Kerry Lads And Tattoos

Replying To slayer:  "AfricanGael do you have (a) tattoo(s)?

Some strong opinions on this thread from your good self :-)"
Ah no, I don't really have what I would consider strong opinions about tattoos either way.

No, I don't have any tattoos, too much of an identifier and would limit the places I could operate, so I never really considered getting a tattoo.

AfricanGael (UK) - Posts: 1947 - 04/08/2021 21:11:15    2367759

Replying To AfricanGael:  "Ah no, I don't really have what I would consider strong opinions about tattoos either way.

No, I don't have any tattoos, too much of an identifier and would limit the places I could operate, so I never really considered getting a tattoo."
Ohh I see, you're a surgeon now is it? Or a secret agent perhaps? Our man in Djibouti.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 04/08/2021 21:25:51    2367764

Personally I don't like tattoos but I have no problem with people who do, a tramp stamp though looks well on the right woman!!
I think visible tattoos could hinder your chances of getting certain jobs, they are common now but down the line as people age I think they might regret getting them, just my opinion.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2747 - 04/08/2021 21:26:19    2367765

Phew must be a quiet day

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4896 - 04/08/2021 21:26:56    2367766

Replying To AfricanGael:  "Just because tattoos wouldn't have any impact on your line of employment avonali doesn't mean that young lads shouldn't think long and hard before getting any."
Wow, I feel like I've been mauled by a dead lamb. I'm quivering with shock here.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 04/08/2021 21:34:11    2367769

Replying To avonali:  "Ohh I see, you're a surgeon now is it? Or a secret agent perhaps? Our man in Djibouti."
More like our Walter Mitty.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2747 - 04/08/2021 21:36:44    2367771

Replying To AfricanGael:  "US Immigration can take a very dim view of anyone with tattoos. I remember a lad who was coming to NY on a holiday visa and his tattoo drew the attention of immigration officials, of all the group he was the only one not admitted to the US, not specifically because he had a tattoo but it was the first thing they asked him about.

I'm sure there are plenty people out there who deep down regret getting a tattoo but it probably seemed a good idea at the time."
As long as they didn't bump into our BUDDY Bruce Heller in Dublin airport they'll be grand. Hope Joes listeners don't notice Ronan Mc Namees, phone lines in melt down. Both teams should plaster themselves in fake ones for the laugh.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2014 - 04/08/2021 21:38:35    2367772

Replying To avonali:  "Wow, I feel like I've been mauled by a dead lamb. I'm quivering with shock here."
They opened clinics to deal with your type of quivering in your area of the Northside, join your mates there.

AfricanGael (UK) - Posts: 1947 - 04/08/2021 21:45:09    2367777

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "Personally I don't like tattoos but I have no problem with people who do, a tramp stamp though looks well on the right woman!!
I think visible tattoos could hinder your chances of getting certain jobs, they are common now but down the line as people age I think they might regret getting them, just my opinion."
Are you implying that the tramp stamp doesn't look good on fat women??

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8592 - 04/08/2021 22:05:16    2367784

Replying To realdub:  "Are you implying that the tramp stamp doesn't look good on fat women??"
I wouldn't know, what do you think yourself!! LOL

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2747 - 04/08/2021 22:10:39    2367786

Replying To Southsham:  "Well are they bringing the GAA into disrepute as Tom Corr maintains?"
I could be wide of the mark here....who cares?

Shocs07 (Limerick) - Posts: 372 - 04/08/2021 22:30:22    2367793

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "I wouldn't know, what do you think yourself!! LOL"
Definitely not :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8592 - 04/08/2021 22:33:33    2367795

That Joe Duffy show is basically Twitter for people who don't have the internet.

Greenfield (Meath) - Posts: 522 - 05/08/2021 09:23:10    2367836

Replying To Greenfield:  "That Joe Duffy show is basically Twitter for people who don't have the internet."
There must be an awful lot of people without the internet in Ireland then, given that Joe Duffy's Liveline is the second most popular radio show in the country.

AfricanGael (UK) - Posts: 1947 - 05/08/2021 11:34:45    2367881

They look best on Maoris.

Kerry men with sleeves. Nah.

CC2020 (Kilkenny) - Posts: 173 - 05/08/2021 12:04:58    2367892

I wonder if Tom Corr might actually be "Tom Smith here" it sounds like his type of topic! Haven't noticed Tom Smith on here in a long time. He was always good for stirring things up!

PoolSturgeon (Galway) - Posts: 1903 - 05/08/2021 12:21:22    2367899

Paul Galvin was the trailblazer for Tattoos in Kerry. It's trendy at moment... just look at the Olympic athletes! Don't think anyone will be too concerned as long as the Kingdom lift Sam!

Rockies (Cork) - Posts: 947 - 05/08/2021 12:35:16    2367907

Typically Irish to criticize the man for having his opinion on tattoos just because they don't agree with his and pure ignorance to call the man a "crank" and an "oddball".

Where else would you get it, moaners moaning about moaners, only in the Irish Republic, it's no wonder Liveline is the second most popular radio show in the country.

I don't agree with his opinion either but he's entitled to it and there are many people out there who do not like tattoos for a variety of reasons, and at the end of the day what are most tattoos about for many in the western world nowadays anyway, only seeking attention, copycatting and the "hey look at me" unless they are so vain that they stand in the mirror looking at themselves.

As essmac said, "These days, having a tattoo is a conformist and middle class hipster-y thing to do" and I have no reason to doubt him but does that mean if these "beardos" started going around with a carrot stuck up their ***** was a "middle class hipster-y thing to do" that those who didn't conform are somehow a "crank" and an "oddball".

I think anyone who would get a tattoo just to feel conformist couldn't be doing it for a worse reason.

Ireland needs more bohemians not conformists.

AfricanGael (UK) - Posts: 1947 - 05/08/2021 12:57:10    2367917

Replying To AfricanGael:  "There must be an awful lot of people without the internet in Ireland then, given that Joe Duffy's Liveline is the second most popular radio show in the country."
Being popular in this country at the current juncture in time is hardly an endorsement!

Look at the rubbish most people fill their heads with. Internet being no addition to that either, but Duffy is on same intellectual/cultural level as your Jeremy Kyles and Shameless. A mirror to the downward spiral we are in.

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2557 - 05/08/2021 13:23:58    2367932

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "Being popular in this country at the current juncture in time is hardly an endorsement!

Look at the rubbish most people fill their heads with. Internet being no addition to that either, but Duffy is on same intellectual/cultural level as your Jeremy Kyles and Shameless. A mirror to the downward spiral we are in."
The Joe Duffy is a good listen if you're in bad humour. Leaves you thinking that things could be worse, could be one of the begrudgers ringing Joe to have themselves heard whinging about everything. Puts life into perspective.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7345 - 05/08/2021 13:49:18    2367941