U20 All Ireland

Great game - congrats to an excellent Roscommon team - a great final coming up. Down had a really good team who were very wasteful (missed a lot against Monaghan also) I'm sure they'll be bitterly disappointed. Poor form from some of their players spitting the dummy out at the end - you have to learn to take defeat also!! The first straight red tackle was crazy - I think more of a blood rush than trying to hurt the opponent but a dangerous 'tackle' and correct decision. Down actually had a way back up until this point so I'm sure Lavery will be disappointed with that!

ardmhacha (Armagh) - Posts: 172 - 08/08/2021 08:56:59    2368721

Well done Roscommon, beat a good Down team. Great to see a different final pairing, Offaly are favourites! 50/50 in my opinion.

duckfly (Galway) - Posts: 2 - 08/08/2021 10:50:20    2368750

Replying To endgame:  "It's Roscommon's third All Ireland U21/20 Final in 10 years. We lost the 2012 and 2014 Finals to star studded Dublin teams."
That's good to know. It's a first under 20/21 final between roscommon and offaly so i think that counts as a novel final.

Ulsterchamps_32 (Donegal) - Posts: 687 - 08/08/2021 11:21:23    2368758

Replying To sourmilk93:  "Would have agreed previously but ulster football was probably the most free flowing this year anyway. Great win for our lads and looking forward to facing offaly. Great occasion for both counties. Down fans who horrendous this evening. Booing amd blowing horns for our kickouts and frees. There players lost all discipline at the end and could have seen more reds no.22 anyway. A county I genuinely respect highly was disappointed to see"
Congratulations to the Rossies. Did nt see game but I believe Rossies had a great finish. Sad to hear about opposing fans jeering. I too gave great respect for Down so its sad. I often feel that fans that boo and jeer are actually letting down their own county the most with lack of sportsmanship.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3673 - 08/08/2021 11:25:13    2368759

Replying To Eddie the Exile:  "No.22 Down got a yellow card for striking two Roscommon lads in the face, no more than 2 feet away from the linesman!
The handling of the closing stages of this match was poor to say the least. Was the ref playing the 70 minutes? Enjoyable game up to injury time though. I had expected a Down win but well done Roscommon."
I agree re the handling of the game at the very end. There's 8/9 points in it and the ref decides to hop the ball among about 20 20 year olds with seconds to go and tempers flared.. madness and lucky there wasn't a full scale malee.

ardmhacha (Armagh) - Posts: 172 - 08/08/2021 12:08:23    2368766

Replying To ardmhacha:  "I agree re the handling of the game at the very end. There's 8/9 points in it and the ref decides to hop the ball among about 20 20 year olds with seconds to go and tempers flared.. madness and lucky there wasn't a full scale malee."
Where are gaa refs getting all the injury time at the end of the second half. Are they attempting to give the losing team a chance to catch up.? The ref last night played around 9 minutes injury time at the end. That would be the equivalent of a soccer ref playing 13.5 minutes injury time in the second half. I have never seen a soccer ref play anything like that. The gaa need to clarify what refs are doing with their calculation of injury time particularly at the end of the second half.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2154 - 08/08/2021 13:07:24    2368784

Replying To endgame:  "Where are gaa refs getting all the injury time at the end of the second half. Are they attempting to give the losing team a chance to catch up.? The ref last night played around 9 minutes injury time at the end. That would be the equivalent of a soccer ref playing 13.5 minutes injury time in the second half. I have never seen a soccer ref play anything like that. The gaa need to clarify what refs are doing with their calculation of injury time particularly at the end of the second half."
I agree Endgame, he should have blown it up much earlier and avoided the shameful scenes at the end. I was vey disappointed with Down in the last five minutes after their sportsmanship against Monaghan.

tireoghainabu (Tyrone) - Posts: 274 - 08/08/2021 14:30:46    2368820

Replying To endgame:  "Where are gaa refs getting all the injury time at the end of the second half. Are they attempting to give the losing team a chance to catch up.? The ref last night played around 9 minutes injury time at the end. That would be the equivalent of a soccer ref playing 13.5 minutes injury time in the second half. I have never seen a soccer ref play anything like that. The gaa need to clarify what refs are doing with their calculation of injury time particularly at the end of the second half."
I did nt see the game so I can't comment on the under 20 game. However it is my opinion that referers are not adding on enough time. On a few occasions watching games on TV I would use a stopwatch and I would have added on more.The ladies football clock is a good idea although it's up to the ref to make the call to have clock stopped. That clock came in as a result of an all ireland ladies final between Monaghan and Waterford. There were something like 11 mins injury time and Monaghan got a late win. Waterford were fuming but when they broke it down on tsg they said the ref could have played another 2 mins. The one that annoys me is if there are 6 mins added time it means at least 6 mins added time. Now if there s an injury during the extra time for 3 minutes then that has to be added to the 6 making it 9 mins but that rarely happens

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3673 - 08/08/2021 15:01:24    2368833

i watched the game. it was a great game between 2 very good teams.
comhrats roscommon.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 09/08/2021 11:05:02    2369047

Replying To s goldrick:  "i watched the game. it was a great game between 2 very good teams.
comhrats roscommon."
i will need to look at it back again to see if the ref played too much time… there was only a few points in it right up till the very end when Charlie Smith left his goals and went upfield leaving the goals empty . Roscommon then broke upfield and shot from distance in to the open goal. Ref should prob have blown up then.
The "tackle" by Shealan Johnson was one of the most dangerous I have seen and deservedly got straight red. Then the Roscommon lads were obviously trying to slow down the game with fouling and kicking the ball away and preventing frees been taken etc so understandibly the Down boys got frustrated and angry but the went over the top. The ref did not handle the last few minutes very well. It was a shame as it was a great game between 2 very good teams.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 09/08/2021 11:31:48    2369055

I looked at the last few mins again. I used a stopwatch and ref actually played correct injury time but alot of that time was created by himself. The sensible thing would have been to blow up after Roscommon went six up (even though technically there was just under a minute left (roscommon were not going to concede 2 goals in under a minute) . Down number 22 definitely struck 1 player in the head with his fist in full view of the linesman who was on the pitch, i am not sure if he connected with the other punch he aimed but should have saw red. the other down player (number 9 Tom Close) was unlucky to see red… i thought it was a yellow.
ref turned over a down free in favour of a hop ball (which he shouldn't have done as it was obvious that Roscommon were preventing Down from taking the kick).. he also gave a free out to Roscommon moments earlier for a supposed touch on the ground by a down player (who did not touch it on the ground and was actually probably fouled). So you can see why Down would have been incensed.
Not sure what exactly happened at the hop-ball but it seemed Down were again incensed resulting in the melee.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 09/08/2021 14:02:57    2369115

Replying To s goldrick:  "I looked at the last few mins again. I used a stopwatch and ref actually played correct injury time but alot of that time was created by himself. The sensible thing would have been to blow up after Roscommon went six up (even though technically there was just under a minute left (roscommon were not going to concede 2 goals in under a minute) . Down number 22 definitely struck 1 player in the head with his fist in full view of the linesman who was on the pitch, i am not sure if he connected with the other punch he aimed but should have saw red. the other down player (number 9 Tom Close) was unlucky to see red… i thought it was a yellow.
ref turned over a down free in favour of a hop ball (which he shouldn't have done as it was obvious that Roscommon were preventing Down from taking the kick).. he also gave a free out to Roscommon moments earlier for a supposed touch on the ground by a down player (who did not touch it on the ground and was actually probably fouled). So you can see why Down would have been incensed.
Not sure what exactly happened at the hop-ball but it seemed Down were again incensed resulting in the melee."
What happened was the Down number 3 came rushing into it, he wasn't part of the hop ball. He ran and jumped in and swung a haymaker towards a Roscommon player. The Ros player was very lucky he didn't connect properly. A horrendous act, and I know frustration had boiled over and agree that the ref should never have thrown the ball up at that stage. Should have let down take their free and blow it up after that.

D.Hyde (Roscommon) - Posts: 143 - 09/08/2021 14:34:15    2369127

Replying To s goldrick:  "I looked at the last few mins again. I used a stopwatch and ref actually played correct injury time but alot of that time was created by himself. The sensible thing would have been to blow up after Roscommon went six up (even though technically there was just under a minute left (roscommon were not going to concede 2 goals in under a minute) . Down number 22 definitely struck 1 player in the head with his fist in full view of the linesman who was on the pitch, i am not sure if he connected with the other punch he aimed but should have saw red. the other down player (number 9 Tom Close) was unlucky to see red… i thought it was a yellow.
Not sure what exactly happened at the hop-ball but it seemed Down were again incensed resulting in the melee."
Look at no.22 again and slow it down. He targeted two Roscommon lads with finger strikes to the eye. Extremely disgusting act.

galwayfan (None) - Posts: 764 - 09/08/2021 16:06:57    2369176

Replying To galwayfan:  "Look at no.22 again and slow it down. He targeted two Roscommon lads with finger strikes to the eye. Extremely disgusting act."
If this did in fact happen he deserves a lengthy ban.

tireoghainabu (Tyrone) - Posts: 274 - 09/08/2021 16:53:13    2369204

Anyway.A goalkeepers first priority is to protect his goals.I love to see them caught out.

worple (Roscommon) - Posts: 339 - 09/08/2021 17:51:56    2369222

Just seen the U20 final is stand alone now thank god, will the 24,000 capacity sell out do ye think?

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 09/08/2021 18:13:24    2369235

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Just seen the U20 final is stand alone now thank god, will the 24,000 capacity sell out do ye think?"
I would expect it to sell out easy enough, should be a good game two evenly matched sides and two counties looking for all Ireland glory

ke40 (Kildare) - Posts: 209 - 09/08/2021 20:46:28    2369294

Replying To ke40:  "I would expect it to sell out easy enough, should be a good game two evenly matched sides and two counties looking for all Ireland glory"
Doubtful, underage finals don't normally draw crowds that big. Roscommon played Dublin in Tullamore in u21 in 2012 there was crowd of around 10-12000. The last final with a crowd (2019) was in Portlaoise between Dublin and Cork and only the stand in Portlaoise was open and about 100 supporters behind one goal end, the rest of the terraces were completely empty. Stand wasn't completely full either around 7-8000 maybe at it tops. I'd expect with 2 counties that haven't tasted underage success for some time it may bring 15000 tops.

The_Fonz (Westmeath) - Posts: 213 - 10/08/2021 10:52:18    2369427

It's now a double header with Cork v Meath senior ladies semi finals afterwards,
Can see an attendance close to 20,000

Curlew66 (Roscommon) - Posts: 504 - 10/08/2021 11:42:24    2369468

Replying To The_Fonz:  "Doubtful, underage finals don't normally draw crowds that big. Roscommon played Dublin in Tullamore in u21 in 2012 there was crowd of around 10-12000. The last final with a crowd (2019) was in Portlaoise between Dublin and Cork and only the stand in Portlaoise was open and about 100 supporters behind one goal end, the rest of the terraces were completely empty. Stand wasn't completely full either around 7-8000 maybe at it tops. I'd expect with 2 counties that haven't tasted underage success for some time it may bring 15000 tops."
Dublin supporters wouldn't be travelling in big numbers for an underage Final given their senior success. Roscommon and Offaly are both traditional gaa counties. Roscommon have had provincial senior success in recent years but the county has had no All Ireland success since the minors 15 years ago.Offaly have had no success at all for several years. Nothing at All Ireland level for their footballers since the U21 title in 1988. A lot of supporters from both counties will want to be in Croke Park on Sunday. Ticketmaster was down earlier with the demand for tickets.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2154 - 10/08/2021 12:43:22    2369496