Galway Football thread

Replying To galway19:  "Unfortunately there were a few concessions in the U19 championship, Tuam conceded to Corofin, St Michaels conceded to Salthill and Milltown conceded to Cortoon. I don't think the Tuam one mattered too much as they were already bottom of the group and haven't won a game.

Oranmore must have a decent u19 outfit given they are yet to be beaten this year and that west championship looks strong."
If Corofin conceded to Tuam it would matter... trust me..

Belclare (Galway) - Posts: 904 - 15/09/2022 15:05:01    2440782

Replying To galwaygael:  "Don't know what football you've been watching this year juniorblegend, but by my calculations Glenamaddy have only lost 1 game this year which was round one of the league V Leitr Mor, so that seems pretty consistent to me!

Glen v Kilconly - Glen by 3
Brendans V Corofin - Brendans by 4
Dunmore V K/C - Dunmore by 6
Arann V M/B - Arann by 6"
League means nothing. Glan have had a reasonably easy path to date compared to the other group leaders. Put them in pearse stadium against the islanders and you will see what they are really made of.

Westie123 (Galway) - Posts: 4 - 15/09/2022 15:36:06    2440787

Replying To galway19:  "Unfortunately there were a few concessions in the U19 championship, Tuam conceded to Corofin, St Michaels conceded to Salthill and Milltown conceded to Cortoon. I don't think the Tuam one mattered too much as they were already bottom of the group and haven't won a game.

Oranmore must have a decent u19 outfit given they are yet to be beaten this year and that west championship looks strong."
Now surely Tuam Stars should be able to field a team at under 19 level.
There's a lot of very small clubs who were able to muster a team.

galwayman2 (Galway) - Posts: 1307 - 15/09/2022 20:54:13    2440831

Replying To Belclare:  "It's only delaying the inevitable for Cortoon..
They'll end up Junior eventually..
Conceded a u 19 C game during the week..."
You're one to talk Belclare. Club about 25 times the size of Cortoon and yet you talk down to us. Only last year Cortoon were senior and you here talking about us going junior. Truly haven't a clue. Scrub up your knowledge on why that under 19 game was conceded and come back to me before making stupid assumptions

TinfoilBoyle14 (Galway) - Posts: 1 - 16/09/2022 16:30:04    2440908

Replying To TinfoilBoyle14:  "You're one to talk Belclare. Club about 25 times the size of Cortoon and yet you talk down to us. Only last year Cortoon were senior and you here talking about us going junior. Truly haven't a clue. Scrub up your knowledge on why that under 19 game was conceded and come back to me before making stupid assumptions"
Would 100% agree with this. I tackled Belclare on the same issue last year. Very easy throw digs at struggling rural clubs, a lot harder to keep these club alive, like so many great volunteers in these rural areas do.

Donaldtrump (Galway) - Posts: 252 - 17/09/2022 13:32:44    2440958

Replying To TinfoilBoyle14:  "You're one to talk Belclare. Club about 25 times the size of Cortoon and yet you talk down to us. Only last year Cortoon were senior and you here talking about us going junior. Truly haven't a clue. Scrub up your knowledge on why that under 19 game was conceded and come back to me before making stupid assumptions"
There seems to be a few cranky in Corofin at the moment. Picking on minnows, now that there is serious competition at senior level, and the game is not going their way. Great to see Dunmore doing well. Tuam need to invest in underage big time - the talent has to be there.. Ballinasloe has unreal competition from rugby - but surely, they can do much better too.

Really (Galway) - Posts: 629 - 17/09/2022 13:51:20    2440961

Replying To Westie123:  "League means nothing. Glan have had a reasonably easy path to date compared to the other group leaders. Put them in pearse stadium against the islanders and you will see what they are really made of."
Ah here Westie , 2nd cut at Glan , you must have been knocked back there one night. Let Aran get over Breathnachs first before worrying about anyone else.
IF , and thats a big if , Glan beat Kilconly ( who are firm favourites ) dont think anyone would like to draw them in semis not even the islanders.

Glanfan2 (Galway) - Posts: 25 - 17/09/2022 18:04:27    2440975

Replying To Donaldtrump:  "Would 100% agree with this. I tackled Belclare on the same issue last year. Very easy throw digs at struggling rural clubs, a lot harder to keep these club alive, like so many great volunteers in these rural areas do."
Yes, you have to think of the amount of volunteer work that goes into maintaining these rural clubs. Glan/Williamstown and Glinsk get together under Northern Gaels at minor level. But as they get older the pride in their individual clubs trump, and so, like the eel migrating to the saragasso, they want nothing more than to represent their home clubs - intermediate or junior, it doesn't matter to them. Imo that's the essence of the true Gaa spirit.

Glinsk recently played Tuam in NB junior final and several players were the wrong side of 40. They narrowly lost out - but the pride it generated within the parish was unreal..

Really (Galway) - Posts: 629 - 18/09/2022 20:13:28    2441075

2 things struck me watching the Dublin club games on RTE.
1. Michael Day is decent.
2. Doesn't Paul Mannion have Galway connections, could we get him involved with us next year.
Ah well.

smallfrank (Galway) - Posts: 495 - 18/09/2022 20:14:43    2441076

Replying To smallfrank:  "2 things struck me watching the Dublin club games on RTE.
2. Doesn't Paul Mannion have Galway connections, could we get him involved with us next year.
Ah well."
Anyone watching Headford in the intermediate championship over the past 7-8 years could have told you Mike Day is a decent player to be fair.

galwayman2 (Galway) - Posts: 1307 - 18/09/2022 20:36:01    2441080

Replying To smallfrank:  "2 things struck me watching the Dublin club games on RTE.
Ah well."
Mannion has Roscommon connections I think around Athlone but he'll be back with the Dubs next year.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2381 - 18/09/2022 20:36:08    2441081

Replying To endgame:  "Mannion has Roscommon connections I think around Athlone but he'll be back with the Dubs next year."
I can see the reason... Mannion and McCaffrey have nothing to prove. But with all due respects, this is a bang average Kerry outfit. This Dublin team won't want to go out on a whimper. But, no doubt Dublin players will realise, it's not going to be handed to them either, and ultimately, it will come down to the collective desire. I have great admiration for Dublin football..

Really (Galway) - Posts: 629 - 18/09/2022 21:26:53    2441098

Something that stuck out for me watching the Dublin club games v Galway games, Dublin teams are all for kicking in ball quick and early, while there are a high amount of unforced turnovers and 50/50 balls it makes for much better watching, like compare that to oughterard playing corrofin in the first round, across from sideline to sideline boring stuff to watch, then once possession is with corrofin 15 back like robots and set up the defensive line, very organised but my god it's painful to watch, moycullen similar kept depth but when they broke the broke with pace and support.

Sportsfanatic90 (Westmeath) - Posts: 228 - 18/09/2022 21:46:56    2441104

Replying To Sportsfanatic90:  "Something that stuck out for me watching the Dublin club games v Galway games, Dublin teams are all for kicking in ball quick and early, while there are a high amount of unforced turnovers and 50/50 balls it makes for much better watching, like compare that to oughterard playing corrofin in the first round, across from sideline to sideline boring stuff to watch, then once possession is with corrofin 15 back like robots and set up the defensive line, very organised but my god it's painful to watch, moycullen similar kept depth but when they broke the broke with pace and support."
While I'd agree with your point in general, comparing Oughterard vs Corofin to a few games in the Dublin championship on the weekend isn't really a fair reflection of both county championships.
The Dublin county final last year was a very poor spectacle for the majority of the game as St Jude's played a very negative style, with the whole team sitting back. I think it took 20 minutes for Crokes to kick a score. I wouldn't judge Dublin club football solely on that game though.
Oughterard took an awful hiding from Corofin in their first year up senior. They knew they weren't going to beat them this year and their main aim was to keep the score down, as scoring difference could have been crucial in the relegation battle.
When the better teams play each other, there are less packed defences and more players are committed to attack.
Mountbellew vs Salthill and Corofin vs Moycullen were examples of much better games.
The best teams in Galway (M/M, Moycullen and Corofin) play a good brand of football.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2300 - 19/09/2022 10:17:44    2441139

Replying To Sportsfanatic90:  "Something that stuck out for me watching the Dublin club games v Galway games, Dublin teams are all for kicking in ball quick and early, while there are a high amount of unforced turnovers and 50/50 balls it makes for much better watching, like compare that to oughterard playing corrofin in the first round, across from sideline to sideline boring stuff to watch, then once possession is with corrofin 15 back like robots and set up the defensive line, very organised but my god it's painful to watch, moycullen similar kept depth but when they broke the broke with pace and support."
You would do well to find many better club games played so far this year than the Mountbellew Salthill game.

galway19 (Galway) - Posts: 881 - 19/09/2022 11:15:09    2441155

Replying To galwayman2:  "Anyone watching Headford in the intermediate championship over the past 7-8 years could have told you Mike Day is a decent player to be fair."
To be fair, bit of a step up in standard Saturday evening

smallfrank (Galway) - Posts: 495 - 19/09/2022 11:33:56    2441165

Replying To WanPintWin:  "While I'd agree with your point in general, comparing Oughterard vs Corofin to a few games in the Dublin championship on the weekend isn't really a fair reflection of both county championships.
The Dublin county final last year was a very poor spectacle for the majority of the game as St Jude's played a very negative style, with the whole team sitting back. I think it took 20 minutes for Crokes to kick a score. I wouldn't judge Dublin club football solely on that game though.
Oughterard took an awful hiding from Corofin in their first year up senior. They knew they weren't going to beat them this year and their main aim was to keep the score down, as scoring difference could have been crucial in the relegation battle.
When the better teams play each other, there are less packed defences and more players are committed to attack.
Mountbellew vs Salthill and Corofin vs Moycullen were examples of much better games.
The best teams in Galway (M/M, Moycullen and Corofin) play a good brand of football."
Good point, familiarly too. Lots of the Galway lads and clubs are familiar with its each other from underage club, county, schools and college. It Mountbellew play Corofin or Moycullen they will know each other inside out.

The problem is the likes of Kilcoo have had success and other clubs will try the same thing

smallfrank (Galway) - Posts: 495 - 19/09/2022 11:37:10    2441167

Replying To galway19:  "You would do well to find many better club games played so far this year than the Mountbellew Salthill game."
Based on some of the tackles I saw from the likes of Cooper and Mick Fitzsimons I'd be inclined to kick it as soon as I got it too.

smallfrank (Galway) - Posts: 495 - 19/09/2022 11:39:02    2441168

Listen Martin ease up on the defensive.
All I pointed out is unfortunately Cortoon are struggling for numbers as are a lot of rural clubs; I admire the work that goes on but sometimes there is no harm in giving an opinion on some that inevitably will happen eventually.
Fair play to Savo at 45 togging last week to make sure ye stayed Intermediate. But then again he took the place of a young lad.. Does that help in the long run?

Belclare (Galway) - Posts: 904 - 19/09/2022 12:10:04    2441175

Replying To smallfrank:  "To be fair, bit of a step up in standard Saturday evening"
Absolutely. Just saying it shouldn't be a surprise to people who have watched him play before. Galway's best player in u21 Connacht final in 2015 in Tuam.

galwayman2 (Galway) - Posts: 1307 - 19/09/2022 13:43:53    2441202