contest was as good as over. Kept fighting 2nd half which was improvement on the 2018 match v Galway when they threw in the towel and lost by 21 points.

Ciaran Whelan had piece during the week about Galway relying on Comer and Walsh too much for scores well Matthew Tierney certainly stepped up yesterday with 2-7.

Connacht GAA got the venue and ticket prices wrong will they learn from it however? I'd expect more to travel to Pearse Stadium for the Tyrone match on May 20th and more reasonable priced tickets.

Important now to top the group and avoid that play off match a week before the All-Ireland quarter final.

Yondu (UK) - Posts: 845 - 08/05/2023 15:33:31    2476778

Shane definitely going through a tough spell at moment but he will turn it around he is class act I still think they need play him full forward no where else that's the position he kicked 9 points in all Ireland and he hardly has played there since no point playing him in the corner even when he get ball way to many players. To beat and he near corner flag , Kerry don't have Clifford abroad in corner or tracking back u play ur biggest score threat at 14 and in my opinion that's Shane ..

Kickitout (Galway) - Posts: 840 - 08/05/2023 15:56:46    2476787

Replying To FatLadySinging:  "The snide comments, innuendo and criticisms of Shane Walsh on this forum by so-called GAA supporters, are disgraceful. Shane owes us nothing. He wasn't required to perform at anything like his best against Sligo. We were in the good position of being able to bring on all our subs in the 2nd half. PJ is not so foolish as to risk one of our top players being injured when much tougher tests lie ahead. The critics would then have a field day lambasting PJ for risking Shane at all in a match against Division 4 opponents. Shane is such a talented player that he will produce the goods when required. He has nothing to prove to us. Please don't insult the man by suggesting he has any agenda to play for Dublin or any team except Galway. The current Galway team are as good if not better than any other team in the country including Dublin."
That is what I was thinking. I believe SW is 100% committed to Galway from an inter county perspective. Even if he wasn't tbh Dublin have no better chance than us in my view of delivering a celtic cross that his talent so richly deserves.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1946 - 08/05/2023 16:00:42    2476791

Replying To FatLadySinging:  "The snide comments, innuendo and criticisms of Shane Walsh on this forum by so-called GAA supporters, are disgraceful. Shane owes us nothing. He wasn't required to perform at anything like his best against Sligo. We were in the good position of being able to bring on all our subs in the 2nd half. PJ is not so foolish as to risk one of our top players being injured when much tougher tests lie ahead. The critics would then have a field day lambasting PJ for risking Shane at all in a match against Division 4 opponents. Shane is such a talented player that he will produce the goods when required. He has nothing to prove to us. Please don't insult the man by suggesting he has any agenda to play for Dublin or any team except Galway. The current Galway team are as good if not better than any other team in the country including Dublin."
One person made the comment and he has been ridiculed by everyone who has responded to him.
There will always be people who are ignorant, petty, stupid or a combination of all 3. There's no need to pay much heed to them or to get too worked about them.
The team performance on Sunday was very good, with a few excellent individual displays. Having a balanced team with multiple options and threats is what we want and there has definitely been progress in that regard.
Looking forward to the group stages.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2039 - 08/05/2023 16:16:01    2476793

Congratulations Galway. Fine win, doing the county proud.

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 1909 - 08/05/2023 16:23:09    2476797