Mayo V Tyrone All-Ireland Football Final

It would be very controversial ... but pundits who want a Mayo win should consider a change in tactics for the next AI Final. Call them out repeatedly in the weeks leading up to the game for being serial bottlers and predict another Mayo collapse prior to the final. Maybe it would give them the fire in their bellies they seem to lack on AI final day. Better off trying something new other than the auld "this is their year at last" muck. Its clearly not working

Beacaire Gorm (Dublin) - Posts: 597 - 11/09/2021 20:06:51    2379720

Well done to Tyrone. Deserved their win thoroughly. Great to see likes of Harte and Donnelly getting their All Ireland after years of service.

Hard luck to Mayo. The wait goes on.

fielder (Donegal) - Posts: 137 - 11/09/2021 20:07:17    2379721

Congratulations Tyrone, job well done. You took your goal chances and Mayo didn't. Deserved All Ireland Champions.
This one bites but we'll be back. I think I'll lay low for a while the Bucket List still has the big one on it. Again Congratulations Tyrone enjoy every minute of it.

cluichethar (Mayo) - Posts: 454 - 11/09/2021 20:11:16    2379724

Replying To carlowman:  "Well done Tyrone. An excellent first half of end to end stuff but Mayo will rue those goal chances. Tyrone were better decision makers and were clinical in front of goals. Tyrone benefitted from the long kick outs and Mayo just did not perform to the level they needed to to win. Against Dublin they did when needed but Tyrone were a different animal today to Dublin.
In saying that Mayo can learn from the defeat and come back stronger.
Lee Keegan was absolutely immense.
Well done Brian and Fergal ! Top men."
Lee Keegan immense in what regard? Almost getting done for fouls and then screaming in opponents faces when they miss their shots. He should act like he's been there before, the act is done. He should grow up

Seansy48 (Tyrone) - Posts: 237 - 11/09/2021 20:11:17    2379725

Well done to tyrone. You couldn't get odds on them winning it when game looked off v Kerry eventually got them at 12/1 before that game. They deserve it been best side this summer huge strength in depth can pick two different forward lines massive advantage and their defenders as we well know are not only v tight marking but brilliant footballers who can score at ease. Actually ended up being their most comfortable final win.

seanie08 (Monaghan) - Posts: 1798 - 11/09/2021 20:12:59    2379727

Replying To jonjon:  "Have to say that if we are to lose to anyone I'm happy it's Tyrone. Hope you all enjoy it. Great story for Brian Dooher to come back and win one as a manager. Next one I suppose."
Hard luck Mayo, the goals were the difference. There's huge respect for Mayo in Tyrone and you have the best supporters in Ireland.

tireoghainabu (Tyrone) - Posts: 274 - 11/09/2021 20:14:28    2379728

Congrats Tyrone didn't give them any chance at the start of the year but they proved me wrong, Tyrone had a tough run they beat Cavan donegal monaghan kerry and mayo to win this all ireland so deserving winners, enjoy the celebrations Tyrone well done.

Royal.Legend (Meath) - Posts: 665 - 11/09/2021 20:17:19    2379729

Replying To Ulsterman:  "The pressure is ALL on Mayo. Tyrone have drank from the All Ireland well and have nothing to prove. It's a tough one to predict. Dublin should have buried Mayo in the first half in a 35 mins that showed the vulnerable side of the men from the West. Can Mayo do pressure? That's the big question. If Tyrone are within 2 or 3 of Mayo with 10/15 mins to go I would strongly fancy the Red Hand fellas. Mayo need a massive 45/50 mins. A lot of folk are strongly backing Mayo but beware!!! I remember a few years back when Donegal beat Dublin in the All Ireland semi final and simply didn't turn up against Kerry in the final. Have Mayo already played their final? It remains to be seen."
I wasn't wrong.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9697 - 11/09/2021 20:19:35    2379731

Just like the titanic…. The story always ends the same.

ahsure. (Galway) - Posts: 1568 - 11/09/2021 20:21:51    2379733

Well done to Tyrone. Deserved their win thoroughly. Great to see likes of Harte and Donnelly getting their All Ireland after years of service.

Hard luck to Mayo. The wait goes on.

fielder (Donegal) - Posts: 137 - 11/09/2021 20:23:42    2379734

Congratulations Tyrone. They were the better team, contained Mayo, and scored two important goals.
What can you say to Mayo, but commiserations, you must be sick of hearing it every year. Played well but not your day. The wait goes on.
The penalty miss, was a turning point, but not the only missed scoring opportunity today. I thought it was one of the better All Ireland Finals in recent times.

MicktheMiller (Offaly) - Posts: 421 - 11/09/2021 20:33:40    2379738

Replying To arock:  "No one in the media gave them a prayer......maybe you don't have RTE down in Limerick. Yes few gave them a prayer. Glance at the back pages of newspapers. Mayo where going to win it because they deserved it etc etc."
Looks like you might be short of RTE yourself, to me consensus pre game was it was a 50/50 game but there was alot of goodwill towards Mayo after all their heartbreak. I'd say it more of a case that you lost interest after the 7 in a row chances went by the wayside.

bostonredsox (Wexford) - Posts: 4368 - 11/09/2021 20:34:31    2379739

Well done to Tyrone

Completely deserved win and much congratulations to you.

Mayo performed better in last year's final IMO

Poor performance today and seemed very reluctant to take on a shot. Still don't have the sufficient quality up front and not helped by the loss of COC.

Hard to fathom what it must be like to be a Mayo supporter at this stage, but sure yiz must be used to it all by now, won't bother say hard luck, you've heard it all over and over. Nothing to do with luck today.

Has to be up there as one of the greatest major final losing streaks by the same team in any sport but sure it'll be another season soon enough.

Onwards and upwards

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 11/09/2021 20:36:48    2379741

Ba mhaith liom comgardeas a dhéanamh go dtí foireann Tír Eoghan.

galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2517 - 11/09/2021 20:37:17    2379743

Replying To essmac:  "Great to win, don't take any satisfaction to have to beat Mayo to do so though. Pity we couldn't have had a cut off Dublin in the final ..."
Ha! You're never satisfied!

Rest assured Tyrone would've put Dublin to sword in the final this year had it played out like that.

Congrats and enjoy!

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13705 - 11/09/2021 20:37:43    2379744

Congrats Tyrone best team won today they have earned it. I doubt there will be a 6 in a row for them they will be a few counties thinking about winning Sam now as Tyrone proved it's possible the power to ye! Why anyone will ever have mayo as favourites for a final we will always find a away to throw it just not good enough today! I don't know if this group will bounce back from this or sail away into the night. I believe mayo can win an all ireland but It's a very large monkey on our backs, this curse talk is a curse in itself covers up the real reasons you lost easy to make an excuse. I believe mayo can but I don't think they will. I'm deflated and even a pessimist mayo have managed to even make it feel worse. Was there for the taking today and just seemed to make the wrong decisions. The three goal chances should be taken all day long if you want to be winning an all ireland and both tyrones goals were defendable. Tyrone took their chances and that's why they are now all ireland champions.

Spoddgy (Mayo) - Posts: 660 - 11/09/2021 20:46:52    2379752

Replying To carlowman:  "Well done Tyrone. An excellent first half of end to end stuff but Mayo will rue those goal chances. Tyrone were better decision makers and were clinical in front of goals. Tyrone benefitted from the long kick outs and Mayo just did not perform to the level they needed to to win. Against Dublin they did when needed but Tyrone were a different animal today to Dublin.
In saying that Mayo can learn from the defeat and come back stronger.
Lee Keegan was absolutely immense.
Well done Brian and Fergal ! Top men."
Tyrone were by no means clinical in front of goal. They didn't seem to have a right footed freetaker in the second half. A simple 'marked' effort wide from 30 yards, McShane missed a simple free, McCurry's sitter goal miss in first half was a decent effort, but obviously not a 'clinical' one. Tyrone reaped huge benefit from their targeted long ball play, and are a cohesive outfit, with an excellent bench.

A fair few familiar ghosts still haunting Mayo, but it does seem, with hindsight, that they don't have the forwards to win an all-ireland. Probably the most disappointing aspect for Mayo is that you wouldn't really fancy them to win an all-ireland title in the immediate future either, off the back of that display. It had a touch of the 'back to the drawing board' look about it for Mayo imo. They got to intoxicate in the favorites tag for a final for a few weeks, but that won't happen again for this group in a hurry.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3410 - 11/09/2021 20:50:23    2379755

"SAM" leaves Europe for the very first time!!! Comhgairdeas Tír Eoghain.

dingle2 (Kerry) - Posts: 278 - 11/09/2021 20:52:18    2379757

Congrats Tyrone, worthy winners.

Mayo, what can I say that I haven't said before? And the time before that? And again before that? In all seriousness, hard luck lads, is there any other county with this kind of record? Always one of the top two teams in the country, with such a heartbreaking winning record. Unbelievable.

And finally, where's that "Galway" poster who's been telling us since the semi's that Tyrone hadn't a prayer?

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3097 - 11/09/2021 20:57:55    2379763

Mayo management slow to make changes and didnt make the hard calls. Mayo thought they had it won when they beat the Dubs. Tyrone by far best team on the day

jacktheboy (Donegal) - Posts: 404 - 11/09/2021 21:01:44    2379766