All Ireland Football Final 2020 - Dublin V Mayo

Replying To togoutlads:  "Wow! The celebrations and that speech, timeless stuff!! Automatons. God help us, this professional, massively over funded machine is gradually smothering our beautiful amateur sport. Spread the damn euros around, GAA, or there's little point to what we're all slaving away at, at grass roots level around the country - and with substandard resources, as every Dublin club gets juiced to the hilt. We know the stats, we can read the accounts, we see the huge numbers on payroll. The disparity in our treatment across the country is shocking and it's past time it was fought. By the way, delighted for our young lads, the Galway U20s who stuck it to the money machine and beat the Dubs with football."
Name one Dub club "juiced to the hilt", sheer bile and begrudgery. Maybe sport is not your thing.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4895 - 19/12/2020 19:20:42    2323975

Hard luck again to Mayo, but this team are just unbelievable. You're not going to come across a more motivated team than Mayo and they brought their best, but still, its not enough to topple these boys. Some of them now on a par with the Kerry greats. Outstanding.
Hopefully a REAL championship will return next summer, up the mighty Dubs!!!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8586 - 19/12/2020 19:21:59    2323976

Replying To Cavan_Shambles:  "Wow, look how happy the Dublin players are at the final whistle, they are absolutely ecstatic."
Actually the bad news for your county and every other county in the country is that they were VERY HAPPY to win and have not lost the hunger and enthusiasm to continue winning. Listen to Dessie Farrell, "this is the first All Ireland win for this particular group". If they weren't getting joy from winning they wouldnt be so hard to beat.

PoolSturgeon (Galway) - Posts: 1902 - 19/12/2020 19:24:02    2323978

Replying To galwayford:  "Mayo were sucker punched by the two goals. They lost by 5 points. Conceding a goal after 13 seconds set the tone.
Some heart for football in the fact that Galway u20's beat the Dubs by a point today."
And Cork u20's beat Dublin last year. Shows other counties have plenty of talent. We certainly have with some great underage teams recently. The way Dublin transition their underage talent to senior is obviously planned well.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1946 - 19/12/2020 19:24:28    2323979

Replying To OhtobeARossie:  "Right before the throw in, when he was told to switch over from the Premier league match."
She and how unoriginal.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 19/12/2020 19:24:32    2323980

An area of focus for Dublin for 2021 could be to recruit an assistant speech writer.

bostonredsox (Wexford) - Posts: 4368 - 19/12/2020 19:24:56    2323982

Replying To jimbodub:  "Entertaining final
All credit to the players
Playing under exceptional circumstances
They deserve great credit
Hard luck to Mayo
An absolute credit and the way so called GAA people on this site wrote you off before a ball was kicked was very evident
The same will now be on venting more bile of a different degree but it's from the same slack jaw

Desperately sad feckers

They don't deserve to have the likes of these players representing them."
Some of the stuff written here is bilious,, and I regret that some posters here are bring nasty,, they should put that aside for the evening at least.

I would argue though that those who wrote Mayo off were vindicated. It wasn't a trashing by any means but I think ye were very comfortable out there and were always in control. Ye would beat these guys 100 times out of 100.

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1699 - 19/12/2020 19:25:29    2323983

Replying To Jackeen:  "Pretty much all through the game until the final 10 mins."
Leave it out. Mayo looked like they were playing to the best of there ability, while Dublin looked like they could raise there game a notch or two.

Dec82 (Clare) - Posts: 242 - 19/12/2020 19:27:38    2323986

Replying To royaldunne:  "Mayo are the second best team in country, of that there is no doubt. After them is Kerry and Donegal, and further away is the rest, on their day the rest can beat one of Kerry and Donegal (happened this year ) one of Kerry or Donegal can beat mayo. But NO ONE can beat Dublin. I'm not trying to be controversial here. But something needs to be done. Congratulations to Dublin, you truly are the greatest I have ever seen."
RD I take some comfort if as you say Mayo are the 2nd best team in the country. I agree with this on the basis of this year's outcome. Yet we only lost to them by point with injuries to two key players and after winning the u20.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1946 - 19/12/2020 19:27:47    2323987

You can see how the joy went out of the inter county game for McCaffrey.

Cleaningshucks (Monaghan) - Posts: 27 - 19/12/2020 19:27:53    2323988

Replying To togoutlads:  "Wow! The celebrations and that speech, timeless stuff!! Automatons. God help us, this professional, massively over funded machine is gradually smothering our beautiful amateur sport. Spread the damn euros around, GAA, or there's little point to what we're all slaving away at, at grass roots level around the country - and with substandard resources, as every Dublin club gets juiced to the hilt. We know the stats, we can read the accounts, we see the huge numbers on payroll. The disparity in our treatment across the country is shocking and it's past time it was fought. By the way, delighted for our young lads, the Galway U20s who stuck it to the money machine and beat the Dubs with football."
Our beautiful game , with reffs that see what they want to see , yea right !!

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 19/12/2020 19:29:45    2323990

Replying To royaldunne:  "Where are these cracks ?? Dublin barely got out of second gear. Please tell me where is their cracks ?? Apart from a few stupid shots at the end that is the best mayo performance of the year. So where is their any hope for another county ? Dublin magnificent 7 is a cert. the question is the 10 in a row. And tbh I don't see how they can be beat."
Call me cynical but having watched Dublin fart about for 55mins before cantering home, I honestly don't believe they wanted to win this game by very much.

The rest of the country is finally waking up their financial advantages and a big win tonight would only have intensified the pressure, a 'close' game is a much better result for the Dubs.

I'll probably be butchered for saying that and I could be very wrong of course, but that's how I felt watching the game.

Well done to the Dublin players though, they are truly magic and completely blameless in this whole debacle.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 19/12/2020 19:31:30    2323992

Replying To lilylanger:  "You cant grab someone by the throat no matter what verbal are dished. Also. God bless your eye sight."
Must be great for so inclined players to know that they can spit bile at their opponents knowing that they'll be seen as the victim if that opponent lays a hand on them afterwards.

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1699 - 19/12/2020 19:32:02    2323994

Replying To OhtobeARossie:  "Right before the throw in, when he was told to switch over from the Premier league match."
obviously that's what you were watching..

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 19/12/2020 19:32:36    2323995

Replying To realdub:  "Hard luck again to Mayo, but this team are just unbelievable. You're not going to come across a more motivated team than Mayo and they brought their best, but still, its not enough to topple these boys. Some of them now on a par with the Kerry greats. Outstanding.
Hopefully a REAL championship will return next summer, up the mighty Dubs!!!"
Goin to be a blue blue blue Christmas lol, Congratulations to Dublin, greatest Gaelic football team of all time.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VY0_c81iYnQ

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2739 - 19/12/2020 19:32:38    2323996

Hope all the Mayo fans on here are delighted to be getting patted on the head by Dublin posters.

republicofcloone (Leitrim) - Posts: 375 - 19/12/2020 19:33:34    2323997

Replying To republicofcloone:  "Hope all the Mayo fans on here are delighted to be getting patted on the head by Dublin posters."
I called that weeks ago :-)

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 19/12/2020 19:35:23    2323998

Congratulations to all the Dublin players reaching 8 medals

Just to highlight one player..

James McCarthy.

Started every final playing a huge part and look at his contribution from the throw in today.

Says it all about him

Legend

JMc8

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 19/12/2020 19:35:31    2324000

I'd have to disagree with you there. Look at our own Board for example and all the financial shenanigans that went on in the not too distant past. Who in their right mind would give such a shower more money?!

Fair play to the Dubs it's some achievement. It's no consolation to Mayo in that any other era bar this one, they'd have several All-Irelands.

Ailteoir (Galway) - Posts: 859 - 19/12/2020 19:38:20    2324003

Replying To Galway9801:  "Must be great for so inclined players to know that they can spit bile at their opponents knowing that they'll be seen as the victim if that opponent lays a hand on them afterwards."
Sorry but were you miked up? What was said? Not that it matters. You physically retaliate then you deserve what you get. No matter who the player is.

lilylanger (Kildare) - Posts: 758 - 19/12/2020 19:38:49    2324006