Cavan in the Qualifiers

A Taxi from Standsted to Ruslip will cost about 3-4 times that! It's an hour by car. Standsted express to Liverpool st and then Tube to South Ruislip (Central line) significantly cheaper but will take 1hr 30mins or so.

SS1 (Cavan) - Posts: 196 - 16/06/2015 10:13:55    1737792

A lot of old sour grapes popping up in the last few posts.
The real question is, are we good enough to win an Allireland ?
Answer is no.
Even the TV panel recognise that even Monaghan will have problems down the line as they have only one notable forward, we don't even have that.
Let's be realistic , get behind the team in qualifiers and see where it takes us !
We never expect much anyway.

desagov (Cavan) - Posts: 208 - 16/06/2015 11:36:00    1737864

Desagov - theres no sour grapes, just a few home truths to combat some of the nonsense coming from the likes of Sceptical and his buddies. Never mind an All-Ireland, we are not even close to winning an Ulster Championship, and we wont win one until theres changes to the management set up.

deanmartin (Cavan) - Posts: 643 - 16/06/2015 12:29:55    1737920

Train in to London Liverpool St will cost 17 sterling . Taxi to central London early on Saturday be around 60. So shared between 4 be around the same. Tube to Ruislip from Central London be 6 quid return on a Saturday. earlier the better on a Saturday morning less traffic.

Awwwwnow (Cavan) - Posts: 1050 - 16/06/2015 13:00:07    1737947

Deanmartin your opinions are an irrelevance to real football people but someone needs to keep you at your keyboard and stop you going outside to spread polution in the air with your bitterness over a football career gone wrong. Heres a piece of knowledge that you could get from the local chip van owner. You reach your athletic peak between 26-29. For that reason INTELLIGENT fans arent pressing the panic button yet. Look at age profile of last few all ireland winners. By the way thats kerry dublin donegal. Looking forward to hearing from you or ONE OF YOUR OTHER USER NAMES!

sceptical (Cavan) - Posts: 544 - 16/06/2015 14:34:08    1738037

Skeptical - are you not gone yet? what, you dont like it because someone questions your opinion?

Frankly, the experts are divided as to when a male athlete reaches peak fitness, but Im not sure what
your actual point is, because theres a huge difference between peak fitness and actual footballing intelligence.
You can train hard and be it at peak fitness at any age, if you dont have a footballing brain, thats the difference
between a good footballer and an exceptional footballer, thats the difference between good teams and average teams.

As for a career gone wrong, County Medals in my pocket, numerous under age league & championships, Ulster Medals, wore the blue jersey with pride .still as fit as I ever was and enjoying every minute of it!!

Care to share your expertise with us, or is just armchair expertise like the majority of them?

deanmartin (Cavan) - Posts: 643 - 16/06/2015 14:55:36    1738053

Sceptical......... Mark McHugh played against us at u21 level in 2012. Patrick McBrearty played minor against us in 2012. Both have all Ireland medals in their back pocket. Ryan mc Hugh and D o Connor played u21 against us in 2014 both have Ulster championship medals and have played in all Ireland final. Now you go through most countries and if your good enough you play regardless of age.

Awwwwnow (Cavan) - Posts: 1050 - 16/06/2015 16:28:46    1738164

Yes but they had gallagher rory kavanagh mcfadden toye durkin etc who have seen it all before. I agree that young players can produce at top level but not 15 of them.

sceptical (Cavan) - Posts: 544 - 16/06/2015 17:10:55    1738199

In 2012 Andrews ran any decent players we had. He thought 15 x20yr olds when going to win an Ulster. Yes Hyland brought Mackey and lyng back but he was part of the management that got rid of them 1 year esrlier. So the damage was done . Now our young players aren't progressing at the rate they should be . That's a management problem. So I believe they should step aside and let someone who might get the best out of these lads.. Hyland has brought this panel as far as he can. There no real improvement in the heat of the championship since the day we beat Armagh in Breffni. Actually we have gone backwards.

Awwwwnow (Cavan) - Posts: 1050 - 16/06/2015 17:43:22    1738210

Debating the trip to London. Should be a bit of craic.

Regarding the qualifiers, I find that because we were one of the first teams to play that a lot of the momentum is gone. Obviously we lost our first and only game but I felt like there was a buzz and now its back to a quiet qualifier series. But a win against London and we are back on track. Would love a big draw in the next round to get the talk going again. Just feel that everything is gone flat...including this post!

Overs!

Reformation (Cavan) - Posts: 356 - 16/06/2015 20:31:18    1738287

Here's an idea why don't we save the postmortems on Cavan's season till AFTER they're knocked out. Yes I know it's a radical thought but we are on the good side of the draw and we have a good chance of a decent run. Sure we'd all like to see free flowing Dublin style football but guess what they are the only team in the country capable of playing that way (including Mayo and Kerry) and we have an All Ireland QF, a league promotion and a league consolidation under our belts after years of dissappointments and defeats. Our ambition should be to win Ulster in the next two years and promotion to Division one and I haven't seen anything from any other Ulster County (Donegal accepted) to make me think that those ambitions aren't possible.

cavandub (Cavan) - Posts: 67 - 17/06/2015 10:04:08    1738384

I'm sure the moan brigade will come after me for posting this but I watched the Donegal v Armagh and say highlights of Kerry v Tipp. Its actually quite scary how many options Kerry have in the forward line - our achilles heel. Tommy Walsh, O'Donoghue, Gooch, O'Sullivan, Galvin, Geaney, Donaghy....Its actually scary. Then Donegal also with a really good midfield and forward line. I would say that they would struggle with depth more than Kerry, but we have lads posting here every week saying that the U21 success should translate into ulsters and All Irelands automatically! If we look at the 2 teams that I have mentioned (I'm not even going into the Dubs) then surely people need to be realistic and say that they are on a different planet to us. We have a small pick and cannot compete with that!!

I am all for constructive critisism and not against anyone calling for the managers head based on poor performance. My point is just that we need to realign our expectations and realise that we have quite a lot of building to do before we are at the top table.

Reformation (Cavan) - Posts: 356 - 17/06/2015 14:20:20    1738581

Reformation you make a good point perhaps we should be looking for a few forwards , this weekend there is no excuse ground suits cavan perfectly and we should be well capable of a good convincing win there are no reason i can see why we wont win this game

asitis (Cavan) - Posts: 233 - 17/06/2015 14:46:02    1738609

People seem to think that if we change to a more attacking style game plan that suddenly our forwards will become world beaters over night, or that we have top class forwards sitting at home not getting called up to the squad.
The fact is we don't have the marque forwards like McManus, McBrearty, The Gooch, etc. in the county.
Yes, you could argue that some players who are not involved are marginally better than some who play regularly and this is possibly true, but there is none that would make a huge difference to the team.
We play a defensive style cuz that's where are strengths lie, simple as. Yes, we do have some decent forwards but until we have at least one or two "game-changing" forwards, it would be madness to try to adapt an all out attacking style of play.

SamuraiBlue (Cavan) - Posts: 28 - 17/06/2015 15:17:29    1738643

to be fair, I would say Eugene Keating would addan extra couple of scores every game for us and that would have probably won us promotion to Div 1 and also would have meant that we beat Monaghan, Yes the margins are that small.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 17/06/2015 17:41:46    1738714

Lads,
if anyone is going to the game, mines a Guinness...... ah ill get the next round I promise.

Doglegright01 (Cavan) - Posts: 41 - 18/06/2015 08:56:45    1738824

Good luck to all travelling across the water at the weekend. Hopefully, the team can work their way through the qualifiers and arrive in Croke Park for a last 12 clash!

kildare blue (Cavan) - Posts: 578 - 18/06/2015 11:51:20    1738930

Very best of luck to Terry and the lads against London, I know that they will give it all. It will be interesting to see if Killian Clarke makes an appearance. I would like to see big Michael Argue on the square again, he will take a bit of watching in there. Rory Dunne vs Big Lorcan Mulvey should be good battle. I suppose its unlikely the match would be televised or on streamed on line ?

facer4home (Cavan) - Posts: 157 - 18/06/2015 15:10:44    1739114

I doubt it will be televised or streamed online but I'd love to be proved wrong (it's not available on GAAGO anyway), if anyone knows otherwise please divulge.
Probably have to settle for listening to it on Northern Sound online.
S goldrick - you're right, Eugene would have been a big addition to the forward line. Unfortunately he was not available for selection this year.
Hopefully next year we can have himself and Givney back as well as a few others. If we could then unearth/develop one or two more quality forwards I think we'd be in great shape.
Interesting to see if big Argue has the makings of a top full forward, hopefully he gets a few games in there in the qualifiers so we can have a proper look at him.

Really looking forward to this game on Saturday, anyone know when the team will be announced?

SamuraiBlue (Cavan) - Posts: 28 - 19/06/2015 08:08:43    1739294

Anyone know if the game is on Irish TV ? They sometimes how londan games

gaelsutd (Cavan) - Posts: 602 - 19/06/2015 09:37:00    1739329