Joe Canning Retiring

Joe travelled to our budding hurling club in Donegal one January a few years ago to do some coaching sessions with the kids and older lads. Travelled 3/4 hrs up here and down the same day because he had a match the following day. He spoke so well with the kids, totally down to earth. Refused the chance to promote his hurl business when prompted at one point because it wasn't why he was there he said. We were all just in awe of the man to be honest for coming up so willingly and giving the kids a day they'll never forget. In many ways for me he is the Michael Murphy of hurling, an unassuming Titan of a man who is a once in a generation talent. Can't decide between him and Shefflin as the best forward I have ever seen. Unique talent and will be remembered for a long time.

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1321 - 29/07/2021 08:41:59    2365362

Replying To katser:  "Terrible sad to see such a Wonderful hurler like Joe retire.
Those 4 sideline cuts in last years Semi Final were fantastic and he was having a brilliant game until the sly belts across the elbow and lower back happened! No other County singled him out for dirty slaps only limrik!"
Eh, I seem to recall his brother Olly criticising a team for blackguarding Joe a few years back. A head stomp on that occasion I recall?

Hint: It wasn't Limerick, nor indeed any other county team. Nor was it a team from outside your own county ....

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2557 - 29/07/2021 09:37:43    2365376

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  "We? Sick to death of looking at the greatest hurling team, containing some of the greatest players, of all time? Only in Ireland."
sorry to ruin your day...ok "I wont go into"....ffs.......

Fairplayalways (Offaly) - Posts: 1034 - 29/07/2021 09:48:33    2365382

Replying To brisbane:  "The Greatest of all time."
Of all time indeed! When M Cusack traveled the country in 1883/84 he found that hurling was strongest in County Galway. At that stage they had given up hurling in Kilkenny and were playing cricket instead. Cusack, a cricket man himself learned the rules of hurling from 2 Galway clubs. Later when his Dublin hurling clubs were being hammered in matches against the Galway clubs he changed the rules to suit themselves. In historical terms the GAA is a recent phenomenon compared to hurling as it was played in Ireland throughout the ages.

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1803 - 29/07/2021 10:02:28    2365388

Replying To Donegal_abroad:  "Joe travelled to our budding hurling club in Donegal one January a few years ago to do some coaching sessions with the kids and older lads. Travelled 3/4 hrs up here and down the same day because he had a match the following day. He spoke so well with the kids, totally down to earth. Refused the chance to promote his hurl business when prompted at one point because it wasn't why he was there he said. We were all just in awe of the man to be honest for coming up so willingly and giving the kids a day they'll never forget. In many ways for me he is the Michael Murphy of hurling, an unassuming Titan of a man who is a once in a generation talent. Can't decide between him and Shefflin as the best forward I have ever seen. Unique talent and will be remembered for a long time."
That's a great story and speaks volumes about the character of the man.

I'm glad to be able to say I saw him play.. He was a mercurial talent. Delighted he won his all Ireland.

skillet (Limerick) - Posts: 1062 - 29/07/2021 10:37:49    2365402

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "Eh, I seem to recall his brother Olly criticising a team for blackguarding Joe a few years back. A head stomp on that occasion I recall?

Hint: It wasn't Limerick, nor indeed any other county team. Nor was it a team from outside your own county ...."
Yes indeed. And Loughrea players kicked him on the ground in a disgraceful incident in a county Final-shown on TG4-, while he was still a teenager and the Galway County Board did SFA about it.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4321 - 29/07/2021 10:57:51    2365408

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "Eh, I seem to recall his brother Olly criticising a team for blackguarding Joe a few years back. A head stomp on that occasion I recall?

Hint: It wasn't Limerick, nor indeed any other county team. Nor was it a team from outside your own county ...."
Fact remains guys like Canning always get 'special' attention.. Doesn't make it right but since he broke onto the scene all those years ago he was targeted by the opposition.

Hegartys slap on him last year was utterly wrong and deserved a red, but I think if he had as much of an issue with Limerick as poor aul Kathy does, Joe Canning wouldn't be living here.

Wonderful hurler but judging by the article this morning in the Examiner he'll be glad to move out of the limelight and have his life back.

skillet (Limerick) - Posts: 1062 - 29/07/2021 11:37:40    2365425

Joe C kept Galway hurling alive during the bad years in the early 2010-2017, with his performances. He was a great striker of the dead ball. He also helped make hurling the great game it is today.

galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2519 - 29/07/2021 12:07:41    2365436

Replying To Oldtourman:  "Yes indeed. And Loughrea players kicked him on the ground in a disgraceful incident in a county Final-shown on TG4-, while he was still a teenager and the Galway County Board did SFA about it."
that was a disgrace that day..worse even still the GAA HQ done nothing about it...referee appointment that day was nothing short of comical only it was so serious....

Fairplayalways (Offaly) - Posts: 1034 - 29/07/2021 12:29:27    2365446

Replying To baire:  "Of all time indeed! When M Cusack traveled the country in 1883/84 he found that hurling was strongest in County Galway. At that stage they had given up hurling in Kilkenny and were playing cricket instead. Cusack, a cricket man himself learned the rules of hurling from 2 Galway clubs. Later when his Dublin hurling clubs were being hammered in matches against the Galway clubs he changed the rules to suit themselves. In historical terms the GAA is a recent phenomenon compared to hurling as it was played in Ireland throughout the ages."
Apart from East Galway the other 2 areas where it never died out over the centuries were the glens of Antrim and Wexford.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11864 - 29/07/2021 12:40:09    2365453

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  ""One of the all-time greats, without a doubt. Hard to believe he was awarded just five All-Stars. Many lesser players have got more."

Name the 'many lesser players' that have been awarded 6 hurling All-Stars and more?"
All the players with 6 or more!

Mailman98 (Galway) - Posts: 319 - 29/07/2021 12:55:29    2365463

Replying To Donegal_abroad:  "Joe travelled to our budding hurling club in Donegal one January a few years ago to do some coaching sessions with the kids and older lads. Travelled 3/4 hrs up here and down the same day because he had a match the following day. He spoke so well with the kids, totally down to earth. Refused the chance to promote his hurl business when prompted at one point because it wasn't why he was there he said. We were all just in awe of the man to be honest for coming up so willingly and giving the kids a day they'll never forget. In many ways for me he is the Michael Murphy of hurling, an unassuming Titan of a man who is a once in a generation talent. Can't decide between him and Shefflin as the best forward I have ever seen. Unique talent and will be remembered for a long time."
Of the tributes paid to JC here yours is the one that strikes a particular chord. With me at least. I think its fair testimony to the man. It shows that a love of the game goes beyond what's achieved on the pitch.

Maroonatic (Galway) - Posts: 1060 - 29/07/2021 15:38:49    2365528

Replying To Viking66:  "Apart from East Galway the other 2 areas where it never died out over the centuries were the glens of Antrim and Wexford."
Yes this is correct, and Joe Canning a proud East Galway man too.

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2198 - 29/07/2021 16:15:35    2365537

Replying To Maroonatic:  "Of the tributes paid to JC here yours is the one that strikes a particular chord. With me at least. I think its fair testimony to the man. It shows that a love of the game goes beyond what's achieved on the pitch."
He was a gent. Insisted on maximising his time on the training field with the kids doing drills and allowing them to learn. Didn't want any social media fanfare or fuss made. A very candid speaker too who took endless questions from the kids in a Q/A after. We are blessed to have a similar icon here in Michael Murphy who is simply a great role model for a myriad of reasons but Canning is equally so in a hurling sense and as a person. Galway can be proud to have had such a man wearing that jersey over the years.

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1321 - 29/07/2021 16:22:21    2365541

Replying To Oldtourman:  "Yes indeed. And Loughrea players kicked him on the ground in a disgraceful incident in a county Final-shown on TG4-, while he was still a teenager and the Galway County Board did SFA about it."
That was a once off occasion and Portumna certainly got their revenge on Loughrea by letting hurling do the talking (beat them in every game since)
But limrik in every match they played Galway had Joe singled out for horrific treatment!

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2198 - 29/07/2021 16:23:48    2365542

Replying To katser:  "That was a once off occasion and Portumna certainly got their revenge on Loughrea by letting hurling do the talking (beat them in every game since)
But limrik in every match they played Galway had Joe singled out for horrific treatment!"
I have to know, apart from the Hegarty incident, (which every limerick hurling man will readily admit was a red card) tell us exactly what "horrific treatment" Canning has received from Limerick over the years..

Be accurate also, not some vague I don't like Limerick cos they're mean rubbish like you usually go on with.

skillet (Limerick) - Posts: 1062 - 29/07/2021 17:23:03    2365559

Replying To skillet:  "I have to know, apart from the Hegarty incident, (which every limerick hurling man will readily admit was a red card) tell us exactly what "horrific treatment" Canning has received from Limerick over the years..

Be accurate also, not some vague I don't like Limerick cos they're mean rubbish like you usually go on with."
Galway hurling supporters are constantly giving out about referee's and Limerick. Its kind of like they constantly see themselves as a victim. Maybe its the absence of success when there's always expectation.

Joe was a fantastic hurler. I think its impossible to say who was the best in a team sport when there are so many variables at play. An individual sport like golf cant figure out who was the best ever between Woods and Nicklaus. But one things for certain, Joe was one of the greats.

Finally, teams win games. Teams win All-Irelands. I never understand this thing where people would say, wouldn't it be a shame if your man was to go a full career without winning an All-Ireland. The County your born in is all a bit of luck at the end of the day. You play the hand your dealt. Like life. Nothing is owed to you. You only need to focus on what you owe yourself.. Joe certainly mastered this. So many great attributes.

Ban (Westmeath) - Posts: 1415 - 29/07/2021 18:15:48    2365577

Replying To skillet:  "I have to know, apart from the Hegarty incident, (which every limerick hurling man will readily admit was a red card) tell us exactly what "horrific treatment" Canning has received from Limerick over the years..

Be accurate also, not some vague I don't like Limerick cos they're mean rubbish like you usually go on with."
Take no notice. I guarantee you Joe would love to play with this Limerick team. With the exception of Daithi and David Burke and Conor Whelan for Galway Joe played with very few men worthy of being on the same field as him. This Limerick team have winning mentality in every position. I'm pretty sure it played a part in Joe's decision to retire that he saw no prospect of Galway getting the better of them for many years to come.

Mailman98 (Galway) - Posts: 319 - 29/07/2021 18:39:33    2365586

Joe reminds me of Austin Gleeson Galway needed him in every position on the field. Austin will have to eat another few loafs before reaching Joe's hight. Joe was poetry in motion.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2660 - 29/07/2021 19:11:23    2365597

Great story. It irked me with big Dan getting abuse and insults hurled at him when doing runner for Derek McGrath. He would stop his truck and go into a school play ground and join the kids. When playing I never seen him pull a dirty stroke on anyone despite his size. His likes, Joe and Michael should be revered just not with what they did for themselves but others also.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2660 - 29/07/2021 19:39:04    2365604