Joe Canning Retiring

Replying To WanPintWin:  "In the 2012 final drawn game. He left at least 3 in his wake and a couple of them were on the ground behind him as the ball hit the net."
"leaving cats lying on the ground in his wake while scoring brilliant goals."

Do you know the difference between singular and plural?

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2447 - 28/07/2021 17:27:45    2365199

Best of my generation I reckon and obviously one of the best ever

Breezy (Limerick) - Posts: 1236 - 28/07/2021 17:29:13    2365200

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  "No, on the contrary. Why can't people pay tribute to Joe Canning, without denigrating others?

I think Joe was a wonderful hurler, one of the greatest of all time.

Sour oul sow? That's rich coming from you."
Well you should have said that then before going on the defensive as you usually do.
I call it as I see it and that's what I'd call you.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 28/07/2021 17:29:26    2365201

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  ""leaving cats lying on the ground in his wake while scoring brilliant goals."

Do you know the difference between singular and plural?"
I do indeed. I gave you an example of a goal that matched the description of the other poster's comment. He'll need to make sure he has his noun properties squeaky clean next time, if they're getting the forensic grammar review from you.
At least he had his plural accurate in relation to their being multiple KK players in his wake and on the ground.
He left a few KK players in his wake when scoring a good goal in 2009. They might have stayed on their feet though, as they couldn't get near him.
I think his best championship goal against KK was the one from the 2015 Leinster Final. The long delivery which he caught inside and hit while turning. A spectacular finish.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2036 - 28/07/2021 17:56:25    2365209

Replying To yew_tree:  "What a player. Immense skill....he could do anything. Sad day for hurling and the GAA in general but none more so than Galway Hurling....how do you replace him? Well you can't. All the best to Joe. I assume he will continue club hurling?"
The same way Mayo replaced Higgins & Boyler. Find young lads as good. OK, we won't replace Joe, but the show must go on.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3410 - 28/07/2021 18:12:47    2365216

Enjoy the retirement Joe, thoroughly deserved. One of the finest that I've ever seen play, and glad to have seen Joe, albeit only the one time, play live. Joe is a great reason why young lads all Ireland pick up hurleys to play in the first place; he plays the game the way it should be played, and then some more... Glad that he did get his celtic cross...looked for a long time that it might evade him.

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 1903 - 28/07/2021 18:18:52    2365221

I'll miss the great passing ability he had. Thank you Joe for all the great memories.

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2113 - 28/07/2021 18:26:38    2365222

Terrible sad to see such a Wonderful hurler like Joe retire.
Those 4 sideline cuts in last years Semi Final were fantastic and he was having a brilliant game until the sly belts across the elbow and lower back happened! No other County singled him out for dirty slaps only limrik!

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2192 - 28/07/2021 18:41:14    2365228

I remember one of his fisrt outings when he blitzed Cork in a hurling qualifier or quarter final or something...he was some player, its sort of sad (I am getting older too:) when you remember him coming on the scene and to know by his demeanour on Saturday that his time was up..I knew by him on the pitch at end...we wont go into the argument of the best (Galway or even over all Ireland) but he was some star and great servant to Galway...he will be missed for sure...

Fairplayalways (Offaly) - Posts: 1034 - 28/07/2021 19:17:12    2365236

Replying To ZUL10:  "http://c0.thejournal.ie/media/2012/09/joe-canning-3-390x285.jpg

Just one example. This was a special moment especially given we were all sick to the teeth of looking at ye."
We? Sick to death of looking at the greatest hurling team, containing some of the greatest players, of all time? Only in Ireland.

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2447 - 28/07/2021 19:23:08    2365237

The Greatest of all time.

brisbane (Galway) - Posts: 674 - 28/07/2021 20:00:56    2365247

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  "We? Sick to death of looking at the greatest hurling team, containing some of the greatest players, of all time? Only in Ireland."
Neutrals wanting a non traditional team to replace a winning team at the top is not an Irish thing, it's the same for most sports across the globe. Unless your a narcissistic supporter of your own county then surely you can understand that.

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2385 - 28/07/2021 20:10:52    2365253

Replying To ZUL10:  "http://c0.thejournal.ie/media/2012/09/joe-canning-3-390x285.jpg

Just one example. This was a special moment especially given we were all sick to the teeth of looking at ye."
Great post:D

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11732 - 28/07/2021 20:59:26    2365264

He was something else.

As someone mentioned above, that display against Cork in Thurles all those years ago was phenomenal.

One of few times i knew i was experiencing same thing as my father and uncles had when they had seen Ring and the two Doyles and others.

Claims to be the GOAT are ultimately pointless, but he is certainly among them.

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2523 - 28/07/2021 21:08:07    2365273

Thanks for everything Joe.

CocknyTribesman (UK) - Posts: 194 - 28/07/2021 21:51:41    2365300

An absolute top class player. Obviously the kids in Galway always looked up to him but from a Dublin side of things I know the kids here were in awe of him. Spent hours on the pitch of parnell park after Galway and Portumna games signing kids jerseys/taking photos and chatting to the kids. Total respect from me and best of luck to him going forward

superdub (Dublin) - Posts: 392 - 28/07/2021 22:16:49    2365314

I don't watch much hurling, but Joe looked a right good hurler fair play to him.

Congratulations on your retirement Joe its well deserved and best of luck in the future.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 28/07/2021 22:38:43    2365320

Great player, won everything, unbelievable career.

Absorbed the limelight brilliantly and carried himself very well throughout his career, spoke well, and justified the hype, good luck to him.

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1698 - 28/07/2021 23:48:29    2365336

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "The same way Mayo replaced Higgins & Boyler. Find young lads as good. OK, we won't replace Joe, but the show must go on."
With all Galway have won at underage level in recent years you would think that they should have had enough of players to compete and perform better then what they did this year. The likes of Jason Flynn and Evan Niland among others you would think should be stepping up and pushing for a starting place.

CartaDubh (Clare) - Posts: 51 - 29/07/2021 07:00:27    2365351

Terrific player. One quibble for me was that the media or critics seemed to get to him. It constantly came up, even yesterday. I could never understand why he went there as he got plenty of positive press and personal accolades.

gahfan (Wexford) - Posts: 636 - 29/07/2021 07:50:55    2365357