I won't be having another look I saw it live right in front of me. It was no more than a nudge of the elbow not a swing and not forceful in any way. The Wexford player didn't make too much of it in fairness as he knew it was just a frustrated reaction. Yellow and reversal of the free would have been enough. That's how I saw it.
Onion Breath (Carlow) - Posts: 1470 - 16/02/2025 15:47:10 2591357 Link 0 |
Saw the minor footballers play Westmeath today out in Fenagh and after last week I have to say I was pleasantly surprised and impressed with them. They lost by 6-8 to 4-8 but don't mind that they played very well and were very strong especially around the middle where they dominated for lots of the game. Led 3-4 to 2-5 at half time and for second half Westmeath changed their entire team, we changed plenty as well, and WH were stronger in second half. We conceded 6 goals again I know but there's plenty of good footballers in that lot and scope for plenty more improvement. Onion Breath (Carlow) - Posts: 1470 - 16/02/2025 15:57:58 2591362 Link 0 |
It's amazing how we see things !! I too was sitting beside where it happened, a definite red card offence. As you say yourself " that's how I saw it". Anyway, best of luck for the remaining games, there's bound to be a few twists & turns before everything is decided. Yellaman (Wexford) - Posts: 141 - 16/02/2025 16:07:56 2591364 Link 1 |
It was much better but again started with 3 U16s in the back 6 and they were way out of their depth. Every single goal was a direct result of this. The two subs ten minutes in, Carlow already having conceded 2-2 I think, made a huge difference and changed the team dynamic and they backed up the midfield which as you said were dominant...but you can't keep leaking 6 goals a game.
Bracker1984 (Carlow) - Posts: 17 - 16/02/2025 18:38:48 2591400 Link 0 |
Makes a change from the repetitive poaching claims but yes just as boring
Bracker1984 (Carlow) - Posts: 17 - 16/02/2025 18:48:16 2591404 Link 0 |
Having seen the game I don't think you can blame the 3 players for the 6 goals. It comes across as though you have a family member on the panel and you're not happy they're not starting…not a great look giving out here. Good that there's an improvement from last week though
SofaSupporter (Carlow) - Posts: 7 - 16/02/2025 19:53:26 2591420 Link 0 |
You ok???
carlo (Carlow) - Posts: 236 - 16/02/2025 20:12:16 2591422 Link 0 |
Beat a wexford team in name only more a b team dont get carried away.
Tiger1 (Wexford) - Posts: 292 - 16/02/2025 20:31:35 2591425 Link 0 |
I don't but do have the interest of Carlow GAA at heart and follow all teams. Given the optimism around this team specifically for the last couple of years and the success of the regional championship I was interested and excited to see how they went this year but unfortunately it's more of the same with minors as it is almost every year with club politics and coaching cliques. It's the two big teams running the show as usual. I'm sorry you can't see that but as I said there was a definite improvement today and they should have won that game but there's a glaringly obvious reason they didn't.
Bracker1984 (Carlow) - Posts: 17 - 16/02/2025 20:31:47 2591426 Link 0 |
I refuse to believe somebody who has the interest of Carlow GAA at heart would be trying to put the blame of losing a minor match on 3 (very talented) lads who are likely 15. Referencing the regional competition, the younger year colts came 3rd as far as I know and very nearly made the A final. But yet you don't feel any of them deserve to be on the panel? I don't know if you're trolling or genuinely haven't a clue what you're talking about
SofaSupporter (Carlow) - Posts: 7 - 16/02/2025 22:06:51 2591447 Link 0 |
I have never said anyone didn't deserve to be on a panel or wasn't talented. Not once. Everyone is there on merit. But this is big boy football and I'm trying to be objective. Just like any newspaper report will be come championship time. This is not Go Games. I've clearly unintentionally struck a nerve so you must be close to one of these chaps but at the end of the day this is sports and as we have seen for many many years, plamasing players just because they are from a certain club does not produce results. 12 goals conceded in two games says just that.
Bracker1984 (Carlow) - Posts: 17 - 16/02/2025 22:16:54 2591452 Link 0 |
Well you've said they're only picked because they're from a certain club so I think you should make your mind up what you're trying to say. Not at all don't know the chaps personally at all but I don't think giving out about children on a public forum is normal behavior. Not saying that you should be praising anyone for losing games but be critical of the whole rather than individuals I think is the better approach
SofaSupporter (Carlow) - Posts: 7 - 16/02/2025 22:52:07 2591464 Link 0 |
I've been crystal clear in what I've said. No ambiguity at all. Like I said this isn't Go Games and a squad is a whole and my initial criticism was of the whole which includes the management and players, maybe you missed that, but you've decided to take it this way. Everyone wants the best for Carlow football, and what happened today, good or bad, will affect the senior team in 5 years and has been a pattern for the past decade and is repeating itself as we speak with the current minors. Whether it's a public forum, which you have decided to contribute to by the the way, or published in the nationalist, players performances will be discussed. That's the nature of it. And everyone is entitled to their opinion. As you are yours.
Bracker1984 (Carlow) - Posts: 17 - 16/02/2025 23:07:57 2591468 Link 0 |
The lads from the bigger clubs are just better players. It's hard enough to get the players up to speed as it is.if you throw in loads of lads from Div 2/3 clubs, they're not used to being under pressure, never been in big games, and think it's half acceptable to make basic errors because they don't get punished at club level. Look at the senior team, if they made up a team from just EO Rathvilly and Pal, it'd do just as well (or better) than the current team. CW88 (Carlow) - Posts: 33 - 17/02/2025 07:33:11 2591486 Link 0 |
So you are saying that in the rest of the county there were no natural sportsmen/ballers who took up playing GAA between 15 and 25 years ago and would be excellent now? If that's the case that's astonishingly bad luck. If it's not the case then it doesn't say much for your club and underage structures at that time. I watched your minor hurlers in a game last year, a final against Antrim, some were pretty good, including a lad whose name I can't remember who wasn't from one of the 5 Senior clubs. Think he was from Carlow town. I'm sure that has to be the case with your footballers too. There have to be naturally good lads in every club. The job is finding them younger, and providing them with quality opposition, and training, in a county set up all the way up, if you feel that their clubs aren't providing decent enough training, and are playing too far down the grades at underage. Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 14832 - 17/02/2025 09:57:25 2591513 Link 0 |
Crystal Clear is far from what you've been. It isn't Go Games but you're suggesting the management shouldn't play their strongest players regardless of age. They see them in training however many times a week so you'd have to trust their judgement but you obviously have a personal vendetta against one of the backroom team so we won't get trust from you. I know I have contributed but I'm not the one incorrectly blaming 3/4 players on the lack of a win of a minor team. The nationalist also wouldn't do the same SofaSupporter (Carlow) - Posts: 7 - 17/02/2025 21:49:03 2591678 Link 0 |
How do you make out wexford a very poor division 4 team? We finished 3rd last year, we didn't get promoted on the head to head rule , unlucky I may add, we will finish top two this year, so definitely not very poor division 4, looking forward to your response,? but in general I know we are very poor team in leinster, but still able to hammer yous last year and give yous a good trimming this year
Lockerroomboy (Wexford) - Posts: 474 - 18/02/2025 09:29:45 2591719 Link 0 |
Are we really that poor in Leinster? In the Leinster Championship in the last few years we have beaten Wicklow, Offaly, and Carlow, and hung in there with Laois and Louth. Dublin are the only team to have given us a good trimming. In Division 4 the last 3 seasons including this one we have only lost to Laois, Sligo and Leitrim, although it was a controversial loss to Leitrim last year, and we beat them in 2023. All 3 of those teams are in div3 now. We aren't great, we are in div 4 because we haven't got promoted, but we aren't all that poor either. Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 14832 - 18/02/2025 10:05:17 2591724 Link 0 |
I somewhat disagree with this. I think a panel has to have both. Obviously you need decent representation from your strongest clubs but sometimes a strong team can gloss over individual weakness. I've never seen a panel where you have had ten strong lads from the one club 5 at most but never anywhere near ten. So those other 5 could as easily be replaced with a division 2 player. There is also no evidence that picking mainly from the "big two" leads to better results. If you look back to the 07 minor team there was representation from nearly all clubs. Now I know that's a long time ago but it's definitely better for team bonding to have a good mix of clubs. It's probably too late when you get to minor to sort out things like that but I think in the initial selection process you should be looking for as much club diversity as possible. Now if you have a freak of a club team where you have ten gifted footballers then yes work ahead but I've yet to see one of those. Some of the best footballers I've seen at underage playing for Carlow came from division 2 clubs. A lot of the time these lads are carrying a weak enough club team they tend to be leaders and very determined. I wouldn't be ruling them out. Barrowsider (Carlow) - Posts: 1688 - 18/02/2025 10:10:15 2591728 Link 0 |
I will have to agree with you on this. There is very little separating the top 4 in Div 4 and the bottom 4 in Div 3. A point or two at most and on any day that can be reversed. And I would be very hesitant to label Wexford as "poor" We got relegated last year because we lost too many games by a point or two. It's true that there are no Leinster champs in Div 4 but some of the teams there can rattle most others with the exception of the Dubs.
Freethinker (Wicklow) - Posts: 1412 - 18/02/2025 10:20:29 2591733 Link 0 |