Galway Hurling thread

Wex needed 3 favours from ref.

1. Give a free against Mannion for time (why was it not a throw-in?)
2. Give Lee Chin as much time as he needed to convert.
3. Give Wexford and extra minute for equalizer.
Galway did blow it in all fairness.

maroondiesel (Mayo) - Posts: 1196 - 16/04/2022 20:18:48    2411202

Replying To munsterchamps:  "i'm changing my 3 to come out of leinster.....
kilkenny
dublin
westmeath."

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2446 - 16/04/2022 20:23:46    2411206

Replying To katser:  "Galway will definitely improve and get better we were atleast 10pts a better team, but not much hope for Wexford. Any team that tries to play with 14 men in their own half and leave one lad up front in front of their home supporters?? This is hurling not soccer!"
Galway are at nothing won't even come out of Leinster don't have the players

PatKeyes73 (Limerick) - Posts: 21 - 16/04/2022 20:23:51    2411207

Replying To katser:  "Galway will definitely improve and get better we were atleast 10pts a better team, but not much hope for Wexford. Any team that tries to play with 14 men in their own half and leave one lad up front in front of their home supporters?? This is hurling not soccer!"
Totally right. Galway will improve... I mean isn't it impossible for Galway to be worse, next day out? ... Or not?

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 1903 - 16/04/2022 20:36:39    2411213

Replying To Waveitwide:  "Is the Limerick page closed"
Are people outside Galway not allowed to comment on Galway. The match is live on TV and the only game on. I'm sure plenty of people outside Limerick and Cork will have comments on our game tomorrow. Anyway that's beside the point Galway should have won but Whelans injury and playing with 7 defenders gave the initiative to Wexford. Expecting a 19 year old to win ball on his own against the likes of O'Hanlon and Ryan wasn't fair on him and gave Galway no out ball while Galway subs hardly touched the ball. Looking at Dublin hanging on tonight both teams should be good enough to get out of Leinster.

updwell (Limerick) - Posts: 816 - 16/04/2022 20:39:51    2411215

Replying To updwell:  "Are people outside Galway not allowed to comment on Galway. The match is live on TV and the only game on. I'm sure plenty of people outside Limerick and Cork will have comments on our game tomorrow. Anyway that's beside the point Galway should have won but Whelans injury and playing with 7 defenders gave the initiative to Wexford. Expecting a 19 year old to win ball on his own against the likes of O'Hanlon and Ryan wasn't fair on him and gave Galway no out ball while Galway subs hardly touched the ball. Looking at Dublin hanging on tonight both teams should be good enough to get out of Leinster."
Any reply from me was not on a comment or opinion on the match it was a nonsense statement trying to be smart from your side of the fence

Waveitwide (Galway) - Posts: 137 - 16/04/2022 20:46:23    2411219

Replying To maroondiesel:  "Wex needed 3 favours from ref.

Galway did blow it in all fairness."
Rory O'Connor should have had at least another 5 frees and Joseph Cooneys tackle on O'Keefe could have been a red- it was reckless.

updwell (Limerick) - Posts: 816 - 16/04/2022 20:48:41    2411220

Classic game of 2 halves. We were very poor 1st half. No intensity. No hunting in packs. No running into space. Poor pockets straight down on top of Galways big men. No forwards inside and our crowded midfield bypassed both ways. Better intensity 2nd half. Our subs, 3 of whom who probably should've started, swung it our way late on. Lee Chin gave us a massive lift. Great atmosphere at the game. All to play for going forward. I'm more confident we will both make the AI series now.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11725 - 16/04/2022 20:51:06    2411221

As I expected the Galway v Kilkenny game in Pearce Stadium will be a dress rehearsal for the Leinster Final and the golden ticket to the All Ireland Semi Final.
It could be some dog fight for 3rd place between Westmeath,Laois, Dublin and Wexford.

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2192 - 16/04/2022 21:07:59    2411229

Replying To katser:  "As I expected the Galway v Kilkenny game in Pearce Stadium will be a dress rehearsal for the Leinster Final and the golden ticket to the All Ireland Semi Final.
It could be some dog fight for 3rd place between Westmeath,Laois, Dublin and Wexford."
If Whelan is missing for any matches you will be scrapping with Westmeath and Laois to avoid being back in the Joe Mac. Awesome player.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11725 - 16/04/2022 21:20:23    2411239

It was a throw in.

WEX98 (Wexford) - Posts: 374 - 16/04/2022 21:23:01    2411241

On one hand I'm happy that we didn't lose though it feels like a loss to me. SOME POSITIVES: we were the ROAD team yet we were the better team for most of the match. This same lineup for Galway should get better when they get more matches together. They created a lot of goal chances but their TIMING was off. This should improve with this Round Robin format and lads get used to each other. SOME NEGATIVES: too many WIDES. Too much WASTE of good work and good possessions. Too many STUPID yellow cards and needless frees. CONCLUSION: Galway overachieved compared to my expectations coming in to this match. I had Wexford the slight favorites as the home team. Lots of work to be done but it looks like Galway have some nice tools to work with. Galway Abu!!!

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2113 - 16/04/2022 21:43:07    2411246

Replying To Viking66:  "If Whelan is missing for any matches you will be scrapping with Westmeath and Laois to avoid being back in the Joe Mac. Awesome player."
We don't have much hope so

hurlorhurley (Wexford) - Posts: 1660 - 17/04/2022 07:32:33    2411250

Galway going nowhere unless theres a major improvement
Conor Cooney on the frees will cost us
We have to be more ruthless
Because Killkenny wont spare us thats for sure

rhudson (Galway) - Posts: 1478 - 17/04/2022 07:43:08    2411253

It wasn't a free. It was a thow ball.

8 steps for Galway goal.

Rory o Connor fouled for full 70 minutes and didn't get 1 free

Galway exceptionally lucky to finish with 15 players

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 2625 - 17/04/2022 08:33:48    2411257

Replying To katser:  "As I expected the Galway v Kilkenny game in Pearce Stadium will be a dress rehearsal for the Leinster Final and the golden ticket to the All Ireland Semi Final.
It could be some dog fight for 3rd place between Westmeath,Laois, Dublin and Wexford."
Wexford kilkenny in nowlan Park will be the dress rehearsal.

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 2625 - 17/04/2022 08:36:37    2411258

Replying To Doylerwex:  "Wexford kilkenny in nowlan Park will be the dress rehearsal."
That game might be a complete dead rubber too.

hurlorhurley (Wexford) - Posts: 1660 - 17/04/2022 09:10:06    2411260

Replying To Doylerwex:  "It wasn't a free. It was a thow ball.

8 steps for Galway goal.

Rory o Connor fouled for full 70 minutes and didn't get 1 free

Galway exceptionally lucky to finish with 15 players"
Also. From the time Galway free was awarded to the ref blowing the whistle for the throw in was 45.93 seconds.

From the time last wexford free was awarded to chin striking the free was 45.09 seconds.

Small margins but if Galway hit the free a second earlier......

Also agree on Rory on Connor. Foul after foul on him. In saying that Grealish is a fine corner back.

Tom Monaghan is a serious hurler. I hope Whelan injury ain't too bad. Definitely my favourite player outside Wexford. Some strength and skill.

Yellowhelmet (Australia) - Posts: 72 - 17/04/2022 09:11:09    2411261

Replying To hurlorhurley:  "We don't have much hope so"
Fair play a bit of common sense at last.You snatched a draw in the 77 minute and suddenly Viking has us back down in the Joe McDonagh,I wonder where he thinks Wexford sit in all this, and for his information we were never in the Joe McDonagh cup.

Waveitwide (Galway) - Posts: 137 - 17/04/2022 09:14:36    2411262

If's and's buts and maybe's.After missing the chance of a goal from a penalty Murphy pucked the ball straight out to a Wexford player and he put it over the bar,was that point the losing of the game,no.Did Concannon take 8 steps,yes was he fouled and given advantage after 4 I think he was.Did McDonald pick the ball off the ground as people are claiming for his goal I think he didn't.O'Connor had a poor game and because of this Grealish fouled him all afternoon.One second difference in the time allowed for the last 2 frees it cost us the win and allowed Wexford the draw.Was Cooney told to hurry up and take the free,which he should have been.The referee is not going to get every decision right,he was described on sky as a 32 year old up and coming referee,but I thought he was poor at times.We want good hard hurling and we got it yesterday,and I don't think any challenge warranted a red card in yesterday's match.Unless hawkeye and a video ref are brought in to the game it is hard to blame the man in the middle,and that is not going to happen any time soon.Sniping from all corners is at an all time high here,but worse of all was listening to Nicky English bias but what could you expect when his own county man is managing a team playing Galway.When he was taking the frees for Tipperary he would take longer fixing himself up than Conor Cooney took yesterday.Jamsie O'Connor then slating Joe Cooney for the missed goal opportunity and how cocky we were coming into yesterday's match,he would need to remember where he was born and bred.I hope this isn't going to be sky's type of analysis like it is in the premier league.

Waveitwide (Galway) - Posts: 137 - 17/04/2022 10:03:58    2411271