2021 Hurling Championship

Replying To munsterchamps:  "derek mcgrath sees noone only waterford ive listened to him on numerous podcasts and no matter what question he is asked he'll bring " wheni was managing waterford " into it......."
Ya totally biased. I thought Conor Gleeson's belt was something you'd expect to see in a junior B match with thistles on the field. I cant fathom how he thought it a 'tap'. As for him saying they're the most likely challengers along with Cork to Limerick, has he seen the betting? As much as I'd like Waterford to win if we didn't, the facts are they can be backed at 14/1.
Donal og is far more objective

Shocs07 (Limerick) - Posts: 372 - 26/07/2021 13:42:42    2364281

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "Just watching "The Sunday game". Very disappointed with Derek McGrath s comment on Conor Gleeson red card. I understand we all try to stand up for our own but it was a red card offense for a nasty belt on Joe Cannings hand.Gair play to Dónal Óg on his views."
What gets me is how any player, who's team are leading by 12 points on the stroke of half-time, would get himself sent off in such a stupid way. He nearly cost his county a quarter-final place.

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2446 - 26/07/2021 14:03:02    2364288

Replying To Shocs07:  "Ya totally biased. I thought Conor Gleeson's belt was something you'd expect to see in a junior B match with thistles on the field. I cant fathom how he thought it a 'tap'. As for him saying they're the most likely challengers along with Cork to Limerick, has he seen the betting? As much as I'd like Waterford to win if we didn't, the facts are they can be backed at 14/1.
Donal og is far more objective"
Donal Og is not afraid to challenge anybody's viewpoint, which is a very good trait. Yes, Gleeson's hit on Canning has no place in the game. I always have admired Joe Canning as a hurler, and long may he continue to grace the game.

Rockies (Cork) - Posts: 947 - 26/07/2021 14:04:01    2364289

Dublin will need to have O'Donnell back to have any chance of keeping a handle on the Cork forwards. I doubt he will be and no word on the "pandemic" victims who didn't even know they had the thing until they were contacted and tested!

Cork won corresponding game more easily than the score last year. Cork have improved. Dublin hard to say. Can be anything on the day, but I fear they will go with a game plan that just doesn't win games at this stage of proceedings.

Tipp/Waterford should be good. Tipp could not be other than shaken after the Munster final as much as some are claiming that their first half performance was something to take from the game. We shall see.

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2521 - 26/07/2021 14:44:17    2364298

Replying To Shocs07:  "Ya totally biased. I thought Conor Gleeson's belt was something you'd expect to see in a junior B match with thistles on the field. I cant fathom how he thought it a 'tap'. As for him saying they're the most likely challengers along with Cork to Limerick, has he seen the betting? As much as I'd like Waterford to win if we didn't, the facts are they can be backed at 14/1.
It was a red card done and dusted. He missed the second half and nearly cost Waterford a win. Your two boys committed red card offences and got yellow costing Limerick no consequences. Gleeson would probably have got away with it during playing time on the spur of the moment like the Limerick lads. It is not clear how it was called. He could have broke Joe's hand, so no pity for him. Not sure what Derek's angle is. Maybe because they hung out Conor to dry the last time and he admitted they did not go to bat for him when he should have been cleared. However in fairness the ref could have notified Waterford that he was off for the second half because his (ref) action was outside playing time.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2655 - 26/07/2021 14:51:08    2364304

Replying To Rockies:  "Donal Og is not afraid to challenge anybody's viewpoint, which is a very good trait. Yes, Gleeson's hit on Canning has no place in the game. I always have admired Joe Canning as a hurler, and long may he continue to grace the game."
No place in the game like the last time he was provoked by y'ere guy when the game was over and on that occasion it was just a tap. The provocation by the Cork player was one thing. Gleeson's black and blue ribs but the acting as if a leg was severed topped it off. I agree with you there are many things have no place in the game.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2655 - 26/07/2021 14:58:05    2364306

Shoe, I would take too much notice of the bookies. It seems that almost every time Cork played in Croke Park in recent the bookies had them as favourites, yet they seldom won

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4316 - 26/07/2021 15:01:06    2364307

Boyle sports have Limerick as 1/2 to win outright. Cork and Kilkenny 6/1 with Dublin rank outsiders! Looks like this All Ireland's decided!

Rockies (Cork) - Posts: 947 - 26/07/2021 15:16:01    2364315

Replying To Rockies:  "Boyle sports have Limerick as 1/2 to win outright. Cork and Kilkenny 6/1 with Dublin rank outsiders! Looks like this All Ireland's decided!"
Never mind the bookies, they have often got it wrong before. I would take no notice of Donal Og tipping Limerick either, he is only trying to take the pressure off his own team. No team are red hot favourites here.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4316 - 26/07/2021 15:30:18    2364323

Replying To Rockies:  "Boyle sports have Limerick as 1/2 to win outright. Cork and Kilkenny 6/1 with Dublin rank outsiders! Looks like this All Ireland's decided!"
A point is worth 1 and a goal 3. You score nothing for being no.1 with the bookies

Breezy (Limerick) - Posts: 1236 - 26/07/2021 15:31:26    2364325

yes it is decided limerick will win with ease

mickcunningham (Westmeath) - Posts: 1799 - 26/07/2021 15:42:23    2364332

Replying To mickcunningham:  "yes it is decided limerick will win with ease"
Wonder if it's worthwhile turning up at all? Just send Liam to the Treaty

Rockies (Cork) - Posts: 947 - 26/07/2021 16:20:29    2364348

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "Dublin will need to have O'Donnell back to have any chance of keeping a handle on the Cork forwards. I doubt he will be and no word on the "pandemic" victims who didn't even know they had the thing until they were contacted and tested!

Cork won corresponding game more easily than the score last year. Cork have improved. Dublin hard to say. Can be anything on the day, but I fear they will go with a game plan that just doesn't win games at this stage of proceedings.

Tipp/Waterford should be good. Tipp could not be other than shaken after the Munster final as much as some are claiming that their first half performance was something to take from the game. We shall see."
The Tipperary mindset is such that they believe nobody is superior to them in hurling! Has been like that as long as I remember, and I doubt if it's changed much. They will be like a wounded animal, and take it out on the first victim! "The hay isn't saved and Cork are not bet "yet!

Rockies (Cork) - Posts: 947 - 26/07/2021 16:24:17    2364351

Dublin 66/1 to win all Ireland outright! Boylesports don't mess about!

Rockies (Cork) - Posts: 947 - 26/07/2021 16:47:08    2364362

Back in 2014, donegal were about 10/1 against Dublin in football with bookies! Donegal duly won.. it was a semifinal I think! Dublin at 66/1 for hurling is worth a flutter at boylesports! It's like backing a no hoper at the grand national! Limerick are unback able at 1/2

Rockies (Cork) - Posts: 947 - 26/07/2021 16:52:46    2364365

Replying To Oldtourman:  "Never mind the bookies, they have often got it wrong before. I would take no notice of Donal Og tipping Limerick either, he is only trying to take the pressure off his own team. No team are red hot favourites here."
Oldtourman you have been around too long for that little ploy.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2655 - 26/07/2021 17:41:25    2364379

Replying To Rockies:  "Dublin 66/1 to win all Ireland outright! Boylesports don't mess about!"
What are the odds on them winning the double. I think they are the only one left after the weekend.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4316 - 26/07/2021 17:53:14    2364385

Replying To Canuck:  "Oldtourman you have been around too long for that little ploy."
That says it Oldtourman. Past differences with Cork county board aside, as the end of the day Donal Og is still " a cute Cork w....e! " nothing more, nothing less.

PatOLogical (Limerick) - Posts: 1355 - 26/07/2021 18:03:54    2364387

Replying To Oldtourman:  "What are the odds on them winning the double. I think they are the only one left after the weekend."
Ha ha. Infinity! I don't think the bookies have contemplated that situation! Kyle Hayes already pencilled in as hurler of the year!

Rockies (Cork) - Posts: 947 - 26/07/2021 18:10:37    2364393

Replying To Rockies:  "Back in 2014, donegal were about 10/1 against Dublin in football with bookies! Donegal duly won.. it was a semifinal I think! Dublin at 66/1 for hurling is worth a flutter at boylesports! It's like backing a no hoper at the grand national! Limerick are unback able at 1/2"
If lk are 1/2 to win it outright....I'm dying to know what odds are they to get Knocked out!!! Hmm I'll wait till there Semi Final v Cork!!
Kilkenny v Waterford
Cork v lk.
What a Final that would make.... Waterford v Cork?

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2192 - 26/07/2021 18:33:27    2364406