All Ireland Football Final 2020 - Dublin V Mayo

Replying To Poitin1993:  "Dublin winning yet again is taking the fun out of the All-Ireland.
Nothing to do with a good team, Mayo train just as hard as Dublin and I'm sure they have the same nutrition advice.
I believe Dublin getting something extra behind the scenes.
The referee was a disgrace too. A shoulder to the chest right in front of him and nothing done about it?! Perhaps he is getting paid to let Dublin win
All Ireland day has lost its excitement"
The ball came out loose from the challenge.I think that's why it wasn't given as a free.Congratulations to Dublin.Some of the comments on here about Dublin are ungracious.It's up to other teams to reach their level.Kerry will be dangerous next year after what happened to them against Cork.When this Dublin team is eventually beaten, I think it'll be by Kerry who have the tradition of 37 All Ireland titles.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2162 - 19/12/2020 19:40:30    2324008

Replying To realdub:  "Hard luck again to Mayo, but this team are just unbelievable. You're not going to come across a more motivated team than Mayo and they brought their best, but still, its not enough to topple these boys. Some of them now on a par with the Kerry greats. Outstanding.
Hopefully a REAL championship will return next summer, up the mighty Dubs!!!"
Dublin are a first rate team. Their superior fitness told in second half. Mayo unable to sustain first half energy. Dublin may well have some excellent individuals; but the way the game has gone, you'd hardly know it. Safe option stuff is drilled into all teams now. It's boring to watch tbh.

Gaelic football has gone the way of Scottish Soccer leagues. 1.5 teams lol. Or Formula 1. No competition.

The county board structure has failed. Time to allocate resources centrally. Dublin has a full time S&C coach. Other counties have either part-timers or none.

Pretty much every final Dublin wins is down to superior conditioning in the second half / last quarter.

Years ago, I played soccer against pro teams few times. You could match them in the first half no bother, but they always destroyed you in the final quarter. They didn't tire as much, or at all.

The GAA is wedded to structural inequality. Not Dublin's fault of course - the real issue here is the whack-a-mole way resources are administered in the GAA.

essmac (Tyrone) - Posts: 1141 - 19/12/2020 19:40:39    2324009

With the exception of Fenton and Con I think Niall Scully is a real ambassador for this Dublin team, no risks, no personality, very little character, just a footballer/ handballer that looks like he was programmed on a computer, soulless.

bostonredsox (Wexford) - Posts: 4368 - 19/12/2020 19:41:58    2324012

Well done Dublin, best football team in the history of the football championship, just shows the gap isn't too far.

cityman73 (Limerick) - Posts: 775 - 19/12/2020 19:43:19    2324014

Not match related but anyone think it's odd Dessie Farrell wearing a mask during the game but not wearing when he's hugging players after the game.

bostonredsox (Wexford) - Posts: 4368 - 19/12/2020 19:43:48    2324017

Dublin going for 7 in a row in less than 7 months time brilliant achievement but can it be any more boring

Irishcelt (Wicklow) - Posts: 149 - 19/12/2020 19:46:32    2324018

Replying To ulsterrules:  "Croke park have killed the game of football . Dublin probably get a win bonus from croke park . You know crokepark the neutral venue that dublin play 95% of all thier matches."
Cluxton has played 112 championship games for Dublin, that was his 100th in Croke Park.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2013 - 19/12/2020 19:47:43    2324020

Replying To republicofcloone:  "Hope all the Mayo fans on here are delighted to be getting patted on the head by Dublin posters."
Its called respect. Lovely of you to be so concerned about your rivals though. Fair play!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 19/12/2020 19:48:47    2324021

Replying To Cleaningshucks:  "You can see how the joy went out of the inter county game for McCaffrey."
The joy may return -:)

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 19/12/2020 19:51:06    2324024

Up to 2015 all 4 divisions in gaelic football survived amateurishly on hope and promise, in 2025 Dublin will have achieved 10 in a row all at the expense of Mayo, imagine that, there's not another county with all the pretence, promise, grandeur, and elitism to challenge Mayo for #2 spot in the country, the Dub's may be all Ireland senior football champions for the 6th consecutive time, but for me Mayo have won pride and place in the hearths of all sporting people as the county of courage.

Dublin today scored their first goal in 12.4 secs. (2nd gear) their second in 3rd gear, points came at will. Mayo had to work harder for their points, a goal chance never looked on, Dublin started in second gear and finished in second gear, I'd hate to play the Dub's if and when they click into turbo mode.
Dublin unstoppable for 10 in a row.

Someone posted, "Football is finished" after today it's more than that, it's dead and buried.
Congratulations, Dublin, All Ireland Champions
Congratulations, Mayo, Sporting and Courageous Champions of Ireland.

supersub15 (Carlow) - Posts: 2907 - 19/12/2020 19:52:08    2324025

Replying To Htaem:  "Call me cynical but having watched Dublin fart about for 55mins before cantering home, I honestly don't believe they wanted to win this game by very much.

The rest of the country is finally waking up their financial advantages and a big win tonight would only have intensified the pressure, a 'close' game is a much better result for the Dubs.

I'll probably be butchered for saying that and I could be very wrong of course, but that's how I felt watching the game.

Well done to the Dublin players though, they are truly magic and completely blameless in this whole debacle."
I tend to agree with you. It was as if , look lads keep it to single digits. Could be wrong and as you say we will get slaughtered for saying it. But I got the feeling dubs didn't want to win by too much to take the heat out of the argument to split up Dublin and particularly the funding

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 19/12/2020 19:57:38    2324028

A strange atmosphere to have witnessed an All Ireland final in. Same stuff as last week but we should be thankful to the GAA for getting the Championships played. Limerick and Dublin have been the best teams all year and the finals went to form. I won't patronise Mayo, another final loss. They'll be back because that's all you can do. Congratulations to Dublin on an incredible achievement.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 19/12/2020 19:59:55    2324030

Replying To wexico15:  "An area of focus for Dublin for 2021 could be to recruit an assistant speech writer."
Not part of the process -:)

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 19/12/2020 20:01:50    2324032

Replying To wexico15:  "With the exception of Fenton and Con I think Niall Scully is a real ambassador for this Dublin team, no risks, no personality, very little character, just a footballer/ handballer that looks like he was programmed on a computer, soulless."
Your perception is way off.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 19/12/2020 20:03:06    2324033

Replying To wexico15:  "With the exception of Fenton and Con I think Niall Scully is a real ambassador for this Dublin team, no risks, no personality, very little character, just a footballer/ handballer that looks like he was programmed on a computer, soulless."
6 in a row -:)

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 19/12/2020 20:04:05    2324034

Congrats to Dublin. An unblelievable achievement. Mayo pushed them for so much of the game but strength in depth of rhe lads who came off the bench was a big factor.

RoverTin (Derry) - Posts: 226 - 19/12/2020 20:10:04    2324041

Replying To wexico15:  "Not match related but anyone think it's odd Dessie Farrell wearing a mask during the game but not wearing when he's hugging players after the game."
Not really,, while almost everyone is publicly endorsing covid guidelines pretty much no one is abiding by them consistently,, not even the ones who pontificate.
In any event the dubs really can't do anything right at this stage can they?
Can they not enjoy their win for one evening?

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1706 - 19/12/2020 20:14:15    2324043

Replying To royaldunne:  "I tend to agree with you. It was as if , look lads keep it to single digits. Could be wrong and as you say we will get slaughtered for saying it. But I got the feeling dubs didn't want to win by too much to take the heat out of the argument to split up Dublin and particularly the funding"
The fastest goal in All Ireland final history would suggest otherwise. Mayo played well and competed for 55 minutes. The last 15 mins showed Dublin's depth; Mayo simply had no answer to it.

sam1884 (UK) - Posts: 999 - 19/12/2020 20:16:12    2324045

Congrats Dublin and all Dub posters here. A truly great team. Just a better team and we can have no complaints. We will keep at it hopefully. Seen enough today to think there is a future but need to be more ruthless.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11230 - 19/12/2020 20:16:21    2324046

Replying To PoolSturgeon:  "Actually the bad news for your county and every other county in the country is that they were VERY HAPPY to win and have not lost the hunger and enthusiasm to continue winning. Listen to Dessie Farrell, "this is the first All Ireland win for this particular group". If they weren't getting joy from winning they wouldnt be so hard to beat."
Oh I get it, so the trick is Dublin are just hungrier and want it more.

Ok got it.

Cavan_Shambles (Cavan) - Posts: 575 - 19/12/2020 20:16:44    2324047