Monaghan and Armagh. What a game of football.

That was an enthralling game of football from start to finish! Hard luck to Armagh after such a fantastic comeback. The two late frees they gave away were for very careless and unnecessary fouls but McManus still needed nerves of steel to put them over the bar.

Gaillimh_Abu (Galway) - Posts: 996 - 17/07/2021 17:51:01    2360765

Unbelievable match, neither team deserved to lose that.

Thank God for Ulster football.

As a Donegal fan, if we get through tomorrow, Monaghan will be an ever bigger task especially with the emotion which will propel them on after what happened to their u20 captain and sponsor. I can only see Monaghan as Ulster Champions at the moment.

Ronan1989 (Donegal) - Posts: 81 - 17/07/2021 17:54:35    2360766

And breathe.

What a game gutted we didnt finish it out but I really hope Monaghan go on and win Ulster now, they deserve it after the week theyve had.

We have a good young team coming through, hopefully a few lessons learnt today.

sean og (Armagh) - Posts: 1053 - 17/07/2021 17:59:30    2360767

Great game of football,
Feel bad for Armagh but at this level you cant concede 4 goals and expect a result.
They'll learn from this.

BeJasus (UK) - Posts: 383 - 17/07/2021 18:08:14    2360772

A brilliant game of football…. Ulster Championship is the only reason the provincial championships should be kept… Well done Monaghan and hard luck to Armagh… some rash tackling near the end cost them the match

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 1927 - 17/07/2021 18:14:13    2360775

Replying To sean og:  "And breathe.

What a game gutted we didnt finish it out but I really hope Monaghan go on and win Ulster now, they deserve it after the week theyve had.

We have a good young team coming through, hopefully a few lessons learnt today."
Jesus what a rollercoaster of a game. Can't have been easy for our lads after the 24 hours they've had. Such a draining day in every aspect, playing in that heat just being one part. When Armagh got their second goal I thought that would really tell - but credit to the lads, they dug even deeper and dragged ourselves back into the front again. Still think it's a bit of a joke the game was forced to go ahead in these circumstances, but that performance was a fitting tribute - one of drive, determination and never giving up.

That was for Ogie.

patk (Monaghan) - Posts: 936 - 17/07/2021 18:25:01    2360778

Well done Monaghan to come through that after last night's news, can't have been easy. Well done to both teams on a fascinating semi-final. Thank God for Ulster championship after today and last weekend too. An actual competition.

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1321 - 17/07/2021 18:44:25    2360784

A cracking game in 29 degrees. - it was a tough ask for the lads but they wanted it for their comrade. Hard luck Armagh - ye will have a great year to look forward to next year.

greysoil (Monaghan) - Posts: 965 - 17/07/2021 18:54:31    2360789

Replying To GreenandRed:  "Ye need a goal soon to keep ye in it down the straight. Putting in the big hits but need to be hitting that scoreboard harder."
Fair play to monaghan, hope they can produce in final again .. I honestly didn't fully appreciate how good a player Rain O'Neil is until today what a mighty man big powerful and got all the skills .. don't live in ireland anymore , home visiting and was lucky enough to get to game today ..

Theliveshow (Armagh) - Posts: 13 - 17/07/2021 19:23:36    2360801

Fair play to the lads to come back after losing such a big lead . Armagh will feel they left that behind them but maybe it was written in the stars that today would be Monaghan's day .

bluemoon (Monaghan) - Posts: 105 - 17/07/2021 20:20:38    2360819

A cracking game of football from Armagh and Monaghan, well done to both teams.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 17/07/2021 20:41:59    2360831

What a game. Armagh gave away an unforgivable lead then retreated right when the time to push on hit - so close yet so far once again for us.
Well done to Monaghan after the terrible accident last night - played your hearts out - good luck in the final where you'll be very dangerous opposition.

ardmhacha (Armagh) - Posts: 172 - 17/07/2021 20:46:36    2360835

What a game, Ulster Championship is brilliant, thought Armagh had it but inexperience cost them, their day will come though. McGeeney can't catch a break.
Mc Manus had the experience and talent to win it for Monaghan, I make Monaghan favs now for the Anglo Celt whoever wins tomorrow,
wonder what Pat Spillane thinks of Ulster football now?

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2747 - 17/07/2021 21:28:23    2360850

Time to get rid of the provincial championships, eh?

essmac (Tyrone) - Posts: 1141 - 17/07/2021 21:51:07    2360861

Rte sports news was just on the news, those great Rte lovers of GAA and Ulster, the 'football qualifier' between Armagh and Monaghan' he says? doesn't even know it's the Ulster semi final and there's no bloody 'qualifiers' in football this year either.
of course they spent 3 mins on Dublin's hurling game,
glad I don't pay a licence fee to support this shower.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2747 - 17/07/2021 21:53:36    2360862

Replying To Theliveshow:  "Fair play to monaghan, hope they can produce in final again .. I honestly didn't fully appreciate how good a player Rain O'Neil is until today what a mighty man big powerful and got all the skills .. don't live in ireland anymore , home visiting and was lucky enough to get to game today .."
Rian O'Neill was outstanding. Definitely one of the top 10 footballers in the country for me anyway.

Pity Armagh don't have the backs that their forwards deserve. If games were won and lost based on how good numbers 8-15 are they'd be very near even the top teams in the country.

Kerry15 (Kerry) - Posts: 958 - 17/07/2021 23:24:44    2360884

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "Rte sports news was just on the news, those great Rte lovers of GAA and Ulster, the 'football qualifier' between Armagh and Monaghan' he says? doesn't even know it's the Ulster semi final and there's no bloody 'qualifiers' in football this year either.
of course they spent 3 mins on Dublin's hurling game,
glad I don't pay a licence fee to support this shower."
Thank God for BBC Ulster TV GAA coverage

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2014 - 17/07/2021 23:46:26    2360891

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "What a game, Ulster Championship is brilliant, thought Armagh had it but inexperience cost them, their day will come though. McGeeney can't catch a break.
Mc Manus had the experience and talent to win it for Monaghan, I make Monaghan favs now for the Anglo Celt whoever wins tomorrow,
wonder what Pat Spillane thinks of Ulster football now?"
I'd have to agree. Monaghan will win Ulster no matter the winner tomorrow. They have a desire look about them that I haven't seen from Tyrone or Donegal this season and would be a fitting tribute to U20 captain. Great game.

Tir Conaill Abu (Donegal) - Posts: 1671 - 18/07/2021 00:04:55    2360901

Replying To Kerry15:  "Rian O'Neill was outstanding. Definitely one of the top 10 footballers in the country for me anyway.

Pity Armagh don't have the backs that their forwards deserve. If games were won and lost based on how good numbers 8-15 are they'd be very near even the top teams in the country."
Kerry would be top if we played only numbers 8-15!

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 1910 - 18/07/2021 06:54:37    2360929

Replying To greysoil:  "A cracking game in 29 degrees. - it was a tough ask for the lads but they wanted it for their comrade. Hard luck Armagh - ye will have a great year to look forward to next year."
Great game indeed. Goals win games. Even though I only saw the game on GAAGO, it was a privilege to watch Rian O'Neill play. He was head and shoulders above all other players out there. Those who were fortunate to see the game live, were lucky enough to witness a masterclass display right in front of them.

Surely an All-Star for O'Neill (even though I don't really rate those awards anymore).

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 1910 - 18/07/2021 06:59:53    2360930