All Ireland Football Final 2020 - Dublin V Mayo

Replying To republicofcloone:  "The game blows the myth that Dublin play great football, it's pedestrian hand passing heavy and then back passing until tackled. It's pure negativity. And of course you won't hear that said on rte.

I'm delighted they won in a way and I hope they win the next three or four because nothing will change otherwise. Hopefully once crowds can go back to games other Leinster teams fans boycott the games. Hit the association where it hurts."
Its called seeing the game over the line, Dublin didnt make the rules, what was started in Ulster they have perfected to an artform. Gaelic football is such a simple game, with nosensical minimal rules, a team like Dublin was always bound to come and choke the life out of the miserable game it has become. So whinge all you like, watch the hurling for sheer passion and class. Because whoever eventually topples the Dubs it wont be pretty.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4895 - 19/12/2020 20:18:15    2324048

Replying To wexico15:  "With the exception of Fenton and Con I think Niall Scully is a real ambassador for this Dublin team, no risks, no personality, very little character, just a footballer/ handballer that looks like he was programmed on a computer, soulless."
It mustn't be a bad computer so ;-)

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 1898 - 19/12/2020 20:18:22    2324049

Congratulations, delighted to be witnessing history being made yet again.
Definitely not the same as other years but great achievement for this group and delighted for the Small brothers who had a tough year and Dessie Farrell who was always going to be compared to what went before.
Real character in the group and deserve every success they achieve.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 19/12/2020 20:18:38    2324050

Replying To Galway9801:  "Not really,, while almost everyone is publicly endorsing covid guidelines pretty much no one is abiding by them consistently,, not even the ones who pontificate.
In any event the dubs really can't do anything right at this stage can they?
Can they not enjoy their win for one evening?"
I'd say the exact same if it was James Horan

bostonredsox (Wexford) - Posts: 4368 - 19/12/2020 20:19:32    2324052

2020 was a great yr for football, Cork beating Kerry. Tipp winning Munster, Cavans great run in Ulster, Dubs 6 in a row. Great entertainment.

TheDubz10 (Dublin) - Posts: 3 - 19/12/2020 20:19:37    2324053

Replying To Jackeen:  "Your perception is way off."
Seen very little to suggest otherwise

bostonredsox (Wexford) - Posts: 4368 - 19/12/2020 20:20:03    2324054

Replying To Galway9801:  "Not really,, while almost everyone is publicly endorsing covid guidelines pretty much no one is abiding by them consistently,, not even the ones who pontificate.
In any event the dubs really can't do anything right at this stage can they?
Can they not enjoy their win for one evening?"
Fair play Galway1901

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 19/12/2020 20:21:56    2324056

Replying To superbluedub:  "6 in a row -:)"
The article from Dr David Hickey in today's examiner and the performance of Gilroy on the Sunday Game a couple of weeks ago showed a big level of insecurity, deep down they know the harsh reality.

bostonredsox (Wexford) - Posts: 4368 - 19/12/2020 20:22:03    2324057

Replying To wexico15:  "Not match related but anyone think it's odd Dessie Farrell wearing a mask during the game but not wearing when he's hugging players after the game."
Don't worry they'll put them back on for their next promotional photo opportunity. AIG ran a lovely online competition using the staged photo from their last empty gesture.

Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1316 - 19/12/2020 20:22:05    2324058

Replying To wexico15:  "Not match related but anyone think it's odd Dessie Farrell wearing a mask during the game but not wearing when he's hugging players after the game."
No didnt notice, I take you have never been to Tesco's

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4895 - 19/12/2020 20:22:37    2324060

I feel sorry for Dublin supporters cause infairnes to them there down to earth and they can't really celebrate their brilliant team anymore coz deep down they know noone really cares about the all Ireland football championship when this dominance is in full flow its boring and predictable and as much as the Dublin players management and supporters praise the opposition and we have to be on our game and all the patrinsein talk mayo will get coz they ran them to 5 points but end of the Dublin are so good now they can pick and choose what they want to win a game by and it looks like they don't want hammer teams the past 2 games coz of all the talk of splitting then in 2 or 4

Irishcelt (Wicklow) - Posts: 149 - 19/12/2020 20:26:40    2324063

Replying To Saynothing:  "Cluxton has played 112 championship games for Dublin, that was his 100th in Croke Park."
Really does say it all...but sure the dubs run Croke park so why should we be surprised..they get to pick their own ref for the final, and let's admit it once again he made the big calls that swung the game the dubs way...and of course they got to bring the cup on to the pitch...Limerick had to leave the Liam McCarthy up in the stand..sure when you are the dubs you can do what you like..

mayotyroneman (Tyrone) - Posts: 1821 - 19/12/2020 20:27:31    2324065

Congratulations to the dubs. Hard luck Mayo. Dublin played 76 minutes Mayo dident play a full 60 min. Some members of the Mayo team were fantastic but the problem was that Dublin had the better all round players. I feel sorry for Cillian O Connor but again Aidan O Shea didn't manage to score.
I think the team that plays 75 minutes against Dublin will beat them on todays performance.

border Gael (Monaghan) - Posts: 894 - 19/12/2020 20:30:41    2324066

Replying To royaldunne:  "I tend to agree with you. It was as if , look lads keep it to single digits. Could be wrong and as you say we will get slaughtered for saying it. But I got the feeling dubs didn't want to win by too much to take the heat out of the argument to split up Dublin and particularly the funding"
Meath are not a good team. They have a big population, Mayo don't. So that is not true. Mayo pushed them all the way. They were far better than Meath.

galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2517 - 19/12/2020 20:31:02    2324067

Replying To royaldunne:  "Where are these cracks ?? Dublin barely got out of second gear. Please tell me where is their cracks ?? Apart from a few stupid shots at the end that is the best mayo performance of the year. So where is their any hope for another county ? Dublin magnificent 7 is a cert. the question is the 10 in a row. And tbh I don't see how they can be beat."
Not Mayo's best performance of the year. Maybe the best one you've seen.

cluichethar (Mayo) - Posts: 454 - 19/12/2020 20:31:29    2324069

Replying To royaldunne:  "Mayo are the second best team in country, of that there is no doubt. After them is Kerry and Donegal, and further away is the rest, on their day the rest can beat one of Kerry and Donegal (happened this year ) one of Kerry or Donegal can beat mayo. But NO ONE can beat Dublin. I'm not trying to be controversial here. But something needs to be done. Congratulations to Dublin, you truly are the greatest I have ever seen."
Dream on if you think Meath are in the rest. Mayo are not 2nd best either. After Dublin there are 4or 5 and forget about the rest.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2006 - 19/12/2020 20:32:20    2324070

Replying To supersub15:  "Up to 2015 all 4 divisions in gaelic football survived amateurishly on hope and promise, in 2025 Dublin will have achieved 10 in a row all at the expense of Mayo, imagine that, there's not another county with all the pretence, promise, grandeur, and elitism to challenge Mayo for #2 spot in the country, the Dub's may be all Ireland senior football champions for the 6th consecutive time, but for me Mayo have won pride and place in the hearths of all sporting people as the county of courage.

Dublin today scored their first goal in 12.4 secs. (2nd gear) their second in 3rd gear, points came at will. Mayo had to work harder for their points, a goal chance never looked on, Dublin started in second gear and finished in second gear, I'd hate to play the Dub's if and when they click into turbo mode.
Dublin unstoppable for 10 in a row.

Someone posted, "Football is finished" after today it's more than that, it's dead and buried.
Congratulations, Dublin, All Ireland Champions
Congratulations, Mayo, Sporting and Courageous Champions of Ireland."
Football is finished in Carlow, there is no doubt about that. With attitudes like you have. Today in Croke park the Galway u20's beat the mighty Dubs by a point. So Galway hopefully have a good team in the future. And Mayo will be back too.

galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2517 - 19/12/2020 20:32:37    2324071

Thank you to the GAA, Dublin and Mayo for the entertaining game, roll on 2021

Congrats to the champs

Peace and wellness to all

Nollaig Shona

suckvalleypaddy (Galway) - Posts: 1667 - 19/12/2020 20:33:04    2324073

Apologies if this question has been asked and answered previously by Dubs who might have an insight in relation to it. The question is WHY ISN'T HOWARD STARTING?

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3410 - 19/12/2020 20:35:05    2324074

Replying To Crinigan:  "Don't worry they'll put them back on for their next promotional photo opportunity. AIG ran a lovely online competition using the staged photo from their last empty gesture."
Ah there he is now. #6

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 19/12/2020 20:36:24    2324076