Galway Hurling thread

Replying To tommy k:  "Ah come on Limerick were not really taken too seriously up to 2018 (when JP pumped in all his money to pump up the players!) as they had only won 1 AI in 78 years. Galway have won more AI's in GAA intercounty / clubs than any other county and that is a fact. We have already won the ladies club football and camogie club AI's this year and it is still very early. If the hurlers are not successful in any year there is always the footballers whereas Limerick are only a 1 trick pony."
A JP pony I believe!

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1794 - 03/03/2023 08:43:14    2461510

Replying To baire:  "A JP pony I believe!"
I think it's a fantastic sign of respect that our great hurlers are mentioned so much on this site.

Shocs07 (Limerick) - Posts: 372 - 03/03/2023 10:41:33    2461534

Replying To baire:  "A JP pony I believe!"
You just keep crying into your beer, while we just sit back and enjoy this glorious spell. As Liam Griffin said in '96 ' Winners are winners and losers make excuses'.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4318 - 03/03/2023 11:06:29    2461538

Replying To tommy k:  "Ah come on Limerick were not really taken too seriously up to 2018 (when JP pumped in all his money to pump up the players!) as they had only won 1 AI in 78 years. Galway have won more AI's in GAA intercounty / clubs than any other county and that is a fact. We have already won the ladies club football and camogie club AI's this year and it is still very early. If the hurlers are not successful in any year there is always the footballers whereas Limerick are only a 1 trick pony."
A 1 trick pony that Galway has failed miserably to figure out

updwell (Limerick) - Posts: 817 - 03/03/2023 11:09:23    2461540

Replying To Shocs07:  "I think it's a fantastic sign of respect that our great hurlers are mentioned so much on this site."
Why do a lot of ye feel the need to come onto the Galway thread for validation, acclamation and at the same time throw digs and make snide remarks about Galway? Is that your way of 'enjoying' your 'superiority', by putting others down? The limerick posters on hoganstand, thankfully, don't represent Limerick people I know in real life. Some of the posters here are very much like posters from other counties whose team won many All Irelands in a short space of time, the more they won the more odious they became, unfortunately.

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1794 - 03/03/2023 11:47:07    2461549

Replying To katser:  "Definitely not the same person.
Kiely was actually laughing at Quaid after one of the limrik lads hit him in the goolies lol"
So you admit that somebody pulled a dirty one on our goalie. Tell us more.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4318 - 03/03/2023 13:31:25    2461574

Replying To katser:  "Definitely not the same person.
Kiely was actually laughing at Quaid after one of the limrik lads hit him in the goolies lol"
So you admit that some on of your lads pulled a dirty one on our goalie. Well at least he didn't hang out of them, like the Galway Lad did to Barry Murphy, in Salthill, in '18

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4318 - 03/03/2023 13:50:34    2461586

Replying To baire:  "Why do a lot of ye feel the need to come onto the Galway thread for validation, acclamation and at the same time throw digs and make snide remarks about Galway? Is that your way of 'enjoying' your 'superiority', by putting others down? The limerick posters on hoganstand, thankfully, don't represent Limerick people I know in real life. Some of the posters here are very much like posters from other counties whose team won many All Irelands in a short space of time, the more they won the more odious they became, unfortunately."
Baire there are people on both sides making snide remarks. Calling Limerick " that crowd" and saying things like it's in their dna and cultural is not the type of comment any dignified Galway supporter would say. I have loads of great friends ftom Galway and they are great GAA people. Kyle Hayes deserved a red card in my opinion. He swung very wildly. Seeing comments from other Limerick people on here saying it was nothing is way off the mark. He deserves his 1 match ban. Thomas Monaghan could have got one possibly too. He swung the hurley from behind which could have caused injury. I think people should move on now and have proper debate instead of acting childish. And that goes for everyone on both sides

Limerick2018 (Limerick) - Posts: 76 - 03/03/2023 14:01:46    2461590

Replying To baire:  "Why do a lot of ye feel the need to come onto the Galway thread for validation, acclamation and at the same time throw digs and make snide remarks about Galway? Is that your way of 'enjoying' your 'superiority', by putting others down? The limerick posters on hoganstand, thankfully, don't represent Limerick people I know in real life. Some of the posters here are very much like posters from other counties whose team won many All Irelands in a short space of time, the more they won the more odious they became, unfortunately."
We come on here to see what's going on in Galway hurling just like a lot of Galway fans I'm sure have a look at the Limerick site and every other county checks in on rivals. I would have no interest in commenting on your site but if I see unfair criticism and blatant lies about Limerick and Limerick hurlers I will defend them. The only reason we are beating Galway at the moment is because we have a better team than ye, the same reason Galway won in 2017 it was the best team that year, its not JPs money, its not dirty play, it's not drugged up rugby players or whatever other mad things some of the Limerick haters make up. These lads have been fed properly, showed how to use weights properly, given hurling intelligence and dedicated themselves to being better hurlers since they joined the academy as 14 year old where the vast majority of coaches are volunteers. One of the posters here claimed Galway and Kilkenny have given us tougher games than Munster teams which is correct but Kiely is 3 wins from 3 v Galway but 2 and 2 v Kilkenny, the difference is there wasn't moaning about hard tackles or incidents during games with Kilkenny whereas Galway are always complaining about everything. Man up lads, learn from the defeats.

updwell (Limerick) - Posts: 817 - 03/03/2023 14:10:04    2461594

Replying To FatLadySinging:  "I thought this was the Galway Hurling Thread. Why are there Limerick people on it? Galway supporters should be entitled to share comments among themselves without getting snide comments from outside counties losing the run of themselves by recent success. Limerick shouldn't get too carried away. They were in the doldrums for long enough and despite the vast support from McManus, will probably be back there again soon enough. Gaillimh Abu. Enjoy it for the few years it lasts lads as the famine is never too far away."
True FLS. We in Limerick know this phase will pass. With the Sixth Population in hurling we know that
The fact is this is only a bit of banter, as it is still only the silly season as regards hurling.
I however feel it's a good day when we won three in a row and I am also conscious of the fact that ye did four in a row at Minor Level. There simply must be one or more Senior All Irelands to come for Galway out of that.
I now exit out of this site, for the time being, and I exhort all other Limerick Folk to do same and put away their swords as well. I don't want us to come across as mean, nasty and triumphalist.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4318 - 03/03/2023 14:16:15    2461598

Replying To Oldtourman:  "True FLS. We in Limerick know this phase will pass. With the Sixth Population in hurling we know that
The fact is this is only a bit of banter, as it is still only the silly season as regards hurling.
I however feel it's a good day when we won three in a row and I am also conscious of the fact that ye did four in a row at Minor Level. There simply must be one or more Senior All Irelands to come for Galway out of that.
I now exit out of this site, for the time being, and I exhort all other Limerick Folk to do same and put away their swords as well. I don't want us to come across as mean, nasty and triumphalist."
Anyone here any rumours about several players being released from the Galway Senior hurling panel since Sunday ?

Medals (Galway) - Posts: 24 - 03/03/2023 15:12:04    2461617

After two straight losses I'd like to see us beat this very good Clare team! Should be a good crowd in Ennis for it. Galway Abu!

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2119 - 03/03/2023 15:19:10    2461620

Replying To Oldtourman:  "True FLS. We in Limerick know this phase will pass. With the Sixth Population in hurling we know that
I now exit out of this site, for the time being, and I exhort all other Limerick Folk to do same and put away their swords as well. I don't want us to come across as mean, nasty and triumphalist."
The 5 minor all-irelands Galway won 2015-2020 didn't even generate under20 success so far, let alone any notions about Senior possibilities. So steady on the mocking raiméis, we can all see and evaluate talent for ourselves, you don't have any monopoly on that.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3419 - 03/03/2023 15:30:57    2461622

No need to be so condescending / arrogant telling us what we should / should not win in GAA. If it was someone from KK in hurling or Kerry in football (who have been the most successful in their respective codes) it might be different but we won't take that from Limerick people who seem to think hurling was only invented in 2018 when it began to be played by rugby players with sticks!

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3322 - 03/03/2023 15:33:47    2461624

Replying To Medals:  "Anyone here any rumours about several players being released from the Galway Senior hurling panel since Sunday ?"
Certainly need to make room for five or ten players that might liven up the mix that was on view at the recent Cork and Limerick NHL outings.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3419 - 03/03/2023 15:34:35    2461625

A hurling population doesn't win you an All-Ireland! Surely Offaly taught ye that much in the '94 final!

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1794 - 03/03/2023 16:58:08    2461650

Replying To tommy k:  "No need to be so condescending / arrogant telling us what we should / should not win in GAA. If it was someone from KK in hurling or Kerry in football (who have been the most successful in their respective codes) it might be different but we won't take that from Limerick people who seem to think hurling was only invented in 2018 when it began to be played by rugby players with sticks!"
Aren't ye lucky that rugby players with sticks weren't around since 1887? Tommeen, Galway wouldn't even have five!

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 1909 - 03/03/2023 17:54:41    2461663

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "The 5 minor all-irelands Galway won 2015-2020 didn't even generate under20 success so far, let alone any notions about Senior possibilities. So steady on the mocking raiméis, we can all see and evaluate talent for ourselves, you don't have any monopoly on that."
The difference between Galway and the current Limerick and previous Kilkenny teams is that Galway developed players to hurl minor and the others developed players to senior. So I say fair play to the current Limerick team(they are damn good rugby players with sticks). All great teams play on the edge and Limerick are currently a great team. Only for that one off day in 19 against Kilkenny they should be going for 6 in a row. How many Tipp supporters would say they would of beaten Limerick in a All Ireland final that year. Not many I'd say. It might be boring to watch sometimes but give them the plaudits they deserve.

Armchairreporter (Galway) - Posts: 76 - 03/03/2023 19:33:12    2461673

Replying To baire:  "A hurling population doesn't win you an All-Ireland! Surely Offaly taught ye that much in the '94 final!"
Same lesson that they dished out in '81 AND '85!

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 1909 - 03/03/2023 19:54:05    2461674

Replying To baire:  "A hurling population doesn't win you an All-Ireland! Surely Offaly taught ye that much in the '94 final!"
Another childish comment so im going to take the bait.. Jesus ye Galway lads are something else. Bitter doesn't do ye justice. Ye should have beaten us in 2018, 2020 and last year too. Only for the refs,wides,bad tactics. Maybe ye are just not good enough. If whinging was a sport I'd back ye to win it every year

Limerick2018 (Limerick) - Posts: 76 - 03/03/2023 21:27:23    2461692