AOS - Potential Bad Injury

Replying To brian:  "Might be worth reminding you of the last time you played Roscommon, they embarrassed Cavan in Breffini Park, having travelled up with a squad riddled with Covid-19, had maybe 20 or less players available to pick from, promoted and won division 2 of the league and sent you packing to Division three.

One ulster in almost a quarter century and you'd swear you were world beaters....

At least you don't represent the majority of good decent Cavan posters on this forum, there's always one of you in every county

To the point at hand though

If the reports are true you'd be fierce disappointed for Aidan, a cruciate in your early 30's is hard to get back from. Wish him a speedy recovery if it does end his season"
what a Brian from Meath

the creeler (Cavan) - Posts: 512 - 22/04/2021 14:02:39    2338375

Replying To tonguey:  "we are in different provinces baby- maybe you did not notice that no. Unless of course you count the league which nobody else does.....ye are like a yo yo up and down more than a bulling heifer"
Don't expect too much sympathy here when karma strikes back, and you pick up an injury from a kick back of a wellington wearing sheep.

AfricanGael (UK) - Posts: 1947 - 22/04/2021 14:21:53    2338380

Replying To AfricanGael:  "Don't expect too much sympathy here when karma strikes back, and you pick up an injury from a kick back of a wellington wearing sheep."
You like the sheep no

the creeler (Cavan) - Posts: 512 - 22/04/2021 14:33:35    2338381

Replying To oneoff:  "Have we gone back to the 1930s or 40s or something? The way you're talking you'd think Cavan have been winning all around them.

Also you say no one counts the league, yet in the same comment talk about Rossommon going up and down."
Well for the record, if you want to stick to the Championship, Cavan have faced Roscommon on 7 occasions and only beat them once.

AfricanGael (UK) - Posts: 1947 - 22/04/2021 14:54:08    2338384

Replying To AfricanGael:  "Well for the record, if you want to stick to the Championship, Cavan have faced Roscommon on 7 occasions and only beat them once."
Oh I wish you would not derail the thread would you. African Gael like it yes

the creeler (Cavan) - Posts: 512 - 22/04/2021 15:03:45    2338387

Replying To tonguey:  "
Replying To AfricanGael:  "Well for the record, if you want to stick to the Championship, Cavan have faced Roscommon on 7 occasions and only beat them once."
Oh I wish you would not derail the thread would you. African Gael like it yes"
"Unless of course you count the league which nobody else does"

I granted you your wish, and you got absolutely scolded

AfricanGael (UK) - Posts: 1947 - 22/04/2021 15:24:19    2338392

Best of luck to Aidan O'Shea hopefully he will make a quick recovery, I have said it a few times on here before that cruciate knee ligament injuries are becoming too common in GAA to be ignored.

DUALSUPPORT (Limerick) - Posts: 1038 - 22/04/2021 15:33:30    2338394

Replying To DUALSUPPORT:  "Best of luck to Aidan O'Shea hopefully he will make a quick recovery, I have said it a few times on here before that cruciate knee ligament injuries are becoming too common in GAA to be ignored."
The best of luck to him and a quick recovery and I agree with you and add that GAA games and especially football appears to bear the brunt of the many cruciate incidents at all age groups. Has this something to do with the excessive training methods/exercises and should we have more/some research into it.

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 22/04/2021 15:45:34    2338395

Replying To tonguey:  "Yes because some people count the league but we do not- but for those who do think the league is important I shall point out that it is not would you. How are all in Great Britain??"
"some people count the league but we do not" Again remind us of how Much Cavan have won in recent times? That ye can not count the league

oneoff (UK) - Posts: 1380 - 22/04/2021 15:57:12    2338398

A thread about a possible very serious injury to one off the top players in the country and about 5 posts into it one clown derails it trolling talking dung. Jesus no wonder I hardly ever come on here these days.

Anyway to the point as said originally I hope the injury isnt as bad as rumours suggest it could be. Wouldnt wish injury like that to anyone. Hopefully the scan results in positive news for him.

sourmilk93 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1144 - 22/04/2021 16:31:22    2338403

Replying To sourmilk93:  "A thread about a possible very serious injury to one off the top players in the country and about 5 posts into it one clown derails it trolling talking dung. Jesus no wonder I hardly ever come on here these days.

Anyway to the point as said originally I hope the injury isnt as bad as rumours suggest it could be. Wouldnt wish injury like that to anyone. Hopefully the scan results in positive news for him."
You seem to be directing that disgraceful post at me. I'm not sure why. It's no secret he slows down every move Mayo make in attack hand passing the ball lateral or behind him instead of letting it go. This is fact. I wish him well would you.

republicofcloone (Leitrim) - Posts: 375 - 22/04/2021 16:54:18    2338407

Replying To republicofcloone:  "You seem to be directing that disgraceful post at me. I'm not sure why. It's no secret he slows down every move Mayo make in attack hand passing the ball lateral or behind him instead of letting it go. This is fact. I wish him well would you."
100% agree with you Republicofcloone. Was saying something similar to my mates. In at full forward I think the ball is slowed down a bit when played through him. I think midfield is his best position but wanders too much at times and runs himself to a standstill for the Mayo jersey. But we'll badly miss him in midfield and his leadership amongst a younger squad. I hope he gets well soon.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7337 - 22/04/2021 17:15:36    2338413

Replying To republicofcloone:  "You seem to be directing that disgraceful post at me. I'm not sure why. It's no secret he slows down every move Mayo make in attack hand passing the ball lateral or behind him instead of letting it go. This is fact. I wish him well would you."
To be clear wasnt aimed at you. Didnt see any post of yours trolling. Apologies if you taught it was.

sourmilk93 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1144 - 22/04/2021 18:42:18    2338425

My take on AOS is that he played above and beyond his passion for Mayo football, he was lucky in the sense that he was part of a Mayo squad over 5 or 6 years that saved gaelic football from serious erosion, SOR was / is a power house, he may not be perfect on the field of play but imo, there is not one player from any county that is perfect, please feel free to nominate one.

I wish AOS an ultra fast speedy recovery and hope to see him back in action very soon, best wishes young man.

Multi usernames, trolls and be grudgers, - please do not reply.

supersub15 (Carlow) - Posts: 2907 - 23/04/2021 08:43:22    2338476

Best wishes to Big Aido, if the rumor's are true. Just thinking of all the battles hes been through over a long number of years, getting to that age now where the body starts to have an opinion. Speedy recovery.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 23/04/2021 11:18:27    2338498

probably happen a lot this year, lads have spent 6 months doing nothing but gym work..the body mightn't like the strain of flat out sprinting and turning with all the extra bulk to carry.

wishfulthinkin (Cavan) - Posts: 1679 - 23/04/2021 12:26:23    2338508

Replying To wishfulthinkin:  "probably happen a lot this year, lads have spent 6 months doing nothing but gym work..the body mightn't like the strain of flat out sprinting and turning with all the extra bulk to carry."
County players would be out doing varied runs by themselves (or as a group lol) including straight line runs, sprints, runs with cutting etc to ensure they're prepared come championship. Every member in our club has been prescribed runs for that reason, and to get fit of course, so I doubt it has anything to do with that. Just bad luck I'd say.

jonjon (Mayo) - Posts: 99 - 23/04/2021 12:32:46    2338512

If it's his cruciate then time will be against Aidan. Regardless of where best to play him, his commitment to Mayo has always been full on. Andy Moran had a similar injury back in 2012 before the final against Donegal and it took him a few years to get back to his 2011 level, Andy was 28 when he started his rehab... Aidan will be 31 in June, so it's going to be a tough road for him and we can only wish him well.

Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 23/04/2021 14:50:36    2338539

I hope he genuinely gets back,I always like his swashbuckling approach and love watching his physical battles with all opponents..

CTGAA10 (Limerick) - Posts: 2208 - 23/04/2021 15:22:21    2338543

Replying To Pericles:  "If it's his cruciate then time will be against Aidan. Regardless of where best to play him, his commitment to Mayo has always been full on. Andy Moran had a similar injury back in 2012 before the final against Donegal and it took him a few years to get back to his 2011 level, Andy was 28 when he started his rehab... Aidan will be 31 in June, so it's going to be a tough road for him and we can only wish him well."
I've read a lot of stuff about the playing surface at McHale Park, that the state of the pitch is a major contributory factor to the amount of players who have picked up serious injuries while playing or training there. If that it true, then it's a case of negligence and the surface should be ripped up. I wish Aidan O'Shea well.

AfricanGael (UK) - Posts: 1947 - 23/04/2021 15:31:05    2338544