Dublin Vs Kerry

Replying To greysoil:  "Ah Jaysus - I came on here for a bit of diversion & to unwind & see what the thoughts are in the NFL as we head toward the weekend, only to find a civil war going on in the GAA & Northern Ireland thread & the Dublin & Kerry lads tearing lumps out of each other & a crazy Breffni throwing sh/€& to see where it will stick.
I am off to get my Patrick Kavanagh poetry book."
You'd be foolish to expect any diversion here greysoil, you'll only find division and divisiveness - GAA = Grating Arguments Abound!

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1798 - 29/05/2021 13:35:02    2346275

Replying To greysoil:  "Ah Jaysus - I came on here for a bit of diversion & to unwind & see what the thoughts are in the NFL as we head toward the weekend, only to find a civil war going on in the GAA & Northern Ireland thread & the Dublin & Kerry lads tearing lumps out of each other & a crazy Breffni throwing sh/€& to see where it will stick.
I am off to get my Patrick Kavanagh poetry book."
Excellent choice! Poetry is always a great choice for a Monaghan supporter, when compared to Gaelic football.

Did football "burgle your bank of youth"?

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 1910 - 29/05/2021 14:26:11    2346289

Replying To foreveryoung:  "Excellent choice! Poetry is always a great choice for a Monaghan supporter, when compared to Gaelic football.

Did football "burgle your bank of youth"?"
Dublin and Kerry used to play with poetry and some panache but now they've given it all a pass, even the spectators have passed out!

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1798 - 29/05/2021 15:19:23    2346298

Not sure if this was discussed elsewhere, but if Kerry had made it against Cork, come out of Munster and beaten Mayo, would they have been able to beat Dublin?

Tacaí Liatroma (Leitrim) - Posts: 1030 - 29/05/2021 15:19:50    2346299

Replying To foreveryoung:  "Excellent choice! Poetry is always a great choice for a Monaghan supporter, when compared to Gaelic football.

Did football "burgle your bank of youth"?"
I saw the danger and yet i walked along the enchanted way …

greysoil (Monaghan) - Posts: 965 - 29/05/2021 15:34:38    2346300

Replying To Tacaí Liatroma:  "Not sure if this was discussed elsewhere, but if Kerry had made it against Cork, come out of Munster and beaten Mayo, would they have been able to beat Dublin?"
If my auntie had balls -:)

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 29/05/2021 16:03:47    2346305

Replying To Tacaí Liatroma:  "Not sure if this was discussed elsewhere, but if Kerry had made it against Cork, come out of Munster and beaten Mayo, would they have been able to beat Dublin?"
Well anything can happen but on the evidence available Dublin almost certain winners.

sligo joe (Dublin) - Posts: 678 - 29/05/2021 19:31:31    2346358

We will never know but I did state last year that it could be Dublins easiest win as the main contenders could be ko D early ime. Kerry Donegal and Tyrone and it did happen. It left Dublin with an easier run. Dublin won Sam last year without Gavin to play any team that are division 1 this year. Two of last years semi finalists Tipp and Cavan are now in relegation battles in division 3 not to go down to div 4.Last years championship was a very strange one but at the end of theday Dublin did what they had to do. Dublin would have been favourites as they will be this year too. The fuuny thing is many Dublin posters were picking Kerry to win Sam last year.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3676 - 29/05/2021 20:42:35    2346373

I could see dublin being beaten by Kerry, Donegal or Tyrone. They are the best team on paper and obviously an amazingly talented bunch with the best amenities available to them but I still think regardless of the team he was given after Mick o dwyer, Jim Gavin just in my opinion was the greatest manager I've ever seen . To keep those lads so motivated year after year. I don't think Dessie is as good and we all know Dublin wouldn't have broken restrictions under Gavin. It was beyond foolish and Gavin is no fool.

galwayfball (Galway) - Posts: 1678 - 29/05/2021 23:49:16    2346420

Unless Keane can do something about this woeful Kerry defence they will have no chance against Dublin should they meet in the Championship....and it's the same problem he has had since taking over but nothing has changed... They are too easily opened up for goal chances...

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 1927 - 30/05/2021 07:51:27    2346433

Unless Keane can do something about this woeful Kerry defence they will have no chance against Dublin should they meet in the Championship....and it's the same problem he has had since taking over but nothing has changed... They are too easily opened up for goal chances...

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 1927 - 30/05/2021 07:54:43    2346435

It's gas. Most posters here bemoan the lack of coverage given to weaker counties in the lower divisions, yet those same posters are onto page 20 of the Dublin v kerry thread, while the lower leagues are barely getting a mention on here.

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1708 - 30/05/2021 10:36:17    2346455

For the semi finals and relgation games why is one venue already decided and the other is a coin toss? Haven't seen it mentioned anywhere

joeteor (Donegal) - Posts: 217 - 30/05/2021 20:14:21    2346669

Replying To joeteor:  "For the semi finals and relgation games why is one venue already decided and the other is a coin toss? Haven't seen it mentioned anywhere"
The team who finished top is to have home advantage, we have home advantage against Tyrone but Donegal have to toss a coin with dublin why is that I wonder? Oh and I wonder who'll win that toss eh?

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 30/05/2021 21:00:51    2346687

Replying To joeteor:  "For the semi finals and relgation games why is one venue already decided and the other is a coin toss? Haven't seen it mentioned anywhere"
I don't know. I thought that the winners of their group got home venue. Is that not the case?

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3676 - 30/05/2021 21:41:31    2346714

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "The team who finished top is to have home advantage, we have home advantage against Tyrone but Donegal have to toss a coin with dublin why is that I wonder? Oh and I wonder who'll win that toss eh?"
Nothing sinister in it, this was decided last January apparently, not many people in the GAA know the rules of the competitions they watch (or care until they see the opportunity to put on the tinfoil hat). They get outraged only when its pointed out by two lads in the RTE studio. BTW the operation of the league is pathetic, the greatest danger to the GAA is the GAA, nonsensical rules (the mark free kick!), Black cards and revised Yellows. But the competiton structures are rubbish, wait until you see the way home advantage is spread around in championship, shocking.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4896 - 30/05/2021 22:48:45    2346746

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "I don't know. I thought that the winners of their group got home venue. Is that not the case?"
It says on the article on the website that's the case. Seems strange.

joeteor (Donegal) - Posts: 217 - 31/05/2021 09:54:29    2346811

Replying To arock:  "Nothing sinister in it, this was decided last January apparently, not many people in the GAA know the rules of the competitions they watch (or care until they see the opportunity to put on the tinfoil hat). They get outraged only when its pointed out by two lads in the RTE studio. BTW the operation of the league is pathetic, the greatest danger to the GAA is the GAA, nonsensical rules (the mark free kick!), Black cards and revised Yellows. But the competiton structures are rubbish, wait until you see the way home advantage is spread around in championship, shocking."
As I said on another thread, its edgy and cool here to spout the unfair advantage nonsense etc etc instead of looking into the rules themselves. Lazy feckers.
Agree with your second post too.

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 31/05/2021 11:02:19    2346841

Replying To joeteor:  "It says on the article on the website that's the case. Seems strange."
I heard on radio on matt Cooper a while back that the top teams I'm the division would have home advantage but obviously they must have decided to change it again recently. The gaa bosses make it up sometimes as they go along. However in reality neutral venues should be used for the semi finals.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3676 - 31/05/2021 11:25:12    2346855

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "I heard on radio on matt Cooper a while back that the top teams I'm the division would have home advantage but obviously they must have decided to change it again recently. The gaa bosses make it up sometimes as they go along. However in reality neutral venues should be used for the semi finals."
100% that's what I heard as well, sure there had to be a reward for finishing top of the group as there is in nearly every sporting competition in the world " but not in the gaa" I'm all for neutral venues, I'd be happy to see our lads play Tyrone in Thurles.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 31/05/2021 11:46:24    2346867