I'm actually not, while the majority of us and our posts on here mean nothing or are just fans speculating and discussing our teams, some inside info or rumours on here leak into regional or national newspapers. Are you really naive enough to think that GAA journalists seeking to fill column inches wouldn't check the biggest national GAA forum for rumours or stories? Like rumours being posted on here by supposedly Donegal posters suggesting that Donegal Senior team broke the training ban, which later filtered into a National article and was then quoted by Kerry Manager Jack O'Shea. Commodore (Donegal) - Posts: 1314 - 10/03/2025 13:33:11 2595755 Link 2 |
I think that given the context behind Lacey's resignation a few years ago, it WAS big news that he was back in the fold, but I can understand how others outside the county might have been a bit bemused.
Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9627 - 10/03/2025 13:45:17 2595758 Link 0 |
I don't care about getting approval about my facts. I was attacked on here last time around when Lacey left academy. By posters spouting nonsense and lies when I had facts. Worry about those lads rather than me.
TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 8306 - 10/03/2025 14:45:43 2595775 Link 3 |
Will be watching for the u16 results this year so
farneygael3 (Monaghan) - Posts: 132 - 10/03/2025 15:20:05 2595783 Link 0 |
Don't be facetious. The bigger story obviously is that Lacey is assuming control of the Academy again.
Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9627 - 10/03/2025 16:25:51 2595799 Link 0 |
hahaha mother of god, here lads say nothing on these boards otherwise county managers and national journalists might figure out that Michael Murphy is a decent player and important for Donegal!
CCFabu (Donegal) - Posts: 139 - 10/03/2025 16:31:16 2595801 Link 0 |
Are you really that naive to think inter county managers from the top teams don't know what training is going on in other counties ? And that they are relying on information that originated on Hoganstand? Lol
TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 8306 - 10/03/2025 17:06:48 2595809 Link 4 |
Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 3100 - 10/03/2025 20:16:00 2595853 Link 5 |
Are you trying to convince yourself or people who don't mind you supplying inside info that you touting inside information on Donegal GAA on here isn't likely to leak into National Media? After Kerry manager Jack O'Connor made a jibe about Donegal "Having a lot of work done", he was asked how he knew that, "it was in the newspapers". It was actually being posted on here on HS first, then hinted at in National GAA articles. Commodore (Donegal) - Posts: 1314 - 10/03/2025 21:08:23 2595860 Link 3 |
I'm not naive at all. Anyone that thinks journalists or inter county managers are getting their information from hogan stand is deluded.
greenfan (Donegal) - Posts: 601 - 10/03/2025 21:47:58 2595866 Link 1 |
I don't doubt you have facts, I just don't like that you are sharing some of that stuff on here, because you are then posting yourself as source of official information. I know some of it is trivial stuff, but sooner or later something shared here will be used as stick to beat Donegal GAA with and that irritates me. As for Academy saga, I was against the stuff being spread online and I definitely said so on here, as it was hurting Donegal GAA and hurting both sides who were involved in that dispute. Donegal GAA has amazing potential, we still haven't fully harnessed potential player pools in the Finn Valley region and Inishowen, yet statistically over the last 35 years we have been steadily becoming a dominant force in Ulster football. Last year I put together stats for the last 60 - 70 years in Ulster, and Donegal and Tyrone in the last 30 years have replaced Cavan and Down from the previous 30. Seeing our Academy implode was a horrible experience, seeing our Senior team implode in 2023 just added to the misery. I don't want more controversy. Commodore (Donegal) - Posts: 1314 - 10/03/2025 21:49:17 2595867 Link 1 |
Will you cop on lad. The likes of Jack O Connor and Dessie Farrell know when Donegal are training and when they started. You think he's going to announce to the media how they know? The top teams know what each other are at.
TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 8306 - 10/03/2025 21:55:05 2595869 Link 1 |
Really? Enlighten us on do Dublin, Kerry, Galway Mayo etc know what Donegal are at then? Nothing to do with Mayo touts and others on a National online GAA forum sharing that specific information? Wise up Commodore (Donegal) - Posts: 1314 - 11/03/2025 09:33:05 2595894 Link 0 |
Whoops!!! You responded under the wrong account, that conversation was with your Flaker account.
Commodore (Donegal) - Posts: 1314 - 11/03/2025 09:34:35 2595895 Link 1 |
I think we should refrain from naming players here from now on, in case Jack O'Connor et al are on here to get some inside information. Or could we possibly give each player a Codename instead of using their real names. And please don't give your opinion on a starting lineup for a match, just in case. SouthOfTheGap (Donegal) - Posts: 739 - 11/03/2025 09:59:05 2595901 Link 0 |
You are being an eejit. You think we are the same poster? Cop on to yourself. How much time do you think I have? TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 8306 - 11/03/2025 10:28:18 2595903 Link 0 |
Jim knows where Dublin etc train and where they train and how often. It's hardly a state secret .
TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 8306 - 11/03/2025 10:29:59 2595904 Link 0 |
Ok, so answer the question directly. How do they know?
Commodore (Donegal) - Posts: 1314 - 11/03/2025 10:50:27 2595908 Link 0 |
There is a big difference between Donegal GAA fans speculating about starting lineups, who might be fit etc, and someone purporting to be from Mayo publishing inside information from Donegal Senior panel training camps or County board meetings on appointments etc. If Donegal GAA appoint someone to a role, they might hold off releasing that appointment to the press for a day or so until the other candidates have received their letters or notifications, which is the right thing to do. But yer man is spreading all over here, word is out. That can cause resentment and friction, bit like the whole Academy saga. Commodore (Donegal) - Posts: 1314 - 11/03/2025 10:58:41 2595909 Link 1 |
I don't think you're the same poster as Greenfan, I just through that out there to cause momentary panic. But I do think you are posting under other accounts, specifically Donegal accounts.
Commodore (Donegal) - Posts: 1314 - 11/03/2025 11:00:19 2595910 Link 0 |