Kerry Lads And Tattoos

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "Being popular in this country at the current juncture in time is hardly an endorsement!

Look at the rubbish most people fill their heads with. Internet being no addition to that either, but Duffy is on same intellectual/cultural level as your Jeremy Kyles and Shameless. A mirror to the downward spiral we are in."
You're right, but I think it's also important to allow the man have his opinion without people feeling the need to disparage him.

It's easy to call the man a "crank" or an "oddball" but even though I don't agree with him I also understand that he may have grown up in a time when it was mainly "gurriers" who had tattoos and I'm sure he is not the only one in Ireland of his generation who holds those views.

In 30 years time the fellas on here who are calling him a crank might very well be giving out on Liveline themselves about something that is trendy then but looked at as being taboo today.

AfricanGael (UK) - Posts: 1947 - 05/08/2021 14:46:11    2367956

Replying To CC2020:  "They look best on Maoris.

Kerry men with sleeves. Nah."
I'll never understand Maori tattoos on non Maori people, seems a bit pointless to me.

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 1908 - 05/08/2021 14:55:37    2367965

Replying To Bon:  "I'll never understand Maori tattoos on non Maori people, seems a bit pointless to me."
Cultural misappropriation.

Like Kildare lads with hurls :-)

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2556 - 05/08/2021 15:06:48    2367972

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "Cultural misappropriation.

Like Kildare lads with hurls :-)"
Or footballs, reins are the name of the game in Kildare, giddy up.

AfricanGael (UK) - Posts: 1947 - 05/08/2021 15:47:41    2367985

Replying To AfricanGael:  "You're right, but I think it's also important to allow the man have his opinion without people feeling the need to disparage him.

It's easy to call the man a "crank" or an "oddball" but even though I don't agree with him I also understand that he may have grown up in a time when it was mainly "gurriers" who had tattoos and I'm sure he is not the only one in Ireland of his generation who holds those views.

In 30 years time the fellas on here who are calling him a crank might very well be giving out on Liveline themselves about something that is trendy then but looked at as being taboo today."
Perhaps you might consider extending this latitude and understanding to the drug addicts and disadvantaged Northsiders that you openly deride and make fun of here. You truly are an empty vessel.. You stand for nothing.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 05/08/2021 15:50:16    2367987

Replying To avonali:  "Perhaps you might consider extending this latitude and understanding to the drug addicts and disadvantaged Northsiders that you openly deride and make fun of here. You truly are an empty vessel.. You stand for nothing."
That doesn't sound like a man who has been "mauled by a dead lamb" as you put it yourself, more like someone who has been eaten by a tiger.

So you can give it, but not take it, is that it ?

Maybe cut out your trash talk about people and things might change but until that happens I'll always fire back.

AfricanGael (UK) - Posts: 1947 - 05/08/2021 16:04:29    2367999

Replying To avonali:  "Perhaps you might consider extending this latitude and understanding to the drug addicts and disadvantaged Northsiders that you openly deride and make fun of here. You truly are an empty vessel.. You stand for nothing."
I might cast your mind back to this comment I made last month regarding a lad in Dublin who had obvious issues which would fall into the category you describe:

"Ah it was wrong for that woman to interview the lad, it was clear the poor fella had some issues, no doubt she knew all the lads on the team alright, but to go up to a fella like that was distasteful "

AfricanGael (UK) - Posts: 1631 - 10/07/2021 12:19:00

Are those the words of someone who "derides and makes fun of drug addicts and disadvantaged Northsiders here"

I don't think anyone who calls an elderly man a "crank" or a "oddball" just because of his view on tattoos has any right to be lecturing anyone about latitude and understanding and on top of that go making stories up.

So improve your ways before you start virtue signaling.

AfricanGael (UK) - Posts: 1947 - 05/08/2021 16:29:17    2368006

Says the Dub ;)

CC2020 (Kilkenny) - Posts: 173 - 05/08/2021 16:51:20    2368022

Replying To CC2020:  "Says the Dub ;)"
Dubs hurl among lots of other things. You hurl, very well in fairness, and eh, used to have a comedy festival....., and Smithwicks. Forget about the last one. I'll try and think of something else nice.

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2556 - 05/08/2021 17:14:48    2368034

Plenty of hurleys in Kildare :)

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 1908 - 05/08/2021 21:02:41    2368106

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "Dubs hurl among lots of other things. You hurl, very well in fairness, and eh, used to have a comedy festival....., and Smithwicks. Forget about the last one. I'll try and think of something else nice."
Boxing ;) Kenny Egan, Brian Mullins (!) Kellie H etc.

CC2020 (Kilkenny) - Posts: 173 - 05/08/2021 23:40:53    2368162

Kildare have alot of good hurlers especially underage. Was very impressed with them both u20 and minor

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11847 - 06/08/2021 00:04:29    2368168

Replying To AfricanGael:  "You're right, but I think it's also important to allow the man have his opinion without people feeling the need to disparage him.

In 30 years time the fellas on here who are calling him a crank might very well be giving out on Liveline themselves about something that is trendy then but looked at as being taboo today."
Yes AG but was it not he that was being intolerant in the 1st place? Running down lads for having tattoos?

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11847 - 06/08/2021 00:05:51    2368170

Jasus Mickey burke who played for Meath for ages has tattoos on both arms and legs. This guy needs to get a life. It's these type of people who are a embarrassment to the gaa and bring it into a laughing stock. Not the players with tattoos. Ffs

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 06/08/2021 10:25:17    2368191

Replying To royaldunne:  "Jasus Mickey burke who played for Meath for ages has tattoos on both arms and legs. This guy needs to get a life. It's these type of people who are a embarrassment to the gaa and bring it into a laughing stock. Not the players with tattoos. Ffs"
Jesus, there was plenty of room for tattoos on those biceps ; he was built like a tank. Seem to remember him and Eoghan O'Gara having a bit of a tussle some years ago.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 06/08/2021 13:12:20    2368229

Replying To Viking66:  "Yes AG but was it not he that was being intolerant in the 1st place? Running down lads for having tattoos?"
It's far more intolerant to run the caller down for exercising his right to express his opinions freely, than it is for him expressing his views regarding tattoos.

Of course in reality, neither of the above can be described as intolerant.

While the man could certainly be described as being opinionated, he couldn't be described as being intolerant, otherwise we are all guilty of intolerance purely on the basis of having an opinion which someone else doesn't agree with.

There is nothing in the Constitution or in the statute book which says he must like tattoos or like people with tattoos or anything else for that matter, however it is his qualified Constitutional right to express his opinions freely subject to the limitations as set out in the Constitution and that is exactly what he did.

So while people are entitled to disagree with his views they are not entitled to disrespect his Constitutional right to express his views, otherwise they are the intolerant ones, and not him.

AfricanGael (UK) - Posts: 1947 - 07/08/2021 11:15:19    2368437

Replying To royaldunne:  "Jasus Mickey burke who played for Meath for ages has tattoos on both arms and legs. This guy needs to get a life. It's these type of people who are a embarrassment to the gaa and bring it into a laughing stock. Not the players with tattoos. Ffs"
I'm a big fan of Meath footballers from O'Rourke, Flynn, Giles, Geraghty etc. But it's my opinion that Mickey Burke was one of the worst to represent ye. He was way too slow for inter county and took an acre of ground to turn on. He got his place 2003-2017 ish. But he wouldn't be in an asses roar if Meath were decent at the time.

CC2020 (Kilkenny) - Posts: 173 - 07/08/2021 13:16:33    2368476

Replying To CC2020:  "I'm a big fan of Meath footballers from O'Rourke, Flynn, Giles, Geraghty etc. But it's my opinion that Mickey Burke was one of the worst to represent ye. He was way too slow for inter county and took an acre of ground to turn on. He got his place 2003-2017 ish. But he wouldn't be in an asses roar if Meath were decent at the time."
He wasn't the most gifted player. But by Jasus he gave it everything he had, a real workhorse. Every team needs that type of player, I was in tullamore when the crack of him breaking his leg rang round the ground. To come back from that and he is still playing hurling for Meath shows his dedication to the county. We've had players of better quality who never did as much as Mickey. For that he will always be a legend to many.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 07/08/2021 13:48:17    2368482

Replying To royaldunne:  "He wasn't the most gifted player. But by Jasus he gave it everything he had, a real workhorse. Every team needs that type of player, I was in tullamore when the crack of him breaking his leg rang round the ground. To come back from that and he is still playing hurling for Meath shows his dedication to the county. We've had players of better quality who never did as much as Mickey. For that he will always be a legend to many."
Giving it everything is commendable RD but he wasn't up to standard. I felt he was one of the most over rated players nationally.

Give me a wiry 11/12 stone Kevin Foley any day. He wouldn't be caught for pace and would get around the pitch stopping a forward from playing.

I wouldn't have Burke near a county team. He had a rugby build.

CC2020 (Kilkenny) - Posts: 173 - 07/08/2021 16:16:32    2368517

I've no opinions on tattoos lol, I don't have or want one, but if you wanna cover yourself in head to toe with ink, good luck to you.
I do have an anecdote though, a guy I know once appeared in a newspaper, to talk about how being heavily tattooed affects people's perceptions of him.
Now this guy was something else, he borrowed money from friends without paying back, he once started a job and left halfway through the first day, without informing his boss, moved into houses avd left the day before rent was due, blocking the landlords number lol,a thief, and one of the biggest liars you'd ever hope to meet (or hope to not meet).

Now he gave a big sob story to the paper, making himself out to be a stand up guy not being given a fair shake by "the man", because of peoples prejudice against tattoos, and by god did the paper lap it up. Oh yeah he was the victim, beaten down by the big bad world,or so you'd believe if you read the piece, so long as you never met the guy.

Not much to do with tattoos I guess,plenty of great people out there with em, but just goes to show, never believe a word a journalist tells you.

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1706 - 07/08/2021 16:51:47    2368530