Monaghan and Armagh. What a game of football.

Anyone on here gonna call it?

The bookies have them both evens. Honestly, for me could go either way. I can't see there be more that 3 points in it.

Gator (Monaghan) - Posts: 238 - 13/07/2021 14:14:35    2359411

Monaghan by 5

McGo72 (Donegal) - Posts: 67 - 13/07/2021 14:25:13    2359416

Monaghan.

Not sure by how much, but I'd be very confident it'll be Monaghan.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5010 - 13/07/2021 14:26:42    2359418

If McManus is fit it will make a big difference, I fancy Monaghan to win but this should be a great game, if Armagh hit the form they are capable of they could shade it too, just think Monaghan's experience will be the decisive factor, Monaghan by 3.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2739 - 13/07/2021 22:32:37    2359595

I fancy Armagh. I think they've the better quality of player especially in the forwards. Time for them to start winning now.

Kerry15 (Kerry) - Posts: 957 - 13/07/2021 23:11:30    2359610

Would like to see Armagh do it because it's been a while but I like Monaghan too they're a top team and are always entertaining. Whoever wins this I hope they win the final.

jonno (Kildare) - Posts: 260 - 14/07/2021 00:21:28    2359628

Will be an interesting game tactically. Armagh seemed to be working on a direct ball game during the Antrim match, Donaghy's influence on their forward play is becoming ever more evident and effective. Some of the ball in was poorly directed and Antrim dealt with it easy enough, but when they got it right, especially from O Neill, they looked dangerous. Have Monaghan a natural full back to deal with the high ball, perhaps not. So it must be prevented at source or use a sweeper. Who picks up O Neill will be perhaps the most important match up in the game. His contribution would need to be limited for Monaghan to progress. Jemar Hall, too, plays a very important often overlooked role linking defence and attack, his influence would need attention also. I expect Ward and Mc Anespie, respectively, to do a job on them
I think Monaghan have a bigger spread of scoring options, with our defenders very often appearing on the scene to get crucial scores. Beggan's ever evolving outfield and kicking roles continues to have a beneficial impact. However sometimes Mnaghan fail to deliver, almost self destruction in the Jaws of victory.
Armagh beat Monaghan the last two times they met in league and championship, so I expect no slip ups and a Monaghan win by 3 or so.
If we make the final we will win it

mhunicean_abu (Monaghan) - Posts: 1044 - 14/07/2021 10:08:46    2359679

Armagh need to make the breakthrough at some stage. I think this will be the day

Meath10 (Meath) - Posts: 183 - 14/07/2021 10:47:08    2359694

Replying To Kerry15:  "I fancy Armagh. I think they've the better quality of player especially in the forwards. Time for them to start winning now."
Interesting. I think this is a slightly outdated view. Monaghan offer a lot of attacking options and look weaker at the back for the first time in many years.

I am not a great fan of Banty in general but he has definitely freshened the squad up, in particular with in the forwards. Its most likely the influence of Donie Buckley...the best compliment to give Banty is he knows he weaknesses and surrounds himself with people that can mitigate those.

I think this will be a cracking game.

Gator (Monaghan) - Posts: 238 - 14/07/2021 11:23:01    2359721

Replying To jonno:  "Would like to see Armagh do it because it's been a while but I like Monaghan too they're a top team and are always entertaining. Whoever wins this I hope they win the final."
I think if the final pairing is Tyrone v Monaghan or Armagh then Tyrone will win it,
if it's Donegal v Armagh I think Donegal would win it,
Donegal v Monaghan final? if we are after beating Tyrone we'd be full of confidence, prob a 50-50 game,be hard to call, we'll know the final pairing next Sunday evening.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2739 - 14/07/2021 11:45:21    2359730

Monaghan will have the experience to see them through in this game. Armagh might have had the upper hand in other games but this is the Ulster Championship and is a new season.

Armagh haven't done anything and have had quite a nice run in the league but it ends for them on Saturday. Their Ulster championship record is abysmal, they win one game and completely flatline in the next. They have no defence and will find it difficult to close down Monaghan attack. They will go for goals and they will get a few.

McGo72 (Donegal) - Posts: 67 - 14/07/2021 13:36:02    2359768

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "I think if the final pairing is Tyrone v Monaghan or Armagh then Tyrone will win it,
if it's Donegal v Armagh I think Donegal would win it,
Donegal v Monaghan final? if we are after beating Tyrone we'd be full of confidence, prob a 50-50 game,be hard to call, we'll know the final pairing next Sunday evening."
Sounds like a real competition. we should cherish it.

mhunicean_abu (Monaghan) - Posts: 1044 - 14/07/2021 13:55:18    2359775

Armagh to throw the kitchen sink at monaghan in first 20 minutes. if Monaghan can ride out the storm and be within a couple of points after this I believe they will kick on and win it by 4.

muckla (UK) - Posts: 365 - 14/07/2021 13:57:27    2359777

Impossible to call. Both teams are capable of turning in big performances, or indeed collapsing in a heap just when they've convinced everyone that this year will be different. Bookies spot-on at evens. There is easily a 14 point confidence interval around that though.

Match ups key for the Monaghan defence. Boyle will hope to take Campbell for a run, Kieran Duffy for Murnin or Grugan. Handling Rian ONeill is their big problem and he should give Armagh the edge they need up front. In midfield, Armagh are solid and will be waiting for news of the elder Hughes, but it may not work out that bad for Monaghan if he doesn't start here. Lavelle is in good form and Kierans is getting back to his imposing best. An edge to Monaghan you would feel, especially with the support from a flying half back line.

At the other end, I think the balance is not yet right for Monaghan as they have one too many nice point takers and not enough grunt. If Dessie Ward could be spared from defence he'd make a difference but he will likely be tasked with a job on O Neill. Monaghan will hope that O'Hanlon can turn his pace into points on the board, he should be creating more goal chances than he is at present.
Bannigan is quietly motoring and offers a lot. McManus will make it but not start is the word. Again not the disaster it once was.

Prediction? Impossible. Armagh will need and seek goals, at least 2 needed. Monaghan need to keep 15 on the pitch and exploit Armaghs half back line. Keeping Banty in the stand essential.

All told, Monaghan by 4 points plus (queue a 5 point loss so)

Eddie the Exile (Monaghan) - Posts: 1056 - 14/07/2021 21:04:14    2359934

Monaghan to win comfortably enough in the end for me. It'll be tight enough for 50 mins or so.
Donegal to win the other semi and Monaghan to beat Donegal in the final.

thegadfly (Cavan) - Posts: 290 - 14/07/2021 22:47:33    2359963

This game will come down to Monaghans ability or otherwise to deal with the armagh attack. Few years ago I'd have had few worries but big names have left and we are not as secure particularly under the high ball in our backine as we once were. Seen in armagh game v antrim influence of Donaghty in some of the direct
balls that went in. Armagh have some serious forwards esp rian o neill who bagged 2 goals against us in 2019. We could pull it off if we can cut out that ball at source get our running high intensity game going against their defence which isn't great either but will be v close run thing.

seanie08 (Monaghan) - Posts: 1798 - 15/07/2021 10:15:52    2360014

Makings of a real good game . Think armagh got better players from 8 to 15 , monaghan got a few good fresh lads looking the part still think armagh will win this one "JUST !!

Theliveshow (Armagh) - Posts: 13 - 17/07/2021 15:09:52    2360688

Replying To Theliveshow:  "Makings of a real good game . Think armagh got better players from 8 to 15 , monaghan got a few good fresh lads looking the part still think armagh will win this one "JUST !!"
Ye need a goal soon to keep ye in it down the straight. Putting in the big hits but need to be hitting that scoreboard harder.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7336 - 17/07/2021 17:19:14    2360758

What a game!!!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8585 - 17/07/2021 17:31:10    2360760

That's gotta hurt, after all that work!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8585 - 17/07/2021 17:47:23    2360764