Galway Hurling thread

Replying To Oldtourman:  "Well watch the match on TG 4 and you will see it. I was up in the stand and I saw it clearly. It was every bit as Hayses and if one should have the other should have gone. Of course RTE made nothing of it but that does not mean it was a reckless and potentially dangerous pull."
Did you see the stamp on monaghan as it happened in front of the stand ?

minor77 (Galway) - Posts: 223 - 01/03/2023 18:36:36    2461302

Replying To baire:  "Your reading of the Canning injury is off the wall, an accidental collision. Sometimes I think you believe your own gibberish! He had spent at least 10 minutes in agony on the ground from Hegarty's sly pull to his kidneys before that - the camera could show it but the GAA dinosaurs don't allow modern technology in the 21st Century."
What's Hawkeye? What's the microchip in the sliothar? What's the ability to buy tickets online, and sometimes only online, for both club and county games?

The GAA isn't the one in the dark when it comes to "modern technology in the 21st Century." You need to venture out of that cave of yours much more often, barie, and look around and see what's actually happening!

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 1910 - 01/03/2023 18:46:57    2461309

Replying To baire:  "Your reading of the Canning injury is off the wall, an accidental collision. Sometimes I think you believe your own gibberish! He had spent at least 10 minutes in agony on the ground from Hegarty's sly pull to his kidneys before that - the camera could show it but the GAA dinosaurs don't allow modern technology in the 21st Century."
My God Will some of ye Galway fellas get over your bitterness ( Only some I hasten to add). It's not that long ago that I watched Laochra Gael and say a fellow countyman of Joe Canning viciously stand down on his face. But no doubt, ye didn't see that. Move on and get over it.

Southeastman (Limerick) - Posts: 21 - 01/03/2023 18:52:56    2461314

Replying To baire:  "He's well able for that himself! Going around with his big grin to HS! Hypocrite!"
God your hatred of all things Limerick is bordering on the pathological. Yourself and Katser should be tied together. But maybe the two of you are one and the same person.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4321 - 01/03/2023 20:30:04    2461331

Replying To Oldtourman:  "Isn't it ironic that the only player that actually ended up in Casualty during all the Limerick/Galway games was Joe Canning and he ended up there because of a reckless and highly dangerous charge by his own man and all the auld talk there is about Limerick."
Actually Aaron Gillane ended up in hospital after he ruptured his spleen getting a shoulder off Gearoid Mac in that same all Ireland semi final.....tbf I'd like to see the man able to take that ox running at you and not getting knocked for six.
Think Cannings injury was a 3 way collision between himself, Joe Cooney and Kyle Hayes. Caught Cooneys shoulder as Cooney and Hayes were tussling for ball. No one to blame in that one.
Really love waching this limerck team but Hegartys pull on Cannings back that day was awful form. I won't hold the incidents against their legacy cus it won't really take away from the accolades but they don't help themselves sometimes. Maybe the rest of us are grasping at straws waiting for their downfall. Appreciate what ye have ATM, in Counties like Wexford, Galway, Limerick this success might only happen once in a lifetime or two lifetimes. Yere making hay while the sun shines. 1 all Ireland in the previous 80 years pre 2018 so make sure ye always Appreciate this success. In counties like ours, we're always one loss away from a 40 year famine.
Anyone but the big 3.

Throughthemidfieldhewasstormin (Wexford) - Posts: 258 - 01/03/2023 21:34:02    2461337

Whatever happened to that Galway Hurling thread?
You know the one before becoming a Limerick/Wexford one ?

waterside4 (Galway) - Posts: 28 - 02/03/2023 07:36:05    2461341

Replying To katser:  "There is no place in the game of hurling for hitting men in the face (thankfully he was protected) or stamping on a helpless man on the ground.
What sort of "things" do that...... disgraceful behavior!!"
Galway hurling is gone soft no wonder yere winning nattin

PatKeyes73 (Limerick) - Posts: 21 - 02/03/2023 08:49:48    2461342

Replying To Oldtourman:  "Isn't it ironic that the only player that actually ended up in Casualty during all the Limerick/Galway games was Joe Canning and he ended up there because of a reckless and highly dangerous charge by his own man and all the auld talk there is about Limerick."
What about Gillane's pull straight into Eanna Murphys ribs that day off the ball?

Kinvara (Galway) - Posts: 127 - 02/03/2023 10:25:21    2461355

Replying To Oldtourman:  "God your hatred of all things Limerick is bordering on the pathological. Yourself and Katser should be tied together. But maybe the two of you are one and the same person."
Definitely not the same person.
Kiely was actually laughing at Quaid after one of the limrik lads hit him in the goolies lol

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2195 - 02/03/2023 10:45:25    2461360

Replying To Oldtourman:  "God your hatred of all things Limerick is bordering on the pathological. Yourself and Katser should be tied together. But maybe the two of you are one and the same person."
At least you admitted Hayes should have got red card and that's all I wanted to hear, thank you for your cooperation!!

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2195 - 02/03/2023 10:51:09    2461362

Replying To PatKeyes73:  "Galway hurling is gone soft no wonder yere winning nattin"
Only cowards hit a man into the head with a hurley on the blindside of the ref and linesman - nothing hard about that! I assume by what you're saying Limerick hurling was "soft" for 45 years up to 2018 when ye won "nattin" before PJ threw his money at pumping up the current team to make them into rugby-like ***** with sticks! lol

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3323 - 02/03/2023 10:52:58    2461363

Replying To Throughthemidfieldhewasstormin:  "Actually Aaron Gillane ended up in hospital after he ruptured his spleen getting a shoulder off Gearoid Mac in that same all Ireland semi final.....tbf I'd like to see the man able to take that ox running at you and not getting knocked for six.
Think Cannings injury was a 3 way collision between himself, Joe Cooney and Kyle Hayes. Caught Cooneys shoulder as Cooney and Hayes were tussling for ball. No one to blame in that one.
Really love waching this limerck team but Hegartys pull on Cannings back that day was awful form. I won't hold the incidents against their legacy cus it won't really take away from the accolades but they don't help themselves sometimes. Maybe the rest of us are grasping at straws waiting for their downfall. Appreciate what ye have ATM, in Counties like Wexford, Galway, Limerick this success might only happen once in a lifetime or two lifetimes. Yere making hay while the sun shines. 1 all Ireland in the previous 80 years pre 2018 so make sure ye always Appreciate this success. In counties like ours, we're always one loss away from a 40 year famine.
Anyone but the big 3."
Exactly my sentiments. Like your we are sixth or you are maybe seventh or eight on the extent of the hurlingb pool we can both call from. We both have spells but out achievements.. in Wexford's they are first county to do a four in a row and the first to win back to back All Ireland Senior titles in both coded.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4321 - 02/03/2023 10:58:11    2461364

Replying To waterside4:  "Whatever happened to that Galway Hurling thread?
You know the one before becoming a Limerick/Wexford one ?"
This is the upgraded version. Keep visiting, you'll learn loads about hurling and how it should be done…from the Limerick and Wexford lads, of course!

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 1910 - 02/03/2023 12:02:39    2461380

Replying To tommy k:  "Only cowards hit a man into the head with a hurley on the blindside of the ref and linesman - nothing hard about that! I assume by what you're saying Limerick hurling was "soft" for 45 years up to 2018 when ye won "nattin" before PJ threw his money at pumping up the current team to make them into rugby-like ***** with sticks! lol"
Get over yourself Tommy, we have less than half your hurling population and we had 7 All Irelands when ye had a solitary one and all that was long before the McManus name was even heard in Limerick or, or strength and conditioning for that matter. It was not McManus or S and C that caused nine of that team to be over ,6'2. Anyway Finn, Lynch, Donovan and the two Casey's are not near that and can take on the biggest and best. Remember when MC gave about 8 inches to Jonathan Glynn and hurled him out the gate.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4321 - 02/03/2023 12:47:31    2461385

Replying To Oldtourman:  "Get over yourself Tommy, we have less than half your hurling population and we had 7 All Irelands when ye had a solitary one and all that was long before the McManus name was even heard in Limerick or, or strength and conditioning for that matter. It was not McManus or S and C that caused nine of that team to be over ,6'2. Anyway Finn, Lynch, Donovan and the two Casey's are not near that and can take on the biggest and best. Remember when MC gave about 8 inches to Jonathan Glynn and hurled him out the gate."
Why do you think OT that the 2020 and 2022 Galway Limerick games have gone down to the wire, and ticked towards 70mins on level terms both occasions? Why haven't Limerick buried Galway or Kilkenny in championship 2018-2022 the way you've buried Cork Tipp Clare and Waterford on occasion. Is the Munster championship softer than the Leinster championship, or is there some other phenomenon at play in Limerick's failure to obliterate KK and Galway in recent seasons?

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3422 - 02/03/2023 15:07:44    2461432

I thought this was the Galway Hurling Thread. Why are there Limerick people on it? Galway supporters should be entitled to share comments among themselves without getting snide comments from outside counties losing the run of themselves by recent success. Limerick shouldn't get too carried away. They were in the doldrums for long enough and despite the vast support from McManus, will probably be back there again soon enough. Gaillimh Abu. Enjoy it for the few years it lasts lads as the famine is never too far away.

FatLadySinging (Galway) - Posts: 88 - 02/03/2023 16:41:30    2461457

Replying To Oldtourman:  "Get over yourself Tommy, we have less than half your hurling population and we had 7 All Irelands when ye had a solitary one and all that was long before the McManus name was even heard in Limerick or, or strength and conditioning for that matter. It was not McManus or S and C that caused nine of that team to be over ,6'2. Anyway Finn, Lynch, Donovan and the two Casey's are not near that and can take on the biggest and best. Remember when MC gave about 8 inches to Jonathan Glynn and hurled him out the gate."
Ah come on Limerick were not really taken too seriously up to 2018 (when JP pumped in all his money to pump up the players!) as they had only won 1 AI in 78 years. Galway have won more AI's in GAA intercounty / clubs than any other county and that is a fact. We have already won the ladies club football and camogie club AI's this year and it is still very early. If the hurlers are not successful in any year there is always the footballers whereas Limerick are only a 1 trick pony.

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3323 - 02/03/2023 16:57:42    2461465

With all the Galway vs Limerick sniping back and forth I almost forgot we play CLARE next which is always a great match between two bordering counties that love their hurling. Can't wait.

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2120 - 02/03/2023 19:16:23    2461493

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "Why do you think OT that the 2020 and 2022 Galway Limerick games have gone down to the wire, and ticked towards 70mins on level terms both occasions? Why haven't Limerick buried Galway or Kilkenny in championship 2018-2022 the way you've buried Cork Tipp Clare and Waterford on occasion. Is the Munster championship softer than the Leinster championship, or is there some other phenomenon at play in Limerick's failure to obliterate KK and Galway in recent seasons?"
You never obliterate KK, although to see them off at all last year, without Lynch and Casey, the lads that really destroyed Cork in 21 and with Guillane clearly hampered and Hayes a very doubtful starter it was not bad to beat KK anyway. This is the first time ever that KK won three Letters in a row and did not win an AI.
Remember also that the Munster Championship games, except the Cork one were all close matches. Once Lynch went, I felt we were definitely not the same team.
As regards Galway, they have had fine teams with the last ten years and did as you say run us very close and when you consider that we had everyone going well against ye, except Casey and Lynch ye probably gave us out best games of the past five years. Although we did not best Waterford and Cork did and we easily both of them. If we are as another crack at KK this it be interesting.
BTW, I feel your management erred in 20 in not going fifteen on fifteen against us as our Full Back Line was very inexperienced that year.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4321 - 02/03/2023 21:13:52    2461505

Replying To tommy k:  "Ah come on Limerick were not really taken too seriously up to 2018 (when JP pumped in all his money to pump up the players!) as they had only won 1 AI in 78 years. Galway have won more AI's in GAA intercounty / clubs than any other county and that is a fact. We have already won the ladies club football and camogie club AI's this year and it is still very early. If the hurlers are not successful in any year there is always the footballers whereas Limerick are only a 1 trick pony."
Hell of a one trick pony Tommy

Shocs07 (Limerick) - Posts: 372 - 02/03/2023 21:21:59    2461507