Mayo V Kerry

Kerry all the way for me. Killarney is an impossible place to win in the championship for an away side

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 08/07/2019 10:20:24    2207639

This is a huge, huge game. Kerry's experience of the Super 8's last year shows you have to hit the ground running and get a win under your belt first day out to have any chance. Lose this and we are as good as out IMO as the Donegal game after is another massive test to try and pick yourselves up for.
We're going up against a seasoned, battle hardened side with huge momentum who have had our number twice this year already and have been playing with a new confidence against Kerry ever since they got that Kingdom yoke off their back in 2017.
During the spring Mayo out muscled us and it was in the middle of the field those games were won.
These young Kerry princes simply have to do a lot of growing up over the next week and they have to be ready to match Mayo's physicality and not take a single step back.
I expect Mayo to come out of the traps flying so Kerry need to weather that early storm, stick with them and hope that their youth and freshness can see them over the line as Mayo have been visibly trying at the later stages of their games.
Midfield is key as both backlines are vulnerable. I think we have better forwards but if we can't get quality ball in there what use will they be?
Moran was missing in the League and I think that if he can put in a big performance on Sunday and curb AOS we will have a decent chance.

I wouldn't put a mortage on it or anything but I do think we can win this, I believe there is huge potential in this Kerry side and this is exactly the test to focus minds and bring a performance. We all rate Peter Keane and Tommy Griffin and if they are the men we think they are they will surely have absorbed the lessons from the last two games and will have something up their sleeve.
We also haven't been beaten on home soil in the summer since 1995 - it will not be acceptable to lose that proud record to this Mayo team as we owe them a beating at this stage.
It's going to be a brilliant occasion anyway, hopefully the sun will be shinning - no better sports venue in the world than Fitzgerald stadium on day's like this promises to be.
An Riocht Abu!

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 08/07/2019 10:53:55    2207667

Mayo by 2.

lilylanger (Kildare) - Posts: 758 - 08/07/2019 11:29:25    2207691

Could it be a draw I wonder

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 08/07/2019 12:18:05    2207733

Replying To Donegalman:  "Could it be a draw I wonder"
A draw wouldn't be a bad result for either team I suppose, but as the home team we'd want to be winning it especially playing yer selves in crokepark the following week.

It's hard to see how we'll match Mayo physically,

Keegan marking 20 year old seanie Shea is not a good match up as Keegan will gobble him up like the league final.

Also Higgins marking 20 year old David Clifford.

Boyle marking 19 year old Diarmuid O'Connor.

Patrick Durcan marking 20 year old Dara Moynihan .

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 08/07/2019 12:40:26    2207753

I would hope that referees don't look at hoganstanf and the like with some of the rubbish sprouted on here. Kerry must be a very holy county with he amount of saints it has wearing green and gold. Cop on lads!

Spoddgy (Mayo) - Posts: 660 - 08/07/2019 13:40:23    2207820

Replying To Donegalman:  "Could it be a draw I wonder"
I would take that right now

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11231 - 08/07/2019 13:45:49    2207826

Replying To yew_tree:  "I would take that right now"
How is the feeling up in Mayo about this game, are ye feeling that ye should beat us or what. I know down here the majority of our supporters I've been talking to are not giving us much hope.

AnFear16 (Kerry) - Posts: 34 - 08/07/2019 13:49:23    2207831

Replying To AnFear16:  "How is the feeling up in Mayo about this game, are ye feeling that ye should beat us or what. I know down here the majority of our supporters I've been talking to are not giving us much hope."
We don't stand a chance. Tired team, crippled with injuries, ref being targeted by Kerry HS mafia and Kerry invincible in Killarney.

ponga (Mayo) - Posts: 649 - 08/07/2019 13:59:16    2207847

Replying To ponga:  "We don't stand a chance. Tired team, crippled with injuries, ref being targeted by Kerry HS mafia and Kerry invincible in Killarney."
I could be wrong but I sense a bit of sarcasm there :-P

AnFear16 (Kerry) - Posts: 34 - 08/07/2019 14:13:59    2207866

Replying To AnFear16:  "How is the feeling up in Mayo about this game, are ye feeling that ye should beat us or what. I know down here the majority of our supporters I've been talking to are not giving us much hope."
Kerry should win well. Mattie Ruane and Diarmuid OConnor are 2 big losses since we played Kerry in league final and in Tralee. Kerry have David Moran back to so he should cancel out a tired Aidan O'Shea. Clifford didn't play in Tralee and was just back for final. Paul geaney missed most of league games to and he is back. Looks like Kerry are stronger now than in league the opposite for Mayo. Home advantage as well for Kerry. Kerry by 8.

Mfs (Mayo) - Posts: 251 - 08/07/2019 14:21:30    2207872

Kerry should win well. Mattie Ruane and Diarmuid OConnor are 2 big losses since we played Kerry in league final and in Tralee. Kerry have David Moran back to so he should cancel out a tired Aidan O'Shea. Clifford didn't play in Tralee and was just back for final. Paul geaney missed most of league games to and he is back. Looks like Kerry are stronger now than in league the opposite for Mayo. Home advantage as well for Kerry. Kerry by 8.

Mfs (Mayo) - Posts: 251 - 08/07/2019 14:21:59    2207874

Tickets on sale on Tickets.ie for all first round super8 games bar the Kerry/Mayo game. Why would that be?

ponga (Mayo) - Posts: 649 - 08/07/2019 14:41:03    2207886

I'm pretty confident to be honest. Think it will be tight but reckon we can nick it. Should be a cracker of an atmosphere around Killarney and in the ground

the_walls (Mayo) - Posts: 495 - 08/07/2019 14:41:18    2207887

Kerry should win this at home easy enough. Mayo's fourth game in 4 weeks, which isn't good considering all the over 30s we have. I'd expect a crowd close to 30000 for this one.

xxx (Mayo) - Posts: 1275 - 08/07/2019 14:46:43    2207889

Mayo will need to be careful here. Home game in Killarney and the ref will have a rough time of it for sure. Mayo will have to be careful as they won't get too many handy frees and Kerry will play it up big style.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 08/07/2019 15:02:49    2207905

Well if you look back to the league final, Mattie Ruane and Diarmuid O Con or we're very influential and they are now missing....I think this game may be too soon for us...I would snap your hand off for a draw.

Kerry will be well up for this and are unbeaten in Killarney in championship since 1995. I think in typical Mayo fashion we will be requiring a win on the last day at home v Donegal.

Now This Mayo team have so often defied logic I would not rule us out getting the win and the hope is there but stepping aside and looking at it I would say Kerry by 3/4 points.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11231 - 08/07/2019 15:14:31    2207914

Replying To TheHermit:  "This is a huge, huge game. Kerry's experience of the Super 8's last year shows you have to hit the ground running and get a win under your belt first day out to have any chance. Lose this and we are as good as out IMO as the Donegal game after is another massive test to try and pick yourselves up for.
We're going up against a seasoned, battle hardened side with huge momentum who have had our number twice this year already and have been playing with a new confidence against Kerry ever since they got that Kingdom yoke off their back in 2017.
During the spring Mayo out muscled us and it was in the middle of the field those games were won.
These young Kerry princes simply have to do a lot of growing up over the next week and they have to be ready to match Mayo's physicality and not take a single step back.
I expect Mayo to come out of the traps flying so Kerry need to weather that early storm, stick with them and hope that their youth and freshness can see them over the line as Mayo have been visibly trying at the later stages of their games.
Midfield is key as both backlines are vulnerable. I think we have better forwards but if we can't get quality ball in there what use will they be?
Moran was missing in the League and I think that if he can put in a big performance on Sunday and curb AOS we will have a decent chance.

I wouldn't put a mortage on it or anything but I do think we can win this, I believe there is huge potential in this Kerry side and this is exactly the test to focus minds and bring a performance. We all rate Peter Keane and Tommy Griffin and if they are the men we think they are they will surely have absorbed the lessons from the last two games and will have something up their sleeve.
We also haven't been beaten on home soil in the summer since 1995 - it will not be acceptable to lose that proud record to this Mayo team as we owe them a beating at this stage.
It's going to be a brilliant occasion anyway, hopefully the sun will be shinning - no better sports venue in the world than Fitzgerald stadium on day's like this promises to be.
An Riocht Abu!"
Fair play. You've set the scene nicely.
As a neutral, I'm looking forward to this big time. Competitive, meaningful games between good teams are all we want.
If the game is as tight as I expect, the atmosphere should be great.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2041 - 08/07/2019 15:14:57    2207915

Replying To xxx:  "Kerry should win this at home easy enough. Mayo's fourth game in 4 weeks, which isn't good considering all the over 30s we have. I'd expect a crowd close to 30000 for this one."
I remember our Kerry team rocking up to crokepark for a quarter final against Dublin in 2009 after going through the backdoor with a bunch of over 30s and a few young snipes, nearly getting bate by Sligo in Tralee and Antrim in O'Connor park and everyone was saying we were fooked again a well rested dubs team only for us to give them a 17 point hammering.

You can't underestimate the power of momentum and Mayo have that now, plus they'll want to keep their boot on our throats.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 08/07/2019 15:58:50    2207945

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "I remember our Kerry team rocking up to crokepark for a quarter final against Dublin in 2009 after going through the backdoor with a bunch of over 30s and a few young snipes, nearly getting bate by Sligo in Tralee and Antrim in O'Connor park and everyone was saying we were fooked again a well rested dubs team only for us to give them a 17 point hammering.

You can't underestimate the power of momentum and Mayo have that now, plus they'll want to keep their boot on our throats."
We had the boot on the throats of Down, Armagh and Galway and took it off. Keeping the boot on throats isn't our thing. We are just too nice.

ponga (Mayo) - Posts: 649 - 08/07/2019 16:17:44    2207962