Dublin Vs Kerry

Replying To TheUsername:  "Think Kerry will be fitter than Dublin myself, not that I know they broke restrictions like us or anything, just purely because they were knocked out of the Championship early and I assume they had lads in working over the winter on their tactical vulnerabilities that were apparent, if not they've missed a trick. It looked like that to me given the different fitness basis between them and Galway last week. These things even out when the Champo come into view.

As for Dublin and breaking restrictions, I agree with the majority it was wrong, Dessie took one for the team in my opinion, so the players weren't sanctioned. I wouldn't have had complaints if the players were banned similarly, be a bit of craic and we have plenty of lads/young lads looking for an opportunity.

I know many on here will get kicks twisting the knife, kind of like the time on here when the Kerry lad failed his doping test, no county is a purely white. If you give it you have to take it. We broke the rules, Dublin shouldn't of done it, so happy to take the heat, keep her coming - but cheer up it's all a bit dry and furious.

I was laughing seeing Peter Keane the other week on the news he was sporting a mullet, making the point he is a very good boy etc, someone should of told him you can order a hair clipper from Harvey Norman. ;)"
Hoping to see the young lads that did well the last day get their chance.

For the laugh I'd like to see POCB put in at full forward

Think long balls into him could be worth a go and could be quite effective

I know it's a bit rudimentary and simple but it won Kerry many an AI

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 20/05/2021 13:13:56    2343631

Replying To jimbodub:  "Hoping to see the young lads that did well the last day get their chance.

I know it's a bit rudimentary and simple but it won Kerry many an AI"
It sure did- that is why they have more than ye

the creeler (Cavan) - Posts: 512 - 20/05/2021 13:18:17    2343632

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "What I find interesting is that dublin gaa broke the law of the land (that's a fact) and got no fine, yet the ordinary people that broke restrictions during lockdown and got fined for their indecrecions how is that I wonder?"
Ah sure just make something up and repeat it as fact. Go with your tried and tested input :)

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 20/05/2021 13:19:23    2343633

Replying To tonguey:  "It sure did- that is why they have more than ye"
Also helped having a golden ticket into an AI semifinal for over 100 years coming out of a hurling first province

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 20/05/2021 13:20:48    2343634

Replying To jimbodub:  "Also helped having a golden ticket into an AI semifinal for over 100 years coming out of a hurling first province"
Oh right and ye had the largest population and one real competitor (for the past ten years or more ye have none) and ye are still whinging. couldn't make it up. Smacks to me of pure jealously. We all know Kerry is the real home of Gaelic football.

Btw you still haven't answered my question from a previous post- now I wonder why that is??!!!!!

the creeler (Cavan) - Posts: 512 - 20/05/2021 13:27:26    2343636

Replying To jimbodub:  "Ah sure just make something up and repeat it as fact. Go with your tried and tested input :)"
Point out what part of my post is not a fact there Jim?

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 20/05/2021 13:30:43    2343639

Replying To jimbodub:  "Hoping to see the young lads that did well the last day get their chance.

I know it's a bit rudimentary and simple but it won Kerry many an AI"
Dara Mullen looked tidy and composed, he looks like a year with the panel has done him the world of good, he's been with Brian Cullen to judging by the shoulders and arms on him.

I'd put POCB at 3 just for the craic and have him sit on young David, he actually played there at minor, the sheer size of the man would be good fun, did you see the reach of his arms on Sunday, he literally reached around a Roscommon lad back just as he was about to kick it and robbed it off his toe. Not sure if he has the athleticism for the pace we need in midfield but the lad has something that can be deployed and could add a completely different dimension.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 20/05/2021 13:47:56    2343642

Replying To jimbodub:  "Also helped having a golden ticket into an AI semifinal for over 100 years coming out of a hurling first province"
You're getting very upset again Jim. Best take a break

oneoff (UK) - Posts: 1380 - 20/05/2021 13:53:23    2343645

Replying To MurphBalls:  "Are Mayo closely behind? How do you come to that consensus? Because you beat Tipperary in an All Ireland Semi Final to reach the final in 2020. Get a grip! Being realistic, but Kerry and Donegal are the only two teams that can take down the Dubs, and saying that is a stretch. It all depends on the Dubs' hunger for 7 in a row."
Oh look a new poster who is trolling already. I wonder which poster has set up another account. But anyway I will respond.

1. I said Kerry are best placed.
2. I said Mayo are behind Kerry on paper.
3. Donegal are an excellent team but we have been hearing about them coming for about 3 years now?

Mayo were apparently past it last couple of years but still can beat the likes of Donegal when it comes to it. It's hardly the fault of Mayo that Donegal lost to Cavan? That Kerry lost to Cork. It's you that needs to get a grip. So let me say it again. Apart from Kerry and Dublin, I would bet on Mayo to beat any of the rest when it comes to the crunch. Donegal are a good side but it's all chat at the minute until the beat Kerry or Dublin. Mayo are not going anywhere for a few years simply because they still have players coming through that will keep them in the top 3 or 4 for the next few years.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7887 - 20/05/2021 13:53:50    2343646

Replying To jimbodub:  "I wasn't at all upset about anything Kevin McStay had to say"
Why did you start a whole thread about it then?

oneoff (UK) - Posts: 1380 - 20/05/2021 13:54:59    2343647

Replying To tonguey:  "Oh right and ye had the largest population and one real competitor (for the past ten years or more ye have none) and ye are still whinging. couldn't make it up. Smacks to me of pure jealously. We all know Kerry is the real home of Gaelic football.

Btw you still haven't answered my question from a previous post- now I wonder why that is??!!!!!"
He can't answer your question or mine either because he knows what we're saying is correct.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 20/05/2021 14:03:01    2343649

Looking forward to a good, close game. Thurles has a great sod, so I'd expect reasonable quality, even though it's just the teams second competitive day out.

While some of you maintain that the result is really that important to either team, I still expect certain markers to be laid down. Will new lads be introduced to a measure of 'softening up' for example?

I think Kerry will prevail by 2-3 points, but would not rule out a draw.

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 1909 - 20/05/2021 14:09:27    2343653

Shur who doesn't go out at 7am of a work day for an aul kickaround with training cones magically placed on the field and the pitch itself up a cul de sac away from the main roads. It was just all a huge misunderstanding. Absolutely laughable some posters criticising Kerry for long ball play winning them so many all Irelands, no skill at all involved of course. Jack O'Shea, the Spillanes etc etc were all aul rooters. Dublin themselves prefer to kick the ball backwards these days and play it in their own half, yet they're the greatest team of all time mar dhea

the_creeler (Leitrim) - Posts: 119 - 20/05/2021 14:23:31    2343659

Replying To TheFlaker:  "Oh look a new poster who is trolling already. I wonder which poster has set up another account. But anyway I will respond.

1. I said Kerry are best placed.
2. I said Mayo are behind Kerry on paper.
3. Donegal are an excellent team but we have been hearing about them coming for about 3 years now?

Mayo were apparently past it last couple of years but still can beat the likes of Donegal when it comes to it. It's hardly the fault of Mayo that Donegal lost to Cavan? That Kerry lost to Cork. It's you that needs to get a grip. So let me say it again. Apart from Kerry and Dublin, I would bet on Mayo to beat any of the rest when it comes to the crunch. Donegal are a good side but it's all chat at the minute until the beat Kerry or Dublin. Mayo are not going anywhere for a few years simply because they still have players coming through that will keep them in the top 3 or 4 for the next few years."
Trolling? I'm simply bringing you back down to earth with a comment like that. I agree with Kerry being best placed to beat the Dubs and based off sheer talent and getting it right on the day I would put Donegal in parallel with them. By saying Mayo are close behind is very generous. This "transitioning" Mayo team haven't done very much other than beat a very over rated Galway team in a 2020 Connaught Championship game. Not that the league matters much but they got relegated to division 2.

I agree Donegal are a mentally weak team but if I'm to choose between Donegal or Mayo to take down the Dubs I'd be choosing Donegal everyday of the week. We saw clear evidence in last years final that Mayo just aren't good enough to compete with the Dubs anymore so I wouldn't be reading into Mayo's chances too much just because they made an All Ireland final in 2020 by beating a poor Tipperary side who should have been beat by Limerick in the first round of Munster.

Just remember, Donegal were the last team to beat Dublin and could very well be the next team to beat them but again I wouldn't be betting on anyone to beat the Dubs this year.

MurphBalls (Donegal) - Posts: 178 - 20/05/2021 14:45:22    2343667

Replying To jimbodub:  "I'm not upset at all chief

It's just fun further exposing your drivel"
You haven't exposed anything jim only that you can't answer our question only shouting and flapping your lips :-)

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 20/05/2021 14:49:32    2343669

Replying To TheUsername:  "Think Kerry will be fitter than Dublin myself, not that I know they broke restrictions like us or anything, just purely because they were knocked out of the Championship early and I assume they had lads in working over the winter on their tactical vulnerabilities that were apparent, if not they've missed a trick. It looked like that to me given the different fitness basis between them and Galway last week. These things even out when the Champo come into view.

As for Dublin and breaking restrictions, I agree with the majority it was wrong, Dessie took one for the team in my opinion, so the players weren't sanctioned. I wouldn't have had complaints if the players were banned similarly, be a bit of craic and we have plenty of lads/young lads looking for an opportunity.

I know many on here will get kicks twisting the knife, kind of like the time on here when the Kerry lad failed his doping test, no county is a purely white. If you give it you have to take it. We broke the rules, Dublin shouldn't of done it, so happy to take the heat, keep her coming - but cheer up it's all a bit dry and furious.

I was laughing seeing Peter Keane the other week on the news he was sporting a mullet, making the point he is a very good boy etc, someone should of told him you can order a hair clipper from Harvey Norman. ;)"
Somebody should have told Dessie that a training ban means NO TRAINING.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 20/05/2021 14:53:03    2343670

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Somebody should have told Dessie that a training ban means NO TRAINING."
Dessie would not have known as it was only a "kickabout" at 7 am in the morning which happened to have a lookout guy and cones down while doing sprinting and fitness drills.

Poor Dessie was suspended by his own county board even though he had nothing to do with it!!!!!!!!!!

the creeler (Cavan) - Posts: 512 - 20/05/2021 15:10:52    2343677

Replying To MurphBalls:  "Trolling? I'm simply bringing you back down to earth with a comment like that. I agree with Kerry being best placed to beat the Dubs and based off sheer talent and getting it right on the day I would put Donegal in parallel with them. By saying Mayo are close behind is very generous. This "transitioning" Mayo team haven't done very much other than beat a very over rated Galway team in a 2020 Connaught Championship game. Not that the league matters much but they got relegated to division 2.

I agree Donegal are a mentally weak team but if I'm to choose between Donegal or Mayo to take down the Dubs I'd be choosing Donegal everyday of the week. We saw clear evidence in last years final that Mayo just aren't good enough to compete with the Dubs anymore so I wouldn't be reading into Mayo's chances too much just because they made an All Ireland final in 2020 by beating a poor Tipperary side who should have been beat by Limerick in the first round of Munster.

Just remember, Donegal were the last team to beat Dublin and could very well be the next team to beat them but again I wouldn't be betting on anyone to beat the Dubs this year."
All ifs and buts, you are back to 2014 as if it's the same Donegal team. And again it's not the fault of Mayo that Cork beat Kerry and Cavan beat Donegal. Such a stupid argument.

Bringing me back down to earth? I have said Mayo are maybe the 3rd best team in the country? Are you seriously trying to say I am getting carried away by saying Mayo are maybe the 3rd best team in the country. Some craic.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7887 - 20/05/2021 15:14:32    2343678

Replying To the_creeler:  "Shur who doesn't go out at 7am of a work day for an aul kickaround with training cones magically placed on the field and the pitch itself up a cul de sac away from the main roads. It was just all a huge misunderstanding. Absolutely laughable some posters criticising Kerry for long ball play winning them so many all Irelands, no skill at all involved of course. Jack O'Shea, the Spillanes etc etc were all aul rooters. Dublin themselves prefer to kick the ball backwards these days and play it in their own half, yet they're the greatest team of all time mar dhea"
While it's almost impossible to argue that the six-in-a-row Dublin team isn't the greatest team of all time, the four-in-a-row Kerry team was also a great team.

That Kerry team played some great football, during their era. Just as Dublin have played so great football over the past 6-7 years. JackO and the Spillane's were certainly not aul rooters, as you put it. Actually, none of that team were. They were all skillful, athletic players. As are the modem Dublin players.

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 1909 - 20/05/2021 15:19:16    2343679

Dublin are in number 1 spot for sure, for the order of the rest I don't know, I suppose there's Donegal Mayo Tyrone Kerry, I would probably have added Galway early on last year that are around the same level and Dublin though going for 7 in a row are not unbeatable, on current form I'd see Kerry this year as the biggest threat to Dublin.
I don't buy the mental weakness thing that's being spun about Donegal, last years Ulster final we were beaten by a very good hungry Cavan team, I think we were over trained and the minds were on the semi final with Dublin already and we were deservedly beaten on the day, I hope that never happens again anyway.
we were out muscled in Mayo in the last super 8 game in 2019, I think we have added physical strength since that and Mayo would have weakened maybe in that dept, we have a great a panel if we could get our act together and stay injury free I'd fancy Donegal against anyone, we have been a bit of a bogey team for Dublin and if we could get ahead of them in the closing stages of a match I'd fancy us to beat them.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2746 - 20/05/2021 15:39:30    2343687