Kerry Lads And Tattoos

Can someone tell me what this thread is all about please, the link wont work.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 04/08/2021 16:40:11    2367642

The same guy would probaly be the first to spout out…don't judge a book by its cover. Some people have too much time on their hands

superdub (Dublin) - Posts: 392 - 04/08/2021 16:41:58    2367643

Also how could the Kerry lads be gurriers!! They would never sledge, strike off the ball or play puke football. That's only us dubs and the Ulster teams that do that!! Kerry are the purists of the game, how dare that liveline caller

superdub (Dublin) - Posts: 392 - 04/08/2021 16:46:13    2367644

Replying To Southsham:  "Well are they bringing the GAA into disrepute as Tom Corr maintains?"
I think he is just hankering back for the time when they all wore long jerseys. Joe didn't ask him what would happen if they were on the legs

zinny (Wexford) - Posts: 1799 - 04/08/2021 16:49:58    2367645

It's personal choice, from meeting people whether someone has tattoos usually has little bearing on what personality the people are.
Personally I have to admit I think most tattoo's look bad on white skin.
It's current fashion but unlike mullet haircuts from the 80's they last a lifetime, I've a feeling a lot of people who have them won't admit it but are sorry they got some of their prominent tattoo's.

bdbuddah (Meath) - Posts: 1337 - 04/08/2021 17:03:55    2367654

I'd say Joe wouldn't know a football if it hit him in the head below in St Annes Park.
I kinda feel sorry for the caller; he was a crank and an oddball but Joe led him through that call like a circus pony for our edification. All this faux interest in the man's viewpoint: he wasn't genuinely interested at all . He just knew he had an odd ball on the line and decided to play with him for his audience's amusement.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 04/08/2021 17:21:21    2367663

Replying To avonali:  "I'd say Joe wouldn't know a football if it hit him in the head below in St Annes Park.
I kinda feel sorry for the caller; he was a crank and an oddball but Joe led him through that call like a circus pony for our edification. All this faux interest in the man's viewpoint: he wasn't genuinely interested at all . He just knew he had an odd ball on the line and decided to play with him for his audience's amusement."
I think the man was entitled to his opinion without being called an oddball, there are plenty people out there who don't like tattoos.

If two people of similar experience go for an interview for a front desk job and one has a visible tattoo I can guarantee you which one will be getting the job, many major employers for one reason or another believe tattoos portray a negative image.

I always found tattoos to be more of an English thing.

AfricanGael (UK) - Posts: 1947 - 04/08/2021 17:38:07    2367669

Replying To avonali:  "yeah...he was right up there alright."
Careful now!

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5010 - 04/08/2021 17:41:38    2367670

Replying To avonali:  "yeah...he was right up there alright."
No clue what that means :)

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 04/08/2021 18:14:42    2367679

'Tatoos', the mark of the underclass. For me if they are done right and on good looking people then grand. If they are poorly done on some pasty lump then no.

bloodyban (Limerick) - Posts: 1710 - 04/08/2021 18:27:46    2367681

Replying To avonali:  "I'd say Joe wouldn't know a football if it hit him in the head below in St Annes Park.
I kinda feel sorry for the caller; he was a crank and an oddball but Joe led him through that call like a circus pony for our edification. All this faux interest in the man's viewpoint: he wasn't genuinely interested at all . He just knew he had an odd ball on the line and decided to play with him for his audience's amusement."
Just because tattoos wouldn't have any impact on your line of employment avonali doesn't mean that young lads shouldn't think long and hard before getting any.

AfricanGael (UK) - Posts: 1947 - 04/08/2021 18:30:49    2367684

Wait until next season when some team decides for the full on face spider's web tat to psyche out the opposition. Like the lepers in Papillion.

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2518 - 04/08/2021 18:43:08    2367699

Replying To superdub:  "Also how could the Kerry lads be gurriers!! They would never sledge, strike off the ball or play puke football. That's only us dubs and the Ulster teams that do that!! Kerry are the purists of the game, how dare that liveline caller"
I can only imagine how outraged this thread would become had the caller elected to single out an ulster team.

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1697 - 04/08/2021 18:53:53    2367703

I wonder can one of them boast man hood of the " Newtownmountkennedy " one.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2655 - 04/08/2021 18:56:19    2367706

Replying To Canuck:  "I wonder can one of them boast man hood of the " Newtownmountkennedy " one."
My husband can!;)

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 04/08/2021 19:00:40    2367708

Replying To AfricanGael:  "Just because tattoos wouldn't have any impact on your line of employment avonali doesn't mean that young lads shouldn't think long and hard before getting any."
Face tats are illegal. As for the rest, nobody cares. Times change. As a white collar office worker, I was brought up to always wear a suit and tie and be clean shaven. Nowadays, every bloke has a ridiculous lumberjack beard, and, even 5 years ago, colleagues were laughing at me for wearing a tie. "Why do you wear that thing?" , they asked me. Provided not on your face, nobody cares about tattoos. If you want to be a rebel nowadays, go clean shaven, wear a suit and tie and lace up brogues, and have no visible tattoos. These days, having a tattoo is a conformist and middle class hipster-y thing to do. Not at all rebellious anymore. There is a kind of backlash to all the elaborate expensive tattoos you see now though - a minority of people do DIY ones, no colour, deliberately badly done, like jailhouse tattoos. But most tattoos you see now are expensive and painstakingly done. They're a middle class symbol these days.

And as for the old cliche that you ways regret a tattoo? Nonsense. Provided you weren't drunk when you got it, you'll always like them.

I wish that Kerry's tattoos were all we had to worry about lol

essmac (Tyrone) - Posts: 1141 - 04/08/2021 20:00:04    2367734

Replying To yew_tree:  "Joe Duffy, his show and some of his callers are absolute doses. Moaning ignorant tossers."
Brilliant post! Him and his show are the cause of alot of stress and depression in society!

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11719 - 04/08/2021 20:07:30    2367736

Replying To AfricanGael:  "Just because tattoos wouldn't have any impact on your line of employment avonali doesn't mean that young lads shouldn't think long and hard before getting any."
Ah FFS AG PLEASE dont ruin another thread:-D

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11719 - 04/08/2021 20:09:47    2367739

AfricanGael do you have (a) tattoo(s)?

Some strong opinions on this thread from your good self :-)

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 04/08/2021 20:27:59    2367746

Replying To essmac:  "Face tats are illegal. As for the rest, nobody cares. Times change. As a white collar office worker, I was brought up to always wear a suit and tie and be clean shaven. Nowadays, every bloke has a ridiculous lumberjack beard, and, even 5 years ago, colleagues were laughing at me for wearing a tie. "Why do you wear that thing?" , they asked me. Provided not on your face, nobody cares about tattoos. If you want to be a rebel nowadays, go clean shaven, wear a suit and tie and lace up brogues, and have no visible tattoos. These days, having a tattoo is a conformist and middle class hipster-y thing to do. Not at all rebellious anymore. There is a kind of backlash to all the elaborate expensive tattoos you see now though - a minority of people do DIY ones, no colour, deliberately badly done, like jailhouse tattoos. But most tattoos you see now are expensive and painstakingly done. They're a middle class symbol these days.

And as for the old cliche that you ways regret a tattoo? Nonsense. Provided you weren't drunk when you got it, you'll always like them.

I wish that Kerry's tattoos were all we had to worry about lol"
Yeah times change essmac. Years ago one could nt become a Garda with tattoos but that's changed now. Also male teachers wore shirt and ties. Nowadays jeans and T shirts suffice. Sure even rté pundits have changed attire.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3673 - 04/08/2021 21:10:39    2367758