Replying To dolfos:  "Off the top my head

Paul McGrath
Roy Keane
Kieran McGeeney
Brian O'Driscoll
Jack O'Shea
Henry Shefflin
Cora Staunton"
worldwide only mcgrath the rest are localised gaa no value outside ireland . go back to sleep

mickcunningham (Westmeath) - Posts: 1802 - 02/02/2023 12:12:53    2455984

Replying To KillingFields:  "Are you having a laugh? Katie Taylor couldn't finish a warm up with the greatest athletes ever never mind be listed anywhere near them. The 'Ole Ole' brigade is obviously still in full swing.
SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2326 - 02/02/2023 10:19:27

Go on then name all these greatest athletes Katie Taylor would struggle against
KT played senior international football for Ireland. If she wasnt so involved in boxing could have travelled to US on scholarship as a runner. She is certainly up there with one of the best athletes in this country

A minority sport getting the venue it deserves.
The celebrity bandwagon who have no interest in the sport can watch on TV as they usually do anyway.
Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 554 - 02/02/2023 10:29:04

Reverse snobbery here is hilarious"
I just named a few and could name a list longer than my arm but it isn't really necessary. You'd be a fool to think that any of the top 10 ranked boxers from any era couldn't deal with Taylor for breakfast. I watched her spar Rigondeaux, she was trying her best to knock him out and he was literally toying with her as a warm up. Its amazing that this needs explained to people, I guess some just read media headlines and call themselves fans.

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2385 - 02/02/2023 12:13:34    2455985

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "Rachel Blackmore, without even going outside of her gender!"
who the jockey are u serious

mickcunningham (Westmeath) - Posts: 1802 - 02/02/2023 12:13:38    2455986

Replying To mickcunningham:  "who the jockey are u serious"
Yes. One of toughest sports in the world. Only the bravest of the brave even do it for a living, never mind win the three biggest races in their sport. And competing against lads who don't take prisoners jumping over fences at 35mph!

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2557 - 02/02/2023 12:46:39    2455998

Replying To mickcunningham:  "worldwide only mcgrath the rest are localised gaa no value outside ireland . go back to sleep"
Yup. Roy Keane and Brian O'Driscoll were some hurlers all right. :)

Pikeman96 (Wexford) - Posts: 2249 - 02/02/2023 12:47:27    2455999

It looks to me as if Hearn only had one date in mind and wasn't for changing..the date in May is in middle of Gaa season..I can name two more outdoor venues in Dublin,the aviva stadium and the rds,why did it actually have to be croke park..I'd admire Katie for what she has done but Hearn and these boys don't help boxing..god only knows how much will be charged for basic ticket to the fight..it's a pity now it's going to go completely anti Gaa and wait for all the so called personalities to start giving out..

CTGAA10 (Limerick) - Posts: 2217 - 02/02/2023 13:01:16    2456004

Replying To SaffronDon:  "
Replying To KillingFields:  "Are you having a laugh? Katie Taylor couldn't finish a warm up with the greatest athletes ever never mind be listed anywhere near them. The 'Ole Ole' brigade is obviously still in full swing.

KT played senior international football for Ireland. If she wasnt so involved in boxing could have travelled to US on scholarship as a runner. She is certainly up there with one of the best athletes in this country

The celebrity bandwagon who have no interest in the sport can watch on TV as they usually do anyway.

I just named a few and could name a list longer than my arm but it isn't really necessary. You'd be a fool to think that any of the top 10 ranked boxers from any era couldn't deal with Taylor for breakfast. I watched her spar Rigondeaux, she was trying her best to knock him out and he was literally toying with her as a warm up. Its amazing that this needs explained to people, I guess some just read media headlines and call themselves fans."
Katie Taylor recognised enough by boxers who's opinion id take over yours. Her ability to spar with our male olympic boxers showed she is top class and yes male boxers much bigger and heavier would beat her.

Drop the complete arrogance. its something im accused of but never others. dont be a hypocrite. youre as bad as flaker for it

KillingFields (Limerick) - Posts: 3510 - 02/02/2023 14:04:09    2456014

Replying To Pikeman96:  "Yup. Roy Keane and Brian O'Driscoll were some hurlers all right. :)"
great hurler keane

mickcunningham (Westmeath) - Posts: 1802 - 02/02/2023 14:14:53    2456018

Replying To CTGAA10:  "It looks to me as if Hearn only had one date in mind and wasn't for changing..the date in May is in middle of Gaa season..I can name two more outdoor venues in Dublin,the aviva stadium and the rds,why did it actually have to be croke park..I'd admire Katie for what she has done but Hearn and these boys don't help boxing..god only knows how much will be charged for basic ticket to the fight..it's a pity now it's going to go completely anti Gaa and wait for all the so called personalities to start giving out.."
Id Agree,

Hearn wanted his own bills paid for him too.

The other factor is the limited number of "Non GAA2 events allowed in Croke Park each year, i/e concerts. If the revenue generated from a concert is not being matched, then why give up one of those slots? If Eddie Hearn wants to match the value of the slots, then work away (at a suitable date),.

If its purely down to the GAA's costs, then id assume he has no problem putting it on in the Aviva and a much lower cost??????

Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6342 - 02/02/2023 14:22:05    2456020

Replying To CTGAA10:  "It looks to me as if Hearn only had one date in mind and wasn't for changing..the date in May is in middle of Gaa season..I can name two more outdoor venues in Dublin,the aviva stadium and the rds,why did it actually have to be croke park..I'd admire Katie for what she has done but Hearn and these boys don't help boxing..god only knows how much will be charged for basic ticket to the fight..it's a pity now it's going to go completely anti Gaa and wait for all the so called personalities to start giving out.."
You missed the part where GAA had said they were "ring fencing" dates for Hearn. Which is a disgrace. Structuring the games around the needs of a entertainment agent!!!

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2557 - 02/02/2023 14:32:11    2456025

Replying To KillingFields:  "
Replying To SaffronDon:  "[quote=KillingFields:  "Are you having a laugh? Katie Taylor couldn't finish a warm up with the greatest athletes ever never mind be listed anywhere near them. The 'Ole Ole' brigade is obviously still in full swing.

I just named a few and could name a list longer than my arm but it isn't really necessary. You'd be a fool to think that any of the top 10 ranked boxers from any era couldn't deal with Taylor for breakfast. I watched her spar Rigondeaux, she was trying her best to knock him out and he was literally toying with her as a warm up. Its amazing that this needs explained to people, I guess some just read media headlines and call themselves fans."
Katie Taylor recognised enough by boxers who's opinion id take over yours. Her ability to spar with our male olympic boxers showed she is top class and yes male boxers much bigger and heavier would beat her.

Drop the complete arrogance. its something im accused of but never others. dont be a hypocrite. youre as bad as flaker for it"]You don't even know what this is about, you heard 'Katie Taylor' and went on the defensive. If that is not the case, then please tell me what Katie Taylor has achieved to be on a pedestal above the countless other great athletes that have achieved greatness through beating other household greats time and again throughout history to be crowned one of the greatest athletes ever? Remember, achievements that other greats didn't accomplish.

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2385 - 02/02/2023 14:46:10    2456029

Replying To SaffronDon:  "
Replying To KillingFields:  "[quote=SaffronDon:  "[quote=KillingFields:  "Are you having a laugh? Katie Taylor couldn't finish a warm up with the greatest athletes ever never mind be listed anywhere near them. The 'Ole Ole' brigade is obviously still in full swing.

Drop the complete arrogance. its something im accused of but never others. dont be a hypocrite. youre as bad as flaker for it"]You don't even know what this is about, you heard 'Katie Taylor' and went on the defensive. If that is not the case, then please tell me what Katie Taylor has achieved to be on a pedestal above the countless other great athletes that have achieved greatness through beating other household greats time and again throughout history to be crowned one of the greatest athletes ever? Remember, achievements that other greats didn't accomplish."]She is one of only 8 boxers ever to hold all four major world titles in boxing-WBA, WBC, IBF, and WBO-simultaneously.
She is up there with all those names. Its impossible to definitively say any one athlete is ahead of others but Katie Taylors record stands up with the best that you named from other sports.

KillingFields (Limerick) - Posts: 3510 - 02/02/2023 15:01:55    2456032

Replying To Jinxie:  "Id Agree,

Hearn wanted his own bills paid for him too.

The other factor is the limited number of "Non GAA2 events allowed in Croke Park each year, i/e concerts. If the revenue generated from a concert is not being matched, then why give up one of those slots? If Eddie Hearn wants to match the value of the slots, then work away (at a suitable date),.

If its purely down to the GAA's costs, then id assume he has no problem putting it on in the Aviva and a much lower cost??????"
He obviously thought "Old Paddy there, we'll sell to him as Mary winning the title, yeah? Big homecoming. Proper knees up. Paddies win something, they love it mate. So they'll pick up the tab. Lovely jubbly."

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2557 - 02/02/2023 15:31:23    2456037

Just a couple of thoughts that occur to me on the whole thing:

1 - I believe Hearn was looking for something in the region of €500,000 of State funding to put the fight on in Croke Park. If he'd got it, and the fight had gone ahead there, then the anti-GAA brigade would be out in force anyway, grumbling about the GAA getting a large chunk or all of that taxpayer money, "when sure they have enough already....."

2 - Aviva Stadium is out because of rugby Champions Cup Final around that time, but that still leaves RDS, with capacity of 18,500 - more than twice as much as the 3 Arena. I'm old enough to remember Barry McGuigan in a world title fight there when he was at the height of his powers and popularity - if it could host McGuigan back then, it could surely host Taylor now. I wonder to what degree did Hearn really explore this option, instead of just complaining about not getting his own way?

Pikeman96 (Wexford) - Posts: 2249 - 02/02/2023 15:39:51    2456040

Replying To KillingFields:  "
Replying To SaffronDon:  "[quote=KillingFields:  "[quote=SaffronDon:  "[quote=KillingFields:  "Are you having a laugh? Katie Taylor couldn't finish a warm up with the greatest athletes ever never mind be listed anywhere near them. The 'Ole Ole' brigade is obviously still in full swing.

Drop the complete arrogance. its something im accused of but never others. dont be a hypocrite. youre as bad as flaker for it"]You don't even know what this is about, you heard 'Katie Taylor' and went on the defensive. If that is not the case, then please tell me what Katie Taylor has achieved to be on a pedestal above the countless other great athletes that have achieved greatness through beating other household greats time and again throughout history to be crowned one of the greatest athletes ever? Remember, achievements that other greats didn't accomplish."]She is one of only 8 boxers ever to hold all four major world titles in boxing-WBA, WBC, IBF, and WBO-simultaneously.
She is up there with all those names. Its impossible to definitively say any one athlete is ahead of others but Katie Taylors record stands up with the best that you named from other sports."]Winning a world title over a handful of ranked fighters compared to the men's circuit where thousands are ranked full time professionals is like comparing chalk and cheese. Are you seriously going to tell me that you think Taylor has gone through what even a journeyman male pro fighter has over the course of a career? This is like calling Glen Ferguson one of the greatest Athletes ever because he lorded it over the Irish League at Linfield for years.

Taylor has been a success at the level she's at and hats off to her for that. But women's boxing is a long way off being used as any type of benchmark for the greatest athletes of all time.

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2385 - 02/02/2023 15:43:27    2456042

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  "So much for 'holding tight'. Is there no end to the incompetence at the top of the GAA. Here was a chance to earn big money from an empty stadium, and they blew it."
Big money!... 400k are you joking me?!!! And have to cover security costs? Yippee! No wonder Peter McKenna told them to go whistle. Funny enough Hearn is preparing to move it to a 9k venue in London and pay 250k GBP and meet security cost... he's a gas man Eddie Hearn.

Square_B (Leitrim) - Posts: 844 - 02/02/2023 16:01:40    2456048

This has to be one of the most ignorant threads ever published.. I'm hoping as a GAA fan & member some of the opinions seen here are from old timers and ever decreasing.
Thankfully my experience of the average GAA fan is of an appreciation of many other sports be it womens boxing, rugby, soccer or even F1 & mma, but a slither of intelligence will tell you none compete in any real sense against the GAA and at the same time you need the basic cop on to realise that other sports can be appreciated, followed, and even accommodated and at no tangible risk to our association.
Ironically some of the older generation of gaa fans need to grow up & lose the chip..

cuttothebone (Kildare) - Posts: 163 - 02/02/2023 16:11:12    2456049

Winning a world title over a handful of ranked fighters compared to the men's circuit where thousands are ranked full time professionals is like comparing chalk and cheese. Are you seriously going to tell me that you think Taylor has gone through what even a journeyman male pro fighter has over the course of a career? This is like calling Glen Ferguson one of the greatest Athletes ever because he lorded it over the Irish League at Linfield for years.

Taylor has been a success at the level she's at and hats off to her for that. But women's boxing is a long way off being used as any type of benchmark for the greatest athletes of all time.
SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2329 - 02/02/2023 15:43:27

A world title is still such a difficult thing to do and that she has become a world champion across multiple organisations in combination with her amateur record makes her one of our best ever
If we are to go down that road about how many KT had to face and beat then you could dismiss most sports as theyre all ffar smaller than soccer worldwide.

If we are not in your eyes allowed to count womens boxing then what are the only sports allowed to be counted if we are looking at greatest athletes of all time?

KillingFields (Limerick) - Posts: 3510 - 02/02/2023 16:32:27    2456054

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7346 - 02/02/2023 17:01:48    2456063

Replying To KillingFields:  "Winning a world title over a handful of ranked fighters compared to the men's circuit where thousands are ranked full time professionals is like comparing chalk and cheese. Are you seriously going to tell me that you think Taylor has gone through what even a journeyman male pro fighter has over the course of a career? This is like calling Glen Ferguson one of the greatest Athletes ever because he lorded it over the Irish League at Linfield for years.

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2329 - 02/02/2023 15:43:27

A world title is still such a difficult thing to do and that she has become a world champion across multiple organisations in combination with her amateur record makes her one of our best ever
If we are to go down that road about how many KT had to face and beat then you could dismiss most sports as theyre all ffar smaller than soccer worldwide.

If we are not in your eyes allowed to count womens boxing then what are the only sports allowed to be counted if we are looking at greatest athletes of all time?"
Go ahead and use women's boxing if you want. I mean it's only been a pro sport since the late 90s and has had a very small pond of fighters ever since but you put Katie up there alongside Sugar Ray Robinson because she beat a few semi pros, if that makes you feel better.

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2385 - 02/02/2023 17:09:15    2456064