AOS - Potential Bad Injury

Sorry to hear of this and I hope it's not as bad as the speculation, I always felt he would have been more effective for Mayo if they could afford to have left him in at the edge of the square, he would have been a great option to kick high ball into over the blanket like big Donaghy was for Kerry,
Hopefully he makes a full recovery soon and has a few more years of county and club football left to enjoy, a tough oul warrior, he has tried his best for Mayo's cause no doubt about that.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2747 - 23/04/2021 21:53:35    2338568

If it's his cruciate then time will be against Aidan. Regardless of where best to play him, his commitment to Mayo has always been full on. Andy Moran had a similar injury back in 2012 before the final against Donegal and it took him a few years to get back to his 2011 level, Andy was 28 when he started his rehab... Aidan will be 31 in June, so it's going to be a tough road for him and we can only wish him well.

Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 26/04/2021 00:40:46    2338760

Replying To AfricanGael:  "I've read a lot of stuff about the playing surface at McHale Park, that the state of the pitch is a major contributory factor to the amount of players who have picked up serious injuries while playing or training there. If that it true, then it's a case of negligence and the surface should be ripped up. I wish Aidan O'Shea well. "
Already planned

https://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/gaa/arid-40241156.html

jonjon (Mayo) - Posts: 99 - 26/04/2021 10:36:03    2338785

Anyone seen any confirmation. Having gone through it I wouldn't wish it on anyone..

I read somewhere that he played 58 championship games in a row ...in that he hasn't missed a championship game since 2012. That's monumental!!

Anyhow hope it works out and we see him back soon.

ponger (Cavan) - Posts: 540 - 26/04/2021 10:54:53    2338792

Replying To oneoff:  ""some people count the league but we do not" Again remind us of how Much Cavan have won in recent times? That ye can not count the league"
I never said we won a lot.....so your point being??

the creeler (Cavan) - Posts: 512 - 26/04/2021 11:08:55    2338795

It's a bad outlook for the player himself but as others have said it may be the makings of Mayo losing by less in any potential final against Dublin. The team will have more chance to express themselves and not have to have everything go through AOS.

leitrimguy1985 (Leitrim) - Posts: 57 - 26/04/2021 11:16:05    2338799

Replying To leitrimguy1985:  "It's a bad outlook for the player himself but as others have said it may be the makings of Mayo losing by less in any potential final against Dublin. The team will have more chance to express themselves and not have to have everything go through AOS."
He slows things down considerably as he regularly takes a handpass, takes a solo laterally across the field and handpasses it off again laterally, all the while the opposition are getting the defensive shield in place. They should play him in at full forward where they could lamp the ball into him and hope for frees or breaking ball off him. Too immobile for the middle third

the creeler (Cavan) - Posts: 512 - 26/04/2021 11:45:32    2338803

My unintended repeat was meant to be a response to AfricanGael on McHale Park, but things went awry.

I know Jason Doherty got his first cruciate injury there in 2019 and wasn't too long back when he got his second injury on the same pitch last year. That's twice to the same player on the same pitch. I agree, some sort of study needs to be done comparing the levels of similar serious knee injuries at other grounds (the stats are probably there, I'd imagine) and action taken if it's worse at McHale than in general. The Dubs have been playing on the best looked after surface in the country and this could be a factor in their remarkable avoidance of similar levels of long-term injury when compared with most other county panels - virtually every other county seems to have two or three player options removed by serious ligament injuries on an ongoing basis.

Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 26/04/2021 12:32:17    2338809

Nice article on Aido in the Examiner today.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7345 - 26/04/2021 13:28:51    2338815

Replying To Pericles:  "My unintended repeat was meant to be a response to AfricanGael on McHale Park, but things went awry.

I know Jason Doherty got his first cruciate injury there in 2019 and wasn't too long back when he got his second injury on the same pitch last year. That's twice to the same player on the same pitch. I agree, some sort of study needs to be done comparing the levels of similar serious knee injuries at other grounds (the stats are probably there, I'd imagine) and action taken if it's worse at McHale than in general. The Dubs have been playing on the best looked after surface in the country and this could be a factor in their remarkable avoidance of similar levels of long-term injury when compared with most other county panels - virtually every other county seems to have two or three player options removed by serious ligament injuries on an ongoing basis."
A few people are blaming MacHale Park for these knee injuries but I don't buy it. Andy Moran and Jack McCaffrey did their ACL in Croke Park before, Brendan Maher did it in semple stadium and I'm sure there are others I've forgotten. The reality is that Aidan has been pretty much injury free his entire career - most of which was played in MacHale Park between training and games.

MayoDan (Mayo) - Posts: 420 - 26/04/2021 14:22:27    2338821

Out for three months apparently. Not as bad as first feared.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11231 - 26/04/2021 16:59:08    2338834

Replying To GreenandRed:  "link

Nice article on Aido in the Examiner today."
Well written piece, I believe O'Shea will be back for the Championship according to reports.

AfricanGael (UK) - Posts: 1947 - 26/04/2021 17:39:42    2338842

Replying To MayoDan:  "A few people are blaming MacHale Park for these knee injuries but I don't buy it. Andy Moran and Jack McCaffrey did their ACL in Croke Park before, Brendan Maher did it in semple stadium and I'm sure there are others I've forgotten. The reality is that Aidan has been pretty much injury free his entire career - most of which was played in MacHale Park between training and games."
Nobody knows is the truth of the matter. Reading that article by Colin Sheridan in the Irish Examiner which refers to the amount of games he has played and given his size and age, combined with the possible issue with the playing surface, then it shouldn't come as a major surprise that he has picked up an injury. I believe he could return for the Championship though, which is good news for him. While he wouldn't have the mobility or the scoring prowess of a player like Brian Fenton, and who has to be fair, he's still a hugely important player for Mayo. Probably the most cynically fouled player to have ever graced Croke Park on an All-Ireland day though.

AfricanGael (UK) - Posts: 1947 - 26/04/2021 18:23:46    2338843

Replying To Pericles:  "My unintended repeat was meant to be a response to AfricanGael on McHale Park, but things went awry.

I know Jason Doherty got his first cruciate injury there in 2019 and wasn't too long back when he got his second injury on the same pitch last year. That's twice to the same player on the same pitch. I agree, some sort of study needs to be done comparing the levels of similar serious knee injuries at other grounds (the stats are probably there, I'd imagine) and action taken if it's worse at McHale than in general. The Dubs have been playing on the best looked after surface in the country and this could be a factor in their remarkable avoidance of similar levels of long-term injury when compared with most other county panels - virtually every other county seems to have two or three player options removed by serious ligament injuries on an ongoing basis."
Just to correct you on one point there.
This was a training ground injury.
Dublins training ground is hardly the best looked after surface in the country.
Both Ciaran Kilkenny and Bernard Brogan ( twice) have suffered ACL injuries.
No one is immune from them and sometimes it is just down to wear and tear and a lot of training over time.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 26/04/2021 18:59:01    2338846

Replying To yew_tree:  "Out for three months apparently. Not as bad as first feared."
No ligament damage according to reports. So he should be ready for the start of league.

MayoDan (Mayo) - Posts: 420 - 26/04/2021 21:11:57    2338855

Replying To AfricanGael:  "Nobody knows is the truth of the matter. Reading that article by Colin Sheridan in the Irish Examiner which refers to the amount of games he has played and given his size and age, combined with the possible issue with the playing surface, then it shouldn't come as a major surprise that he has picked up an injury. I believe he could return for the Championship though, which is good news for him. While he wouldn't have the mobility or the scoring prowess of a player like Brian Fenton, and who has to be fair, he's still a hugely important player for Mayo. Probably the most cynically fouled player to have ever graced Croke Park on an All-Ireland day though. "
"Probably the most cynically fouled player to have ever graced Croke Park on an All-Ireland day"

Don't think any player comes close to Michael Murphy in 2014. Even Kerry fans would admit this.

opa01 (Cavan) - Posts: 502 - 27/04/2021 10:48:03    2338898

Replying To opa01:  "
Replying To AfricanGael:  "Nobody knows is the truth of the matter. Reading that article by Colin Sheridan in the Irish Examiner which refers to the amount of games he has played and given his size and age, combined with the possible issue with the playing surface, then it shouldn't come as a major surprise that he has picked up an injury. I believe he could return for the Championship though, which is good news for him. While he wouldn't have the mobility or the scoring prowess of a player like Brian Fenton, and who has to be fair, he's still a hugely important player for Mayo. Probably the most cynically fouled player to have ever graced Croke Park on an All-Ireland day though. "
"Probably the most cynically fouled player to have ever graced Croke Park on an All-Ireland day"

Don't think any player comes close to Michael Murphy in 2014. Even Kerry fans would admit this."
As the saying goes, "When you lie down with the dogs, you get up with the fleas"

AfricanGael (UK) - Posts: 1947 - 27/04/2021 11:15:52    2338909

Replying To AfricanGael:  "
Replying To opa01:  "[quote=AfricanGael:  "Nobody knows is the truth of the matter. Reading that article by Colin Sheridan in the Irish Examiner which refers to the amount of games he has played and given his size and age, combined with the possible issue with the playing surface, then it shouldn't come as a major surprise that he has picked up an injury. I believe he could return for the Championship though, which is good news for him. While he wouldn't have the mobility or the scoring prowess of a player like Brian Fenton, and who has to be fair, he's still a hugely important player for Mayo. Probably the most cynically fouled player to have ever graced Croke Park on an All-Ireland day though. "

Don't think any player comes close to Michael Murphy in 2014. Even Kerry fans would admit this."
As the saying goes, "When you lie down with the dogs, you get up with the fleas""]We have another one in Cavan, when you lie down on the dunghill you get up with smelly elbows

the creeler (Cavan) - Posts: 512 - 27/04/2021 11:37:17    2338915

Replying To Dubh_linn:  "Just to correct you on one point there.
This was a training ground injury.
Dublins training ground is hardly the best looked after surface in the country.
Both Ciaran Kilkenny and Bernard Brogan ( twice) have suffered ACL injuries.
No one is immune from them and sometimes it is just down to wear and tear and a lot of training over time."
A reasonable point Dubh-linn, as is MayoDan's. It could just be down to a bad run for some teams and generally a good one for the Dubs players currently, since both of the cases you cite (CK and BB) were a few years back. I see Aidan has thankfully come through his scan with great news, so Mayo are just waiting on Boyler (assuming he's giving it another year) and Jason Doherty to recover from their cruciates before the panel hasn't anyone out (that I know of) due to that cause. Some tracking of pitches and injury cases wouldn't be any harm if it highlights any potential risk factors with "gone for the season" consequences.

Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 27/04/2021 15:46:45    2338961

Replying To opa01:  "

Ask the Meath lads how tightly they marked Vinny Murphy :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8592 - 27/04/2021 16:05:44    2338963