Mayo V Kerry

Will Keegan be back for this?

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20598 - 08/07/2019 16:19:53    2207963

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "I remember our Kerry team rocking up to crokepark for a quarter final against Dublin in 2009 after going through the backdoor with a bunch of over 30s and a few young snipes, nearly getting bate by Sligo in Tralee and Antrim in O'Connor park and everyone was saying we were fooked again a well rested dubs team only for us to give them a 17 point hammering.

You can't underestimate the power of momentum and Mayo have that now, plus they'll want to keep their boot on our throats."
Nothing to do with momentum. They have better footballers than Kerry currently. Simple.

lilylanger (Kildare) - Posts: 758 - 08/07/2019 16:23:53    2207966

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "I remember our Kerry team rocking up to crokepark for a quarter final against Dublin in 2009 after going through the backdoor with a bunch of over 30s and a few young snipes, nearly getting bate by Sligo in Tralee and Antrim in O'Connor park and everyone was saying we were fooked again a well rested dubs team only for us to give them a 17 point hammering.

You can't underestimate the power of momentum and Mayo have that now, plus they'll want to keep their boot on our throats."
Tiredness will be a big issue with Mayo. 4 big games 4 weeks in a row.

xxx (Mayo) - Posts: 1275 - 08/07/2019 16:51:40    2207990

Replying To jimbodub:  "Will Keegan be back for this?"
Hard to know, he played 10 minutes against Galway but seemed to pull up near the end.

xxx (Mayo) - Posts: 1275 - 08/07/2019 16:53:00    2207993

Replying To xxx:  "Hard to know, he played 10 minutes against Galway but seemed to pull up near the end."
You've been very unlucky with injuries

Although having COC back is massive for Mayo

Regardless of how he's perceived by those outside your county the fella brings so much to Mayo.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20598 - 08/07/2019 17:09:42    2208001

Will Paddy Durcan be fit for this one? He seemed to pull up holding his hamstring at the end of the Galway game.
Hope everybody is fit and able. Looking forward to this one, should be a cracker.

iarmhi_an_mhaith (Westmeath) - Posts: 268 - 08/07/2019 17:19:12    2208008

Replying To Spoddgy:  "I would hope that referees don't look at hoganstanf and the like with some of the rubbish sprouted on here. Kerry must be a very holy county with he amount of saints it has wearing green and gold. Cop on lads!"
If he is anything like the ref the last time Mayo faced Kerry in the championship at a Munster venue he will be too busy practising fellatio on Donaghy*, Enright* and co to ensure he doesn't blow it (if you'll pardon the reverse pun) on the big day ;-)

timmyhogan (UK) - Posts: 290 - 08/07/2019 17:50:55    2208026

I think it was Off The Ball that said yesterday that the Kerry game is a freehit and we could still get throgh if we lose. Couldn't disagree more. Both teams need to win on Sunday to set them up to get to the semi final. Donegal played well in Ulster, home in Ballbofey are certainly favourites to beat Meath. But never underestimate Meath, relaxed to get to Super 8s, nothing to lose with the media completely writing them off and McEntee rising them up reminding them no-one gives them a chance. I think Donegal will win but not by a big margin. Every team needs to push for a win in case of a head-to-head tie or a high score and tight margin in a loss in case of a three way tie and points difference deciding who goes through.

Maigh Eo Abu!

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7335 - 08/07/2019 17:51:07    2208027

Replying To lilylanger:  "Nothing to do with momentum. They have better footballers than Kerry currently. Simple."
If they have better players than Kerry then fair play to them, but you can't bate momentum, simple.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 08/07/2019 18:18:48    2208043

Replying To xxx:  "Tiredness will be a big issue with Mayo. 4 big games 4 weeks in a row."
So they cant recover every 7 days ..
What a load of yerra tripe.

Bar Dublin,
Mayo over the past decade are probably the most well conditioned sides in Ireland.

BeJasus (UK) - Posts: 383 - 08/07/2019 18:34:20    2208048

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "A draw wouldn't be a bad result for either team I suppose, but as the home team we'd want to be winning it especially playing yer selves in crokepark the following week.

It's hard to see how we'll match Mayo physically,

Keegan marking 20 year old seanie Shea is not a good match up as Keegan will gobble him up like the league final.

Also Higgins marking 20 year old David Clifford.

Boyle marking 19 year old Diarmuid O'Connor.

Patrick Durcan marking 20 year old Dara Moynihan ."
What about the Mayo youngsters, playing this much heralded Kerry team in their own backyard where it seems they are unbeaten in c'ship football since 1995? Surely they will wilt in this beautiful but intimidating stadium.

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 08/07/2019 19:44:01    2208086

Replying To neverright:  "What about the Mayo youngsters, playing this much heralded Kerry team in their own backyard where it seems they are unbeaten in c'ship football since 1995? Surely they will wilt in this beautiful but intimidating stadium."
Sure we have no youngsters...;) James Carr is 35, Ciaran Tracey 38 and poor aul Fionn McDonagh will be playing for the over 40s next year

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11227 - 08/07/2019 20:30:58    2208125

Tough one to call, if the real Mayo turn up they have a great chance. But they'll have to as Kerry look to have the makings of a very good side and its a long time since they slipped up in Killarney in a championship match.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8584 - 08/07/2019 20:47:11    2208139

Replying To Spoddgy:  "I would hope that referees don't look at hoganstanf and the like with some of the rubbish sprouted on here. Kerry must be a very holy county with he amount of saints it has wearing green and gold. Cop on lads!"
No saints here but did you ever wonder why Mayo are not universally loved? You'd think a tean that has gone so long without landing Sam would be.
I'll admit id love Mayo to win the all Ireland for the fans who are without doubt the best in Ireland.
Being honest though alot of people dont like the level of cynicism and gamesmanship from Mayo.
COC is the leader in that regard and most nuturals will admit that.
Mayo will do anything to get their hands on Sam and thats understandable but its not going to gain respect or fans. COC will get a kerry lad the line in Sat mark my words.

westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 08/07/2019 21:26:03    2208172

No saints here but did you ever wonder why Mayo are not universally loved? You'd think a tean that has gone so long without landing Sam would be.
I'll admit id love Mayo to win the all Ireland for the fans who are without doubt the best in Ireland.
Being honest though alot of people dont like the level of cynicism and gamesmanship from Mayo.
Mayo will do anything to get their hands on Sam and thats understandable but its not going to gain respect or fans. COC will get a kerry lad the line on Sunday mark my words.

westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 08/07/2019 21:27:33    2208174

Replying To yew_tree:  "Sure we have no youngsters...;) James Carr is 35, Ciaran Tracey 38 and poor aul Fionn McDonagh will be playing for the over 40s next year"
What age are those lads yew tree?

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 08/07/2019 21:31:07    2208175

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "What age are those lads yew tree?"
Carr and McDonagh are 21. Treacy is 23. Not all our team are pensioners!

Matthew Ruane 22
Stephen Coen 23
Diarmuid O'Connor & Paddy Durcan 24
Harrison 26
Cillian & Darren Coen 27

MayoDan (Mayo) - Posts: 414 - 08/07/2019 21:41:51    2208190

Should be a cracking game this. Two of the top 3 going toe to toe, what the Super 8s should be about. I'm going with Mayo to sneak it. They always prime themselves for this stage of the year, barring last years shock. I know they have injuries but they seem to be clearing up at the right time, COC back and in form, SOS coming in the last day, Keegan making an appearance and JH confident DOC will be back before group is over. Coen is developing into a fine player and a great target man who rarely misses. Think it's a year or two early for this Kerry side who will be a force for the years to come. I'm going with Mayo by 3.

Douglas_44 (Roscommon) - Posts: 225 - 08/07/2019 22:03:23    2208203

Replying To westkerry:  "No saints here but did you ever wonder why Mayo are not universally loved? You'd think a tean that has gone so long without landing Sam would be.
Mayo will do anything to get their hands on Sam and thats understandable but its not going to gain respect or fans. COC will get a kerry lad the line on Sunday mark my words."
Respect??? Mayo don't have respect anyway...we are a running joke for the rest of Ireland for years...and will be until we win Sam.

I suppose we could go back to being nice naive boys like in 1993, 2004 or 2006 getting trounced out the gate after 15mins and everyone saying "ah the poor lads but sure didn't they do well"...fact is winners don't give a crap about respect...in life you take it or it's taken from you...

Was Kerry's win in 2009 tainted or your semi final win over us in 2014? It's eat or be eaten at this level...

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11227 - 08/07/2019 22:16:29    2208214

Replying To yew_tree:  "Sure we have no youngsters...;) James Carr is 35, Ciaran Tracey 38 and poor aul Fionn McDonagh will be playing for the over 40s next year"
No.. David Clarke is 36, Andy 36, Keith 34, Colm 33, Donie 32, Tom, 32, Seamie 33, Chris 33. Ger caff 31. Just the 9..

Belclare (Galway) - Posts: 904 - 08/07/2019 22:23:22    2208221