Connolly Returns

Replying To superbluedub:  "Try not to lose any sleep , its really not a big deal ."
It's a strange one though, I can't think of too many reasons why a fella would be stopped entering the US.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 04/07/2019 16:44:38    2205519

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "It's a strange one though, I can't think of too many reasons why a fella would be stopped entering the US."
Yea very strange , that you care

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 04/07/2019 16:53:06    2205529

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "It's a strange one though, I can't think of too many reasons why a fella would be stopped entering the US."
If there was any sort of technical error on his form it would be enough.

I've seen that happen to people in US pre clearance in Dublin airport. They are extremely particular, any glitch would be treated seriously

He travelled fine last year to the same country so obviously there was some sort of issue as he was cleared by the same authority less than a year before.

Pity he couldn't return to play for the club who spoke so highly of his efforts in 2018.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20598 - 04/07/2019 16:59:41    2205532

Replying To superbluedub:  "Yea very strange , that you care"
This is from the same fella that got berated by a fellow Kerry man for his support of Connolly being singled out for deliberate cynical play targeting by D O'Se in the national print media.

Considering what a Kerry player got away with not so long ago..

He made Connolly look like a choir boy

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20598 - 04/07/2019 17:11:39    2205539

He was caught trying to sneak Lee Keegan in, in his pocket by all accounts. ;)

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4443 - 04/07/2019 17:14:01    2205540

Replying To jimbodub:  "If there was any sort of technical error on his form it would be enough.

I've seen that happen to people in US pre clearance in Dublin airport. They are extremely particular, any glitch would be treated seriously

He travelled fine last year to the same country so obviously there was some sort of issue as he was cleared by the same authority less than a year before.

Pity he couldn't return to play for the club who spoke so highly of his efforts in 2018."
A lot can happen in a year jim. It's suspicious enough though.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 04/07/2019 18:57:36    2205576

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "A lot can happen in a year jim. It's suspicious enough though."
Try not to worry to much though -:)

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 04/07/2019 21:22:46    2205640

Replying To TheUsername:  "He was caught trying to sneak Lee Keegan in, in his pocket by all accounts. ;)"
That was probably the reason. He has spent so long in Keegan's pocket security didn't recognize his passport photo without Keegan's being in the photo

tirawleybaron (Mayo) - Posts: 1103 - 04/07/2019 21:44:41    2205649

Replying To tirawleybaron:  "That was probably the reason. He has spent so long in Keegan's pocket security didn't recognize his passport photo without Keegan's being in the photo"
lol -:)

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 04/07/2019 22:46:49    2205684

Replying To tirawleybaron:  "That was probably the reason. He has spent so long in Keegan's pocket security didn't recognize his passport photo without Keegan's being in the photo"
Are you mad

The reason Connolly got turned back was because of all the gold medals he was trying to smuggle out of the country

Anything over 10K needs to be declared

Connolly's collection must run 10 times that value

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20598 - 04/07/2019 23:17:14    2205702

Replying To jimbodub:  "If there was any sort of technical error on his form it would be enough.

Pity he couldn't return to play for the club who spoke so highly of his efforts in 2018."
Actually there was a slight delay last year as well, i am sure the same poster on here who claims to be part of the inner circle would know that.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7882 - 05/07/2019 11:50:21    2205846

Replying To TheFlaker:  "Actually there was a slight delay last year as well, i am sure the same poster on here who claims to be part of the inner circle would know that."
Maybe the poster you speak of thinks its nobody else's business.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 05/07/2019 12:04:53    2205857

You're obviously very worried that Dermo might get called back into the Dublin panel, that's very understandable considering the damage he's done against you Kerry boys over the last few years, but try not to worry too much it might not happen!

DUBJOHN (Dublin) - Posts: 932 - 05/07/2019 22:50:33    2206057

Rumour has it that US intelligence suspected him of being Al-Qaeda because his shooting was so good. Who even knew that the CIA watched Gaelic football......

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7324 - 05/07/2019 23:01:59    2206062

I heard yer man from Laois on his podcast convinced someone grassed him to TSA, which is priceless when you think about it. If ye conspiracy theorists can point me to the phone number for the federal agency that deals with thousands of incoming immigrants daily, where I can put an APB on particular Irish men, I'd appreciate it.

Truth is, people may not have noticed because I'm sure it doesn't get much coverage outside the US, but there's a president in the White House right now who has sort of nailed his colours to the Immigration flagpole, and so you see a huge tightening of the screws on everyone trying to get into the US right now. I'm sure with his three month stay in Boston last year, that was enough of a red flag for the TSA agent to start throwing shapes. Hell, I have a US passport and when I was returning to the states in April after a short trip home, I got 20 questions before they let me through. Granted, I'm a shady looking yoke, so I can't really complain.

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3097 - 06/07/2019 00:41:39    2206091

I see you can a discussion on here about Diarmuid Connolly and say all you like, but when a discussion is started about Cillian O'Connor's antics it get's removed, strange that.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2733 - 07/07/2019 15:06:09    2207026

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "I see you can a discussion on here about Diarmuid Connolly and say all you like, but when a discussion is started about Cillian O'Connor's antics it get's removed, strange that."
Ya, Tis true for you bud. This place has its favorites alright.
Someone in charge should be ashamed of the amount of censorship of posts not allowed.
Cowardly stuff above in that place.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 07/07/2019 16:29:54    2207083

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "I see you can a discussion on here about Diarmuid Connolly and say all you like, but when a discussion is started about Cillian O'Connor's antics it get's removed, strange that."
I couldn't agree with you more, Connolly was slaughtered by the media for anything he done but yet this thread is basically a rumour mill about a ex player because nobody knows why he didn't come back but yet the other thread is removed about O'connor

mightydubs (Dublin) - Posts: 48 - 07/07/2019 16:35:38    2207087

He is back???

lilylanger (Kildare) - Posts: 758 - 14/07/2019 12:17:29    2210628

Hes back. Confirmed by Jim this morning on the official Dublin gaa Facebook.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 14/07/2019 12:18:29    2210630