Connolly Returns

If he is only here because of a messed-up visa, I wonder how he can waltz onto the squad. Maybe Gavin is pulling his chain? I know he is a great player, but what about loyalty? Seemingly the drive for five is an afterthought for Dermo.

steve097 (Dublin) - Posts: 109 - 14/07/2019 19:16:50    2210904

Replying To steve097:  "If he is only here because of a messed-up visa, I wonder how he can waltz onto the squad. Maybe Gavin is pulling his chain? I know he is a great player, but what about loyalty? Seemingly the drive for five is an afterthought for Dermo."
First post. From Dublin are ya? Righhhhhht!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 14/07/2019 19:39:49    2210921

Replying To Cavan_Shambles:  "Badly needed, Dublin were struggling without him."
Oh yea, sure they were only winning by double scores!

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1785 - 14/07/2019 19:51:30    2210933

Replying To Jackeen:  "First post. From Dublin are ya? Righhhhhht!"
Yes I am, and longer than you are. So shoot the messenger why don't you.

steve097 (Dublin) - Posts: 109 - 14/07/2019 19:52:57    2210935

Hard to know what to make of this.

There is no way he can be up to championship pitch & I can't help but feel that Jim Gavin has brought him in mainly to shake things up a bit.

He is a huge character & it's great to see him back but it is a strange one

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 14/07/2019 19:54:14    2210937

Replying To TheFlaker:  "He is needed."
I don't think he has Mayo blood...

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 14/07/2019 20:09:06    2210949

Replying To steve097:  "If he is only here because of a messed-up visa, I wonder how he can waltz onto the squad. Maybe Gavin is pulling his chain? I know he is a great player, but what about loyalty? Seemingly the drive for five is an afterthought for Dermo."
I see that Collie Moran has exactly the same doubts in the Sun.

steve097 (Dublin) - Posts: 109 - 15/07/2019 00:08:36    2211103

Replying To TheFlaker:  "I think bench is not as strong up front. Himself on the bench with Costello will be huge. Kevin Mc not the impact player he once was."
I suppose Dublin scored 5-13 from play against the runners up in Munster. I don't think Connolly is "badly needed" but he's arguably the best, or definitely one of the best, forwards of his generation. Who wouldn't want him. Gavin is absolutely ruthless though and Dermo will only play if he is ahead of those knocking on the door of the forward six. Great option off the bench though.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 15/07/2019 00:08:44    2211104

I'm a big fan of the Dublin footballers. Watched most of the game on Saturday night and for the first time in a long time I thought they had dropped a couple of levels.
What this team has already achieved is extra-ordinary. To stay motivated to perform at such a high level for so long is unreal. I think Gavin knows they need something extra. Bringing Connolly back is a risk, but all great managers are willing to take risks in pursuit of victory.

Ban (Westmeath) - Posts: 1415 - 15/07/2019 19:42:57    2211556

No harm at all a talent like him waltzing onto any squad, but he hasn't waltzed onto the pitch and its an open question whether he will. That said he is far better than most and if he on the panel he is entitled to be given a fair shot same as everyone else. And as for loyalty, it cuts both ways.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4895 - 15/07/2019 20:37:51    2211588

Replying To MuckrossHead:  "Hard to know what to make of this.

There is no way he can be up to championship pitch & I can't help but feel that Jim Gavin has brought him in mainly to shake things up a bit.

He is a huge character & it's great to see him back but it is a strange one"
With the Dub's going for a historic 5 in a row, Jim Gavin wants to make sure all eventualities are covered, he alone has his reason(s) for wanting Connolly to be part of his panel so only time will tell. Can I put a spanner in the works by suggesting that either Connolly was never going to the states in the first instance or, if he was he was talked out of going and the messed up visa thing was no more than a smoke screen to keep the whole thing low keyed, as low as possible for as long as possible, self-explanatory really. Connolly's very presence let it be on the sub's bench or on the field of play would be enough to unsettle the opposition whoever they may be, - just a thought.

supersub15 (Carlow) - Posts: 2907 - 15/07/2019 22:45:33    2211661

Replying To supersub15:  "With the Dub's going for a historic 5 in a row, Jim Gavin wants to make sure all eventualities are covered, he alone has his reason(s) for wanting Connolly to be part of his panel so only time will tell. Can I put a spanner in the works by suggesting that either Connolly was never going to the states in the first instance or, if he was he was talked out of going and the messed up visa thing was no more than a smoke screen to keep the whole thing low keyed, as low as possible for as long as possible, self-explanatory really. Connolly's very presence let it be on the sub's bench or on the field of play would be enough to unsettle the opposition whoever they may be, - just a thought."
The only people who can answer that definitively are Homeland Security and I don't think they'll bother.

steve097 (Dublin) - Posts: 109 - 15/07/2019 23:06:56    2211676

Connolly coming back could be the difference between getting the 5 in a row or not, an excellent player and a nightmare to defend against, you want to see the best players and he is one of the best of the last 20 years at least, might unsettle the squad a bit but Gavin is well able to steady the ship.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2739 - 15/07/2019 23:49:33    2211687

Diarmuid Connolly is one of the best footballers ever and who wouldn't want to have him on their squad. He's been there and done it all. That type of winner is a gift to any manager.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 16/07/2019 00:54:34    2211698

Replying To steve097:  "The only people who can answer that definitively are Homeland Security and I don't think they'll bother."
I doubt that D Connelly will play for Dublin this season. He will obviously play in in house games but to start ahead of any Dublin panellists no.
Jim Gavin hasn't lost the plot. There will be a revolt if he plays ahead of those who have trained all year.
The last thing Dublin and Jim Gavin need in their quest for five in a row is D Connolly causing disruption within the camp.

lilywhite1 (Kildare) - Posts: 2987 - 16/07/2019 01:20:15    2211700

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "Connolly coming back could be the difference between getting the 5 in a row or not, an excellent player and a nightmare to defend against, you want to see the best players and he is one of the best of the last 20 years at least, might unsettle the squad a bit but Gavin is well able to steady the ship."
I love DC and I think he is a fabulously gifted player but I'd have real concerns about there impact of his arrival into the squad. It could be unsettling. Imagine being at the coal face for the last 14 months, training assiduously and then having to give up your berth for a player who had other priorities until recently.
He has not played top level football in a while.
Also, I worry about his discipline. I always worry that he'll react and cost the whole team dearly.
I'm not sure about his form either. The last time I saw him playing was in the County semi-final V St Judes. He was brought on late in the game but he made no impact whatsoever.
So, I'm not sure if his re-admission into the squad at this stage is hugely beneficial.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 16/07/2019 10:14:38    2211751

Replying To avonali:  "I love DC and I think he is a fabulously gifted player but I'd have real concerns about there impact of his arrival into the squad. It could be unsettling. Imagine being at the coal face for the last 14 months, training assiduously and then having to give up your berth for a player who had other priorities until recently.
He has not played top level football in a while.
Also, I worry about his discipline. I always worry that he'll react and cost the whole team dearly.
I'm not sure about his form either. The last time I saw him playing was in the County semi-final V St Judes. He was brought on late in the game but he made no impact whatsoever.
So, I'm not sure if his re-admission into the squad at this stage is hugely beneficial."
Chill out my friend your doing too much worrying it's all good.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 16/07/2019 11:03:50    2211771

Replying To clondalkindub:  "Chill out my friend your doing too much worrying it's all good."
I do believe he was the difference when he came on in there 2018 final.I think he's immense. But my heart is in my mouth watching him when there is a flashpoint. But if you say it's going to be ok, I'll take your word ;-).

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 16/07/2019 11:27:59    2211792

Replying To clondalkindub:  "Chill out my friend your doing too much worrying it's all good."
Yep, hes in with lads hes soldiered with for the guts of 20 years, dont see it being any different as Jack, Rory, Mannion of Kilkenny who have also taken similar periods out, people forget he was involed last season up to the Mayo game. The group are really close, always have been whether lads are in the panel or not they are all linked through a unique team spirit, Dermo was at lot of our league games this year and out at blue stars game as well.

Im not sure hes been away from the panel as much as the media would lead you to believe, nor is he far of in his fitness.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 16/07/2019 11:36:41    2211795

I am delighted he is back. The lad is a poetry in motion when in full flight and we don't have too many others in that mould. I trust Jim Gavin to the hilt and don't feel for a second he would have him back around the squad if he felt there was a big risk. Does he have a discipline issue? Yes. Is he arguably the most provoked player to play the game in the last number of years? Yes. I actually think he has shown serious restraint at times over the years even when he is clearly targeted. His red card v Mayo in 2015 for example was a joke. Lee Keegan with no interest in the ball hauls him down yet Diarmo is expected to take it on the chin and not do anything. I don't know any player in the country would would take that sort of carry on. I fully appreciate he should be used to it but at times it nothing more than a human reaction to defend yourself when being practically assaulted (although that's a bit strong a word). For those who say he won't see any game time then I have to disagree. Gavin isn't bringing him back without the intention of using him. Why bother otherwise? Just think in a semi final or hopefully a final with the game in the melting pot and he comes off the bench and the lift that would give the whole team and fans alike, it would be unreal never mind his genuine game changing ability.

TrueBlue35 (Dublin) - Posts: 206 - 16/07/2019 11:39:14    2211799