Connolly Returns

Jim Gavin just confirmed on Newstalk!
This is massive ! O'Carroll and Connolly back! HAIL HAIL THE DUBS ARE HERE

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 03/05/2019 12:08:33    2181622

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "Jim Gavin just confirmed on Newstalk!
This is massive ! O'Carroll and Connolly back! HAIL HAIL THE DUBS ARE HERE"
No he didn't. But we live in hope.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 03/05/2019 13:10:09    2181646

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "Jim Gavin just confirmed on Newstalk!
This is massive ! O'Carroll and Connolly back! HAIL HAIL THE DUBS ARE HERE"
Think a 5 year old got a hold of your phone....

FarneyLenny (Monaghan) - Posts: 110 - 03/05/2019 13:34:31    2181655

Replying To clondalkindub:  "No he didn't. But we live in hope."
OK that may have been a bit hyperbolic to be fair but reading between the lines I'd say it's a formality at this stage CD

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 03/05/2019 13:54:25    2181662

Ah he'll be back all right, that's probably why paul Flynn retired, they're all slowly making their way back for the coronation in September.

Will the 5 in a row celebrations be held in the Phoenix Park ?
I suppose it'll be the only place big enough to hold the millions of fan that'll come out for the party.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 03/05/2019 14:30:35    2181675

Its like the Beatles getting back together in all honesty. ;)

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 03/05/2019 14:37:44    2181681

Replying To TheUsername:  "Its like the Beatles getting back together in all honesty. ;)"
Not really. If I remember correctly the Beatles were actually quite popular outside their home city. Not sure if all this talk of returning Dubs is a good idea. If Dublin, as we were led to believe, ignored the League as part of the bigger picture then they should be in a good position as they are. If not , then it smacks a little of desperation. Not at all like the Dubs. Hopefully there will be unrest in the panel, a few players like Kilkenny, McCarthy, Fenton, Cluxton and Rock walk out and Gavin will be forced to resign to be replaced by Charlie Redmond. That should scupper the five in a row.

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 03/05/2019 18:05:32    2181717

Replying To Llaw_Gyffes:  "Not really. If I remember correctly the Beatles were actually quite popular outside their home city. Not sure if all this talk of returning Dubs is a good idea. If Dublin, as we were led to believe, ignored the League as part of the bigger picture then they should be in a good position as they are. If not , then it smacks a little of desperation. Not at all like the Dubs. Hopefully there will be unrest in the panel, a few players like Kilkenny, McCarthy, Fenton, Cluxton and Rock walk out and Gavin will be forced to resign to be replaced by Charlie Redmond. That should scupper the five in a row."
No Llaw bring back pillar, at least his team showed passion and weren't so robotic.

It's no wonder RTÉ and sky are showing so much hurling as football is in a bad place at the moment.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 03/05/2019 18:28:50    2181721

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "No Llaw bring back pillar, at least his team showed passion and weren't so robotic.

It's no wonder RTÉ and sky are showing so much hurling as football is in a bad place at the moment."
Now now we all know the reason you want to see Pillar back. That's the last time you beat Dublin in Championship football. What was it, startled earwigs? 10 years. Wow!

lilylanger (Kildare) - Posts: 758 - 03/05/2019 19:06:38    2181724

Replying To TheUsername:  "Its like the Beatles getting back together in all honesty. ;)"
In all honesty the Beatles never actually got back together bud, they tried but they found they couldn't jell.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 03/05/2019 19:06:42    2181725

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "No Llaw bring back pillar, at least his team showed passion and weren't so robotic.

It's no wonder RTÉ and sky are showing so much hurling as football is in a bad place at the moment."
Pillar? Thought you Kerry lads knew your football, a terrible manager and people hated that Dublin team's 'passion', myself included.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8585 - 03/05/2019 19:07:35    2181726

If Connolly does come back I think it would almost certainly be in a role where he comes in for the last 20 minutes. I can't see him getting his starting jersey back. I'm not sure that would suit him but I could be wrong of course.

O'Carroll is a big addition and I can see him starting at full back over the summer.

They are probably good enough to win the championship if neither of them kick a ball though.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 03/05/2019 19:13:38    2181727

Replying To GeniusGerry:  "If Connolly does come back I think it would almost certainly be in a role where he comes in for the last 20 minutes. I can't see him getting his starting jersey back. I'm not sure that would suit him but I could be wrong of course.

O'Carroll is a big addition and I can see him starting at full back over the summer.

They are probably good enough to win the championship if neither of them kick a ball though."
I can't see either starting at this stage , really can't see The Roc being ready for this level but maybe I'm completely wrong , can't see Connolly coming back he obviously doesn't want to or else he'd be back by now.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 03/05/2019 19:38:14    2181732

Replying To lilylanger:  "Now now we all know the reason you want to see Pillar back. That's the last time you beat Dublin in Championship football. What was it, startled earwigs? 10 years. Wow!"
No you're wrong for the second time today Lilly langer, it was pat gilroy that was the manager of the startled earwigs .

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 03/05/2019 20:29:49    2181736

Replying To clondalkindub:  "I can't see either starting at this stage , really can't see The Roc being ready for this level but maybe I'm completely wrong , can't see Connolly coming back he obviously doesn't want to or else he'd be back by now."
Yeah can't see Connolly back either unless he is promised to start and that will never happen.

ROC I'm less sure all depends on how he adapts, it wouldn't surprise me at all to see him guarding the square come summer, he won't be 100% the same player that left in 2015 but maybe he doesn't need to be.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 03/05/2019 20:52:59    2181741

Replying To Llaw_Gyffes:  "Not really. If I remember correctly the Beatles were actually quite popular outside their home city. Not sure if all this talk of returning Dubs is a good idea. If Dublin, as we were led to believe, ignored the League as part of the bigger picture then they should be in a good position as they are. If not , then it smacks a little of desperation. Not at all like the Dubs. Hopefully there will be unrest in the panel, a few players like Kilkenny, McCarthy, Fenton, Cluxton and Rock walk out and Gavin will be forced to resign to be replaced by Charlie Redmond. That should scupper the five in a row."
Ha ha very good point, but I'm pretty sure the point of is to win be disliked and not be every other coutures second favorite team! ;)

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 03/05/2019 20:59:52    2181743

Replying To TheUsername:  "Ha ha very good point, but I'm pretty sure the point of is to win be disliked and not be every other coutures second favorite team! ;)"
Every counties second favourites team! Have you ever, I mean ever, met anyone from Galway, Roscommon or even Sligo? I'd say Belclare spilled his hot cocoa when he read that.

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 03/05/2019 23:31:23    2181760

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "No you're wrong for the second time today Lilly langer, it was pat gilroy that was the manager of the startled earwigs ."
Well I dont assume to know everything about the Dubs unlike your good self. So I got their manager's name wrong big deal. Its still been 10 years since you beat them. Not wrong about that :)

lilylanger (Kildare) - Posts: 758 - 04/05/2019 06:45:43    2181775

Shows the state the dubs are in ..bringing in two former greats to paper over the cracks!

mayotyroneman (Tyrone) - Posts: 1821 - 04/05/2019 08:20:19    2181780

Replying To mayotyroneman:  "Shows the state the dubs are in ..bringing in two former greats to paper over the cracks!"
Yup....actual state of them. How very dare they strengthen their team ahead of a record breaking attempt of 5 in a row.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 04/05/2019 09:50:45    2181788