U20 All Ireland

Offaly overcome Cork, to reach U20 Final.

MicktheMiller (Offaly) - Posts: 421 - 31/07/2021 18:41:59    2366180

Up Ofally fair play to ye
I found myself cheering you on
You play a great brand of foorball
One of the storys of the gaa year so far
This shoud inspire other teams out there

rhudson (Galway) - Posts: 1478 - 31/07/2021 18:43:08    2366183

Replying To MicktheMiller:  "Offaly overcome Cork, to reach U20 Final."
Congrats to Offaly. Great to see the Faithful on the rise again. Looking forward to final v Down. Great to see a few new teams up there now.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3662 - 31/07/2021 18:46:32    2366185

Woooooohooooooo

Biffo2021 (Offaly) - Posts: 10 - 31/07/2021 19:24:44    2366201

Congratulations Offaly. Great to see.

thegadfly (Cavan) - Posts: 290 - 31/07/2021 19:29:56    2366202

Well done offaly lovely brand of football they play!

ke40 (Kildare) - Posts: 209 - 31/07/2021 20:06:29    2366210

Just want to extend best wishes to Offaly on todays victory. Fair play to all concerned in The Faithful County. Best of luck in the final.

St.Mologga (Cork) - Posts: 99 - 31/07/2021 20:49:35    2366228

Awesome Offaly. Awesome.

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2111 - 31/07/2021 20:56:26    2366231

Replying To BaldyBadger:  "Again, another superb game between Cork and Kerry at this level last night, Meath put it up to Dublin and a couple of other tight affairs around the country, including Mayo v Galway.
Obviously this year straight knockout is the way, but it is every year at this level, which may contribute to the quality of matches, but I feel sorry that some superb teams are out so early. However I know at this age group, a long protracted championship is not ideal.
It's great to see teams before strength and conditioning and over analysed tactics take over.
Anyway, I feel it's a great spectacle every year in both codes and I always look out for it on the fixture calendar. Well done to the players and mentors of these teams."
Well done Offaly today,very skilful and capable footballers,the surprise packet of the year so far.Cork gave it a rattle in second half but gave way to the superior team on the day.

ONdeDITCH (Limerick) - Posts: 873 - 31/07/2021 22:24:18    2366262

I thought Cork would win handy, but it turns out the Leinster championship wasn't that bad. It'd be great if Offaly could win an All Ireland.

skirge7 (UK) - Posts: 247 - 01/08/2021 00:03:51    2366279

Replying To panamasam:  "Still odds against in a place Cork for AI (odds on in a place too). Still value personally have them as 4/7 shots. Offaly deserved Leinster winners but beat an average Dublin team by their standards who struggled against both Wicklow and Meath. Offaly themselves got a stroke of luck with Brandon Kelly going off for Westmeath when the game was a coin toss. Not seen any of Down who have x factor on the sideline but no doubt they had a handy draw and play a Monaghan team with great character but really should have been beaten by a good but not brilliant Donegal team. If like me you like to cover yourself a small saver on the Rossies be the way to go but don't see this Cork side been beaten."
Why reply to yourself?. Most of it nonsense too.

HEREBENJI (Donegal) - Posts: 421 - 01/08/2021 00:19:51    2366282

Replying To HEREBENJI:  "Why reply to yourself?. Most of it nonsense too."
He obviously did not even see the Leinster final. Offaly were far better than a Dublin team that was certainly not considered "average" I did see that match and had meant to back them today but invested elsewhere.

Very exciting team to watch. Pace to burn and play lovely style of attacking football.

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2511 - 01/08/2021 00:54:04    2366286

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "Congrats to Offaly. Great to see the Faithful on the rise again. Looking forward to final v Down. Great to see a few new teams up there now."
Final v Down CiarraíMick. Down have to play Roscommon next weekend. That should be yet another cracking game.

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6030 - 01/08/2021 09:31:39    2366308

Isn't the unpredictable nature of underage football great and this championship have provided some outstanding quality matches.

Roscommon, Down, Offaly three counties with great history and tradition whoever win I'd hope they get to enjoy the All-Ireland success as much as possible in this covid times. The two that will miss out should still be very proud of their teams efforts and know they'll have plenty of players that will go on to be established senior footballers.

Yondu (UK) - Posts: 845 - 01/08/2021 14:09:34    2366411

Replying To panamasam:  "Still odds against in a place Cork for AI (odds on in a place too). Still value personally have them as 4/7 shots. Offaly deserved Leinster winners but beat an average Dublin team by their standards who struggled against both Wicklow and Meath. Offaly themselves got a stroke of luck with Brandon Kelly going off for Westmeath when the game was a coin toss. Not seen any of Down who have x factor on the sideline but no doubt they had a handy draw and play a Monaghan team with great character but really should have been beaten by a good but not brilliant Donegal team. If like me you like to cover yourself a small saver on the Rossies be the way to go but don't see this Cork side been beaten."
Hard to figure this post, Utter nonsense

germac (Down) - Posts: 533 - 01/08/2021 14:51:41    2366435

Replying To Yondu:  "Isn't the unpredictable nature of underage football great and this championship have provided some outstanding quality matches.

Roscommon, Down, Offaly three counties with great history and tradition whoever win I'd hope they get to enjoy the All-Ireland success as much as possible in this covid times. The two that will miss out should still be very proud of their teams efforts and know they'll have plenty of players that will go on to be established senior footballers."
It suggests that gaelic football is in a much better place across the country than some people make out. These smaller counties wouldn't be winning provincial titles if things were as dire as some like to portray. However it also shows that there are management teams involved in some counties senior sides that are absolutely hopeless. Down for example brought in an excellent management team for their u20 side this year and are back playing a brand of football that hasn't been seen from a team in red and black for 10 years or more.

Soma (UK) - Posts: 2630 - 01/08/2021 15:11:04    2366438

Replying To greysoil:  "I was in Armagh last night to watch Down vs Monaghan. It was a cracking game of football & the Monaghan lads played their hearts out, bringing the game to extra time with an excellent Down side.Unfortunately it wasn't to be our evening & Down pulled away in extra time. As a spectator you could feel the emotion on the pitch. Only 9 days ago, we were all touched be the scenes of this young Monaghan team stand shoulder to shoulder at the grave of their captain Ógie Ó'Dufaigh. To go out there last night and play as they did was a fitting tribute to their friend & to his family, who were also there last night.
At the end of the game there wasn't the usual celebrations by a team who had just won an Ulster final. Conor Laverty showed his class, showing that his thoughts at the moment of his side's deserved victory was with the grieving teammates of young Ógie.
This is a terrific U20 Down team, not only with talent but with soul & I hope you go all the way. Thanks for the dignity you all showed yesterday."
Your lads done the county proud. How they were able to put in such a performance after going through what they have took some character but knowing them from their minor days and that faithful sad night I knew it was something they had in abundance. I was roaring them on just a shame they couldn't get it done in what was a great game. Ye were much improved from the Donegal game which again further emphasizes that character. Congratulations to Down and especially young O'Hare who was excellent. Definitely be cheering them on in their AI quest.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2779 - 01/08/2021 18:14:57    2366517

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "He obviously did not even see the Leinster final. Offaly were far better than a Dublin team that was certainly not considered "average" I did see that match and had meant to back them today but invested elsewhere.

Very exciting team to watch. Pace to burn and play lovely style of attacking football."
Ya I did see it and I seen the Offaly game against Westmeath too. I also seen Westmeath's 2 previous games including the penalty shoot out where anyone who watched will tell you Longford threw it away. I also said I had seen highlights of the Dubs games against Wicklow and Meath neither of which were convincing. I am happy to be wrong as great to see Offaly in an AI final and also refreshing to see Roscommon and Down in the other semi final.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2779 - 01/08/2021 18:21:43    2366520

Replying To germac:  "Hard to figure this post, Utter nonsense"
Aww gee ger you hurt my feelings. Maybe next time you might describe as 'utter nonsense' before the event like a good fella.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2779 - 01/08/2021 18:24:11    2366522

Replying To HEREBENJI:  "Why reply to yourself?. Most of it nonsense too."
It was a follow on my previous post as the prices had changed Benji.....wasn't that difficult to work out. Why didn't you describe as 'nonsense' before yesterday's game? Hmm I wonder why.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2779 - 01/08/2021 18:29:37    2366525