Galway Hurling thread

Replying To tommy k:  "What is it with Limerick posters coming on here having digs at Galway? Must be still worried about us it seems!"
Not too worried Tommy to be honest. Saying that, i think you have a chance in the u20s

Shocs07 (Limerick) - Posts: 372 - 17/04/2022 20:48:54    2411421

Replying To anotheralias:  "Mistakes in that game too..agreed... but in general you coukd see that tipp and waterford are operating at a far superior level."
I would disagree with that. I don't think we are as far away as people think.

ahsure. (Galway) - Posts: 1568 - 17/04/2022 21:12:27    2411425

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "Yer wan Gránna Mcillwhine was egging up this type of 'analysis' afterwards too, and was heard to ask the daft question at one stage 'were Galway overconfident?'. What a daft notion, after the NHL campaign Galway put in this year, and the generally underwhelmed reaction of the Galway fanbase & the broader hurling fanbase to it."
Grainne, is a very impartial moderator IMO..it's her job to ask questions that will invite further comment and discussion. Fact is Galway did everything but gift wrap the 1 point share of the points yesterday,IMO. So don't blame Grainne ,the ref or diretionof the wind. Ye wrestled defeat from the jaws of victory...end of... no more whinging...

PatOLogical (Limerick) - Posts: 1355 - 17/04/2022 21:12:45    2411426

Replying To Waveitwide:  "Fair play a bit of common sense at last.You snatched a draw in the 77 minute and suddenly Viking has us back down in the Joe McDonagh,I wonder where he thinks Wexford sit in all this, and for his information we were never in the Joe McDonagh cup."
Ah waveitwide that post was an answer to Katser so firmly tongue in cheek! As I said in another post you have a very good starting back 9. Mannion probably playing a little too deep for you to score more would be my only real negative . If I was a Galway man the bench would be a worry against Kilkenny or Dublin. As would Whelan being not fully fit if he isn't. And why wasn't Niland on frees while he was on the pitch? Does Henry not see him as a longterm starter? But at least your lads played with Kilkenny style, Shefflin style maybe, intensity for the whole game as opposed to just the 25 minutes our lads managed. Hopefully for us as it was the last 25 minutes we can continue that on against Dublin. If we do we should win. If not we won't.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11722 - 18/04/2022 10:06:24    2411460

Replying To tommy k:  "Not a shock for English and O'Connor to have anti Galway bias even though O'Connor is half a Galway man (born and bred) and supposedly supported Galway when he was younger - most of it is jealousy that Galway are usually strong in both codes. English could have won 2 more AI's if Galway did not stand in his way in 87 / 88 so he is always like that from whenever I have heard him commentating. Most non Galway counties and more importantly referees have an anti Galway bias so its another obstacle for these players to overcome. The only commentator that doesn't seem to have this bias is Michael Duignan whose father is from Galway."
Neither have ever been Wexford fans in fairness Tommy k.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11722 - 18/04/2022 10:08:20    2411461

Replying To PatOLogical:  "Grainne, is a very impartial moderator IMO..it's her job to ask questions that will invite further comment and discussion. Fact is Galway did everything but gift wrap the 1 point share of the points yesterday,IMO. So don't blame Grainne ,the ref or diretionof the wind. Ye wrestled defeat from the jaws of victory...end of... no more whinging..."
And we didn't even manage to wrestle defeat successfully, since we somehow contrived to fail to accomplish it by failing to lose. Hard lines.

Stool Pigeon (Galway) - Posts: 828 - 19/04/2022 09:24:59    2411478

Fahy from Ardrahan will do well to puck a ball for the rest of the year. Thought Niland was ready to play IC and while granted he was played out of position, I may have to revise my initial opinion of him.

BLT (Galway) - Posts: 53 - 19/04/2022 10:39:02    2411492

Replying To PatOLogical:  "Grainne, is a very impartial moderator IMO..it's her job to ask questions that will invite further comment and discussion. Fact is Galway did everything but gift wrap the 1 point share of the points yesterday,IMO. So don't blame Grainne ,the ref or diretionof the wind. Ye wrestled defeat from the jaws of victory...end of... no more whinging..."
You talkin' to me, PatO? I never mentioned the wind direction or the referee, and 'logically' didn't blame Grainne for the flow of the play either, although I pointed out that at least one of her after match discussion angles was completely idiotic.

I didn't see the 'gift wrap'aspect. It's an 80 minute game these days! Once Whelan left on 56mins, I felt that we were vulnerable looking for the 21+mins!! left. We never really stemmed Waterford's momentum to any satisfactory degree imo, once Whelan left the field. We just didn't have a replacement player to make it stick or happen up front. The only real 'gift wrap' we gave away imo was the goal, but he's a young keeper who's hopefully still learning his trade.

Since you did bring it up, and I didn't, I'd have to say it's 'illogical' of you PatO, to state that the referee didn't influence the result, when a jackass would conclude that the referee clearly decided to try to directly influence the result by reversing the Conor Cooney free in injury time. Pundits that I've heard since, are unanimous that this move was a completely wrong one from Mister Walsh.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3410 - 19/04/2022 11:08:45    2411506

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "You talkin' to me, PatO? I never mentioned the wind direction or the referee, and 'logically' didn't blame Grainne for the flow of the play either, although I pointed out that at least one of her after match discussion angles was completely idiotic.

I didn't see the 'gift wrap'aspect. It's an 80 minute game these days! Once Whelan left on 56mins, I felt that we were vulnerable looking for the 21+mins!! left. We never really stemmed Waterford's momentum to any satisfactory degree imo, once Whelan left the field. We just didn't have a replacement player to make it stick or happen up front. The only real 'gift wrap' we gave away imo was the goal, but he's a young keeper who's hopefully still learning his trade.

Since you did bring it up, and I didn't, I'd have to say it's 'illogical' of you PatO, to state that the referee didn't influence the result, when a jackass would conclude that the referee clearly decided to try to directly influence the result by reversing the Conor Cooney free in injury time. Pundits that I've heard since, are unanimous that this move was a completely wrong one from Mister Walsh."
There were numerous other reasons why the game ended in a draw. The under 9 standard butchering of a good goal chance in the 2nd half springs to mind. The reversed free should really have been irrelevant as we played so poorly in the 1st half you should've been alot further than 6 points up at halftime. If we meet again this summer it's very unlikely we will be as poor again.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11722 - 19/04/2022 11:23:59    2411516

Any news on CONOR Whelans injury? Hopefully it's not much. Galway Abu.

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2113 - 19/04/2022 11:56:48    2411528

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "You talkin' to me, PatO? I never mentioned the wind direction or the referee, and 'logically' didn't blame Grainne for the flow of the play either, although I pointed out that at least one of her after match discussion angles was completely idiotic.

Since you did bring it up, and I didn't, I'd have to say it's 'illogical' of you PatO, to state that the referee didn't influence the result, when a jackass would conclude that the referee clearly decided to try to directly influence the result by reversing the Conor Cooney free in injury time. Pundits that I've heard since, are unanimous that this move was a completely wrong one from Mister Walsh."
To be fair you could say he tried to directly influence the result by overlooking the fact that Jack Grealish seemed totally unaware of the presence of a ball when marking Rory o Connor too.

You're right though. You never stemmed Waterford momentum. Not surprising as ye were playing Wexford.

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 2624 - 19/04/2022 12:17:25    2411537

Replying To Doylerwex:  "

To be fair you could say he tried to directly influence the result by overlooking the fact that Jack Grealish seemed totally unaware of the presence of a ball when marking Rory o Connor too.

You're right though. You never stemmed Waterford momentum. Not surprising as ye were playing Wexford."
Good Boyler, thanks for that. Doyler, I mean! Was it a freudian slip, I wonder, with the conversation about to drift onto the referee.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3410 - 19/04/2022 12:46:45    2411545

Replying To Viking66:  "

There were numerous other reasons why the game ended in a draw. The under 9 standard butchering of a good goal chance in the 2nd half springs to mind. The reversed free should really have been irrelevant as we played so poorly in the 1st half you should've been alot further than 6 points up at halftime. If we meet again this summer it's very unlikely we will be as poor again."
Isn't that it Viking, tell that to PatO. Maybe, twas Wexford 'giftwrapped' it, by being so sh***..........in the first half only, of course!!

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3410 - 19/04/2022 12:50:37    2411547

Replying To BLT:  "Fahy from Ardrahan will do well to puck a ball for the rest of the year. Thought Niland was ready to play IC and while granted he was played out of position, I may have to revise my initial opinion of him."
100% agree with you BLT. Fahy and niland non existent all game. Fahy just not up to that level especially as a forward, Best hurling he's done was at Centre Back with GMIT. As for niland he offers next to nothing if he's not taking the frees as has been the way for a few years now. The problem is we are very short with quality this year. If you look at the subs we brought into the forward line Lee will be a fine hurler but still very light, Kevin Cooney is another that's non existent when he plays for the county a good club hurler but not IC standard. Hastings is big man that will get about but that's about it. If whelan is out for a long period of time we will struggle to be any threat going forward as we have harder test coming up. 1 point dropped against a poor Wexford side with little positives from Saturday bar the performance of Tom Monaghan, whelan and concannon have a good partnership and the back were solid in parts but again that may be down to Wexford not offering much going forward.

Galway2k17 (Galway) - Posts: 3 - 19/04/2022 12:57:20    2411550

Replying To Viking66:  "

There were numerous other reasons why the game ended in a draw. The under 9 standard butchering of a good goal chance in the 2nd half springs to mind. The reversed free should really have been irrelevant as we played so poorly in the 1st half you should've been alot further than 6 points up at halftime. If we meet again this summer it's very unlikely we will be as poor again."
It's also unlikely that Galway will be as wasteful again!

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1785 - 19/04/2022 12:57:49    2411551

How can getting a draw away from home with a biased ref who gave in to Wexford fans howling from the stands about the time for Conor Cooney to take a free and then allow Chin about 8 seconds more than Cooney to take his free to equalize be wrestling "defeat from the jaws of victory"? Fair play to Liam Sheedy on The Sunday Game for pointing out that it was wrong and cost Galway the win so stop your "whinging"!

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3314 - 19/04/2022 13:55:31    2411569

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "
Replying To Viking66:  "[quote=Pope_Benedict:  "You talkin' to me, PatO? I never mentioned the wind direction or the referee, and 'logically' didn't blame Grainne for the flow of the play either, although I pointed out that at least one of her after match discussion angles was completely idiotic.

Isn't that it Viking, tell that to PatO. Maybe, twas Wexford 'giftwrapped' it, by being so sh***..........in the first half only, of course!!"]Most Limerick posters think Pat O' is a clown so why would you take him seriously Pope?

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11722 - 19/04/2022 14:19:46    2411584

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "
Replying To Viking66:  "[quote=Pope_Benedict:  "You talkin' to me, PatO? I never mentioned the wind direction or the referee, and 'logically' didn't blame Grainne for the flow of the play either, although I pointed out that at least one of her after match discussion angles was completely idiotic.

Isn't that it Viking, tell that to PatO. Maybe, twas Wexford 'giftwrapped' it, by being so *****..........in the first half only, of course!!"]We were still ***** in the 3rd quarter too only less ***** than we were in the 1st half. The lads only seemed to get up to Championship pace in the last quarter. Hopefully we can continue the 4th quarter performance in the whole game against the Dubs.
Back on Galway I think you have every chance of getting to the Leinster final if you play with the same aggression as you did against us. Your lads have the size and skill for sure. Sort out your puckouts and get Whelan back. How bad is Glennons hamstring?
Although I do think we are all lacking compared to Limerick and possibly Waterford. Next weekend might move Waterford up into the Limerick bracket.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11722 - 19/04/2022 14:28:44    2411587

Replying To baire:  "

It's also unlikely that Galway will be as wasteful again!"]Hard to say. Like ourselves, Dublin and Clare you are also capable of between 12 and 20 wides in a random game from time to time.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11722 - 19/04/2022 14:31:08    2411589

There's seems to be a lot of negativity and disappointment after yesterdays result which I think is a bit over the top.
Despite being in a winning position late on we still didn't lose and (assuming we beat w'mesth & Laois) we can still get to a Leinster final with two home games against Dublin & KK.
Conditions aside Galway played well enough and should have been out of sight after 20 minutes was it not for the huge number of wides. Even when Wexford came at us in the second half we still responded positively every time and should have saw it out.
Management should have acted earlier on making changes especially in the half forward line where we lacked physicality but I'm sure they will learn from this too.
I'm not someone who likes to blame refs, weather or playing surfaces (given that we play our home games in Pearce Stadium)but conditions weren't great and I suspect we can improve on this performance especially our finishing.
Looking at the other games this weekend it's fair to say Limerick are still the team to beat as they are way ahead of the chasing pack and are practically certainties to close out a 3 in a row…

Galway4ever (Galway) - Posts: 208 - 19/04/2022 14:44:08    2411593