How Many Points Is Home Advantage Worth?

Think it's more of an advantage in soccer than in GAA tbh

Meath10 (Meath) - Posts: 183 - 01/12/2020 15:55:23    2317354

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "I was looking for some stats for a conversation I was having with another poster on the kerry page when I came across this thread from nearly 2 and a half years ago.

At the time dublin were heading for the 4 in a row and we were all discussing their home advantage and how many points it was worth, now dublin are hurtling towards the 6 in a row and we're still discussing the advantages of dublin playing in Croke Park."
Ah haaahaaaaa !
Jaysus Tommy 2 and half years on ? That took some crawling, sorry, I meant trawling.
How many of Kerry's All Ireland's were won in Croke Park ?
It must have been worth a few points back in day to Kerry also along with the extra benefit of playing less games to win Sam. Ye boys had it handy and no doubt about it.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 01/12/2020 16:19:16    2317359

Replying To Meath10:  "Think it's more of an advantage in soccer than in GAA tbh"
I don't know, we'd have a fairly good record at home, we haven't been bate at home in the championship in 26 years or so.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 01/12/2020 16:27:24    2317362

Replying To Pericles:  "I'd say McHale Park has been worth -3 or -4 points to Mayo in recent times. Our home win rate in the league must be well under 50% averaged over the last 5 or 6 years. Doesn't affect the support levels though...

If Mayo were playing all league and championship games in McHale then the team selections and tactics would likely be ones to suit the tighter surroundings. That's a no-brainer."
I wonder will we still be talking about this in 2 more years pericles after they win the 8th in a row?

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 01/12/2020 16:29:07    2317364

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "I wonder will we still be talking about this in 2 more years pericles after they win the 8th in a row?"
Please God..I hope you are..

jacktheDub (Dublin) - Posts: 944 - 01/12/2020 17:14:00    2317384

You only have to look at league results where most games are won by the home team. There is familiarity with the venue ,home support, referee sub conscious bias to home crowd, away team have hassle of travel and disruptive routine. ETC

Ashrules (Dublin) - Posts: 518 - 01/12/2020 17:17:36    2317385

I think playing at home is an obvious advantage, you are in familiar surroundings, probably slept in your own bed the night before the match, shorter travelling time, all these things are factors for sure, easier for the home fans to get to the match as well.
Not taking anything away from Dublin, they'll play where the GAA decide same as the rest of us, and we only have one stadium capable of holding 80000 plus and it happens to be in Dublin.
But if those close matches against Mayo had of been in McHale Park or against Kerry in Fitzgerald Stadium they very likely would not have won those very close matches, I think it stands to reason.
Home advantage means a lot. not sure how you'd put a number of points on it though.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2739 - 01/12/2020 21:35:18    2317480

Replying To Pericles:  "I'd say McHale Park has been worth -3 or -4 points to Mayo in recent times. Our home win rate in the league must be well under 50% averaged over the last 5 or 6 years. Doesn't affect the support levels though...

If Mayo were playing all league and championship games in McHale then the team selections and tactics would likely be ones to suit the tighter surroundings. That's a no-brainer."
Reported today that MacHale Park will be closed from June 2021 for a complete new pitch installation. Badly needed as the current surface is substandard. Hopefully the new pitch may improve our home record.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11227 - 01/12/2020 22:28:50    2317500

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "I was looking for some stats for a conversation I was having with another poster on the kerry page when I came across this thread from nearly 2 and a half years ago.

At the time dublin were heading for the 4 in a row and we were all discussing their home advantage and how many points it was worth, now dublin are hurtling towards the 6 in a row and we're still discussing the advantages of dublin playing in Croke Park."
"when I came across"

Lol

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 01/12/2020 22:54:58    2317507

Replying To jacktheDub:  "Please God..I hope you are.."

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 01/12/2020 22:55:30    2317508

Replying To catch22:  "Ah haaahaaaaa !
Jaysus Tommy 2 and half years on ? That took some crawling, sorry, I meant trawling.
How many of Kerry's All Ireland's were won in Croke Park ?
It must have been worth a few points back in day to Kerry also along with the extra benefit of playing less games to win Sam. Ye boys had it handy and no doubt about it."
That's blasphemy to say something like that in these parts......retract it now or else the Kerry Mafia will be out in force

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 01/12/2020 22:57:18    2317509

Replying To yew_tree:  "Reported today that MacHale Park will be closed from June 2021 for a complete new pitch installation. Badly needed as the current surface is substandard. Hopefully the new pitch may improve our home record."
The record recently has been that bad Yew that it can hardly make it much worse! I think the biggest factor is just the dimensions. They're at odds with the way Mayo needs to play in the likes of Croke Park. At least the bubble at Bekan matches Croker, not that it's a Mayo facility, but a bit of thought went into the planning there.

Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 01/12/2020 23:20:58    2317518

Replying To Dubsfan28:  ""when I came across"

Lol"
Yes I came across it, I typed into Google how may points is home advantage worth in gaelic football, try it yourself and you'll see the thread pops up.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 02/12/2020 07:52:42    2317556

10 points

mayo4sam2020 (Mayo) - Posts: 11 - 02/12/2020 11:03:33    2317605

Why does the Gaa make up this notion that croke park is owned by every county in ireland and yes in theory it is every tax payer in the country contributed twords it but 90 percent of countys have not played there in years or at best they might be looky enough to play there once in a blue moon. For example I can speak for my own county which borders Dublin but yet we haven't played in croke park in a championship match since 2008. It's an absolute disgrace that not only Dublin gets to play all their home league matches there on top of 2 super 8 games And then there is players that have soldured for years with countys and never got the opportunity to play in a stadium that's meant to be for all who plays the game. TIme to take Dublin out of croke park for league games and leinster championship even it up a small bit for god sake.

Irishcelt (Wicklow) - Posts: 149 - 03/12/2020 14:43:16    2317950

Replying To Irishcelt:  "Why does the Gaa make up this notion that croke park is owned by every county in ireland and yes in theory it is every tax payer in the country contributed twords it but 90 percent of countys have not played there in years or at best they might be looky enough to play there once in a blue moon. For example I can speak for my own county which borders Dublin but yet we haven't played in croke park in a championship match since 2008. It's an absolute disgrace that not only Dublin gets to play all their home league matches there on top of 2 super 8 games And then there is players that have soldured for years with countys and never got the opportunity to play in a stadium that's meant to be for all who plays the game. TIme to take Dublin out of croke park for league games and leinster championship even it up a small bit for god sake."
Agreed take Dublin out of Croke Park for League and Leinster Championship games

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 03/12/2020 15:24:52    2317956

Replying To mayo4sam2020:  "10 points"
More like "20 points"

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 03/12/2020 15:26:14    2317958

Replying To Ashrules:  "You only have to look at league results where most games are won by the home team. There is familiarity with the venue ,home support, referee sub conscious bias to home crowd, away team have hassle of travel and disruptive routine. ETC"
Yep. I. think it's a variable though. It could be a distinct advantage in some situations and less so in others. Say Mayo in the recent All-Irelands. They had more support in each of those All-Irelands than Dublin. I'm sure they were pretty familiar with Croke Park. But the hassle of travelling and the disruption to routine, having to sleep in unfamiliar beds etc all have to be acknowledged. Ref. bias - I think most refs would truy. to be mindful of any bias when it came to marginal decisions. But the figures and research. do tend to suggest that playing at home, in so far as you can call Croke Park Dublin's home venue ,is an advantage when the teams are evenly matched. The Kerry teams of the 80s were so far ahead of the others and Dublin that any advantage accruing to 'the home team"was rendered irrelevant.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 03/12/2020 15:34:44    2317960

Replying To avonali:  "Yep. I. think it's a variable though. It could be a distinct advantage in some situations and less so in others. Say Mayo in the recent All-Irelands. They had more support in each of those All-Irelands than Dublin. I'm sure they were pretty familiar with Croke Park. But the hassle of travelling and the disruption to routine, having to sleep in unfamiliar beds etc all have to be acknowledged. Ref. bias - I think most refs would truy. to be mindful of any bias when it came to marginal decisions. But the figures and research. do tend to suggest that playing at home, in so far as you can call Croke Park Dublin's home venue ,is an advantage when the teams are evenly matched. The Kerry teams of the 80s were so far ahead of the others and Dublin that any advantage accruing to 'the home team"was rendered irrelevant."
That's a fair summary avonali fair play, now we've only got to get that through to the other 1.3 million of ye :-)

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 03/12/2020 17:15:25    2317978

Replying To superbluedub:  "Agreed take Dublin out of Croke Park for League and Leinster Championship games"
That's the thing I have nothing against the Dublin team and there supporters and I'm nearly 100 percent sure the team wants to play in other venues if nothing else but to prove a point that they would beat any county any where type of thing and it might be more of a challenge for them. And the supporters would love travelling down the country too. It's the greed of the Gaa that has it the way it is

Irishcelt (Wicklow) - Posts: 149 - 03/12/2020 17:19:50    2317981