If Cavan Beat Dublin. What Shock Equates?

Replying To cavanman47:  "The funny thing is, if it were to happen, when people review it they'll say the signs were there!

Dublin's league form wasn't good this year. People are pointing to Cavan's relegation but are flat out ignoring Dublin's relatively poor campaign.

Jim Gavin has gone and despite the Leinster results, Dublin have definitely regressed. McCaffrey is better than McDaid. Brogan is better than P Small. Connolly is better than Bugler. Philly is better than Byrne.

Meath had early goal chances against Dublin and didn't take them. They got hit with a sucker punch and the confidence completely left them. If Cavan get similar chances and, crucially, take them, then we're taking this 2020 Dublin team into unknown territory.

Look. . .a LOT has to go right for Cavan and a LOT has to go wrong for Dublin, but if it were Donegal heading up to Croke Park tomorrow, you'd be laughed all the way back to Letterkenny if you asked for 16/1 odds.

I think the match-ups are as close to perfect as they would be for any team facing Dublin. Faulkner on Con, Clarke on Fenton, Galligan on Mccarthy, Madden on Cooper. Brady on Kilkenny. McLoughlin on Scully. McKiernan on J Small. These are far closer matchups IMO than anyone in Leinster has put to Dublin. And if some of them are won by Cavan then who knows.

I am 100% certain we've the better manager too BTW.

We were longer than 16/1 to win Ulster. We went and won it. The rest of the country doesn't believe in us and that's perfectly understandable. But it also doesn't matter one iota. . .We Believe!"
Laughing here a couple of weeks ago, you were saying the Dubs were unbeatable due all "perceived" advantages.

Be interesting to see do you yoyo again later today.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 05/12/2020 14:01:40    2318499

Cant find anything where an amateur team has defeated a professional team in a high stakes game. It just doesn't happen.

AfricanGael (UK) - Posts: 1947 - 05/12/2020 14:22:18    2318506

Replying To AfricanGael:  "Cant find anything where an amateur team has defeated a professional team in a high stakes game. It just doesn't happen."
Maybe in the Fa cup it has happened? But yeah this game is like Manchester city playing a semi final in their home ground against a non league opposition and that goes for 95 percent of the countys in Ireland compared to Dublin. Does real Madrid Barcelona etc. Play all their games in their home ground NO NO NO its simply not a level playing field and the gaa will die if it's not stopped

Irishcelt (Wicklow) - Posts: 149 - 05/12/2020 14:47:08    2318516

Replying To AfricanGael:  "Cant find anything where an amateur team has defeated a professional team in a high stakes game. It just doesn't happen."
1980 Olympics. A bunch of college kids from the USA beat the Russians in ice hockey. Russians were all professionals the USA were true amateurs. The Russians were all in their mid 20's to 30 years old. The oldest American was maybe 22.

gatha (Kilkenny) - Posts: 318 - 05/12/2020 14:57:56    2318518

Tipperary Tim winning the Grand National in 1928.

Or Foinaven in 1967.

lionofludesch (Down) - Posts: 475 - 05/12/2020 15:11:11    2318521

Replying To TheUsername:  "Laughing here a couple of weeks ago, you were saying the Dubs were unbeatable due all "perceived" advantages.

Be interesting to see do you yoyo again later today."
I've highlighted your advantages plenty of times. Because they're unfair.

I have never called Dublin unbeatable.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5010 - 05/12/2020 15:41:09    2318529

Replying To cavanman47:  "You said 2009-2013"
No I said during those years Kildare got to quarters and semis. I said ranked higher than Cavan generally the last 10 years.

CC2020 (Kilkenny) - Posts: 173 - 05/12/2020 15:54:39    2318532

Replying To KingdomofBreifne:  "Very disrespectful reply. Football players in every county bar yours are engaging in training plans designed by competent individuals. Cavan have a core of lads who have been training hard for near a decade. Not one of them is lacking in physical conditioning."
Well if they're in such condition, and have been so for a decade, and so much ahead of Kildare, Laois etc why are they generally in division 2 and this is their first Ulster in 23 years?

Why are they scraping past Antrim and Down?

You're getting respect for what you achieved but peeved because most outside the county don't think you can compete with Dublin.

Go prove it this evening. Then you'll get the level of respect you want. You're not a top 4 side by a long way.

CC2020 (Kilkenny) - Posts: 173 - 05/12/2020 15:59:24    2318534

Replying To Breffni40:  "Listen, its very clear you know very little about Cavan football. I know exactly where we stand and the huge task ahead of us later on but you seem to think we're a team of chancers chasing their luck. Show some respect"
What is there to know? Div 2/Div 3. Struggled to Ulster final. Played a great final. Deserved Ulster Champions. Going to be mauled by Dubs. The End.

CC2020 (Kilkenny) - Posts: 173 - 05/12/2020 16:04:45    2318535

Cavan could lead at half time but it's the 75min or whatever added on is the score that counts. There may be whooping and hollering on here into the second half but you could still lose by 15+

Leinster teams have been here so many times. You're no different than those teams.

CC2020 (Kilkenny) - Posts: 173 - 05/12/2020 16:08:20    2318537

Aaand..we're off!

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 05/12/2020 16:20:01    2318542

Replying To CC2020:  "What is there to know? Div 2/Div 3. Struggled to Ulster final. Played a great final. Deserved Ulster Champions. Going to be mauled by Dubs. The End."
Well I hope you've put your money where your mouth is CC2020. How much have you put on this mauling?

97Cavans (Cavan) - Posts: 316 - 05/12/2020 16:53:17    2318551

Replying To opa01:  "Safer than going through Kells and having
Meath men throwing bricks through the bus windows like 1997 eh?"
When I was in college if you ever mentioned meanness to a Cavan man they could never stop themselves biting. Anyway I hope ye put up a good performance this evening.

bdbuddah (Meath) - Posts: 1338 - 05/12/2020 17:19:38    2318560

Replying To Gaillimh_Abu:  "I remember those days - Roscommon had a great record at home and were unlucky to miss out on promotion to division 1. They gave a decent account of themselves against Galway in the Connacht final around the same time. Westmeath got promoted to division 1 a few years later and beat Galway at home when Galway were all-Ireland champions. Antrim had a great team from the mid 80s to the early 90s and Down and Derry were quite competitive for a while too. It would be great to see all these counties and others competing at the top level again."
Definitely be good to see all those counties improving again and young lads in those counties taking hurling up. I was at college in Belfast when Antrim got to the final in 89 and the lift it gave to West Belfast at the time was unreal!

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11734 - 05/12/2020 17:26:00    2318564

Lads I'm sitting watching dublin v cavan
We have the commentary team trying to talk this up. And we have dublin playing in 2nd gear or even a lower gear. Our game is dead I'm afraid

traleegerry (Kerry) - Posts: 738 - 05/12/2020 17:48:20    2318568

At least Cavan trying hard but making some mistakes. Interesting to see Oisin Kieran playing good intelligent football and scored a nice point again. He didn't get a smell of a chance with the 'great Meath' team when playing with Ballinacree. Just shows what Meath know!

Smb2 (Clare) - Posts: 12 - 05/12/2020 18:15:42    2318581

Replying To traleegerry:  "Lads I'm sitting watching dublin v cavan
We have the commentary team trying to talk this up. And we have dublin playing in 2nd gear or even a lower gear. Our game is dead I'm afraid"
Ok first off Dublin hammered Meath we were terrible yadda yadda. So please no bs responses.
I'm not generally a conspiracy theorist. But does anyone else think that Dublin have been told not to win this by too much ???
Don't get me wrong I would love to see Cavan win. Nothing would please me more. But I don't think dubs or the gaa want Dublin to win by much, as it could lead to calls of unfairly been given every advantage and funding under the sun. That more and more people will will shout enough.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 05/12/2020 18:16:22    2318582

Replying To traleegerry:  "Lads I'm sitting watching dublin v cavan
We have the commentary team trying to talk this up. And we have dublin playing in 2nd gear or even a lower gear. Our game is dead I'm afraid"
Only for the referee helping Cavan it would be worse, gave Cavan a tap over free in for nothing and Kilkenny gets dragged down and gives Cavan a free out, Branagan is a very poor ref anyway not that it's going to matter today, Dublin heading for an easy 15 points plus win once they open up in the 2nd half. Dublin haven't even hit 3rd gear, it's just the game they need to prepare for the final. ominous for Mayo or Tipp.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2739 - 05/12/2020 18:16:38    2318583

Cavan started very well but Cavan are been turned over too easily. There has been a couple of bad wides by Cavan but Dublin look very proffessional.

fainleog (Limerick) - Posts: 598 - 05/12/2020 18:19:55    2318585

Game over now big question from tonight is how do we progress and make football competitive from here.

Dare I say this but will we eventually see a semi professional league with county system taken away and franchises set up 2 in each province with 3 or 4 in Dublin least we may be able to get competitive games then players from all counties in a pool and split up by lots.

Intercounty system could remain as a feeder system for this.

I know some gaels would be disgusted by the idea but from watching this it's hard to see where we go.

ITSCHOLAR (Carlow) - Posts: 291 - 05/12/2020 18:39:53    2318592