Galway Football thread

Replying To Belclare:  "Listen Martin ease up on the defensive.
All I pointed out is unfortunately Cortoon are struggling for numbers as are a lot of rural clubs; I admire the work that goes on but sometimes there is no harm in giving an opinion on some that inevitably will happen eventually.
Fair play to Savo at 45 togging last week to make sure ye stayed Intermediate. But then again he took the place of a young lad.. Does that help in the long run?"
Have to agree with Belclare here. Clubs find it so hard to drop the hero's of times past, and to that end Savo was a legend. But in truth if you bring on a 45 year old, it is because you don't have anyone better, and if that's the case the team is better off dropping to its actual level, and getting games into young players. Yes a team would be better to lose than go down the 45 year old road, or even 35 for that matter. The bigger picture though is that all rural clubs, even Corofin, are doomed in the medium and long term. The city and its satellites are the future with even large towns like Tuam struggling. Oranmore has 2500 school children right now (from the parish). Cortoon/Brownsgrove probably has 180. Same for all the rural clubs. We don't and wont have the numbers.

giveitlong (Galway) - Posts: 1275 - 19/09/2022 14:15:31    2441208

Replying To giveitlong:  "Have to agree with Belclare here. Clubs find it so hard to drop the hero's of times past, and to that end Savo was a legend. But in truth if you bring on a 45 year old, it is because you don't have anyone better, and if that's the case the team is better off dropping to its actual level, and getting games into young players. Yes a team would be better to lose than go down the 45 year old road, or even 35 for that matter. The bigger picture though is that all rural clubs, even Corofin, are doomed in the medium and long term. The city and its satellites are the future with even large towns like Tuam struggling. Oranmore has 2500 school children right now (from the parish). Cortoon/Brownsgrove probably has 180. Same for all the rural clubs. We don't and wont have the numbers."
While some of the smaller more remote clubs are definitely going to struggle and will have to be amalgamate, I wouldn't be as gloomy as to say even clubs like Corofin are doomed.
Corofin isn't that far from Galway. There's also been a trend of people moving out of cities and suburbs to more rural areas to raise families. The rapid growth in the number of jobs which can be done remotely at least partially or full-time, will also help people to make this choice.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2300 - 19/09/2022 15:24:38    2441220

Replying To giveitlong:  "Have to agree with Belclare here. Clubs find it so hard to drop the hero's of times past, and to that end Savo was a legend. But in truth if you bring on a 45 year old, it is because you don't have anyone better, and if that's the case the team is better off dropping to its actual level, and getting games into young players. Yes a team would be better to lose than go down the 45 year old road, or even 35 for that matter. The bigger picture though is that all rural clubs, even Corofin, are doomed in the medium and long term. The city and its satellites are the future with even large towns like Tuam struggling. Oranmore has 2500 school children right now (from the parish). Cortoon/Brownsgrove probably has 180. Same for all the rural clubs. We don't and wont have the numbers."
not sure i agree that the city and the satellites are the future but i agree with ur broader point. demographics are changing and we need to change with them. amalgamations etc are the way forward.

for bigger population centres e.g. Tuam there is really no excuse. All I can say is it comes back to the availability of volunteers and someone to drive it in the community. It is getting harder and harder to get volunteers and one of the reasons is the amount of red tape. you often see the same people across multiple sports.

one thing i noticed was i was asked to do vetting for both Soccer and GAA. Then I was asked to do safeguarding when i was treasurer ........ that was just before i was asked to do a first aid course (in case i choked on all the money i was collecting! not sure why a treasurer has to do safeguarding...

Mayonman (Galway) - Posts: 1920 - 19/09/2022 16:03:07    2441232

Glen v Kilconly - Glen by 1
Brendans V Corofin - Brendans by 6
Dunmore V K/C - Dunmore by 10+
Arann V M/B - Arann by 8+

Castlebar2019 (Mayo) - Posts: 26 - 20/09/2022 16:03:38    2441337

Glan vs kilconly - glan by 3
Brendans vs corofin - Brendan's by 5
Dunmore vs Kilkerrin clonberne - Dunmore by 9
Aran islands vs Michael breatneachs - aran islands by 6

Ros4sam1 (Roscommon) - Posts: 11 - 20/09/2022 17:42:07    2441344

Replying To Castlebar2019:  "Glen v Kilconly - Glen by 1
Arann V M/B - Arann by 8+"
Kilconly by 2
Brendans by 4
Dunmore by 8
Arann by 4

98galway (Galway) - Posts: 8 - 20/09/2022 18:09:41    2441350

Replying To Castlebar2019:  "Glen v Kilconly - Glen by 1
Arann V M/B - Arann by 8+"
Kilconly by 9
Brendan's by 4
Dunmore by 8
MB by 7

Grove11 (Galway) - Posts: 1 - 20/09/2022 22:00:32    2441374

Glan vs Kilconly - Draw, with Glan winning in ET
Dunmore vs K/C - Dunmore by 5
Arann vs MB - Arann by 3
Brendan's vs Corofin - Brendan's by 5

Not.A.Quelly (Galway) - Posts: 95 - 21/09/2022 09:10:38    2441378

Glen by 2
Brendans by 5
Dunmore by 5
Aran by 6

togoutlads (Galway) - Posts: 1045 - 21/09/2022 10:26:34    2441387

Replying To Belclare:  "Listen Martin ease up on the defensive.
All I pointed out is unfortunately Cortoon are struggling for numbers as are a lot of rural clubs; I admire the work that goes on but sometimes there is no harm in giving an opinion on some that inevitably will happen eventually.
Fair play to Savo at 45 togging last week to make sure ye stayed Intermediate. But then again he took the place of a young lad.. Does that help in the long run?"
Instead of enjoying the achievements of the most successful club in gaelic football history you seem to take delight in knocking smaller clubs or other clubs who are regressing . And it's not just that comment it's several comments you've made in the past. You seem to gloat. Maybe that's not your intention but it's how it has come across.

Its not inevitable.Savage club called and he answered it. Fairplay to him. Just like Clancy would have answered our call. Just like KW answered the call. Just like PJ and Tommy Joyce were ready and togged if needed when they got the call. And I'm sure there's plenty of others . They are showing passion for their club and setting a massive example to the youngsters that no matter what you have achieved in gaelic football you would do anything for your club in it's hour of need. Stuff like that is what makes me love the GAA

galwayfball (Galway) - Posts: 1704 - 21/09/2022 13:11:25    2441410

Replying To galwayfball:  "Instead of enjoying the achievements of the most successful club in gaelic football history you seem to take delight in knocking smaller clubs or other clubs who are regressing . And it's not just that comment it's several comments you've made in the past. You seem to gloat. Maybe that's not your intention but it's how it has come across.

Its not inevitable.Savage club called and he answered it. Fairplay to him. Just like Clancy would have answered our call. Just like KW answered the call. Just like PJ and Tommy Joyce were ready and togged if needed when they got the call. And I'm sure there's plenty of others . They are showing passion for their club and setting a massive example to the youngsters that no matter what you have achieved in gaelic football you would do anything for your club in it's hour of need. Stuff like that is what makes me love the GAA"
I'm not gloating, you have the issue , assuming that I look down on these clubs..
I hardly live in a metropolis.. I call out points of football in general as I see it over the years. Granted many people take issue, especially the Mayos, but I couldn't really care less.
Take the cortoon example.. and I have the utmost respect for Savo and everything he did. But seriously it can't be easy for one of the young under 19s there pushing for a starting spot on their intermediate team. There own 19 game was conceded last week( for whatever reason) and then he loses his place to Savo who togs for the first time this year..How does that help his development?
I recall PJ doing the same for Killererin when they were fighting to stay senior, and guess what? They were relegated the year he decided not to to tog..
As pointed out above its inevitable, and sometimes no harm as then you can start rebuilding once and for all and move on..

Belclare (Galway) - Posts: 904 - 21/09/2022 21:01:02    2441484

Replying To Glanfan2:  "Ah here Westie , 2nd cut at Glan , you must have been knocked back there one night. Let Aran get over Breathnachs first before worrying about anyone else.
IF , and thats a big if , Glan beat Kilconly ( who are firm favourites ) dont think anyone would like to draw them in semis not even the islanders."
I wasn't trying to totally bash glan. They have a couple of good players and I actually think they will get over the line against Kilconly. It's of my own opinion that they wont make it much further then that.

Glen vs Kilconly - Glen by 3
St Brendans vs Corofin - Brendans by 7
Dunmore vs K/C - Dunmore by 9
Arann vs MB - Arann by 4

Westie123 (Galway) - Posts: 4 - 21/09/2022 21:33:46    2441486

Replying To Westie123:  "I wasn't trying to totally bash glan. They have a couple of good players and I actually think they will get over the line against Kilconly. It's of my own opinion that they wont make it much further then that.

Glen vs Kilconly - Glen by 3
St Brendans vs Corofin - Brendans by 7
Dunmore vs K/C - Dunmore by 9
Arann vs MB - Arann by 4"
Glad to hear that you werent "totally" bashing glan , and that they have a "couple of good players" , so maybe theyve just been blessed with luck to win the league and have best scoring difference in the championship so far. Most scored , least conceded.
You may well be right about progression , we'll wait and see , but if this Glan team turn up on any given day they will be very hard to beat.

Glanfan2 (Galway) - Posts: 25 - 23/09/2022 13:37:55    2441644

Oileáin Árann edged a right battle against MB. I knew this one would go down to the wire. That's a big win psychologically. All the more impressive given they're missing Mulkerrin.
They'll have a right cut at it now.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2300 - 24/09/2022 17:34:42    2441731

Very entertaining match in the stadium with both teams taking some fine scores but both defences very suspect. Can't see Arann going any further but fairplay to them Mulkerins is to big a loss to carry and they are leaking to many easy scores. Showed great character to keep going to the whistle to nip it in the final minutes.

MB will be kicking themselves but they were very fortunate to qualify for quarter finals on scoring difference and the same as last year. They will be happy that they avoided relegation play offs which can go anyway.

Stripsandbanners (Galway) - Posts: 82 - 24/09/2022 17:39:58    2441732

Corofin beat Brendan's I see. Would that not be a minor surprise? Brendan's seemed to be going very well in the groups. Think Aran have a decent chance. I'd fancy them against any of the remaining teams apart from maybe Dunmore.

Marooned (Galway) - Posts: 2379 - 24/09/2022 19:31:31    2441746

Surprise or no surprise we turned up and Brendan's didn't. They thought it would be easy game.
There no great shakes tbh.

handpassking (Galway) - Posts: 438 - 25/09/2022 09:09:19    2441760

As predicted, a good win for our b team over the Ballygar lads. Perhaps their officers should focus on what happens on the pitch rather than engaging in a saga to switch to another county championship. Brian Raftery excellent again but I wouldn't get carried way over a win over a team so soon up from junior.

crankyincorofin (Galway) - Posts: 104 - 25/09/2022 10:03:15    2441763

Crankyincorofin I would be more concerned with the overall standard of football in intermediate when a club up from junior can hammer all ahead of them in the group stages. We got them on the hop yesterday but still.

I know its our second team but we could make the final now which does not reflect well on the standards tbh.

handpassking (Galway) - Posts: 438 - 25/09/2022 10:56:02    2441769

Replying To crankyincorofin:  "As predicted, a good win for our b team over the Ballygar lads. Perhaps their officers should focus on what happens on the pitch rather than engaging in a saga to switch to another county championship. Brian Raftery excellent again but I wouldn't get carried way over a win over a team so soon up from junior."
very lazy comment from a man who's club is in transition

5plus9 (Galway) - Posts: 19 - 25/09/2022 11:11:19    2441771