Ulster Championship 2021

Donegal defence needs big improvement, a good forward line will score goals against Donegal. Speed in full backline a big issue and gaps left down the middle again a problem. Put defender in the defence and attackers in the attack, ie R McHugh and P Mogan etc are forwards not defenders.

jacktheboy (Donegal) - Posts: 404 - 28/06/2021 09:50:02    2354039

Replying To Ronan1989:  "Donegal with a 16 point demolition without Murphy for most of the game is a very good sign going forward.

I fancy us to beat a strong Derry team as it is in Ballybofey although it may be a point or two difference. Next year they may be Ulster challengers.

I predict we will beat Tyrone as usual by about 4/5 points, they seem to have regressed.

It will probably be Monaghan in the final and although they are our bogey team in Ulster, if Murphy is back by then and we do not let Conor McCarthy score 20 goals we should have enough just.

Regarding the other teams, I know the Cavan posters are trying to downplay being relgated to Div 4 but I would be fairly confident that Tyrone will win by 8-10 points. It was a great achievement for you to win Ulster last year against the odds but losing to Wicklow and then beating Tyrone a few weeks later seems unlikely.

Armagh seem a bit overrated and dont think they will do much.

After that, I see Dublin demolishing Galway in a Semi and Kerry outscoring us in a shootout then hopefully Kerry do enough to beat Dublin."
i would agree with most of that. The only quibble I would have is that I believe Mayo will win in Connaught.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 28/06/2021 10:24:51    2354048

Madness of bonner to play murphy in that game, rushed back from a hamstring injury for a game they would have won without him anyway.
He will surely be needed for the bigger battles ahead, beyond me why they risked him like that

HuddHastings (Longford) - Posts: 144 - 28/06/2021 10:54:25    2354063

Replying To HuddHastings:  "Madness of bonner to play murphy in that game, rushed back from a hamstring injury for a game they would have won without him anyway.
He will surely be needed for the bigger battles ahead, beyond me why they risked him like that"
He was not rushed back he was out 5 weeks and participated in full training the week and a half before the down game. If Murphy felt he was ok and the medical team were satisfied then if you know Murphy he would be chomping to play to build up his fitness. Hamstring s are a very difficult injury so I would put no blame down to anyone, just pure unfortunate if he did anymore damage. Hopefully he didn't.

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2391 - 28/06/2021 11:50:22    2354083

Replying To Eddie the Exile:  "A dead rubber match played 250 miles down the road a few weeks before championship. Do you think Tyrone were at full tilt?"
Totally agree exile. 250 miles down the road and you travel down on the day of the match.
Says it all really.

border Gael (Monaghan) - Posts: 894 - 28/06/2021 19:31:44    2354326

Replying To rorysboys:  "He was not rushed back he was out 5 weeks and participated in full training the week and a half before the down game. If Murphy felt he was ok and the medical team were satisfied then if you know Murphy he would be chomping to play to build up his fitness. Hamstring s are a very difficult injury so I would put no blame down to anyone, just pure unfortunate if he did anymore damage. Hopefully he didn't."
He wasn't needed yesterday. He should have been sitting on the sideline and only brought in if needed. .

border Gael (Monaghan) - Posts: 894 - 28/06/2021 19:39:49    2354328

Replying To border Gael:  "He wasn't needed yesterday. He should have been sitting on the sideline and only brought in if needed. ."
Exactly. See how things are going at half time and then introduce him if needed would have been a smart move. Crazy stuff. Anyway, could be good for us as they'll be our opposition if they beat Derry.

thegadfly (Cavan) - Posts: 290 - 29/06/2021 07:06:23    2354441

Replying To border Gael:  "He wasn't needed yesterday. He should have been sitting on the sideline and only brought in if needed. ."
hindsight is 20/20 vision.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 29/06/2021 08:33:28    2354449

Replying To thegadfly:  "Exactly. See how things are going at half time and then introduce him if needed would have been a smart move. Crazy stuff. Anyway, could be good for us as they'll be our opposition if they beat Derry."
I don't think it'll happen but I'd love to see ye beating Tyrone, hard to know where Tyrone are at but I think they have massive potential if they click into gear, time will tell though.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2739 - 29/06/2021 10:45:41    2354495

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "I don't think it'll happen but I'd love to see ye beating Tyrone, hard to know where Tyrone are at but I think they have massive potential if they click into gear, time will tell though."
Well one thing is certain they need to learn how to defend again!
As for Cavan, we just need to learn how to play again full stop. I still believe we can win it though. I'm not sure what the situation is with some of our injured players. If we have them back it's game on.
I firmly believe Derry will provide sterner opposition for ye than Down did. Dangerous opponents at the moment. T

thegadfly (Cavan) - Posts: 290 - 01/07/2021 18:58:31    2355215

Armagh to win this weekend but it will be their only win of the championship

McGo72 (Donegal) - Posts: 67 - 01/07/2021 21:04:26    2355243

Replying To thegadfly:  "Well one thing is certain they need to learn how to defend again!
As for Cavan, we just need to learn how to play again full stop. I still believe we can win it though. I'm not sure what the situation is with some of our injured players. If we have them back it's game on.
I firmly believe Derry will provide sterner opposition for ye than Down did. Dangerous opponents at the moment. T"
Def so, RG will have them well drilled, probably be a dull defensive game, think we have the sharpshooters to pick of the scores though over the blanket and we have home advantage and the added incentive of beating a RG team. Really looking forward to both games.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2739 - 01/07/2021 21:31:12    2355253

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "Def so, RG will have them well drilled, probably be a dull defensive game, think we have the sharpshooters to pick of the scores though over the blanket and we have home advantage and the added incentive of beating a RG team. Really looking forward to both games."
I think this could be handy enough for Donegal. Derry just got over the line against Cavan in the league, Cavan were poor but Derry went missing for certain parts of the Game. Was quite strange at times and if they do this against donegal they will get punished. The is no doubt McGuigan is the real deal though but i'm not sure Glass is fully midfield material. Good guy but for me there are better positions for him...

ponger (Cavan) - Posts: 540 - 02/07/2021 00:01:14    2355295

Fair play to antrim yesterday, was an unfair scoreline on them from what I seen yesterday they would beat fermanagh and down with ease. Armagh were sloppy at times don't think they will be as poor in semi final

bobo91 (Monaghan) - Posts: 16 - 05/07/2021 08:01:20    2356351

I think if Monaghan have McManus fit they will beat Armagh, Monaghan look more streetwise and battle hardened, great show by Antrim yesterday pity there's no back door for them.
Expecting Tyrone and Donegal to progress next weekend but these could be two very interesting games,
could be tight enough.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2739 - 05/07/2021 10:55:42    2356419

Replying To cavanman47:  "You're being very generous to Monaghan there. .

This is the tail end of their greatest ever team, but its not a patch on that Armagh team of the 00s."
It will be a tight game & Armagh will rightly be favourites but Monaghan will leave everything on the field. Some great new talent coming through also. We won't lose the run of ourselves regardless of how it goes. Hoping it is a competitive game.

greysoil (Monaghan) - Posts: 965 - 10/07/2021 18:31:04    2358340

Donegal getting lumps knocked out of them in every match now - looking less likely to make it

Still think it will be the winner of the Armagh/Monaghan match that will win Ulster

tirawleybaron (Mayo) - Posts: 1105 - 13/07/2021 03:49:03    2359242

Replying To tirawleybaron:  "Donegal getting lumps knocked out of them in every match now - looking less likely to make it

Still think it will be the winner of the Armagh/Monaghan match that will win Ulster"
Well it's the Ulster Championship. We don't have the luxury of playing the powerhouses of Leitrim and Sligo to get to a final.

MurphBalls (Donegal) - Posts: 178 - 13/07/2021 11:26:58    2359315

Replying To tirawleybaron:  "Donegal getting lumps knocked out of them in every match now - looking less likely to make it

Still think it will be the winner of the Armagh/Monaghan match that will win Ulster"
LOL

Armagh are rubbish and I fully expect Monaghan to win with a few to spare.

Winner will be between Donegal and Tyrone

McGo72 (Donegal) - Posts: 67 - 13/07/2021 12:20:18    2359352

Replying To Eddie the Exile:  "Kerry are in danger of buying into the massive bluff that Tyrone have sold them. Dublin will be delighted."
I told yis lads

Eddie the Exile (Monaghan) - Posts: 1056 - 28/08/2021 19:19:04    2375609