Donegal GAA thread

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Fair play to Eamon McGee for his Laochra Gael episode on TG4 last night. He is a great character and an underrated footballer. By his own admission, he probably didn't fully fulfil his potential. But he didn't have a bad career either that's for sure. He was excellent in the All Ireland final in 2012. In those big days you need big players to step up and do the business, and he certainly did that day.

The program also got me thinking about how much more we might have won if we had Jim McGuinness managing from about 2006 on. We certainly had some very good players in that period- likes of Devenney, the Sweeneys, Roper, McCready, Hegarty etc and then the 2012 lads in their early to mid 20s."
Absolutely we had the nucleus of a fantastic team, I would even say from 2003 onwards there were class footballers on the scene. We were probably unlucky that Tyrone and Armagh dominated the noughties, but we were probably only behind the curve because we lacked the discipline that they had.

Fair play to Eamon, he showed that there was much more to him than the party man persona, and that the partying was masking his inner self doubt. I really enjoy his media work, and is wit and intelligence shine through.

SouthOfTheGap (Donegal) - Posts: 750 - 14/03/2025 19:51:12    2596400

Replying To Lockjaw:  "The calendar needs looking at for 2026. This craic of playing a league final a week out from Championship is madness.
I get that the calendar needed tweaking to ensure club competitions got fair treatment. But they're gone way too far with it. At the end of the day only four teams can make the TC and AI finals. No need for playing the Championship in such a rushed fashion, finishing up mid July. Even if they moved the All Ireland and TC to the August Bank Holiday weekend, it would free up two weeks.

Actually come to think of it, would the August Bank Holiday not be a great weekend to play the finals? A festival of Championship football, showcasing the best of the GAA?"
The draw for the Ulster and Leinster championship should be only be made on the final round of league matches.

The dates for final, semi, quarters can all be set well in advance.

Preliminary round of Ulster and Leinster should then be based on 2(ulsuer) and 4(Leinster) counties that have the lowest league place finish and any Ulster or Leinster counties in a div 1, 2 , 3 and 4 league finals are automatically excluded from preliminary round draw.

Based on current league standings
Carlow 7th Div 4
Longford 5th Div 4
Wicklow 3rd Div 4
Loais 3rd Div 4
All 4 counties are the lowest rank counties not competing in a league final and would be drawn in the preliminary round of the Leinster championship.

*Wexford are in Div 4 league final and are excluded from preliminary round draw

Antrim 6th Div 3
Fermanagh 5th Div 3
Are the lowest rank Ulster counties not in a league final and Would play each other in the preliminary round of the Ulster championship.

Tirchonailabu56 (Donegal) - Posts: 34 - 14/03/2025 23:56:39    2596427

Replying To Lockjaw:  "The calendar needs looking at for 2026. This craic of playing a league final a week out from Championship is madness.
I get that the calendar needed tweaking to ensure club competitions got fair treatment. But they're gone way too far with it. At the end of the day only four teams can make the TC and AI finals. No need for playing the Championship in such a rushed fashion, finishing up mid July. Even if they moved the All Ireland and TC to the August Bank Holiday weekend, it would free up two weeks.

Actually come to think of it, would the August Bank Holiday not be a great weekend to play the finals? A festival of Championship football, showcasing the best of the GAA?"
For 2026 the round robin group will be gone which will reduce the overall number of matches by one so that will help. Though for this year they could have just started the league a week earlier and then you'd have the two week break. I guess they didn't want to interfere with the end of club championship but they had left a month between provisional club finals and all ireland semi and that was too long.

An August bank Holiday final would be much better than end of July.

Though taking a step back from scheduling and looking at the games it's been great. Beating kerry in kerry for the first time in 37 years. The murphy comeback was super, the last 10 minutes against derry. The crowds are way up. There's much more excitement about the games in general. The rules have so far really helped.

Ulsterchamps_32 (Donegal) - Posts: 790 - 15/03/2025 09:14:27    2596450

Replying To SouthOfTheGap:  "Absolutely we had the nucleus of a fantastic team, I would even say from 2003 onwards there were class footballers on the scene. We were probably unlucky that Tyrone and Armagh dominated the noughties, but we were probably only behind the curve because we lacked the discipline that they had.

Fair play to Eamon, he showed that there was much more to him than the party man persona, and that the partying was masking his inner self doubt. I really enjoy his media work, and is wit and intelligence shine through."
We weren't unlucky. They were better. They worked harder. We got what we deserved in the naughties..

greenfan (Donegal) - Posts: 608 - 15/03/2025 21:14:19    2596611

Can't read a whole lot into yesterday's result with the team that was on show. Thought Brennan, Murphy young Roarty and Mark Curran were very good. Some others on show are miles off it.

dgcrusader (Donegal) - Posts: 76 - 18/03/2025 10:37:36    2596989

Replying To dgcrusader:  "Can't read a whole lot into yesterday's result with the team that was on show. Thought Brennan, Murphy young Roarty and Mark Curran were very good. Some others on show are miles off it."
I think a lot of people knew #13 was no where near the level but Sunday confirmed it.

peiledoir20 (Donegal) - Posts: 1171 - 18/03/2025 11:06:23    2596997

Replying To dgcrusader:  "Can't read a whole lot into yesterday's result with the team that was on show. Thought Brennan, Murphy young Roarty and Mark Curran were very good. Some others on show are miles off it."
I think what it shows is that Roarty and Murphy are probably the only 2 players that will get gametime alongside the players that Jim used last year. In reality, he only used 18 -20 players last year when it really mattered.

greenfan (Donegal) - Posts: 608 - 18/03/2025 11:06:53    2596998

Replying To peiledoir20:  "I think a lot of people knew #13 was no where near the level but Sunday confirmed it."
No need to criticise any player who puts on the county jersey. Hope your happy with yourself.

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2593 - 18/03/2025 11:22:54    2597002

Replying To rorysboys:  "No need to criticise any player who puts on the county jersey. Hope your happy with yourself."
No criticising, just stating fact. If you have evidence to the contrary, please present them.

peiledoir20 (Donegal) - Posts: 1171 - 18/03/2025 11:33:41    2597006

Replying To Commodore:  "Ok, so answer the question directly. How do they know?"
He has people up a tree

donegaldouble (Donegal) - Posts: 317 - 18/03/2025 11:58:25    2597023

This was a good performance considering it was a second string team out. Some of the lads did themselves no favours and probably have proven that they are not up to this level at the moment.

PeterQ92 (Donegal) - Posts: 145 - 18/03/2025 12:46:26    2597038

Good luck to our U20's this week as they open their C'ship account against Fermanagh. Very good team and expect them to do well.

PeterQ92 (Donegal) - Posts: 145 - 18/03/2025 12:51:44    2597042

Replying To PeterQ92:  "This was a good performance considering it was a second string team out. Some of the lads did themselves no favours and probably have proven that they are not up to this level at the moment."
I thought they gave a decent account of themselves against a strong Tyrone team who were clearly motivated to get the win to try to secure their Div1 status.

Looking ahead to the Mayo game, I'd say we'll see a similar squad with maybe a few of the more established players getting game time. It would be good to see Jason McGee get 20 minutes for example. But maybe he's still a bit away yet.

You'd have to say it;s been a pretty satisfactory league campaign. We've shown we're an established top tier team, but look like we're going to protect ourselves for Championship by NOT reaching the league final (as daft as that sounds). Hopefully the likes of the aforementioned McGee, Langan and McBrearty are being nursed back slowly. I think we'll definitely need all three when things get serious.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9698 - 18/03/2025 13:52:22    2597065

Replying To peiledoir20:  "No criticising, just stating fact. If you have evidence to the contrary, please present them."
Typical reply from you. Any young fellow that commits to county football should be admired not criticised. Why pick out one player. Do you know how players are performing at training. I'm dam sure Jim knows more than any of us..

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2593 - 18/03/2025 14:45:14    2597077

Replying To peiledoir20:  "I think a lot of people knew #13 was no where near the level but Sunday confirmed it."
I wouldn't call you a Donegal supporter singling out a player like that. In fact your a disgrace. A few players played below par on Sunday but don't forget it's some of those players first competitive match since the senior championship last year. Others like the player you mentioned is back from a serious injury and it's great to see those players get game time.
I thought Donegal played very well on Sunday as a lot of those players never played together before against a very strong Tyrone team.
Other supporters like you single out Hugh Mc Fadden for criticism and I thought he played very well on Sunday.
I thrust the Manager, he is there at all the training sessions and picks the team. Your time would be far better spent supporting the team rather than picking out the negatives.
When Donegal are doing so well there is always people like you trying to drag the Team and Management down.

Scenicparish (Donegal) - Posts: 444 - 18/03/2025 15:08:46    2597085

Replying To Scenicparish:  "I wouldn't call you a Donegal supporter singling out a player like that. In fact your a disgrace. A few players played below par on Sunday but don't forget it's some of those players first competitive match since the senior championship last year. Others like the player you mentioned is back from a serious injury and it's great to see those players get game time.
I thought Donegal played very well on Sunday as a lot of those players never played together before against a very strong Tyrone team.
Other supporters like you single out Hugh Mc Fadden for criticism and I thought he played very well on Sunday.
I thrust the Manager, he is there at all the training sessions and picks the team. Your time would be far better spent supporting the team rather than picking out the negatives.
When Donegal are doing so well there is always people like you trying to drag the Team and Management down."
I get you are going to defend your clubman and that's admirable, but if you take off the blue tinted glasses you'd see what the rest of us see.

peiledoir20 (Donegal) - Posts: 1171 - 18/03/2025 15:32:49    2597087

Replying To Lockjaw:  "I thought they gave a decent account of themselves against a strong Tyrone team who were clearly motivated to get the win to try to secure their Div1 status.

Looking ahead to the Mayo game, I'd say we'll see a similar squad with maybe a few of the more established players getting game time. It would be good to see Jason McGee get 20 minutes for example. But maybe he's still a bit away yet.

You'd have to say it;s been a pretty satisfactory league campaign. We've shown we're an established top tier team, but look like we're going to protect ourselves for Championship by NOT reaching the league final (as daft as that sounds). Hopefully the likes of the aforementioned McGee, Langan and McBrearty are being nursed back slowly. I think we'll definitely need all three when things get serious."
It was nice to see new faces given a chance, all acquitted themselves fairly well given the quality Tyrone team they were up against. Johnny Carlin and McGroddy late on looked lively, Mogan did a tight job on Darragh Canavan, while Jamie Brennan, Mark Curran, Hugh McFadden and Michael Murphy all had good games.

It'll be interesting to see who gets a run out against Mayo, a large number of players coming back from injury who need minutes in the legs, so expecting another big shakeup for the Castlebar game. While its useful for players to get a run out in competitive games, my only concern is that trying to give a lot new or injured players a run out maybe hampers momentum heading into Championship.

Commodore (Donegal) - Posts: 1327 - 18/03/2025 15:34:04    2597088

Replying To peiledoir20:  "I get you are going to defend your clubman and that's admirable, but if you take off the blue tinted glasses you'd see what the rest of us see."
You will be out slapping the Manager in the back when we win. What a hypocrite? A sad case for a Donegal supporter.....

Scenicparish (Donegal) - Posts: 444 - 18/03/2025 16:04:47    2597094

Replying To peiledoir20:  "I get you are going to defend your clubman and that's admirable, but if you take off the blue tinted glasses you'd see what the rest of us see."
You are 100% right. Public forums are used for healthy debates about Donegal Gaa and that includes player selection etc. People get offended by the smallest of things these days

dgcrusader (Donegal) - Posts: 76 - 18/03/2025 16:29:31    2597105

Replying To dgcrusader:  "You are 100% right. Public forums are used for healthy debates about Donegal Gaa and that includes player selection etc. People get offended by the smallest of things these days"
The few on here from the Iniskeel parish seem to be more sensitive than most.

peiledoir20 (Donegal) - Posts: 1171 - 18/03/2025 16:51:36    2597110