The Corona Virus And Possible Effects To GAA Matches

Unlikely there will be any GAA games this year. Might be a good time for reflection that GAA sports are a hobby, that shouldn't require a spartan existence, with training regimes, even at club level, that make it v difficult for anyone married with children. But once one team does it, everyone has to do it; it's running to stand still, and takes much of the enjoyment away from our games.

befair (Down) - Posts: 237 - 27/03/2020 13:33:44    2274828

Replying To befair:  "Unlikely there will be any GAA games this year. Might be a good time for reflection that GAA sports are a hobby, that shouldn't require a spartan existence, with training regimes, even at club level, that make it v difficult for anyone married with children. But once one team does it, everyone has to do it; it's running to stand still, and takes much of the enjoyment away from our games."
I agree..i'm seriously considering not going back when it does start up, whether it be this year or next, now that i see the value of my time and the amount wasted over football. Now i can go running when the kids are in bed and none of this having to be there for 7.45 for training at 8 or else there's giving out, and not losing 4 hours on a sunday with games

wishfulthinkin (Cavan) - Posts: 1679 - 27/03/2020 13:57:33    2274829

Replying To befair:  "Unlikely there will be any GAA games this year. Might be a good time for reflection that GAA sports are a hobby, that shouldn't require a spartan existence, with training regimes, even at club level, that make it v difficult for anyone married with children. But once one team does it, everyone has to do it; it's running to stand still, and takes much of the enjoyment away from our games."
If there is no gaa for the rest of the year I wonder will we have some high profile retirements?

And now that young lads have been popped from the football and hurling bubble will some lads think life is too short and walk away from sport.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 27/03/2020 14:00:48    2274830

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "If there is no gaa for the rest of the year I wonder will we have some high profile retirements?

And now that young lads have been popped from the football and hurling bubble will some lads think life is too short and walk away from sport."
I think there will be high profile retirements, just as there is every year. Only, the shame is most of these players would have looked on this season as their swansong. As for the young lads, I think they'll be raring to get back in to playing sport again, especially after being confined inside for ages.

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2447 - 27/03/2020 14:39:49    2274833

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  "I think there will be high profile retirements, just as there is every year. Only, the shame is most of these players would have looked on this season as their swansong. As for the young lads, I think they'll be raring to get back in to playing sport again, especially after being confined inside for ages."
Who could you see retiring from Kilkenny if the championship doesn't go ahead?

I'd say we could lose dave Moran but he's the only 1 I can think of from kerry, maybe Shane Enright as well.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 27/03/2020 16:53:35    2274840

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  "I think there will be high profile retirements, just as there is every year. Only, the shame is most of these players would have looked on this season as their swansong. As for the young lads, I think they'll be raring to get back in to playing sport again, especially after being confined inside for ages."
I wouldn't be shocked if Joe Canning retired as he's won at every level now and the injuries are piling up for him. They have nice talent coming up where he could leave and not feel guilty.

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2113 - 28/03/2020 00:44:34    2274867

I doubt that there'll be any GAA fixtures for 2020. Ireland is several weeks behind some of the main European countries which have experienced outbreaks, and the Government seem to have been quite slow in activating a full scale lockdown.

Several relatives of mine are healthcare professionals who are quite worried about the whole situation. Even when the curve starts flattening, I'd imagine that there will have to be several weeks of a decontamination period to see out before normal service can resume.

Just take care of yourselves and don't take any unnecessary risks, football, hurling and handball will be there when this is all over, eventually.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 28/03/2020 11:23:33    2274881

im glad someone else sees it, there will be no gaa this year, and when the full extend carona hits us, it will be the least of our problems, we need to stop all flights from america straight away before that grangster trump kills us all

Stmunnsriver (Wexford) - Posts: 2840 - 28/03/2020 14:24:50    2274887

Replying To Gleebo:  "I doubt that there'll be any GAA fixtures for 2020. Ireland is several weeks behind some of the main European countries which have experienced outbreaks, and the Government seem to have been quite slow in activating a full scale lockdown.

Several relatives of mine are healthcare professionals who are quite worried about the whole situation. Even when the curve starts flattening, I'd imagine that there will have to be several weeks of a decontamination period to see out before normal service can resume.

Just take care of yourselves and don't take any unnecessary risks, football, hurling and handball will be there when this is all over, eventually."
If you had to put a time scale on it gleebo what with the lock down now an all what do you reckon we're looking at?

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 28/03/2020 14:38:12    2274888

Replying To Trump2020:  "I wouldn't be shocked if Joe Canning retired as he's won at every level now and the injuries are piling up for him. They have nice talent coming up where he could leave and not feel guilty."
Being selfish I hope to see more of Joe. A rare talent that lets his hurling define him as a player without any nonsense stuff. If he had avoiding injury he would be in top few of greatest. I know from a friend that Kevin Moran was sick after hurting him last year.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2655 - 28/03/2020 15:35:31    2274895

Maybe by June the doctors will tell everybody to get out and play sports. In terms of Joe Canning he will be fresh for next year, no reason for talk of retirement.

suckvalleypaddy (Galway) - Posts: 1667 - 28/03/2020 17:23:32    2274905

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "If you had to put a time scale on it gleebo what with the lock down now an all what do you reckon we're looking at?"
Hard to say; I can only talk of where I am in Central Europe.

All of the borders were closed here several weeks back. For the past fortnight, no one has been allowed to leave their houses save for getting food, helping someone or to exercise.

All the bars and restaurants have closed; people have been dissuaded from using public transport unless absolutely necessary. There is a ban of congregations of more than five people, or having anyone over other than people you live with.

These measures have largely worked, in that the death rate is very low relative to the number of cases. It helps that we have high taxes here that pay for a frankly excellent health service relative to Ireland's ( a lot more ICU beds here per capita, for starters).

There are also reports that Bosch just invented a device that can diagnose cases of Corona virus in a matter of hours. I do hope that the horse hasn't already bolted though.

I would be worried about the length of time it took to enforce what is happening in Ireland now regards a lockdown, tbh. Also, the fact that several thousand people went to Cheltenham/ came over from Italy for the Six Nations is absolute madness.

I work with people who have access to government officials here, they are suggesting that there will be a peak locally in the next few weeks, after which it is likely to begin declining. They are suggesting mid May to mid June for everything to get going again, provided that people stick to the quarantine rules.

But ultimately these are only educated guesses that can't allow for unforeseen circumstances cropping up.

I do fear that the weeks lost in preparation in Ireland will not help, plus the fact that the public health service is very underfunded relative to those in other European countries.

Don't take any silly risks, lads and lasses. This may go on for some time yet.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 28/03/2020 22:14:06    2274930

Replying To Canuck:  "Being selfish I hope to see more of Joe. A rare talent that lets his hurling define him as a player without any nonsense stuff. If he had avoiding injury he would be in top few of greatest. I know from a friend that Kevin Moran was sick after hurting him last year."
I hope to see more of Joe too. It wasn't Kevin Morans fault. These things happen in a contact sport. I only brought this up due to a few other posts about lads retiring from other teams and I figured maybe Canning only due to injuries and he's won everything you can win.

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2113 - 28/03/2020 22:20:16    2274931

Replying To suckvalleypaddy:  "Maybe by June the doctors will tell everybody to get out and play sports. In terms of Joe Canning he will be fresh for next year, no reason for talk of retirement."
Yeah the lay-off might actually do Canning some good.

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2113 - 28/03/2020 22:21:04    2274932

Replying To Stmunnsriver:  "im glad someone else sees it, there will be no gaa this year, and when the full extend carona hits us, it will be the least of our problems, we need to stop all flights from america straight away before that grangster trump kills us all"
go blame the chinese instead, they started it...im sick of people jumping on the bandwagon blaming trump for everything, its getting boring at this stage.

preddan (Kildare) - Posts: 734 - 29/03/2020 02:02:59    2274934

Replying To Stmunnsriver:  "im glad someone else sees it, there will be no gaa this year, and when the full extend carona hits us, it will be the least of our problems, we need to stop all flights from america straight away before that grangster trump kills us all"
Got off your soapbox. Flights to the US are still running but without people, cargo only. You think we should stop exporting too?

People need to realise we can't crash the economy AND our health system....this Craic of "oh we should have shut down weeks ago"....it's a delicate balancing act. The next 2 weeks are vital.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11227 - 29/03/2020 10:16:36    2274939

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "If you had to put a time scale on it gleebo what with the lock down now an all what do you reckon we're looking at?"
I also think it's optimistic at this stage to imagine that we will have an inter county championship in 2020. Even if they relax some of the broad restrictions in May / June, bringing large congregations of football fans from different parts of the country together for matches thereafter would be completely at odds with what they have been doing up to now to control the virus, I can't see it being allowed. Some things are more important than sport.

If it is still lingering later in the year or if there is another wave and it overlaps with the seasonal flu then club competitions may be at risk as well. Very hard to say at this stage though as it is changing week to week.

Hope everyone on here is safe and well.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 29/03/2020 10:55:28    2274942

This is an excellent point, but you are also correct in that if just one club / county goes all in in terms of preparation that sets the bar for everyone. That horse has bolted imo.

It may also be a good opportunity to do a hard reset on the football calendar and reformat some of the competitions. We all have ideas on how it could or should be done but the GAA will never get a better opportunity to completely tear it up and start again. That's a debate for another day.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 29/03/2020 11:12:26    2274944

Replying To GeniusGerry:  "I also think it's optimistic at this stage to imagine that we will have an inter county championship in 2020. Even if they relax some of the broad restrictions in May / June, bringing large congregations of football fans from different parts of the country together for matches thereafter would be completely at odds with what they have been doing up to now to control the virus, I can't see it being allowed. Some things are more important than sport.

If it is still lingering later in the year or if there is another wave and it overlaps with the seasonal flu then club competitions may be at risk as well. Very hard to say at this stage though as it is changing week to week.

Hope everyone on here is safe and well."
Holy fook I never thought of it lingering past the summer Gerry, will the heat not kill it? That's if we get a hot summer of course.

It looks like it's getting serious in Newyork now and London as well.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 29/03/2020 11:14:43    2274945

Replying To GeniusGerry:  "I also think it's optimistic at this stage to imagine that we will have an inter county championship in 2020. Even if they relax some of the broad restrictions in May / June, bringing large congregations of football fans from different parts of the country together for matches thereafter would be completely at odds with what they have been doing up to now to control the virus, I can't see it being allowed. Some things are more important than sport.

Hope everyone on here is safe and well."
Genius I agree with you and if I had to put money on it I'd say we'll get nothing as far as a GAA season goes but I and many here are just cautiously optimistic that we'll get something even a knockout system which would be better than nothing at all. Stay safe and well.

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2113 - 29/03/2020 12:00:01    2274950